App comparison

Add up to 4 apps below to see how they compare. You can also use the "Compare" buttons while browsing.

ACS Logo

ACS

Cloud-based church management and accounting software

see alternatives

(0)

ACS Reviews

User ratings

Overall rating

3.9

/5

123
68%
positive reviews
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend6.65/10

See full reviews by rating

Pros and cons

The customer service at ACS is outstanding and would recommend this company and their products to anyone.
The onboarding team and the customer service reps are easy to work with and try to be as helpful as possible. The Church Life app is great, and has been a blessing to our church members.
What I like best is that it is an affordable, integrated, double-entry accounting system designed specifically for churches and small non-profit organizations.
And unless they've recently updated the software (unlikely), you can't even use it on iPad without an external keyboard. Further, their pricing structure is ridiculous.
Set-up for reports is too complicated and graphs are difficult to arrange and filters are confusing.
The lack of functional expense reporting is lacking given the current state of the art technology. ACS is also limited on the choice of administrators on who should access this or that.
Filter reviews by

Overall rating


Company size


Industry


Time used


123 reviews

Recommended

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Josh E.

Director of Administration

Religious Institutions, 11-50 employees

Review source

Overall Rating

Aching for ACS

Reviewed a year ago

Transcript

Josh: My name is Josh. I am the Director of Administration. And for ACS Technologies, I gave a rating...

DW
AvatarImg

David W.

Senior Pastor

Religious Institutions, 11-50 employees

Review source

Overall Rating

ACS is THE BEST!!

Reviewed 2 years ago

Transcript

David W: Hi, I'm David, I'm a senior pastor, and I give ACS software a five. We are one of ACS' oldest...

SH
AvatarImg

Sarah H.

Religious Institutions, 11-50 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Great software

Reviewed 3 years ago

We love ACS and will continue doing business with them.

Pros

Love the support team and their vast knowledge of the product. It is easy to use.

Cons

Needs more reporting/queerying options for accounting.

DG
AvatarImg

David G.

Religious Institutions, 11-50 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend3/10

Share this review:

difficult

Reviewed 6 years ago
Pros

It does interface with our financial system and they have good accounting people to solve accounting problems

Cons

Set-up for reports is too complicated and graphs are difficult to arrange and filters are confusing.

AT
AvatarImg

Angela T.

Nonprofit Organization Management, 51-200 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

ACS software

Reviewed 3 years ago
Pros

It manages our church membership well and the customer service is excellent

Cons

The software is a little clunky and out dated to a degree

VS
AvatarImg

Val S.

Religious Institutions, 1-10 employees

Used weekly for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

Not Intuitive, But Great Once It's Going

Reviewed 4 years ago

ACS is good stuff -- if it is set up correctly and consistently. I like it overall. But there is a steep learning curve.

Pros

I love how flexible/customizable it is, to fit nearly any faith community. It also can be integrated with other programs (giving, background checks, etc.).

Cons

TOTALLY not intuitive. Also, I was assured that the ACS Finance training I was going to was completely for non-finance people and I couldn't follow it at ALL due to the heavy, HEAVY reliance upon accounting jargon.

AH
AvatarImg

Ashley H.

Education Management, 1-10 employees

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Easy for those who are not keen with numbers

Reviewed 5 years ago
Pros

simple to use, but a lot of capability. Easy to keep track of giving and make reports for unpaid tuitions.

Cons

difficult to use for a school when students drop or change classes after making payments. Wish there was a way to connect to another software to automatically load registrations.

AM
AvatarImg

Andrea M.

Nonprofit Organization Management, 11-50 employees

Used weekly for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Reporting is not that easy, especially setting up for year end statements.

Reviewed 5 years ago

Membership interface capabilities. Good product and better than what we had, but I didn't get much training. When we have used customer service/support it has always been good. I am part time, so do not have lots of time to waste trying to figure things out and dealing with customer service.

Pros

Lots of fields available, good access for members. Info seems to be reliable if entered properly. Easy to fix mistakes.

Cons

Setting up reports is not very intuitive and is hard to customize. Not enough directions within the product to guide you.

TC
AvatarImg

TONYA C.

Medical Practice, 11-50 employees

Used other for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

ACS - its multi-faceted!

Reviewed 3 years ago

ACS was the database for a church where I served as Office Manager. It tracked giving, profiles of our members, classes, attendance, the list was truly endless. I also utilized it to generate Year End Giving Statements for tax purposes.

Pros

I am duly impressed with it's power - searches, record retrieval, Tax statements, etc. This was my primary software for over 7 years, I also attended several seminars to become more proficient within ACS.

Cons

It was occasionally non-intuitive, but their Customer Service reps are Fantastic at troubleshooting!!

AM
AvatarImg

Anthony M.

Religious Institutions, 11-50 employees

Used weekly for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

ACS is a financial/membership workhorse for our church

Reviewed 3 years ago

ACS has been an invaluable tool for us to manage the finances and membership of our church. It handles details which allows us to focus on ministry.

Pros

The ability to sort individuals and groups within the larger congregation. We have set up numerous subgroups in our congregation and use ACS to generate our directories.

Cons

Some categories could not be customized as we would have liked. In the people arm, some fields were mandatory even if unnecessary for our purposes.

EP
AvatarImg

Edda P.

Nonprofit Organization Management, 11-50 employees

Used daily for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend5/10

Share this review:

ACS Software

Reviewed 6 years ago

New to using the software. Minimal training as the previous person had already left the job. Too expensive for the church to send new hires to ACS Training.

Pros

Can make up a Form Letters, Labels etc to send to entire congregation. Can copy someone's address to your clipboard for ease of sending letter/envelope to one person.

Cons

Hard to do a search for a group of people. Very complicated to get exact list of criteria to get the search results you want.

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Ronnie V.

Used weekly for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

Endless Possibilities with this, no matter your size.

Reviewed 5 years ago
Pros

ACS is great if you need everything. They offer a lot, and have been around for a while, so they know the Church world. Their support is usually quick and knowledgable. You don't have to be an IT master to work with them as they walk you through everything you need.

Cons

They offer everything, sometimes it's better when a software focuses on just what You need not everything that raises costs and may end up bloating software.

ST
AvatarImg

Sharon T.

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

Great company, outstanding customer service, excellent products

Reviewed 6 years ago

PROS - The best thing would have to be the company and the incredible employees that make up this company. The customer service and desire on behalf of the employees to help you accomplish your goals is superb! The products reflect the needs of and input from the end users. Products have changed over the years as churches changed how they do church. The company is incredibly responsive to customers...

Pros

No pros were added to this review

Cons

No cons were added to this review

PP
AvatarImg

Phyllis P.

Nonprofit Organization Management, 11-50 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Love this program

Reviewed 6 years ago

I use mainly the People side of ACS and it is so helpful with keeping all of my groups together. Love this software.

Pros

No pros were added to this review

Cons

No cons were added to this review

AR
AvatarImg

Anonymous Reviewer

Verified reviewer

Used weekly for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend5/10

Share this review:

Not the best software compared to others that are comparable.

Reviewed 5 years ago

I was able to do snail mailings from this software but only if it was a mass communication and not a more narrow piece.

Pros

I like the fact that it is easy to use at first glance. It is easy to log on and view information and to use the database entry pieces

Cons

I do not like the fact that you cannot sort out your database to a great degree. For example, you can add fields, but it is not easy to do and to then sort according to your added fields is not easy.

AR
AvatarImg

Anonymous Reviewer

Verified reviewer

Religious Institutions, 51-200 employees

Used other for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

ACS

Reviewed 4 years ago
Pros

ACS is a software that just has worked for us. I have been here for 7 years now and the finance department has loved it the entire time I've been here.

Cons

We just switched from on-prem to on-demand and while we love the ability to use windows or Mac machines, we had to downgrade the number of people who could access it to stay within budget. The 5 usernames is a nice starting point but it was not deemed cost effective to add more users.

DT
AvatarImg

Donna T.

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Rating of ACS program for Episcopal Churches

Reviewed 6 years ago

I have used ACS for 16 years from DOS to Windows to Online based. Online was an awesome expansion! There was never down time (except for middle of the night maintenance) and it was always fast. Backups were never a worry. Customer Service was friendly, extremely helpful and patient. On site training was available at extra cost.

Pros

Customization. Online based. Does yearly Parochial Report and sends it to National Church. Parochial Report can be printed daily, weekly, monthly....as many times as you wish for internal reporting to Vestry or Rector. Access to training.

Cons

It can be pricey for smaller parishes/churches. Realm (for smaller parihes) is still young and needs tweaking. When you are used to the fuller ACS version, Realm can be a bit frustrating. Realm only recently had General Ledger talking to the Financial module.

AR
AvatarImg

Anonymous Reviewer

Verified reviewer

Religious Institutions, 1-10 employees

Used weekly for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Great for a small church

Reviewed 4 years ago

We wanted a way to integrate membership management and giving records. This afforded us that possibility.

Pros

The ease of use was great. First-time users were able to learn it quickly. Also, there are good instruction videos as well as customer call center. Able to meet our needs without stress

Cons

For a small church, the price could be a little cheaper per month or offer a multi-month discount

JW
AvatarImg

Jeremy W.

Verified reviewer

Religious Institutions, 11-50 employees

Used weekly for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend2/10

Share this review:

Great at somethings

Reviewed 4 years ago

Like I said in the title ...there are certian things ASC does great...The G.L. is one of those...but out side of that there seem to be several competitors that are now out pacing ASC...Infact we will be moving away from thier people suite in the spring...

Pros

Great at the general ledger and a ton of flexible reporting

Cons

Ugly U.I. which sounds silly but makes it a lot harder to get the average user to engauge with Steep learning curve

DO
AvatarImg

David O.

Nonprofit Organization Management, self-employed

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

Not a good choice...

Reviewed 3 years ago

We made it work for us but it was very hard to make work. We spent a lot of time with their team trying to make it do what we wanted. After a couple of years, we abandoned it.

Pros

We used ACS for a number of years, not understanding that there were such better alternatives. It came with reccomendations that it was the choice of some larger churches we knew.

Cons

It is archaic. The user interface is hard to read and looks like something from the dark ages.

MC
AvatarImg

Mike C.

Religious Institutions, 51-200 employees

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend4/10

Share this review:

Old software in need of an overhaul

Reviewed 2 years ago
Pros

It was a strong tool for us for quite some time.

Cons

The software hasn’t aged well. In an age of cloud and apps this software looks stuck in the 90’s

BH
AvatarImg

Bob H.

Religious Institutions, 1-10 employees

Used weekly for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Awesome Church Management Software

Reviewed 6 years ago

We have been using ACS software for over 14 years. It handles all of our church needs. I can recommend it to any church! It handles all of our financial and people needs.

Pros

ACS has a new version of their software that is called REALM. It is all online and extremely user friendly. They have online help for every aspect of the program.

Cons

The only con is the small learning curve to begin using.

WS
AvatarImg

Wendy S.

Religious Institutions, 1-10 employees

Used daily for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

ACS Technologies that we use for the Church is super easy

Reviewed 5 years ago
Pros

We are able to keep a complete database of members, associates, visitors and children. We are also able to keep track of tithes and offerings

Cons

Wish there was the ability to print pictures of people and then there name, so that if you don't know the person's name.

BL
AvatarImg

Bob L.

Religious Institutions, 11-50 employees

Used weekly for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Great Church Software Management

Reviewed 5 years ago
Pros

I like the way this software allows you to access other church members along with photographs to recognize individuals within the church. I currently am assigned the process of checking roll in our Sunday School class which I do on this software and submit without the need for paperwork.

Cons

I really haven't discovered anything negative with this software yet. However, having only used it for a about a year, I am still learning it.

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Nicholas S.

Verified reviewer

Religious Institutions, 51-200 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend2/10

Share this review:

Look elsewhere for a ministry database

Reviewed 4 years ago
Pros

There are several desirable features with this software. A primary one is the high amount of customization. However, this customization is only available to administrators and people with understanding of coding.

Cons

Immensely outdated and not functional. While using this software, I felt I put more work into using the software than actual results it gave. I would steer clear of this software if you're looking for a simple, user-friendly and intuitive experience.

FS
AvatarImg

Francine S.

201-500 employees

Used daily for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

ACS Technologies

Reviewed 6 years ago

Have been using ACS for 1 year now. Still learning how to best utilize the software. Especially enjoy the ability to track and communicate with the church family.

Pros

Able to easily track our members.

Cons

Freezes up and/or kicks me off the system randomly.

AR
AvatarImg

Anonymous Reviewer

Verified reviewer

Nonprofit Organization Management, 11-50 employees

Used weekly for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend5/10

Share this review:

ACS is okay

Reviewed 4 years ago
Pros

The thing that I like most about this software is that it can hold a very large amount of data.

Cons

The thing I like least about this software is that it is not user friendly, it is difficult to figure out how to use.