This is your compare tray

Apps you want to compare will be listed here. Launch a head to head comparison at any time.

Fluxx Grantmaker Reviews

Reviews summary

Pros

Overall, we are happy with the Fluxx experience and encouraged that it continues to improve.

Kelly S.

The software is extremely helpful in supporting workflow processes, it is much more straightforward than MicroEdge GIFTS, and overall we are happy with the experience.

Kelly S.

The system is clear, user friendly and easy to manage. Functionality and ease of use continue to improve as new features are added.

Ben H.

Cons

Expensive for small foundations. Public-facing portal is unattractive.

Phillip R.

No one has done this, it would be revolutionary.

Mark W.

It doesnt have modern interaction mechanism. It has no more cons that i can think about at this moment.

Dzung B.

Overall rating

4.5

5

4

3

2

1

15

14

1

0

0

97%
positive reviews
100%
would recommend this app

Filter reviews by


Overall rating


Company size


Industry


Time used


30 reviews

recommended

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Allows us to be responsive to both our grantees and staff and provide best possible experience.

Reviewed 4 years ago

Flexibility, better data collection and improved ability to query data, world wide access - I travel a lot but I can still administer the back end from anywhere in the world and have done so. It has caused staff to imagine more because we have been able to implement almost anything they have asked.

Pros

Flexibility to be responsive to staff and grantee needs, easily configurable. On simple customer support requests turn around time is excellent. Because of ongoing training we don't need a lot of support. My all time favorite part of Fluxx is the community where we share ideas, solutions and documentation. The community is knowledgeable and generous.

Cons

Customer support on design issues (things outside maintenance) turn around time can be very poor since Fluxx is growing so much. We have had only one request like that and by time they got to it we had developed our own solution which we actually like better than their proposed solition.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

You'll never want to use another grants management system after using Fluxx!

Reviewed 2 years ago

I LOVE Fluxx! I recommend anyone thinking about changing systems to look into it - your staff will thank you!

Pros

- Cloud-based system with GREAT mobile app to access the information you need anywhere, at any time - Super intuitive for our staff, even those who aren't tech-savvy, and ANY tech-savvy person can be an admin - Easy to learn for admin, workflows are easy to set up, great automatic email settings (ESPECIALLY compared to a program like Salesforce) - All of the forms are extremely customizable - Connected...

Cons

- There is no way to bulk import data on your own :(

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Great, affordable, easy tool for grant management!

Reviewed 25 days ago

Fluxx has allowed us to automate more processes and keep better track of a growing work load.

Pros

Fluxx is very user friendly, both for folks in our office and people we are collaborating with. It has plenty of features without being overwhelming like some other tools.

Cons

I really can't complain! It's not the fanciest, but that's actually helpful in not including a bunch of features that we don't use or understand well.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend5/10

Share this review:

A project management tool

Reviewed 3 years ago
Pros

It is user friendly Provides filter function so that users can select what are the most relevant information to them

Cons

It doesnt have modern interaction mechanism It has no more cons that i can think about at this moment

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Fluxx Review by New Grant Making Organization

Reviewed 5 years ago

We started an ambitious re-granting program to provide access to funds for local organizations throughout the state. Through this program, smaller organizations can apply for grants up to $50,000. We knew how we wanted the re-granting program to work, but we were extremely green when it came to applicable software and data management. I was brought on as the Grant Program Manager after the decision...

Pros

- Support from Fluxx team ----They are very responsive when submitting support tickets. A member of Fluxx support team usually responds within the hour. - Easy to make changes to forms, workflow and landing page - adaptability of software and converting data easily into an excel sheet - Filtering of Cards. We have multiple cycles of grants occurring at all times. I can easily filter which...

Cons

-Card re-load times are occasionally slow, but I have never had a problem with the site crashing.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

A Grants Management System for Learning Organizations

Reviewed 5 years ago

We selected Fluxx after poring over a dozen possibilities and two like-functional contenders, chiefly because we knew our staff would value well-designed, anywhere anytime access (great web and app interfaces); our grantseekers /grantees would appreciate how Fluxx's portal design addresses common frustrations of applying for and managing a grant; and the Fluxx company itself is the brainchild of extremely...

Pros

Fluxx has a great process for working with you to build a grants management system that reflects your grantmaking culture while connecting you to the power of its software and effective practices in the field. The underlying architecture is fast, reliable and secure, and training (from grantseeker to reviewer to program team to hard core admin) is an easy path. They are great listeners, and demonstrate...

Cons

Fluxx is growing fast and on the way to ramping up its support and implementation teams to meet a dramatic increase in demand. Until they catch up, the out-of-the-box training materials and knowledgebase can reflect outdated material. This is further exacerbated by the fact Fluxx often turns on a dime (yay), improving features before full documentation is updated (uh-oh). Luckily, their user community is filling in the gaps as is a new program of quick training webinars.

Vendor response

Hi Suki, Thank you so much for your thoughtful review. We are so happy to hear that Fluxx has exceeded your expectations by simplifying your grantmaking workflow and that you recognize that we truly listen to our client's feedback and thoughts as we continue to improve our product. You will be happy to know that a major area of focus for us in 2016 has been on increasing training, communications, and product documentation. We continue to add to our Knowledge Base where we now have over 250 articles and have expanded our Support and Training teams. Keep an eye out for more product and training resources in the very near future and let us know how else we can better support you as a customer! Best, Pej Azarm, VP of Client Services

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Fluxx for Medium-Sized Foundations is a No Brainer Decision

Reviewed 5 years ago

We have been using Fluxx live for the past ten months. Five of those months we used it internally and launched it to our grantees in March of this year. Quite simply it has been a game changer for our foundation. Our program officers have better insight into their work. It becomes an interactive tool that informs meetings in real time. It allows us to analyze our work in new ways. And, because...

Pros

1. The Fluxx community (truly the best and most supportive group of users I've ever experienced from a software platform) 2. anytime/anywhere/any device access (with great iOS and soon Android app) 3. regular updates and upgrades included in monthly fees that add features you actually want and need 4. good customer support with people that get to know you and your software instance 5. great conference...

Cons

1. Would like to see the development of integration into a board book platform or an integrated board book feature. No one has done this, it would be revolutionary. 2. So many new and useful features, sometimes it is hard to keep up. 3. Not much else, we are very pleased with this change

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Moving from a database to an automated workflow data management system

Reviewed 5 years ago

Fluxx has transformed the way we work. It improved access, centralized our data, and streamlined our processes. We automated many of our manual processes: instead of routing paper files among staff we use dashboards to inform staff of pending work. Now staff members can work from anywhere there is access to the Internet and they are able to see pending information as well as real time updates. This implementation required data migration, testing, validation, change management, workflow creation, consensus building, communication, and training. A tremendous amount of work went into implementing Fluxx but so far it has proven to be a good decision.

Pros

Remote access, centralized information, automated workflow, real time updates, and budget planning.

Cons

The two areas we like least are: reporting and their current tech support model. Reporting: robust reporting is not part of the core functionality and this is because dashboards were meant to inform clients of this information. However, reporting is still part of many foundation's processes so they have facilitated reporting through secondary databases. So the functionality is available but it isn't...

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

Easy to use, supports grants administration and workflow process. Overall a great product.

Reviewed 5 years ago

Our organization has used Fluxx for several years to help manage our grantmaking programs. We have definitely seen improvement in Fluxx over the years. The software is extremely helpful in supporting workflow processes, it is much more straightforward than MicroEdge GIFTS, and overall we are happy with the experience. Customer support has greatly improved as Fluxx grows and continues to establish itself.

Pros

Supportive of workflow, helpful with running reports, budget tracking, easy to quickly find information on particular grants

Cons

Fluxx has many different capabilities and this only seems to keep expanding. However, there are a lot of little bugs that require workarounds. It would be great if Fluxx could focus on fixing these bugs while at the same time adding new features.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Fluxx - Good and getting better

Reviewed 5 years ago

My company have been using Fluxx for several years as our main grant management system. I am relatively new to the system having only used it for 6 months, but it is intuitive and user friendly and within a few short months I was able to use the system as well as those that had been using it for much longer.

Pros

The support offered by Fluxx is second to none. Whether it is a quick user query or a request for new forms to be built, requests are always dealt with swiftly. There is also a huge database of self help documents which give you detailed breakdowns of how to use all elements of the system. Both of these coupled with the Fluxx community which allows you to ask questions and have discussions with not only Fluxx administrators, but other Fluxx users, means you are never far away from an answer to any question. The system is constantly being updated with new additions added all the time. These additions are often based on user feedback so if there is something that you would like to see added don't be afraid to ask.

Cons

No cons were added to this review

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

From CyberGrants to Fluxx

Reviewed 5 years ago

Our foundation migrated our grant data to Fluxx last year. It was a really good decision for us since Fluxx provides real time data and we were forced to clean up those projects that needed it.

Pros

I love the fact that Fluxx always works... we did have a bug this year but other than that, most of our employees really enjoy using it. It has been very beneficial to us in having the Project Leads take responsibility for their projects.

Cons

Moving to Fluxx from our last grants management system was quite an ordeal. The migration did not go well and we spent a long time cleaning up data and ensuring all the documents were in the system correctly.

Vendor response

Hi Karen, Thank you so much for taking the time to review Fluxx, we really appreciate your candid feedback. You will be happy to know that since your implementation in 2014 we have completely revamped updated our implementation process. This includes building custom tools to simplify the data migration process. We also now start the data preparation and migration prior to starting the configuration...

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Streamlines Operations and Supports Bigger-Picture Organizational Goals

Reviewed 5 years ago

Fluxx has streamlined our work while supporting our goals of increased learning and collaboration. We selected the system for its workflow- and cloud-based platform, flexibility, third-party integration, and community-focused business model. Thanks to workflows and intuitive searches/design, everyone on staff (not just grants management) works in the system on a regular basis, which has helped "democratize" our grantmaking data and add transparency to our processes.

Pros

-accessible from anywhere (there's a mobile app); real-time updates -robust grantee portal; grantees can submit edits on their proposals/reports as many times as needed -non-grants (such as PRIs, contracts, and projects) can also be incorporated into the system, so that everything is in one place -workflows, forms, and templates are SUPER easy to customize and tweak -with third-party integration we can connect the system to any other datasets or platforms for other needs

Cons

Some of the more transactional elements of Fluxx are less intuitive (such as understanding the names of fields, or setting up funding sources). This could just be a training issue, but the company is still a start-up so their training materials/opportunities are somewhat limited. (That said, there is a Fluxx Community portal where users exchange tips and best practices, so a lot of materials can be found there from other users).

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

I love Fluxx

Reviewed 5 years ago

I love Fluxx. It's elegant, powerful, and intuitive. The people (that work there) are really great too--nice, enthusiastic, and committed (and smart).

Pros

I love how the cards work, and the customizable dashboards. The way the whole things is set up is really unique and functional (and beautiful). I do a lot of my "reporting" now just by filtering a card. The website-esque reviewer portal is great too.

Cons

Because it's so customizable, it is a lot to learn (if you want to make back-end changes after you launch your version of Fluxx). A less customizable product would probably be simpler to make changes to, but it would also be more limited. So this is less of a con, and more of a reality that you should consider when making your choice.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Great grants management software

Reviewed 5 years ago

Fluxx is very well received at our office. It's easy to use, hence the transition was smooth and people got used to it quite quickly. People appreciate the fact that Fluxx allows them to easily manage their daily work and track progresses of an application or grant. We still need to learn how to better work with the system for data reporting and data analysis, but so far it helps us greatly in managing our grants.

Pros

Everyone at our office loves the interface and how Fluxx allows you to personalize your screen according to your needs. It's very easy to (re)configure the system, for a relative young organisation which is still (re)adjusting its processes, the flexibility is highly important. We enjoying the (growing) user community and benefit a lot from the community-driven feature developments.

Cons

Some features still have minor glitches. This said, there are work-arounds and Fluxx is usually quick in addressing these. Reporting is already quite useful the features allowing for complex reporting with drill-down possibilities could be improved. We have demand for higher standard of security and further segregation of permissions.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

A very powerful data management software system that continues to improve

Reviewed 5 years ago

Fluxx forms the central part of our day to day data and grant management process. After initially requesting a much more complicated process flow we shifted to a streamline version shortly after launch. The system is clear, user friendly and easy to manage. Functionality and ease of use continue to improve as new features are added.

Pros

The customisability of the product allows it to be easily setup to meet the individual needs of foundations depending on their internal processes. Fluxx responds to the needs of its users and new features that aid reporting. Being able to share pre-setup dashboards, makes it easy for programme staff to see and manage their grants while management know that everyone is seeing information in the same format aiding comparability.

Cons

The customisable nature means there is a temptation to over complicate; the lesson we learned is make the processes as simple as possible and add features as they are needed rather than trying to make it all things to all people.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

A great platform that transformed our grant making processes.

Reviewed 4 years ago
Pros

Great platform that allows you to customize your experience more than any other platform we have tried. The ability to do a lot of the customization yourselves The crowd based approach allows you to benefit from other customizations and vice versa Real time updates

Cons

The development cycle can sometimes feel a bit long as product updates pushes collectively. Creating new report types in the admin end is still a bit complex.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Grant Management System Review

Reviewed 5 years ago

As a Fluxx administrator for my organization, I have found Fluxx to be very user friendly, easily customizable, and advanced enough to meet broad organizational needs beyond mere grants management. Fluxx has found a way to meet the modern branding and aesthetic aspects without sacrificing the legal and operations compliance and due diligence needs of the organizations they cater to. I have used three different grant management systems during my career and have been most satisfied with Fluxx.

Pros

I like the organization's people capacity, those who are working behind the scenes to make Fluxx happen, and the customization features.

Cons

The extensive glossary of terms that can be used for filtering. Perhaps offering customizable options depending on a specific organization's needs.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Excellent product but expensive for small foundations

Reviewed 5 years ago

Very positive experience so far. Configuring it from scratch can be a bit of a challenge but not unlike any other system.

Pros

- Only requires intermediate technical abilities to maintain independently - Weekly training webinars - Highly engaged online community forum - Very fast online technical support process - Great employee interface - Fluxx releases monthly updates

Cons

- Expensive for small foundations - Public-facing portal is unattractive - Overall product has a bit of a 'work in progress' feel - Limited support for third-party integrations

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Good, serves most of our needs. Thought of well within the organisaiton

Reviewed 4 years ago
Pros

Does the basics well, having different dashboards/workspaces allows information to be kept together and having information at fingertips.

Cons

Some parts of the system seem a bit rigid. Foundations have many different structures and somethings cannot be ported directly into Fluxx and need to be re-thought in order to 'Fluxxify' them. Visualizations still need building out fully. Cannot visualize much that isn't part of the core product or integrate visualizations into forms.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Fluxx has excellent customer service and support.

Reviewed 4 years ago
Pros

The ease of use and functionality. The fact that we can now screen applicants to ensure eligibility before application submission is great. Reviewing is simpler and faster than our old methods.

Cons

The reporting feature needs some improvements but I am also still learning and the customer service team is always willing to help.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend5/10

Share this review:

Fluxx was not intuitive

Reviewed 2 years ago
Pros

I liked that we could save our work and come back later. That was a handy feature because we got frustrated loading our grant in. However, the robust ability to store all kinds of attachments and how quick and easy that was were things we appreciated. I think it is overall a great software tool but perhaps the grant was far too complicated to work with the system.

Cons

Our written grant was formatted. We could not do bullet points or any other formatting in the Fluxx portal. That was pretty frustrating. We don't know what it will look like to the funder.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

Very easy to use, with options for customizing layout for grant-seekers and grant-makers.

Reviewed 3 years ago
Pros

Each organization has the potential to access different layout options, allowing an organization to preserve their unique branded identity even within this external grant management software.

Cons

Options for customization can allow grant-makers to create multiple "streams" of questions, with questions appearing later on in the application depending on one's earlier answers, which allows great flexibility but can add complications and even confusion for grant-seekers who prefer to prepare their application in word processing software ahead of time, then upload their application all at once.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Fluxx is an innovative and dynamic system that truly lives up to its mission.

Reviewed 4 years ago

We were able to streamline workflows and find ways to make the application process easier for our grantees. It's also helpful to have the full lifecycle of the grant available in one location that can be accessed from anywhere.

Pros

The flexibility of the system and ability to tailor it to the organization's needs is amazing. It is also extremely helpful to have an internal portal as well as a grantee and reviewer portal within the system.

Cons

Sometimes setting up features on the back end can be difficult for someone without a technical background.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend5/10

Share this review:

Great features - not user friendly

Reviewed 2 years ago

We are granted grants from orgs that use Fluxx Grantmaker. From the receiving end, it is not the best software to have to navigate but it does ensure that we don't miss any necessary documents or deadlines by showing us all tasks associated with each grant we were awarded.

Pros

I like what you are able to do with this software. We get assigned tasks from the administrator and can complete them online. It ensures we don't miss any deadlines by sending reminder emails. I also like that you can submit your payment requests on Fluxx.

Cons

The website itself is not the easiest to navigate. There are multiple tabs and often tasks can seem hidden if you don't know how to get to that specific page

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Great software to manage grants

Reviewed 4 years ago
Pros

Easy to use. If you know how to buy through amazon, you can use it for sure. There is minimum hours of training to use.

Cons

Not all the data is not linked. The function is hidden so if you don’t have good administrators you can not utilize it