Apricot Reviews

Apricot

Case management software for nonprofits of any size

Apricot

Review Summary

Pros

Having the capability to build graphics and bulletins on the fly is great for communicating importance/ sense of urgency with the data and goals.

Christy H.

Easy to use and very friendly, great application and integrates well with other applications.

Rick M.

Although I haven’t had the chance to try out all that many products focused on non-profits exlcusively, I would have to say this one is my favorite.

Gina T.

Cons

Although frustrating, this was digestible and perhaps the transition would work itself out. We recently learned that this isn't the only problem.

Derrick M.

Poor customer service experience/ Lack of communication.

Emma O.

Not knowing where we are with issues that are in development for fixing problems.

April W.

Overall rating

3.7

(33)

5

4

3

2

1

13

8

5

5

2

64%
positive reviews
67%
would recommend this app

Filter reviews by


Overall rating


Company size


Industry


Time used


33 reviews

recommended

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Just Switched to Apricot. Love It So Far

Reviewed 2 years ago

Worked on another product for a long long time (which is also very good and powerful). Moved over to Apricot recently, and have been very pleased. It's not quite as powerful as the other product, but it's more user-friendly, and also a lot less expensive.

Pros

Simple-to-understand form structure. They use a "Folder" concept to help you understand how the data is organized. Easy to link data from one folder to another. The form builder has a lot of simple but powerful features (like automated "Other" fields). The report engine is simple enough for most modestly tech savvy folk. And probably my favorite is the security controls...you can build security sets that inherit from other security sets. Saves a lot of time.

Cons

There's a lot of whitespace that seems unnecessary. Means you might have to scroll a while. Reporting/exporting data is good, but not quite as powerful as some other products.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

Apricot is a simplified, customized, and user-friendly software.

Reviewed 2 years ago

I'm holding out hope that we just haven't been properly trained on how to access its full functionality and that it does work as demonstrated. If this is the case, it allows those that are visual to see summary data easily in charts and graphs on their dashboard, but for data geeks like myself, we can open the full spreadsheet of data that generates the graph or pie chart. This duality makes it user-friendly to all types of users.

Pros

The fact that it is customized and can provide daily dashboards to easily see progress towards goals. You can also set individual access permissions.

Cons

Our current setup seems to be more difficult to generate reports than what was demonstrated prior to purchase. However, the product changed hands to Social Solutions from CTK Technologies just weeks prior to us signing the contract. I'm not sure if Social Solutions has changed the functionality or if we have just not been properly trained on its functions.

Vendor response

Hi there! Since the CTK-Social Solutions acquisition, we've done a lot to revamp our resources for clients. Feel free to reach out to either me, your account manager, or the Customer Success Team for guidance on training materials and to get all your questions answered!

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend3/10

Share this review:

A grand design that fell short!

Reviewed 3 years ago

I had heard a lot of negative experience with the Efforts to Outcomes system however they had the analytics capabilities that others didn't. In the in it was not the best option.

Pros

When we were marketed the product the "bells and whistles" sounded great. They talked about a comprehensive analytics package that would allow us to not have to purchase an outside statistical package.

Cons

When we began to utilize the product to the fullest extent there were a lot of S4 bugs which we were told would not be addressed immediately. As a nonprofit many orgs do not have a comprehensive Data and Evaluation Department which I felt they as a company preyed on. When we wanted to use all the capabilities the system could offer but we began to realize that Social Solutions had put less investment into these capabilities that the general use cases of ETO.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Apricot Reviewed by Staff Using for Re-Entry Ministry

Reviewed 2 years ago

Would definitely recommend for those in Re-Entry ministry. It has enabled us to serve our participants better. Just know that you will need another platform for CRM work.

Pros

It is a great tool for case management. It allows us to track many data points, keep updated records and next steps for participants.

Cons

It would be great if it also had CRM functions. The infrastructure is there under the hood, but not easily customizable to track various donor interactions, merge with mail chimp, etc.

Overall Rating
  • Ease of use
  • Customer support

Share this review:

Excellet Adaptable System

Reviewed 7 years ago

We utilize Apricot to collet data for the students, employers and partners from five states in our grant project. Over all Apricot has been very easy to roll out to staff, use day to day for staff, have student access from remote locations and build data reports. We are more limited by our thinking of the possible uses of the system, than the system itself. Pros: You do not need to be a programmer...

Pros

No pros were added to this review

Cons

No cons were added to this review

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend2/10

Share this review:

Waste of time and money

Reviewed 19 days ago

We've had this software over a year now and it still feels like we're trying to get it in decent working order. If you're using it for very simple, non-complex data entry, this may work for your basic needs. But if you have a lot of moving parts, I can't recommend.

Pros

Finally got us digital so we could collect data more accurately and efficiently. Some of the straightforward data entry features aren't as difficult to navigate.

Cons

The ability to customize the software to our needs is seriously lacking. The interface and functionality are clunky and not at all intuitive. Reports that should be relatively simple to generate are overly complicated. We've had to rely on extended help from the programmers which means spending even more. We regularly experience glitches for no reason.

Overall Rating
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

I am still getting use to the software. It is hard to go in and edit the form.

Reviewed 3 years ago

Overall, the software comes highly recommended and I will recommend it to other sister companies.

Pros

It gives reports of all services rendered to the population we service. It a convenient was to keep track of all of the files. We can go paperless.

Cons

Only the administrator is allowed to see everything beyond the page being worked on. More than one user should be allowed to see everything.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend3/10

Share this review:

Not very user friendly

Reviewed 2 years ago
Pros

It gets all of the details we need, filed into a pretty easy to access format

Cons

I hate that I have to type in most of the info at least twice because it doesn't save from one page to the other

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend1/10

Share this review:

Social Solutions' is Skyrocketing Apricot Pricing

Reviewed 4 years ago

In using Apricot (under its previous owner CTK) for years, we couldn't have said enough wonderful things about it. It was affordable, flexible, and robust in its capability. Furthermore, customer service was top notch and had quick response rates. Unfortunately since Social Solutions has bought out CTK, it has fallen apart in several ways. First, the system has never been this unstable. We've had about...

Pros

No pros were added to this review

Cons

No cons were added to this review

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend6/10

Share this review:

Apricot was less than peachy

Reviewed 4 years ago

It was just 'ok'. There are so many things they can do differently to make it a much better, smoother running product!

Pros

No pros were added to this review

Cons

No cons were added to this review

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Great product and easy to customize.

Reviewed 3 years ago

This helped us take our organization to the next level since we can now track and report data on our program.

Pros

My favorite thing about this product is the ability to customize and build your own system. We had to move from a dead Access database but needed something affordable that we could customize. We purchased this product to manage our program outcomes but since it is so easy to customize we have expanded the use of the product to other areas. Customer service is incredible, the best I have experienced...

Cons

I really cannot think of anything I do not like about the software. Maybe that it works the best in Google Chrome and I prefer to use Firefox. The use of the software is accessible from any browser but the programmers prefer Chrome so that is where you get the best user experience.

Vendor response

Thank you for the great feedback! We are thrilled that you are happy and are committed to continuing to exceed your expectations. It's why we love what we do!

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend6/10

Share this review:

Started strong with CTK Technology, but Social Solutions is all about the profits from non-profits

Reviewed a year ago

Apricot should be able to track all client program activity, assessments, expenses, case management, and outcomes. We have only recently had our system re-designed after two years of not being able to do what we needed, so we haven't seen this level of performance yet. This is our first month online with the correctly re-designed system. Since we are having to manually migrate data, we will still not be able to pull more than monthly data for a while even though we signed contracts for Apricot almost four years.

Pros

It is customizable to your needs. It had a user-friendly design with CTK Technology. CTK was very knowledgeable about their product and focused on helping non-profits with their tracking needs.

Cons

Social Solutions bought out CTK right before we signed the contract. They didn't have knowledgeable staff and so our system was designed poorly and never functioned properly. We had to hire an outside contractor that had many years of experience with Apricot (under CTK Tech) to re-design our system this year. When we tried to get Social Solutions to migrate the last two years of data that wouldn't populate correctly, they wanted to charge us a permanent monthly fee to transfer the data from their Apricot design to our newly re-designed forms in Apricot. So we are having to manually transfer two years of data. They have also recently increased their annual fees significantly.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Great Tool to track clients and students

Reviewed 2 years ago

Best tool we've found in the 4 years of running our school

Pros

Very thorough product with a great deal amount of functions. We have an online school and need to capture a lot of data for the students that enroll. The type of school we have demands we have constant interaction with them. This is tool has allowed us to create customized forms to enroll and track to our needs. We can also have online enrollments automatically create records we have embed into our website. Their library of information is extremely helpful and valuable. Also you can purchase an import tool to allow you to import from your present data into Apricot.

Cons

It's very robust and requires learning but not as difficult as Salesforce which is why we chose this. However, be prepared to take time to learn and take advantage of live chats with customer support.

Overall Rating
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Apricot User Review

Reviewed 2 years ago
Pros

This software is highly functional and affordable for the value it has to offer. You can select different software package depending on your non-profit needs. Very user friendly

Cons

When first getting this software there is a lot of setting up and creating forms which does request a lot of alternation and time commitment.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

All in one non-profit management/database software - highly recommend

Reviewed 2 years ago
Pros

Although I haven’t had the chance to try out all that many products focused on non-profits exlcusively, I would have to say this one is my favorite. It is customizable and includes so many different features that it can truly be your all in one non-profit management software.

Cons

The initial setup and learning process required in order to get into a good rythmn and efficiently use all features is pretty long and time consuming but worth it in the end.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

Great Program- Poor Customer Service

Reviewed 3 years ago
Pros

Easy to use. The program allows you to measure outcomes easily, which is helpful to provide to donors.

Cons

It took a lot of time to set up out soft ware program, specifically for our organization. There is little customer support for this process.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend1/10

Share this review:

Poor communication and overpriced for small non-profit case management.

Reviewed 2 years ago

We are a small non-profit that has been using Apricot Essentials for our case management needs for the past year. Initially we were satisfied with the customizable features and ability to track and organize case notes. However, as our organization grew we realized that we had software needs that Apricot didn't fill. Not only did our the renewal specialist somehow miss our appointment to try to cancel...

Pros

Customized features, Adequate case management

Cons

Poor customer service experience/ Lack of communication

Overall Rating
  • Ease of use
  • Customer support

Share this review:

Very useful and responsive system and support

Reviewed 7 years ago

We have been using Apricot for perhaps 3 months now in some form. We switched from the old CTK ODM system, and the switch has been managed extremely well. The data forms and reports were done correctly, and the technical support is responsive and of very high quality. The new Apricot system is super easy to use, very flexible to individualize, and also easy to control in terms of access. We area large...

Pros

No pros were added to this review

Cons

No cons were added to this review

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend1/10

Share this review:

Unsatisfactory experience

Reviewed 4 years ago

Our organization has been working with Apricot for a little over a year, and we've had a number of significant challenges with the billing department and account management. Response times are a month or longer, many employees connect with me with inconsistent information (and weeks after I've requested), and when I ask to speak with management as my concerns have not been addressed, I get no response (I get the sense they do not deal well with complaints). Our experience has been deeply disappointing, and I would not recommend purchasing this product unless these client relations problems get fixed.

Pros

Customer service is very responsive (in comparison to billing and account management). We've been happy with the responsiveness of the customer service team.

Cons

The primary cons are around how billing and our account manager has interacted with us. They are not responsive - it has greatly delayed our team.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Excellent tracking software

Reviewed 3 years ago

Overall great program!! Worth purchasing and using.

Pros

This software is an easy to understand and is a great help in order to track and input the individuals and groups you serve. It is easy to input individuals information and look up the information stored in the future.

Cons

Apricot is a software we have mainly used for tracking those we served and volunteers. We have not found the software to be an easy software to use for donors or tracking of finances.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

Apricot has provided a great way to keep up with case management while collecting data.

Reviewed 3 years ago
Pros

I love that I can access Apricot from any computer! It is great to pull reports and gather data so quickly.

Cons

No cons were added to this review

Vendor response

Thanks for the review, Lesley! Let us know if there's ever anything we can do to help you further your mission!

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Apricot Essentials

Reviewed 3 years ago

It has been a pleasure working with Apricot. If you are a small organization moving from Access or Excel, this is an affordable good first step. No in house techie required! Basic database knowledge is very useful for implementation but not required.

Pros

Ease of Form Customization Reporting Look and Feel Customer Service is amazing Chat Help informative and available Value for Cost

Cons

No Mass Emailing Capability Data Upload Capability Charge is for the Duration of Contract. You cannot turn on and off Training is all online / self taught unless you pay

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Apricot Worke

Reviewed 6 months ago

I like how Apricot is a website for the front end and a data base for the back end. This is great for non profits who are starting off who need member management.

Pros

I like how apricot is a website but also has a data base on the back end.

Cons

This is an off the shelf product and it is not customizable in every aspect to what your business needs may be.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend2/10

Share this review:

Apricot

Reviewed 2 years ago

I wasn't to impressed with it.

Pros

The customer support. If there was an issue they would help.

Cons

It was bad about not saving material and you had to put the same information in multiple times. It would freeze up a lot. There was issues with information that was sent from other software as well.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Some snags, but overall easy to use!

Reviewed 10 months ago

I enter data for my clients on a daily basis. This is pretty easy to use and understand!

Pros

New features: ability to sort services by date, type of service—so helpful! I’m very glad this was added.

Cons

Like most softwares, there are usually some hiccups when updates roll out. Sometimes it isn’t the most reliable.

page 1 of 2