App comparison

Add up to 4 apps below to see how they compare. You can also use the "Compare" buttons while browsing.

Fluxx Grantmaker Logo

Fluxx Grantmaker

Collaborative, Data-Driven Grants Management Solution

(8)

GetApp offers objective, independent research and verified user reviews. We may earn a referral fee when you visit a vendor through our links. Learn more

Fluxx Grantmaker Reviews

Overall rating

4.2

/5

79

Rating criteria

  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7.75/10

Reviews by rating

Pros and cons

Overall, we are happy with the Fluxx experience and encouraged that it continues to improve.
The software is extremely helpful in supporting workflow processes, it is much more straightforward than MicroEdge GIFTS, and overall we are happy with the experience.
Easy to learn for admin, workflows are easy to set up, great automatic email settings (ESPECIALLY compared to a program like Salesforce). All of the forms are extremely customizable.
I am not a programmer, nor do I wish to become one, so I'm frustrated with the lack of customer support.
Expensive for small foundations. Public-facing portal is unattractive.
It was difficult to set up the different features of each 'card.
Filter reviews by

Overall rating


Company size


Industry


Time used


79 reviews

Recommended

MW
AvatarImg

Mark W.

Nonprofit Organization Management, 11-50 employees

Used daily for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Fluxx for Medium-Sized Foundations is a No Brainer Decision

Reviewed 8 years ago

We have been using Fluxx live for the past ten months. Five of those months we used it internally and launched it to our grantees in March of this year. Quite simply it has been a game changer for our foundation. Our program officers have better insight into their work. It becomes an interactive tool that informs meetings in real time. It allows us to analyze our work in new ways. And, because...

Pros

1. The Fluxx community (truly the best and most supportive group of users I've ever experienced from a software platform) 2. anytime/anywhere/any device access (with great iOS and soon Android app) 3. regular updates and upgrades included in monthly fees that add features you actually want and need 4. good customer support with people that get to know you and your software instance 5. great conference...

Cons

1. Would like to see the development of integration into a board book platform or an integrated board book feature. No one has done this, it would be revolutionary. 2. So many new and useful features, sometimes it is hard to keep up. 3. Not much else, we are very pleased with this change

SO
AvatarImg

Suki O.

Nonprofit Organization Management, 1-10 employees

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

A Grants Management System for Learning Organizations

Reviewed 8 years ago

We selected Fluxx after poring over a dozen possibilities and two like-functional contenders, chiefly because we knew our staff would value well-designed, anywhere anytime access (great web and app interfaces); our grantseekers /grantees would appreciate how Fluxx's portal design addresses common frustrations of applying for and managing a grant; and the Fluxx company itself is the brainchild of extremely...

Pros

Fluxx has a great process for working with you to build a grants management system that reflects your grantmaking culture while connecting you to the power of its software and effective practices in the field. The underlying architecture is fast, reliable and secure, and training (from grantseeker to reviewer to program team to hard core admin) is an easy path. They are great listeners, and demonstrate...

Cons

Fluxx is growing fast and on the way to ramping up its support and implementation teams to meet a dramatic increase in demand. Until they catch up, the out-of-the-box training materials and knowledgebase can reflect outdated material. This is further exacerbated by the fact Fluxx often turns on a dime (yay), improving features before full documentation is updated (uh-oh). Luckily, their user community is filling in the gaps as is a new program of quick training webinars.

Vendor response

Hi Suki, Thank you so much for your thoughtful review. We are so happy to hear that Fluxx has exceeded your expectations by simplifying your grantmaking workflow and that you recognize that we truly listen to our client's feedback and thoughts as we continue to improve our product. You will be happy to know that a major area of focus for us in 2016 has been on increasing training, communications, and product documentation. We continue to add to our Knowledge Base where we now have over 250 articles and have expanded our Support and Training teams. Keep an eye out for more product and training resources in the very near future and let us know how else we can better support you as a customer! Best, Pej Azarm, VP of Client Services

KA
AvatarImg

Kelilah A.

Philanthropy, 51-200 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend3/10

Share this review:

Good product, but beware the runaround

Reviewed 2 years ago
Pros

Relatively easy for applicants, grantees and internal staff to learn. It has tremendously our process of creating allocation letters. Good filtering ability and good searching ability.

Cons

I had few complaints as staff user, but now that I am on the team that deals with Fluxx my largest complaints are with customer service and customer support. We've had support tickets open for two years and counting. We are optimistic that the support process will change but for now it seems that there is a language barrier with the reviews, along with the issue of the time it takes for resolution....

Vendor response

Dear Kelilah, thank you for your feedback and for being a valued member of the Fluxx community. We are hearing your concerns and are thriving to constantly improve our processes to get you the support you need. Please contact your customer success manager to find a path to meet your needs.

CM
AvatarImg

Cynthia M.

Philanthropy, 11-50 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend5/10

Share this review:

Works but definitely areas for improvement

Reviewed 2 years ago

At our Foundation's basic level, the system enables us to do what we need to do -- store grant data and enact a workflow to award grants and approve payments.

Pros

As an end user, it's easy to make way through the system and see/do what you need to do.

Cons

Reporting is tedious, hard to get the data (or even find the data -- backend name and knowing all the right parameters) that you want. Having so much of the information available it s challenge bc it's overwhelming. Data manipulation/filtering is not easy. A novice user can't easily create a report, so there's a dependency on others to do it for them. Also feel like I need to really learn liquid language to make effective administrative changes. Would be nice to have more end user friendly ways for administrative maintenance.

Vendor response

Hi Cynthia, Thank you for your review! We are so grateful that you trust Fluxx and are part of the Fluxx community. Please note that we are going through an overhaul of the reporting and analytics capabilities this year, I am sure they will meet and even exceed your expectations! As far as using code, virtually any change is doable without it. Please turn to the customer success team or the Fluxx community to get help on how to make administrative changes!

DC
AvatarImg

Danielle C.

Philanthropy, 11-50 employees

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

You'll never want to use another grants management system after using Fluxx!

Reviewed 5 years ago

I LOVE Fluxx! I recommend anyone thinking about changing systems to look into it - your staff will thank you!

Pros

- Cloud-based system with GREAT mobile app to access the information you need anywhere, at any time - Super intuitive for our staff, even those who aren't tech-savvy, and ANY tech-savvy person can be an admin - Easy to learn for admin, workflows are easy to set up, great automatic email settings (ESPECIALLY compared to a program like Salesforce) - All of the forms are extremely customizable - Connected...

Cons

- There is no way to bulk import data on your own :(

JG
AvatarImg

Jonathan G.

Philanthropy, 11-50 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Review of Fluxx

Reviewed 2 years ago

Fluxx has been very helpful in keeping the grantmaking process flowing, and has been particularly useful during this time when we have been working remotely.

Pros

Fluxx is highly customizable, and has the ability to connect to third party platforms through api's. The native workflow in Fluxx helps the grantmaking process move through the grant cycle, keeping people informed and ultimately supporting decision-making and money into the hands of nonprofits in a timely manner.

Cons

Reporting could be improved; it's overly complicated to set up reports. Customer service could also be more responsive -- there are times when a ticket is submitted and follow-up is less than timely.

Vendor response

Dear Jonathan, thank you for your feedback and for being a valued member of the Fluxx community. We are hearing your concerns and are thriving to constantly improve our processes to get you the support you need. We continuously release new features and capabilities, please stay tuned for updates on reporting and analytics coming soon! If you have any issue, please contact your customer success manager to find a path to resolution.

NH
AvatarImg

Nicole H.

Nonprofit Organization Management, 51-200 employees

Used daily for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Moving from a database to an automated workflow data management system

Reviewed 8 years ago

Fluxx has transformed the way we work. It improved access, centralized our data, and streamlined our processes. We automated many of our manual processes: instead of routing paper files among staff we use dashboards to inform staff of pending work. Now staff members can work from anywhere there is access to the Internet and they are able to see pending information as well as real time updates. This implementation required data migration, testing, validation, change management, workflow creation, consensus building, communication, and training. A tremendous amount of work went into implementing Fluxx but so far it has proven to be a good decision.

Pros

Remote access, centralized information, automated workflow, real time updates, and budget planning.

Cons

The two areas we like least are: reporting and their current tech support model. Reporting: robust reporting is not part of the core functionality and this is because dashboards were meant to inform clients of this information. However, reporting is still part of many foundation's processes so they have facilitated reporting through secondary databases. So the functionality is available but it isn't...

JM
AvatarImg

Jordon M.

Government Administration, 501-1,000 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

Review

Reviewed 2 years ago

Overall, the experience with FLUXX has been beneficial and is the core of our program and we have built out the platform to serve our team and users.

Pros

The features that are most impactful are the ad hoc report function, the centralization of all of our awards, grants and scholarships. We have built out our FLUXX platform extensively. We have made very good use of our FLUXX platform as each year, we are developing and expanding a new feature within FLUXX.

Cons

The additional cost for any add-in features. There isn't an effective and efficient translation option for non-native English speakers/non-English speakers. There isn't an option for visually impaired users. The platform should be better suitable for tablets and phones also. Overall, accessibility is key for us since are an international focus organization.

Vendor response

Dear Jordon, thank you for your feedback and for being a valued member of the Fluxx community. Your system is constantly improving and we are adding new functionalities all the time. In particular, our recent Multi Language Support capability now allows you to offer your grantees a digital experience in their native language. Please contact your customer success team to know more!

SK
AvatarImg

Sharon K.

Health, Wellness and Fitness, 11-50 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Fluxx for private foundation, $35M annual grantmaking

Reviewed 2 years ago

I have not administered other grantmaking software, but have used plenty of other systems as a grant seeker, and I find Fluxx among the easiest to use.

Pros

The best thing about Fluxx is how easy it is to use. Our applicants, grant partners, program officers, and external reviewers can quickly find what they need and they trust Fluxx will have the information in a logical place. As an administrator with little to no prior programming experience, the system is easy to maintain, update, and customize.

Cons

I wish there was an admin manual or other comprehensive guide for the system. Fluxx has a robust user community with active message boards, but I often have a quick, simple question and feel guilty bothering other users. I attended the admin training and have the training deck, but would love a resource that goes beyond explanations of what each card and modal do.

Vendor response

Sharon, thank you for your review! We are so grateful that you trust Fluxx and are part of the Fluxx community. Remember, you are not bothering anyone when you bring your questions to the community! Helping each other is what the community is all about. Today you are the one asking for help, tomorrow you will be the one offering help. Thank you again!

LN
AvatarImg

Lynn N.

Philanthropy, 1-10 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend6/10

Share this review:

It's great but...

Reviewed 2 years ago
Pros

I like that the product is highly customizable and very user friendly and intuitive.

Cons

The main issue is the sluggishness and just the overall slow loading speed of the product.

Vendor response

Dear Lynn, thank you for your feedback and for being a valued member of the Fluxx community. We are hearing your concerns and are thriving to constantly improve our processes to get you the support you need and the performance you expect. If you have any issue, please contact your customer success manager to find a path to resolution.

KS
AvatarImg

Karen S.

Nonprofit Organization Management, 11-50 employees

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

From CyberGrants to Fluxx

Reviewed 8 years ago

Our foundation migrated our grant data to Fluxx last year. It was a really good decision for us since Fluxx provides real time data and we were forced to clean up those projects that needed it.

Pros

I love the fact that Fluxx always works... we did have a bug this year but other than that, most of our employees really enjoy using it. It has been very beneficial to us in having the Project Leads take responsibility for their projects.

Cons

Moving to Fluxx from our last grants management system was quite an ordeal. The migration did not go well and we spent a long time cleaning up data and ensuring all the documents were in the system correctly.

Vendor response

Hi Karen, Thank you so much for taking the time to review Fluxx, we really appreciate your candid feedback. You will be happy to know that since your implementation in 2014 we have completely revamped updated our implementation process. This includes building custom tools to simplify the data migration process. We also now start the data preparation and migration prior to starting the configuration...

SR
AvatarImg

Susan R.

Philanthropy, 11-50 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Great product with many functional features

Reviewed a year ago

Fluxx allows us to customize how we do our business and provide the work flow to adapt if we shift. It is a very robust product with a lot of functionality.

Pros

The ease of use and being able to customize is very important to how we do our business. We have been using Fluxx for 12 years and have not looked back. Great product

Cons

The current integration with Sage Intacct has been tricky based on our work flow and levels of approval but am confident that it will smooth out

MB
AvatarImg

Mat B.

Philanthropy, 1-10 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend6/10

Share this review:

Fluxx grantmaker

Reviewed 2 years ago
Pros

Great card system. Can follow grants through the process. Great visibility of grants for grantees.

Cons

Not very intuitive system. Some grantees struggle with it esp having to push submit and save all the time. Quite complicated to make changes in the system. Sometimes poor system support - takes time for solutions.

Vendor response

Dear Mat, thank you for your feedback and for being a valued member of the Fluxx community. We are hearing your concerns and are thriving to constantly improve our processes to get you the support you need. Also, please contact your customer success team to get assistance making changes to your system. Fluxx was built to empower users to make adjustments as their needs evolve, we can halp!

PJ
AvatarImg

Patrick J.

Philanthropy, 1-10 employees

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend3/10

Share this review:

Fluxx Review

Reviewed 2 years ago
Pros

The flexibility of various functionality was most appealing.

Cons

I've noticed that creating and pulling various ad-hoc reports requires a substantial amount of time and testing before arriving at the intended outcome, for example, I have pulled reports where the currency symbols do not pull into the report or fields that have been changed or updated pull in the old data or a mix of the old and new data.

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Deb S.

Banking, 11-50 employees

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Allows us to be responsive to both our grantees and staff and provide best possible experience.

Reviewed 6 years ago

Flexibility, better data collection and improved ability to query data, world wide access - I travel a lot but I can still administer the back end from anywhere in the world and have done so. It has caused staff to imagine more because we have been able to implement almost anything they have asked.

Pros

Flexibility to be responsive to staff and grantee needs, easily configurable. On simple customer support requests turn around time is excellent. Because of ongoing training we don't need a lot of support. My all time favorite part of Fluxx is the community where we share ideas, solutions and documentation. The community is knowledgeable and generous.

Cons

Customer support on design issues (things outside maintenance) turn around time can be very poor since Fluxx is growing so much. We have had only one request like that and by time they got to it we had developed our own solution which we actually like better than their proposed solition.

KS
AvatarImg

Kelly S.

Nonprofit Organization Management, 11-50 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

Easy to use, supports grants administration and workflow process. Overall a great product.

Reviewed 8 years ago

Our organization has used Fluxx for several years to help manage our grantmaking programs. We have definitely seen improvement in Fluxx over the years. The software is extremely helpful in supporting workflow processes, it is much more straightforward than MicroEdge GIFTS, and overall we are happy with the experience. Customer support has greatly improved as Fluxx grows and continues to establish itself.

Pros

Supportive of workflow, helpful with running reports, budget tracking, easy to quickly find information on particular grants

Cons

Fluxx has many different capabilities and this only seems to keep expanding. However, there are a lot of little bugs that require workarounds. It would be great if Fluxx could focus on fixing these bugs while at the same time adding new features.

LP
AvatarImg

Lily P.

Philanthropy, 51-200 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Amazing product led by amazing people

Reviewed 9 months ago

Wonderful. I have known the folks at Fluxx for about a decade. They are a pleasure to work with and care about the success of their clients.

Pros

The user experience is excellent. Fluxx is a clean, workflow oriented tool with many functions and capabilities.

Cons

It is capable of doing many things which makes it hard to know what functions are best to release to internal and external stakeholders.

LG
AvatarImg

Lodilyn G.

Nonprofit Organization Management, 11-50 employees

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

What's the best experience I have in using Fluxx?

Reviewed 2 years ago

The best part is the support is get from the Fluxx community where I learned a lot and helped me with my day-to-day activities as administrator of Fluxx.

Pros

Grants management - grantees have "one stop shop" for all their requests, awards, scheduled payments and reports in one portal. Same way with how we monitor all our records, we have one portal to look at.

Cons

incompatibility issues with Microsoft add-ins

Vendor response

Thank you for your review! We are so grateful that you trust Fluxx and are part of the Fluxx community.

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Tiffany R.

Nonprofit Organization Management, 1-10 employees

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Using Fluxx helped us manage 3x the amount of grant applications we had previously manages

Reviewed a year ago

Overall the experience with Fluxx was great. A software build/ implementation is no small undertaking but our implementation team really supported us through the process.

Pros

The automated alerts that we we’re able to customize.Application trackingPayment tracking

Cons

There were aesthetic design limitations when it can to our landing page. We would have like our Fluxx site to have matched a bit more with our org branding but it still did the job.

RK
AvatarImg

Roland K.

Nonprofit Organization Management, 11-50 employees

Used daily for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Grant Management System Review

Reviewed 8 years ago

As a Fluxx administrator for my organization, I have found Fluxx to be very user friendly, easily customizable, and advanced enough to meet broad organizational needs beyond mere grants management. Fluxx has found a way to meet the modern branding and aesthetic aspects without sacrificing the legal and operations compliance and due diligence needs of the organizations they cater to. I have used three different grant management systems during my career and have been most satisfied with Fluxx.

Pros

I like the organization's people capacity, those who are working behind the scenes to make Fluxx happen, and the customization features.

Cons

The extensive glossary of terms that can be used for filtering. Perhaps offering customizable options depending on a specific organization's needs.

BD
AvatarImg

Bruce D.

Used daily for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Good, serves most of our needs. Thought of well within the organisaiton

Reviewed 6 years ago
Pros

Does the basics well, having different dashboards/workspaces allows information to be kept together and having information at fingertips.

Cons

Some parts of the system seem a bit rigid. Foundations have many different structures and somethings cannot be ported directly into Fluxx and need to be re-thought in order to 'Fluxxify' them. Visualizations still need building out fully. Cannot visualize much that isn't part of the core product or integrate visualizations into forms.

SC
AvatarImg

Sophie C.

International Trade and Development, 201-500 employees

Used weekly for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

A customized grantmaking system that fits your need

Reviewed 7 months ago
Pros

Customer support is helpful. The consultant work directly with the customer to build the customized system.

Cons

It requires some time to familiarize the system and navigate around the dashboard and cards as they are not as intuitive for people who had no previous experience such system. A user guide that's customized for no IT background users will be helpful.

AL
AvatarImg

Amy L.

Nonprofit Organization Management, 1-10 employees

Used other for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend5/10

Share this review:

Fluxx was not intuitive

Reviewed 5 years ago
Pros

I liked that we could save our work and come back later. That was a handy feature because we got frustrated loading our grant in. However, the robust ability to store all kinds of attachments and how quick and easy that was were things we appreciated. I think it is overall a great software tool but perhaps the grant was far too complicated to work with the system.

Cons

Our written grant was formatted. We could not do bullet points or any other formatting in the Fluxx portal. That was pretty frustrating. We don't know what it will look like to the funder.

LK
AvatarImg

Lisa K.

Civic & Social Organization, 1-10 employees

Used other for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Great software to manage grants

Reviewed 6 years ago
Pros

Easy to use. If you know how to buy through amazon, you can use it for sure. There is minimum hours of training to use.

Cons

Not all the data is not linked. The function is hidden so if you don’t have good administrators you can not utilize it

AR
AvatarImg

Verified reviewer

Civic & Social Organization, 51-200 employees

Used other for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend6/10

Share this review:

Advanced Platform for Managing Grants

Reviewed 5 years ago
Pros

Once the platform is set up, it's easy to view and track down information easily.

Cons

It was difficult to set up the different features of each 'card'.