This is your compare tray

Apps you want to compare will be listed here. Launch a head to head comparison at any time.

M1 ERP Logo
M1 ERP

Manufacturing enterprise resource planning (ERP) software

visit website

M1 ERP Reviews

User ratings

Overall rating

3.7

/5

67
70%
positive reviews
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7.23/10

See full reviews by rating

Pros and cons

Pros

Cons

The ability to drill down between modules is wonderful. I've never used a software that allowed this so seamlessly.

AF

Angie F.

The product is well suited for our needs and the cost tracking functionality is great. The greatest strengths of the software are inventory control, cost/labor tracking, and reporting.

AS

Aaron S.

Like I said it is very easy to navigate. I wish I knew more about the capabilities and what we can use it for in our industry.

LB

Lauren B.

Do not buy this software in Australia - Dishonest business practices and terrible support.

KB

Ken B.

Before giving any attention to this product do your own research on it. Original M1 code was stolen from other company by former employees then followed by lawsuit in which M1 people lost.

SD

Slavy D.

Terrible service and backup. Only 1 technician that knows what he is doing and he is across NZ and AU and he is not allowed to give out his direct contact details.

GK

Grant K.

How would you rate M1 ERP?
AvatarImg
AvatarImg
AvatarImg
AvatarImg
AvatarImg
Filter reviews by

Overall rating


Company size


Industry


Time used


67 reviews

Recommended

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

M1 has been great The design was with end users in mind

Reviewed 7 years ago
Pros

The low cost of overhead to run M1 is its best feature. It is very robust, and runs day after day with minimal support required. M1 is very user friendly and intuitive. Also, the use of Crystal Reports on an SQL database allows for easy modification and development of reports that then are easily run from inside M1 giving users a seamless feel. We have had excellent support during implementation and post implementation.

Cons

I am anxious for continued development of the manufacturing floor scheduling.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

M1 is GREAT!

Reviewed 6 years ago
Pros

I love how everything is tied together. When in doubt I right click and see where that PO, Sales Order, Receipt, etc. has been used and what it is linked to.

Cons

Mostly it's a cosmetic thing. I've never been overly fond of how it's laid out but the next version should make that better and truly with time you just get used to it.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend5/10

Share this review:

end user review

Reviewed 3 years ago
Pros

i like the range of information that is available at the fingertips

Cons

could have a more modern look and feel to it

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend2/10

Share this review:

Bait and switch, dishonorable

Reviewed a year ago

There are good people in ECI's M1, however as a company they don't keep the contract: They don't provide support within 4 hours (other than an email saying we will try to get back to you in 2 or 3 business days). They don't even attempt to fix bugs within 30 days.

Pros

Customizable, easy to backup and restore databases.

Cons

Buggy, not maintained properly (outdated reporting, security practices), not user-friendly overall (they obviously do not have UX staff).

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

My experience with this product is positive

Reviewed 7 years ago
Pros

All the functionality of a larger program without the big program cost and the flexibility to do minor customization.

Cons

Slow performance. Some reports of tools are at times very slow. Our Job Analysis report runs very slow at times. Usually when the quantity is more than 1 and the material quantity is more than 100.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Good ERP System

Reviewed 3 years ago
Pros

The software makes it easy to find a lot of data that can be exported and used as necessary

Cons

It is more difficult to set up reports and customize fields for users that do not want to see all fo the background data and only want specifics

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

ECi M1

Reviewed 5 years ago
Pros

User friendly dashboard. Advance options for all the modules. one stop solution for all the resources planning.

Cons

Not enough features for multiple platform usage. Little Slower. No report modification format for user

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

Awarded the worlds worst service and product

Reviewed 4 years ago

Don't waste your time and money

Pros

Technically it works and some of the functions are understandable. But the setup, service and basic norms affiliated with software are missing

Cons

Terrible service and backup. Only 1 technician that knows what he is doing and he is across NZ and AU and he is not allowed to give out his direct contact details. Recently logged a ticket on the 3rd of May and got first response on the 4th June! If you want to know your GP and other profitable forecasts or set up a half decent quote and reporting be prepared to have to spend a whole lot more.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

M1 is esential to our success

Reviewed 7 years ago
Pros

The ability of this software to fully integrate all aspects of our business. It is very stable and easy to customize.

Cons

As the M1 has grown, there have been times where response times have been a little longer than expected.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

Used to be good

Reviewed 3 years ago

I would not recommend this software. It is shameful how un-customer friendly this company is.

Pros

Although not intuitive at all, once you get used to the system it does work and prior to this year, it has been infallible.

Cons

Customer service is fair to poor as we did not receive any contact from this company regarding upgrades, etc. Carefully read the maintenance agreement as it apparently does not cover repairs and upgrades - which begs the question, what is that payment for exactly??

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

M1 a change to a real system

Reviewed 6 years ago
Pros

I will have to compliment the trainer and the ECI Conference held in Orlando. I felt that all areas were fully addressed. Obviously as time goes on, more comfort and trust is gain in the product. Having been on Sage previously, I like how this is a real financial package although it can be cumbersome at times. I still have lots to learn about the entire package.

Cons

There is no refresh button.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

No Support in Australia

Reviewed 3 years ago

Due to the poor / complete lack or support and problems with the installation we are about to change to a new ERP system. This would be the worst investment my company has ever made.

Pros

No ad-dons, no cost for view users, i.e. unlimited clock card entry PC's.

Cons

Absolutely poor support if any. Referred to external consultants as ECi M1 could not supply technical support.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend1/10

Share this review:

Frustrating to Deal with!! Poor Customer Service!! Implementation process is terrible!!

Reviewed 5 years ago

We purchased this program more that 3 years ago, the implementation process was horrible! and they have done very little to help us get this program up and running as a result we are using about 10% of the program that we have paid for. we purchase a copy of Sage every year to handle our accounting, because we have not been shown how to use the accounting side of the program( I have never even looked at it to see what it looks like). We have tried to use the payroll side of the program and it was not accurate so we stopped using it.

Pros

No pros were added to this review

Cons

Terrible customer support right from the initial implementation, we have had issues with this program from the very start and get 0.00 help...there is some hype that they will get our issues solved with no, or very little follow through, we just get sent from one person to the next and start from square one each time.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

Terrible choice

Reviewed 5 years ago

Before giving any attention to this product do your own research on it. Original M1 code was stolen from other company by former employees then followed by lawsuit in which M1 people lost.

Pros

Good Sales Team :) Might be good for very small company but wouldn't recommend to any company. After trying other ERPs have almost no Pros except how they did Part Revision.

Cons

Software failed when was put to load. Worked fine in pilot but when needed to manage 1.4k POs on daily basis it couldn't do math. At one point had daily meetings with development team from Australia on issues but still couldn't resolve all issues. About twice a week were getting orphan records in DB, development team were no help on this. ECi started promising us new version but promise was sliding. After 8 month of deployment time and about 6 month after go live hard decision was made, search for new ERP. When ECi was asked to give us partial refund because their product didn't perform as advertised they revealed themselves as very bad partner. M1 also has major security issue.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Flexible, customizable, & user friendly

Reviewed 6 years ago
Pros

The vendor is wonderful to work with. From the sales thru the president, their open door policy is forward thinking and provides customers with a sense of being taken care when they need it. The product M1 has proven to be the most customizable and flexible system I've dealt with in 36 years however I'm still learning more of what all it can do.

Cons

The least liked, even though it this is by no means a dislike on my part, for the product would be the way item master must be for the local bin and not being able to have multiple bins per one location for one item. The vendor side would be the fresh talent they are with vs. Those with 20 plus yrs.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Six month build and implement time for a growing manufacturing company.

Reviewed 4 years ago

The cost was extremely high although we were basically building our own system the way we wanted.

Pros

Completely customizable. Access to consultants who helped us decide as a team why or why we shouldn’t run something one way as opposed to another. They were very knowledgeable and insightful.

Cons

The consultants gave employees too much reign over the server and the potential to mess up the data base we were building. Their lack of support for the payroll module.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend2/10

Share this review:

M1 experience from the UK

Reviewed 7 years ago
Pros

The product does seem to have the potential to fulfill all requirements of a small parts manufacturer.

Cons

The customer support starting at the implementation stage right through to after sales ongoing support is poor. The supplier attitude is "Wellm you bought it, so get on with it." There seem to be very few people in the organization who actually know how it works and how to correct bugs and issues. The reports package is full of flaws. We have spent a lot of money trying to improve the product ourselves.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Selection of ECI M1

Reviewed 6 years ago
Pros

The product already has deep features but it has the flexibility which allows for code to be written by us to enhance the system. This allows us to get specific on certain methods we use that may not be stock methods for an industry.

Cons

At this point in the process, we have not uncovered a negative.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

ECi M1 ERP a good tool

Reviewed 8 years ago
Pros

IT support is timely and almost always available.

Cons

It doesn't account for scrap within a job, and scrap tracking overall is very difficult. The software seems to want to manage scrap with completed good parts together, and that does not work when trying to track to meet ISO requirements.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

M1 does everything we need and more!

Reviewed 13 years ago

We are very, very happy with M1. There are many features that we did not know we needed or wanted until we tried M1. We have no doubt that M1 was the right choice.

Pros

Works as advertised or better. Easy to train and use. Fast and reliable. Simple to upgrade and backup. Very powerful search functions and grids are adjustable by user. Customization is available to users with included tools and then adding Crystal Reports. Easy migration from our other software. M1 technical support is extremely helpful and knowledgeable.

Cons

Nothing negative to say.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

M1 Review

Reviewed 13 years ago

This software continues to be extremely reliable. M1 is very innovative and always increasing the capabilities of the software by listening to the customers' wants and needs. We have been able to grow with this software and will continue to do so in the future. It was the best buy we have ever made in software.

Pros

Highly customizable to fit your needs User friendly Tremendous search capabilities Great service staff Highly reliable

Cons

Quality Module. Quality module lacks reports and some linking of data, however, we can create any report we need through Crystal Reports.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend2/10

Share this review:

Large Number of Bugs, Poor Development, Unimpressive Tech Support

Reviewed 8 years ago
Pros

M1 is more customizable than many other options.

Cons

Based on the increasing number of bugs and no new bug fixes, it seems that M1 is being phased out by ECi. The software is nearly unusable with Windows Vista and is mediocre at best on Windows 7. The scheduling module is terribly poor, and ECi has displayed zero effort in improving these issues. The tech support response time is horrid and there are very few well-trained tech support staff available (however a few are knowledgeable). Come on ECi! Fix this product which has great potential!

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend1/10

Share this review:

Extremely negative

Reviewed 6 years ago
Pros

The only thing that was good was the dashboard The software appeared to be ideal for a company making thousands of components in production runs - the very thing that we don't do.

Cons

The software is extremely clunky. it seemed that anything that could be done with 1 click in our old program program takes 5 clicks. Support was often vague - it didnt sound like support personell had the correct training They sold us a web app that they said was up and running, which was a large influencer in our decision as we required remote access to the CRM, however they hadn't finished developing it. They didn't seem to understand NZ laws Overall, the recommendation made by the company seemed to be motivated by getting the sale, rather than providing a solution that was fit for purpose.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

M1 User Review - Metlink

Reviewed 13 years ago

I am certainly happy we chose M1 for our ERP software. It has been enhanced and updated in line with our own business growth. One of the biggest pluses for me is that it helps communication throughout the business. For example, any user can add comments that are then available to all users.

Pros

All modules integrate together. One ERP system covers all areas of the business. Ability to customise for special needs.

Cons

On older computers it can be a bit slow. Especially if you have multiple windows open.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Very user freindly and functional

Reviewed 5 years ago
Pros

The ease of use and personal tayloring to your specific needs is great. The training offered is also a very nice touch.

Cons

Really could not find any cons the system has everything we were looking for. The only con that i can think of is that we cannot go live sooner.