Canto Digital Asset Mgmt Reviews

Canto Digital Asset Mgmt Reviews

Canto Digital Asset Mgmt

Cloud based and on premise digital asset management solution

4.43/5 (70 reviews)
561     4,706

David Leemon

Overall Great Program!

30/01/2017

We use Cumulus for all of our photo gallery needs at the Florida Museum. Overall, it is very easy to navigate and choose which photos you want to use. Downloading individual photos can be time-consuming, but the "Collection Basket" feature allows you to choose multiple photos, start the download, and move on to other things while you wait. The website also offers multiple viewing options for quick navigation. Would definitely recommend Cumulus to others.

Pros

Easy to navigate. Great gallery views. Downloading and sharing are a breeze.

Cons

Long download times.

Rating breakdown

Ease of use
Features

Time used: 2+ years

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

8/10
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Hollis Wooley

Graphic Designer

30/01/2017

We have been using the Canto Digital Asset Management system at the Museum for years now and it has made my job as a designer considerably easier. My clients can set up gallery for to look at for photos they like and i can also review photos for multiple projects and send galleries as well. It also haas taken a huge burden off of Photography department so clients and the Design department can access photos and not bog down the photographers.

Pros

easy to use and make galleries for clients

Cons

need to be able to view images larger before downloading

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 2+ years

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

8/10

Recommendations to others considering Canto Digital Asset Mgmt

nope

Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Markus Hackländer

Evolving from fileserver clutter to valuable DAM-catalogues and -workflows

03/01/2017

Cumulus helped us to get back control over our assets. The first step was to replace file servers as a silo for media assets by a sophisticated catalog solution. Within Cumulus we could build a metadata model that really represents the structure of information we need in order to manage assets in every context. Even challenges like assuring consistency of used terminology and translating metadata could be handled by using the standard functionality of Cumulus. Now we have a solid basis to meet the demands of media-enriched online marketing towards visual, social, and video networks.

Pros

It's a standard software that allows customizing by configuring and without calling for programmers. The web interface became really powerful and facilitates workflows with external contributors, press contacts, and prospective clients.

Cons

Workgroup edition requires a costly upgrade to provide functionality for managing user groups.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 2+ years

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

9/10
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Sandra Klusmann

Perfect digital asset management software for our company with many divisions and different needs

09/12/2016

We´ve been using cumulus from canto since ... 4 years in our company. The time before the organization of our marketing material was not ideal. It was a problem to exchange data from division to division (national and international) - we used memory sticks or hard disks. For me, as a windows user, it was impossible to exchange data with a mac user - because we did not use the same network. Data was outworn and there was no version control or right system. Since we use cumulus this belongs to the past! The software is extremely customizable and canto reacts very fast and professional to our needs. We`ve created wonderful processes - for example between cumulus and jira (a bug- und issue-tracking-system from other software) - for example between our online marketing and graphic design divisions for the creation of web pages or newsletter. I can count a lot of examples :) !!! We use cumulus in processes with external partners like design agency, freelancer, and photographers. They use the improved web client. Since we use cumulus we have access to data from everywhere - this is a great advantage. We love the search function based on keywords (in any language). Cumulus will be permanently enhanced - the version 9.1 has a great adobe integration. A lot of people in my company use the batch processing function. Also, the comment function is a great advantage. We daily use it and we love it. It has improved our work!

Pros

- endless possibilities - answers for every case of use

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 2+ years

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

10/10

Recommendations to others considering Canto Digital Asset Mgmt

With cumulus, you will not make a mistake!

Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Bill Shears

Mostly good, but occasionally buggy

21/11/2016

I use the Canto Cumulus DAM system and it works well most of the time. I like the options for configuring the search results, but sometimes the download feature doesn't work. The lightbox/cart feature also sometimes fails to empty when you tell it to.

Rating breakdown

Ease of use
Features
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Andreas Graebnitz

DAM is all around

04/11/2016

Cumulus offers a great product to manage all the assets we have here in the company. You cn store, share, modify, optimize assets (e.g. pictures, videos, documents) and also use these asets in other applications without storing it twice. It really helps us to manage the assets itself and also their meta data, digital rights and so on. Absolutely recommendable and a must have!

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Jens Hömmen

Canto Cumulus is a perfect DAM

26/10/2016

We use it in our company with over 500 employees. With many different departments. And it works very great.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 2+ years

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

9/10
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Stefan Becker

Just works

26/10/2016

easy to install, easy to use. fair hardware requirements. canto is very quick when responding to customer requests. professional service is very helpful and easy to work with.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Oliver Ukat

Perfect for our needs

25/10/2016

After nearly two years of using the software i can say that this DAM fits perfect to our needs. The migration of the old DAM system was accompanied by Canto very professional. The handling of more than 200k of highres assets in several portals is fast and easy. Managing the files with the native or web client is fast and intuitive. Working together with the guys from Canto showed us how close they are to their product. Customized features like an InDesign package download were no problem. The good integration of the software into InDesign was one main reason for the purchase. Using the system as a distribution platform and a collaboration platform helps us a lot to do our work in a very effective way. Until now a very reliable system. Due to the versatile possibilities the software offers, sometimes the handling seems a bit complex. All in all we are very happy with this system and looking forward to a DAM good future.

Pros

Fast, reliable, many features, company is very close to the product

Cons

Support sometimes takes its time, self managing the system is difficult because of extensive features

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 1-2 years

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

9/10

Recommendations to others considering Canto Digital Asset Mgmt

Get your help from Canto to setup the system as early as possible.

Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Hans-Peter Scherer

Bewertung Cumulus auf Capterra

25/10/2016

es fehlen vielleicht noch ein paar Export-Filter um z. Bsp. die Datenstruktur, die Attribute an den Bildern, ... exportieren zu können

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Stefanie Witgraefe

Helpful Data Base

25/10/2016

Good structur Helpful informations regardings rights, photo informations, photo occasions etc. Different kind of files are able to download (jpg, hi-res, eps, open files etc.)

Pros

Good structur Helpful informations regardings rights, photo informations, photo occasions etc. Different kind of files are able to download (jpg, hi-res, eps, open files etc.)

Cons

NO

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend

6/10

Recommendations to others considering Canto Digital Asset Mgmt

NO

Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Thomas Masuhr

Extensive functionality but complicated

25/10/2016

Very complex. Requires significant training effort - and Training effort is expensive. It would be good to create simplified modes as the rights management. There is a good solution. Cumulus Is difficult for small/midsize businesses. There will be staff required only for Cumulus. The utilization possibilities are very large - too large to manage it by the way. Too many possibilities are hidden in subfunctions. You can see that Cumulus has grown over a very long time and no operating concept can be detected. The software is not logical, not user-friendly. There is no current user manual in German!

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Martin Dittmann

Canto DAM - Great decision

25/10/2016

For our agency, we were searching for a DAM. After filtering the products, which were highlighted by google, our decision was the DAM from Canto. Honestly it was as good as the reviews in the internet. The features are really great und the use is also easy. For problems, the support is very helpfully.

Pros

The features and easy using

Cons

I don't know now

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend

6/10

Recommendations to others considering Canto Digital Asset Mgmt

No

Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Michael Keysers

Good Software

25/10/2016

We have cumulus running on our terminal server with an LDAP connection. This works flawlessly and is also easy to use. The asset processing / tagging is very simple and the color feature lets you recognize new assets and can easily edit them in bulk. The customer support is very good, the colleagues came directly to us in the company and gave us training to the software and have also done very well in the configuration of the server. In general one can only recommend the software.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Lisa Gestrine

Using Cumulus in an Education Setting

30/09/2016

We have really enjoyed Cumulus at our Vet Med college, and we have used it now for many years. We had a large learning curve when learning the new layout after our much needed upgrade, but we are slowly learning the new environment. We love that we can give our students access to certain photos so they can download and use them for personal use. Our marketing team also loves being able to have a place where all photos can be kept in a neat and organized place. The new layout is easy to use, modern, and the customer service answered all of our questions and needs in a timely manner.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Phillip VanSpronsen

Broad and Innovative

27/09/2016

Over the past few years Canto has worked hard to push their software to meet the increasing Data Asset Management demands of the corporate world. Cumulus has become a business critical system, cataloging hundreds of records a day. It has allowed us to streamline our production workflow and maximize our efficiency. Their improved API has let us integrate Cumulus with our other systems, making it the nucleus that delivers content throughout the company.

Pros

The product is solidly built and does what it promises.

Cons

Like with most enterprise software systems, there is a learning curve when first configuring a deployment

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 2+ years

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

9/10
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Laura Knight

Robust features and multiple ways of access

27/09/2016

What do you like best? The flexibility of deployment and implementation was paramount for our organization, as we ended up hosting the solution on premise due to our large file sizes. We love how the metadata is written back to the asset. Additionally, the various ways to access the assets through the web, through apps or through a desktop client made the user adoption go very smoothly. What do you dislike? Customizing the software during the installation and implementation phase was more time consuming than we had anticipated and with the new releases of software and portals we have encountered some delays and hiccups (we are working through them). Out of the "box" reporting is significantly lacking compared to the other options, but you can buy a 3rd party addin for that. What business problems are you solving? What benefits have you realized? The visibility on where are assets have gone and where they are going is greatly increased, in addition to increasing the visibility of knowing what assets we have while enabling a strong search functionality has decreased duplication of assets and increased productivity and efficiency.

Pros

The flexibility of deployment and implementation was paramount for our organization, as we ended up hosting the solution on premise due to our large file sizes. We love how the metadata is written back to the asset. Additionally, the various ways to access the assets through the web, through apps or through a desktop client made the user adoption go very smoothly.

Cons

Customizing the software during the installation and implementation phase was more time consuming than we had anticipated and with the new releases of software and portals we have encountered some delays and hiccups (we are working through them). Out of the "box" reporting is significantly lacking compared to the other options, but you can buy a 3rd party addin for that.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 6-12 months

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

8/10

Recommendations to others considering Canto Digital Asset Mgmt

Be sure to map out your expectations very clearly and ask a lot of questions prior to implementation. Try to think of all the use case scenarios and ask how the solution would address them.

Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Matthew Gauding

Canto Cumulus - An Archivists' Dream

27/09/2016

Canto's Cumulus software has been a wonderful tool for storing and retrieving digital assets. I began as an Archivist with a group who was already using the software, but had not really taken much time to learn what it can do. That was my job. Almost immediately I hit the ground running, and I could not be happier with Cumulus as a tool. It is incredibly customizable, and you can manipulate the software to do pretty much anything digital assets management might require. That might be it's only downside too: The software is so customizable that it may take a little bit f tinkering to get things exactly the way you want them, but their training staff do an excellent job of making sure the users aren't lost in a sea of options. They do a wonderful job of helping you customize the software to make it work for you. I sleep well at night knowing that Cumulus is storing our digital assets, and I do not worry about data loss. Cumulus is digital assets management at its finest.

Pros

Its customizability - You can make this software work in the way you need it to work.

Cons

Sometimes it would be nice to be able to disable features you don't need - sometimes the options are far too many.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 2+ years

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

10/10

Recommendations to others considering Canto Digital Asset Mgmt

Use the Canto Community! I have had many questions answered and it is a wonderful group of people who want to share their knowledge.

Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
chris sauers

Great for managing photos

27/09/2016

We have been using for years and totally love how it works it is easy to sort and share all events and it helps organize much easier then our old method

Pros

Ease of use

Cons

Not much

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 2+ years

Frequency of use: Weekly

Likelihood to recommend

9/10

Recommendations to others considering Canto Digital Asset Mgmt

No

Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Stacey Post

Digital Assets Manager

27/09/2016

Cumulus support and service has always been high quality. I would highly recommend this software to any company for their digital assets needs.

Pros

It's ease of use.

Cons

The newest version doesn't work with our current computers, so we will need to upgrade in order to use the new software.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 2+ years

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

9/10

Recommendations to others considering Canto Digital Asset Mgmt

It's very user friendly and saves a lot of time searching for images.

Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Justin Silles

System management and support services

27/09/2016

The system is not "heavy" on the infrastructure -it works how you would hope asset management would work. On a few occasions, we have needed to reach out to support for help and they were everything you could hope for. In one instance, my client was not sure if they still had a support contract, but they also had an issue causing some business impact. Due to some turnover and changing of rolls, my client could not find the correct ownership information either. Canto support helped get my client their historical invoices, get them back on a support contract, and help solve the problem. It's important to note: support helped me solve the problem, before my client paid the invoice on the contract. I really thought that was impressive, that Canto recognized the severity of the situation, and was willing to help, when they were perfectly within the right to not help.

Pros

After getting the old system upgraded, my client was able to offload some of the work the creative team previously did, to an account services team. That team was able to fulfill client requests for images without getting the creative group involved. It helped speed the responses to clients and vendors as well as balance the workload.

Cons

So far we have not had any internal issues or complaints!

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 1-2 years

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

9/10

Recommendations to others considering Canto Digital Asset Mgmt

Great customer support!

Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Hollis Wooley

Graphic Designer

27/09/2016

Cumulus is a fantastic product that makes my job considerably easier and faster! It saves so much time in searching though thousands of images. We as a museum can spend so much time, days really, searching though images folder by folder in out photography department, it is extremely time consuming. With cumulus you can search through categories and dates. For annual reports, that is key. You can also type in the name or part of a name and it comes up so fast. I would never want do my job with out it, much less go back to the old way

Pros

great librarys that our photography department can set up, easy access and easy downloads

Cons

just need a bigger preview of photos

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 2+ years

Frequency of use: Weekly

Likelihood to recommend

9/10

Recommendations to others considering Canto Digital Asset Mgmt

nope

Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Leah Welch

Greatly improved our database management

20/11/2015

As a designer at a Natural History Museum, we have a lot going on - historical and biological collections, education events, and much more. Our organization of images before integrating Cumulus into our workflow was challenging at best. Now we have the flexibility we need to get our work done efficiently. If I could recommend improvements, I would want the search function to be slightly more intuitive. Its no trouble now, but there was a learning curve involve. Would also like to see preview images be slightly larger. Overall very glad we're using this system!

Rating breakdown

Ease of use
Customer support
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Jeff Gage

Cumulus solved our problem, perfectly!

20/11/2015

The photography office at the museum purchased Cumulus to solve the problem of sharing our images internally with others in the museum in a way that was easy for the staff to use and access. Cumulus also allowed for the photo office to control how those images were used which was a great benefit to us in maintaining control over our images. A great fix to a huge problem.

Rating breakdown

Ease of use
Customer support
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Glenn Cunningham

Cumulus, this by far is a great product for both Pic and Video management.

20/11/2015

This product is amazing, it allows us to have users pull assets inside and from outside our network. We have users all over the world that can import and export. It works flawless

Rating breakdown

Ease of use
Customer support
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more