App comparison

Add up to 4 apps below to see how they compare. You can also use the "Compare" buttons while browsing.

xMatters Logo

Actionable IT alerting platform for enterprises

(4)

GetApp offers objective, independent research and verified user reviews. We may earn a referral fee when you visit a vendor through our links. Learn more

xMatters Reviews

Overall rating

4.5

/5

137

Rating criteria

  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8.79/10

Reviews by rating

Suggested alternatives

alertops
freshservice
datadog-cloud-monitoring

Pros and cons

They have made good upgrades to the system to help fit our needs and hopefully benefit their other users.
Customer and Tech support is excellent and Cust Relation Manager are very eager to help you. We are using xmatters for our critical Control M Alert function and so far our End Users are Happy.
I have had nothing but great communication, help, and training from the xMatters team. This software is excellent and easy to use.
As a user, I find the interface to be extremely confusing, even frustration. Even after I've figured out how to do something, next time I need to do it, I have to re-figure out how.
Integrations have been somewhat challenging and professional services disappointing in the time required to get things done.
The one area which didn't work well was the phone alerts where the combination of American and English 'voices' gave a disjointed feel to the message.
Filter reviews by

Overall rating


Company size


Industry


Time used


137 reviews

Recommended

RR
AvatarImg

Reid R.

Computer Software, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

No doubts here.

Reviewed 7 years ago

We use xMatters for manual and automated notifications. The application and APIs are easy to use, portable, available on multiple platforms with all the necessary options for security and auditing. I rated value for the money four stars only because some of our users receive very few alerts but the licenses are based on based on the level of response needed and not on overall usage. Even so, the license costs are reasonable and we are definitely getting the value needed. From a support standpoint, xMatters is a highly available application with very good notifications regarding maintenance, feature enhancements, etc. The support staff is top notch.

Pros

Ease of setup/use. Ability to integrate into other applications.

Cons

Cost. (Shouldn't everything be free?)

Vendor response

Hi Reid. We are so happy our product is working well for your business and appreciate you taking the time to review. Our next quarterly release is coming soon and we look forward to sharing details on our integration directory which will make it even easier to integrate with tools in our environment.

DS
AvatarImg

Darren S.

Information Technology and Services, 51-200 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

Giant spanner for your toolbox

Reviewed 7 years ago

This is a great tool for use with an ITSM tool OR directly connected to your DCIM, BMS, or stand alone. We currently have this integrated with our ServiceNow platform and it manages our Minor and Major incident processes very effectively. Thier app is great to use, you can send, receive and respond to notifications. When doing ITSM right, xMatters is the choice you should make.

Pros

SaaS based solution Direct integration with my ITSM (ServiceNow) tool Available App

Cons

For complex scheduling, it can be difficult to fit into the constructs of the app SaaS-based solution (constant changes)

Vendor response

Hi Darren. Thank you for taking the time to leave a review for xMatters. Reviews help us evaluate our products and performance. We want to provide the best level of service to you and appreciate you taking the time to comment. Our next release is coming in March and hope you are excited about our integration enhancements which will help you integrate with more tools in your enterprise.

GG
AvatarImg

Glenda G.

Medical Devices, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used monthly for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend5/10

Share this review:

Room for improvement

Reviewed 7 years ago

At KARL STORZ it confounds us that we are not able to send notifications to entire organization without jamming the switchboards. There are also functionalities that need to be enhanced to give my team the ability to fully use the system, i.e., with a dynamic recipient list only the first ten names can be seen, not able to scroll through the others. This showed up when a common name was request and there was more than 10 of them and there was not way to confirm the correct one was included.

Pros

Sending a message is easy.

Cons

The text to voice is sometimes unclear, and have to give the teams instructions.

Vendor response

Hi Glenda. Thank you for your feedback. We take our customer¿s feedback to heart. The good news is that in our upcoming release we will be addressing one of the challenges you are facing with the Dynamic Recipient List only showing 10 names. We have improved our search features and and this should address your concern. Additionally, we have been working on our text to voice capabilities and you should have seen an improvement in this area. If you haven¿t, please contact your CSM and they will work with you on it.

MM
AvatarImg

Michael M.

Financial Services, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

xMatters On-Demand review

Reviewed 7 years ago

xMatters has been a great help to our company in achieving our SLA's for support call-outs and have always assisted us with our ideas for application support whether it be customization or plug-ins for 3rd party applications.

Pros

The flexibility of shifts and schedules and the plug-ins for 3rd party applications

Cons

Reporting: xMatters could use better reporting features for admin and users. More detailed reporting for users/roles/groups/devices would be great

Vendor response

Hi Michael. We are so happy our product is working well for your business and appreciate you taking the time to review. Our next quarterly release is coming soon and we look forward to sharing details on our integration directory and enhanced timeline report. We are looking to improve our reporting capabilities over the next few releases, but if you have specific feedback, please let your CSM know.

KS
AvatarImg

Kyla S.

Environmental Services,

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Great 2-Way Communications Platform

Reviewed 7 years ago

We have been using xMatters software now for 2 years. Having the ability to instantly contact available volunteers to resolve incoming rescues, has helped us to significantly improve our service to animals and the community. The support from the xMatters team has been fantastic, working with us to implement improvements and solve any issues as quickly as possible. We are planning a new integration project this year, which will further improve our rescue service and we look forward to working with the xMatters team to make it happen.

Pros

No pros were added to this review

Cons

No cons were added to this review

Vendor response

Dear Kyla. You can¿t see me but we¿re totally doing happy dances at our desks. Thanks for your review of xMatters. We¿re so glad you have had great experiences with our team. We hope to keep wow¿ing you with our products and our people. Our next release is coming in March and hope you are excited about our integration enhancements and new mobile features.

BA
AvatarImg

Brian A.

Information Technology and Services, 10,001+ employees

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

xMatters is great for incident management

Reviewed 7 years ago

The product was easy to setup, the engagement team help us to integrate two of our apps. The system works very well for our needs. Support is excellent, they jump on to issues raised in minutes if not seconds. The system is very reliable. My only wish is for better guidance and help in setting up some of the integrated products to do more than what is out of the box for those products.

Pros

Stability, out of the box value.

Cons

lack of help for doing new things with integrated products, but that's not expected.

Vendor response

Hi Brian. We are so happy our product is working well for your business and appreciate you taking the time to review. Our next quarterly release is coming soon and we look forward to sharing details on our integration directory which will make it even easier to integrate with tools in your organization. If you have specific feedback on how we can improve our documentation, please let your CSM know and we will work with our Product Communications team.

BG
AvatarImg

Brandon G.

Information Technology and Services, 10,001+ employees

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

On Call Made Easy

Reviewed 7 years ago

We have a fairly complicated OnCall Procedure/Rotation that most applications cannot handle to the ability that xMatters can. It was pain free to be setup in and the Android App complements the website perfectly. Easy to use, easy to customize, and a powerful tool.

Pros

Easy to use and effective.

Cons

The current "cloud based" technologies makes it impossible to use when upstream DNS is having issues. That is true for any cloud services provider.

Vendor response

Hi Brandon. Thank you for taking the time to leave a review for xMatters. Reviews help us evaluate our products and performance. We want to provide the best level of service to you and appreciate you taking the time to comment. Our next release is coming in March and hope you are excited about our integration enhancements and new mobile features. If you have specific feedback on how we can improve our mobile rotation schedule set up, please pass that along to your CSM so we can review internally.

US
AvatarImg

Umesh S.

Human Resources, 5,001-10,000 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

xmatters MPG review

Reviewed 7 years ago

We are using xmatters for last 7 + yrs, we moved to Cloud solution in 2015 and found no issues, which were there for 'On Premise'. Customer and Tech support is excellent and Cust Relation Manager are very eager to help you. We are using xmatters for our critical Control M Alert function and so far our End Users are Happy.

Pros

easy to use

Cons

Integraiton is no tout of box for our Control M version

Vendor response

Dear Umesh. Thanks for your review of xMatters. We¿re so glad you have had great experiences with our team. We hope to keep wow¿ing you with our products and our people. Our next release is coming in March and hope you are excited about our integration enhancements which will help you integrate with more tools in your enterprise.

DE
AvatarImg

Diana E.

Health, Wellness and Fitness, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Ease of Use and Administration

Reviewed 7 years ago

I am a software administrator, and this is the least "problematic" application I administer. There are plenty of tips and tricks for users, as well as videos for training, etc. When you do have an issue - be it technical or user driven, however, these are probably the most responsive and helpful support teams I have had the fortune of dealing with. Thank you xMatters, you keep me out of trouble with my users!

Pros

Ease of use, ease of administration, ease of support

Cons

No cons were added to this review

Vendor response

Dear Diana. You can¿t see me but we¿re totally doing happy dances at our desks. Thanks for your review of xMatters. We¿re so glad you have had great experiences with our team. We hope to keep wow¿ing you with our products and our people.

Ko
AvatarImg

Kelley o.

Insurance, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Communications software

Reviewed 7 years ago

We use xMatters for both business continuity events and IT on-call management. xMatters has greatly simplified our on-call rotation planning and communications. We have found the tool easy enough to use that our 100 or so business continuity planners can use the tool to exercise their call trees and can utilize the tool to send targeted communications.

Pros

Ease of use

Cons

No cons were added to this review

Vendor response

Hi Kelley. Thank you for taking the time to leave a review for xMatters. Reviews help us evaluate our products and performance. We want to provide the best level of service to you and appreciate you taking the time to comment. Our next release is coming in March and hope you are excited about our integration enhancements and new mobile features.

PN
AvatarImg

Patricia N.

Oil & Energy, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Very Functional

Reviewed 7 years ago

xMatters is a very robust product and easy to use. It provides me with a tool that gives me the needed automation in order to save cost for call outs.

Pros

integration with ServiceNow is a Plus

Cons

not having the configuration capability to configure my integration to eliminate retired or inactive users or groups.

Vendor response

Hi Patricia. Thank you for taking the time to leave a review for xMatters. Reviews help us evaluate our products and performance. We want to provide the best level of service to you and appreciate you taking the time to comment. Our next release is coming in March and hope you are excited about our integration enhancements and new mobile features.

JB
AvatarImg

Jisu B.

Information Technology and Services, 5,001-10,000 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Page your support team easily

Reviewed 7 years ago

Simple user interface, easily customizable. My company uses it to setup on call rosters. We setup our team rosters based on shift and also set the device priorities, and it follows the complex rules . We love this product

Pros

Easily customizable

Cons

Reporting features can be improved

Vendor response

Hi Jisu. We are so happy our product is working well for your business and appreciate you taking the time to review. Our next quarterly release is coming soon and we look forward to sharing details on our integration directory and enhanced timeline report. Additionally, we will also be improving our reporting capabilities over the next few releases.

AW
AvatarImg

Antwane W.

Information Technology and Services, 5,001-10,000 employees

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Very Great Product

Reviewed 7 years ago

I use xMatters on a daily basis as the SME for my company. The product is very easy to use and does its intended function very well. The best part in my experience is the very quick and knowledge customer support that I receive no matter the question.

Pros

What I like the most is how easy the product is to use and how quick and knowledgeable the customer support is .

Cons

Wish there was a little more visibility into the subscriptions of users from a admin perspective.

Vendor response

Hi Antwane. Thanks very much for leaving an xMatters review on Capterra and for your positive comments. We have shared your feedback internally regarding better visibility to subscription of users to our internal team. Our next quarterly release is coming soon and we look forward to sharing details on new enhancements.

CS
AvatarImg

CJ S.

Hospital & Health Care, 10,001+ employees

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

xMatter Rating

Reviewed 7 years ago

We use xMatter for paging. Seems to be a good overall application to use. xMatter support is great and works with us on customization to fit our needs.

Pros

Paging functionality for the most part. Easy to navigate screens.

Cons

From my experience, we had issues with limitations on how we can use it for events.

Vendor response

Hi CJ. We are so happy our product is working well for your business and appreciate you taking the time to review. The next time you are working with your CSM, talk to them about your use case for events to see how best you can leverage xMatters for it. Our next quarterly release is coming soon and we look forward to sharing details on our integration directory and enhanced timeline report.

dd
AvatarImg

diandra d.

Retail, 11-50 employees

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Great Customer Service Team

Reviewed 5 years ago

Great product, however, I think it is best used with people who have more IT and support skills, compared to those who are just starting out.

Pros

Super easy to use, and the customer service team is on it when you need help troubleshooting an issue. You don't even have to be very good at IT and can initiate the need for support, which greatly helps clients. It's easy to use, and makes scheduling a dream.

Cons

It's quite pricey, especially for a small business. We ultimately decided not to use it, because it was so flexible. It made it a bit hard to use and confusing at times, especially for those who do not have the best background in IT.

Vendor response

Thank you Diandra for that honest feedback! We'll take your comments to heart. At xMatters we're always looking at ways to improve ease-of-use, especially for those just starting out! We do have a free product for ten users of less. While it does not offer phone or SMS capabilities it's a solid tool for small teams to get started. A short, simple xMatters 101 class has also proved helpful to novice users. It's worth checking out xMatters again! Again, thank you for sharing your experience with us!

SS
AvatarImg

Shaun S.

10,001+ employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

xMatters Experience

Reviewed 7 years ago

As an developer and message sender for xMatters at Principal I find it easy to design and set up messages from daily information messages to select groups to emergency messages to the entire amount of employees.

Pros

No pros were added to this review

Cons

No cons were added to this review

Vendor response

Hi Shaun. We are so happy our product is working well for your business and appreciate you taking the time to review. Our next quarterly release is coming soon and we look forward to sharing details on our integration directory and enhanced timeline report.

RG
AvatarImg

Robert G.

Hospital & Health Care, 10,001+ employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Great Customer Support -I really like the cloud version for it's up time and availability.

Reviewed 7 years ago

Reliability of notifications. Cloud version - all upgrades are handled by xmatters.

Pros

Notifications are 100% delivered Ability to format notifications with company skin Very powerful call schedule rotations

Cons

Cost per license and support Cannot view call schedules in the past. Direct AD authentication is not available.

AS
AvatarImg

Ashish S.

Information Technology and Services, 10,001+ employees

Used weekly for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

I have had a great experience with xMatters till date.

Reviewed 7 years ago

I have been using xMatters for quite some time now and it has been a great experience overall. I love the interface and features.

Pros

Interface

Cons

Few Predefined message templates could be provided with would ease the process of page out.

Vendor response

Hi Ashish. We are so happy our product is working well for your business and appreciate you taking the time to review. We are always looking at ways to improve our product and service our customers. Please work with your CSM on the types of templates you are looking for so we can internally review them. Our next quarterly release is coming soon and we look forward to sharing details on our integration directory and enhanced timeline report.

SG
AvatarImg

Sandy G.

Capital Markets, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used weekly for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Pretty good

Reviewed 7 years ago

xMatters, on the whole, is a good product. The calendar view could use a little work. You really have to look hard to tell who is really on call especially if someone is doing a temporary replacement and they don't replace the person for their full shift. Other than that it work like it should.

Pros

It works as advertised.

Cons

The way the calendar displays who is on call.

Vendor response

Hi Sandy. We are so happy our product is working well for your business and appreciate you taking the time to review. Our next quarterly release is coming soon and in it we are improving our Who's on Call report so we hope it addresses your concerns.

TG
AvatarImg

Troy G.

Hospitality,

Used weekly for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Great product supported by great people

Reviewed 7 years ago

We use AppDynamics for our business, and we have found that troubleshooting has never been easier. Excited to see what happens in the years to come, but it's already so mature for what you get. Highly recommend.

Pros

Ease of use, intuitive, full featured, great support staff, easy to administer

Cons

No cons were added to this review

Vendor response

Hi Troy. We are so happy our xMatters product is working well for your business and it is helping your team troubleshoot more easily. Our next quarterly release is coming soon and we look forward to sharing details on our integration directory and enhanced timeline report.

MF
AvatarImg

Mark F.

Information Technology and Services,

Used daily for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Easy, Simple to use

Reviewed 7 years ago

xMatters has been a very reliable, user friendly application for both admins and end users alike. Highly recommended.

Pros

Simple, Reliable, Feature rich

Cons

No cons were added to this review

Vendor response

Hi Mark. Thank you for taking the time to leave a review for xMatters. Reviews help us evaluate our products and performance. We want to provide the best level of service to you and appreciate you taking the time to comment. Our next release is coming in March and hope you are excited about our integration enhancements and new mobile features.

MM
AvatarImg

Michael M.

Electrical/Electronic Manufacturing, 10,001+ employees

Used daily for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Major Incident Manager

Reviewed 7 years ago

The response, prompt for the request. and able to solve problems in time. it's very helpful toward dealing with the major incident. reduce our time to find the right resources. Thanks!

Pros

No pros were added to this review

Cons

No cons were added to this review

Vendor response

Hi Michael. We are so happy our product is working well for your business and appreciate you taking the time to review. Our next quarterly release is coming soon and we look forward to sharing details on our integration directory and enhanced timeline report.

DW
AvatarImg

Deonna W.

Financial Services, 10,001+ employees

Used weekly for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

Systems Support Associate

Reviewed 7 years ago

xMatters has evolved into a user-friendly format that meets our department's need to establish our on-call tree functions.

Pros

No pros were added to this review

Cons

No cons were added to this review

Vendor response

Hi Deonna. We are so happy our product is working well for your business and appreciate you taking the time to review. Our next quarterly release is coming soon and we look forward to sharing details on our integration directory and enhanced timeline report.

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Joby K.

Computer Hardware, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used weekly for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

XMatters User

Reviewed 5 years ago

Easy to use would recommend

Pros

Easy to create groups for alerting for on call purpose

Cons

Setimes it rotates main on call person after each alert

Vendor response

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience with xMatters, Joby! Our support team and the online community are a good resource if something isn't behaving quite the way you think it should. Thanks for the feedback!

SS
AvatarImg

Steve S.

Financial Services, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used weekly for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

xMatters - Easy to use

Reviewed 7 years ago

xMatters communication tool is simple to load (via the app) or use via the web and easy to train others on for use if you have teams in the field, other offices, etc. I've used multiple tools in this realm and this ranks up there with the others, if not even better for ease of use.

Pros

ease of use.

Cons

none so far.

Vendor response

Hi Steve. We are so happy our product is working well for your business and appreciate you taking the time to review. Our next quarterly release is coming soon and we look forward to sharing details on our integration directory and enhanced timeline report.