App comparison

Add up to 4 apps below to see how they compare. You can also use the "Compare" buttons while browsing.

GetApp offers objective, independent research and verified user reviews. We may earn a referral fee when you visit a vendor through our links. Learn more

Microsoft Access Reviews

Overall rating

4.4

/5

188

Rating criteria

  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7.84/10

Reviews by rating

Pros and cons

Microsoft Access is a database management solution that is among the best. It has a very good user interface and is very easy to use.
I am very impressed about the reliability in handling regular size databases, and the best part is that you can write your own SQL commands.
The ability to mine through data through the use of simple queries came in handy. Additionally, through the use of primary keys, duplications were next to impossible which was super helpful.
The weakness in cloud capability and the lack of integration with other external software.
Microsoft Access sometimes have illogical errors and to solve them I have to reopen it.
The most annoying feature is that each object needs to be closed before you edit anything. Why they couldn't have engineered it to just update the object/table regardless is a mystery to me.
Filter reviews by

Overall rating


Company size


Industry


Time used


188 reviews

Recommended

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Mohammed K.

E-Learning, 51-200 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

My experience with MS Access

Reviewed 2 years ago
Pros

I work on Access for 3 years and show that it help me to manage the data perfectly

Cons

User need tutorial before using it and some time changing the version is not a good idea

AR
AvatarImg

Verified reviewer

Banking, 5,001-10,000 employees

Used weekly for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Great for simple and mid-level databases

Reviewed 2 years ago

Whether you are an experienced programmer or a novice, Access is a great tool. If you do not know SQL, Access can create queries for you. (not VBA though). You can easily integrate Access with all other products - Excel, Txt files, SQL Server, Oracle, etc. If you wish to dwelt deeper into programming - Access is a great place to start, after becoming more experienced, yo can start using SQL Sever, VB, Oracle, and databases and front end applications.

Pros

If you want a relational database, and don't have hundreds of tables, 100,000+ rows each - access is a database to use. First of all it provides - Back End (tables), Front End (forms), Queries, and built in Reports. if you have many users, you can split - Master Database that will only have tables, and other databases linked to it will hosts forms and everything else while being linked to the main...

Cons

I've been working with Access for about 20 years, many issues I've seen earlier have been fixed. Now if you wish to split a database, it can do it for you. Maximum limit for currency is not a couple of billions anymore (not a huge amount for Financial Companies) My least favorite part is compacting. Database often becomes to large and needs to be compacted before it crashes. Compacting still takes to long, and sometimes database crashes while doing that. I wish some king of automatic compacting can be done without asking the user.

CC
AvatarImg

Carlos C.

Automotive, 201-500 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend6/10

Share this review:

Not he most simple data base developing tool

Reviewed a year ago
Pros

The possibility to develop a data base with the microsfot office base aspect.

Cons

Too much complicate to develop and old tools in compare with new softwares more simple and friendly user.

AR
AvatarImg

Verified reviewer

Education Management, 201-500 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Microsoft access for devolpment

Reviewed 2 years ago
Pros

Easy managing databases with simple suit, no coding for relationships between tables, just click and dragg. Field control, data control options are awesome which to provide easier method than to code it, while for advance scenarios vba coding also available and can be done. Forms, reports, queries are designated separately but linkage available. Quick output for most no debugging and complilation, objects can be dragged and thier position, functions can be set even with mouse only. Universal access of program no special setting etc required if file is ttanafered to another PC. Linkage for mysql server is also facilitated. Database import export can be made with. Excle,. Csv files too.

Cons

No remote access of files, user based restriction is to be designed, multi user access is limited. No track of devoloment status. No log of maintenance is created.

AR
AvatarImg

Verified reviewer

Computer Software, 501-1,000 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Best office suite

Reviewed 2 years ago
Pros

Microsoft Access is very user-friendly for my business it makes it easy for me and simple to use

Cons

No anomaly detected, everything is perfect

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Griffin B.

Hospitality, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used monthly for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend4/10

Share this review:

Simple but not so Easy

Reviewed 2 years ago

Overall, I have used Access to allow multiple business users to store data to track executive comps given out in a casino environment. It has been useful to deploy to many end-users who do not have the knowhow to use more sophisticated data storage software, such as MS SQL Server. And it also has allowed us to harness automated macro scripts to generate timely reporting.

Pros

I like Access for its ability to store data in a localized way. Access obviously comes with many editions of Microsoft Office, so it's readily "accessible" and generally understandable. I like that it has a Visual Basic for Applications (VBA) component as well, so you can build macros and automate reports easily. I also like that it has a query-building interface for users who are unfamiliar with SQL language.

Cons

However, I do not like how complicated Access is to design. I consider myself a database expert (Information Systems degree) and I still don't exactly know how to make forms fully work together in Access. Granted, I never had any specific Access training, but it feels like it should be more intuitive to an expert--and it's not. The most annoying feature is that each object needs to be closed before you edit anything. Why they couldn't have engineered it to just update the object/table regardless is a mystery to me.

MG
AvatarImg

Marco G.

Legal Services, self-employed

Used weekly for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend5/10

Share this review:

Good only for local and standalone applications

Reviewed 5 months ago

For personal use it is effective but trying to use it by sharing access to network resources presents a lot of problems (from security to performance, to the number of simultaneous accesses etc. etc.)

Pros

It is easy to have the program installed on your PC and create tables in which to insert data and forms with which to populate them

Cons

It's not ideal for a centralized solution to share tables for colleagues. It was born as a single-user application to be installed on your PC and any workaround to transform it into a centralized database is a forcing that inevitably leads to problems or compromises, especially in terms of security

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Cathy J.

Mining & Metals, 5,001-10,000 employees

Used weekly for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

Easy to use, great reports

Reviewed 2 years ago

We purchase and use Access to track the placement and turnover of containers placed at customer locations. Once the massive amounts of initial information was inputnI found it very easy to use and it is easy to train the transportation department to use. I can create quality reports monthly to provide my mgt team.

Pros

I am able to take a month's activity, in our case the placement and use of containers, and provide a nice tidy report to my management team. They love it and think I slave hours

Cons

It tend to slow down exponentially with the amount of data you input. Since this is daily for us it can be pretty slow and the end users in some departments have to do entries after hours.

GR
AvatarImg

Gilberto R.

Information Technology and Services, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Microsoft Access

Reviewed 2 years ago
Pros

data collection and reporting data transformation

Cons

database performace for store informacion

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Marie M.

Cosmetics, self-employed

Used weekly for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Very useful data management tool

Reviewed 2 years ago
Pros

The most important thing about Microsoft Access is that it is inexpensive. Creating table from scratch might be technical but Microsoft simplify things with templates and each category has a demo video to help users get started. Another plus is that the platform has been around for decades and introductory courses taught from the high school level.

Cons

Setting up tables from scratch might require some technical knowledge.

MT
AvatarImg

Marek T.

Financial Services, 11-50 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Microsoft Access Review

Reviewed a year ago

My overall experience with Microsoft Access was positive. I found the app to be an essential tool for my company. I appreciated its ability to handle large amounts of data and create custom databases, as well as its powerful querying and reporting tools.

Pros

What I liked most about Microsoft Access was its ability to handle large amounts of data and create custom databases. The app's intuitive interface and range of templates made it easy to create and manage data, while its powerful querying and reporting tools allowed for in-depth analysis. Additionally, I appreciated the app's integration with other Microsoft Office products, such as Excel and PowerPoint.

Cons

One thing that I liked least about Microsoft Access was its limited compatibility with non-Windows platforms. While the app was widely used on Windows machines, it could be challenging to access and edit databases on other operating systems. Additionally, the app's steep learning curve and complexity could be overwhelming for users with limited experience in database management.

TB
AvatarImg

Travis B.

Electrical/Electronic Manufacturing, 51-200 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

The Quick Data-Driven Application Development Tool

Reviewed 2 years ago
Pros

The best part about Microsoft Access is the combination of a data source, graphical interface design and automation into a single environment without the need to compile anything for quick development. The deployment of the application can be as simple as distributing or sharing the file. If there are multi-user needs these can be handled just as easily.

Cons

Occasionally data corruption can be a thing for multi-user situations. Also, when working within the various versions (2003, 2010, 2013, 2016, etc.) and the changes made to functionality there is an added layer of technical difficulty to deal with.

CM
AvatarImg

Cecilie M.

Retail, self-employed

Used monthly for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Microsoft Access

Reviewed 2 years ago

In the event that your data set should be safeguarded by broad data set security conventions, Access probably won't be the most ideal choice. You can keep away from this issue by utilizing Access toward the front of a SQL server, however few out of every odd business needs that degree of framework regardless makes delicate information to be secured.

Pros

It just requires minutes to introduce this Microsoft Access. Consequently, clients get a data set that is completely useful. It requires no convoluted programming to utilize either, so the normal PC client can exploit the data that can be assembled by this framework. In the event that your data set should be safeguarded by broad data set security conventions, Access probably won't be the most ideal choice. You can keep away from this issue by utilizing Access toward the front of a SQL server, however few out of every odd business needs that degree of framework regardless makes delicate information to be secured.

Cons

There is a wall that can ultimately be reached with regards to contributing data into this data set. For bigger information clients, Microsoft Access might cause constraints that other data set projects might not have just on the grounds that there is a document size limit. In the event that your data set should be safeguarded by broad data set security conventions, Access probably won't be the most ideal choice. You can keep away from this issue by utilizing Access toward the front of a SQL server, however few out of every odd business needs that degree of framework regardless makes delicate information to be secured.

ID
AvatarImg

Igor D.

Information Technology and Services, 11-50 employees

Used weekly for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

MS Access developer

Reviewed a year ago

MS Access is great for prototyping new systems, quickly create some screens and data tables and then move to more serious Database Management System

Pros

It is part of Microsoft Office product suite and maintains compatibility with other tools - import and export of formatted data. MS Access has built-in easy to learn Visual Basic development environment that allows to build user interface for data entry. MS Access comes with drivers to connect to other databases or text file data sources.

Cons

It is a Personal use software, it is not reliable when shared across network with concurrent access. MS Access is good and effective for small databases - up to several millions of records, up to 100 MB of total disc space used. It lacks User management, Backup and other important for Enterprise software features.

AE
AvatarImg

Andrew E.

Information Technology and Services, 1-10 employees

Used weekly for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Excellent product for low-level database management

Reviewed 2 years ago

Overall, Microsoft Access provides fast deployment, easy write times, security, and great data managment tools to make our business run efficently.

Pros

Deployment, write speed, secure access, data managment

Cons

Pricing can be expensive for small businesses

AR
AvatarImg

Verified reviewer

Design, self-employed

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Practical for home or small business use

Reviewed 2 years ago
Pros

Great speed compared to Excel. Possibility of relationships between tables, which works very well. Custom reports. The possibility of building forms and transforming the database into a small system. Easy integration via VBA with other Microsoft Office applications.

Cons

The impossibility of purchasing it separately. Not everyone needs all the tools included in Microsoft Office 365

PM
AvatarImg

Panashe M.

Computer Software, self-employed

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Microsoft Access review

Reviewed 2 years ago

Very excellent and the fact that its charged reasonable is good

Pros

Its easy to configure and use environment The relationship drawing option is very handy in different product development The option to set description in data fields is very useful

Cons

If they can improve the data security and also overall performance improvement of the ole objects its bit slow

AT
AvatarImg

Austin T.

Automotive, 10,001+ employees

Used weekly for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend5/10

Share this review:

Powerful Software - Training Required

Reviewed a year ago

Overall Access is a feature rich, powerful, versatile solution for database management. To really use the product to its full potential, I would highly recommend some sort of formal training.

Pros

Microsoft Access is a very powerful database tool. It can be easily implemented into existing systems. The ability to use the same database across multiple platforms is excellent and extremely useful. The data management tools offered are extremely powerful as well.

Cons

It takes quite some time to get acclimated to the software due to the sheer amount of features that are offered. If users have access to any sort of formal training, it is highly recommended. It is very easy to become overwhelmed and lost when first starting out.

AR
AvatarImg

Verified reviewer

Nonprofit Organization Management, 1-10 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend5/10

Share this review:

Basic Database Management for Low Budget Organizations

Reviewed 2 years ago
Pros

Price. Access is a decent database platform for organizations with uncomplicated membership and low budget.

Cons

Trying to see more data is hard - Access doesn’t give pretty charts or good data analysis options. Also it’s hard to track changes to records.

AD
AvatarImg

Aldrin D.

Architecture & Planning, self-employed

Used weekly for less than 6 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Perfect for Data management file for small to medium type of organization

Reviewed a year ago

As a newbie learner apps a like tools developer , this apps is for you. Its convenient to use. It needs no enough knowledge in VBA language to develop a simple data system but its compulsory to know programming to have an appealing one. For an office to have a nice office documentation, this is recommended.

Pros

I like MS office access because its easy to use specially if someone is using a developed system developed by some users for easy functionality. Its good for office documents and reporting. It can handle large data files. For small developers using this software, easy to use and convenient. Not needing more vba knowledge to creates a simple system, Easy to create tables, query, forms and reports. Buttons are ready made. You just need to follow proper clicking of commands to get the right function. More convenient that MS Excel.

Cons

If not properly setup in a network can affects its full functionality due to overloading of users. It may stop on working and need to restart the software again. It crashes sometimes if not properly handled.

PM
AvatarImg

Paul M.

Consumer Services, 11-50 employees

Used weekly for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Powerful database software

Reviewed 2 years ago

The program has helped me keep records for a long and has been working pretty well, with fewer instances of crashes and failure, besides its difficulty, the tool functions well and can handle large files with ease.

Pros

Microsoft Access has been the go-to for productivity for years. It's a powerful program suite that helps me create and edit documents, databases, and more.

Cons

It is very difficult to learn on my own, I had to be taught in school to get around it and it looks old fashioned hence need to improve its user interface

SA
AvatarImg

Sadeq A.

Computer Software, 51-200 employees

Used monthly for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Review for Microsoft Access

Reviewed 2 years ago

As for my experience, I learned programming at a university, and this program was one of the important programs that helped me in the beginning to archive my own work.

Pros

The simplicity of designing the application interface and dealing with it, as well as adding tables and making links between them, as well as creating reports and different forms, as well as the ease of linking them to a programming code with programming languagesDoing complex arithmetic operations through programming commands saved in the program

Cons

You need specialized institutes and universities to teach the program. The price of the program is suitable in America and Europe, but in the rest of the third world countries the price is considered very high due to the “low monthly income, the ease of penetration of the database by hackers due to the weakness of its software.”

VS
AvatarImg

Vijay S.

Education Management, 51-200 employees

Used weekly for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Microsoft Access is a wonderful, Free-to-use database software.

Reviewed 6 months ago
Pros

Access gives the user a wide range of features that enhance user experience and functions well in storing data.

Cons

Access isn't connected to other applications for easy transfer of data.

DV
AvatarImg

Dima V.

Information Technology and Services, 51-200 employees

Used monthly for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend3/10

Share this review:

MS Access can do a notch better!

Reviewed 2 years ago

I did give a fair chance to MS Access in the past, even set up one of my clients' projects with it. I prefer other open-source database managers, much simpler to set up and use and they are free.

Pros

MS Access is great at setting up a database, I will give it that. It is relatively easy to set up the tables with their keys and to add and edit data. There is also a massive user interface with all the different features that MS Office products usually have - to some advanced users the potential of fine tuning may be an advantage.

Cons

The setup of the server was really tough. When I had to set it up on one of my clients' machines, it took me a couple of hours to figure out what libraries were missing. Was a tough cookie! Another big con is that once the database is set up, its uses are mostly limited to only the proprietary software. There is a ton of integration and migration needed if you want to use it in a non-conventional, non-MSOffice way, basically. I really prefer MySQL and MariaDB servers to MS Access, they are much simpler to set up and very easy and intuitive to use.

bb
AvatarImg

barun b.

Construction, 501-1,000 employees

Used weekly for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Opnion

Reviewed 2 years ago

Overall awesome and best option for lite weight data management.

Pros

One of the best software for database management and it's ability to work with excel give it an edge from other database software.

Cons

For new user, it may be little bit time consuming to learn all the stuffs.