Function Point Reviews

Function Point Reviews

Function Point

project management made simple

4.48/5 (64 reviews)
1,016     1,837

Ruth Netanel

An Integral Part of Our Agency Operations

24/04/2017

Before choosing Function Point, we researched MANY different options and weighed out the pros and cons of each. We chose FP because of its versatility, price point, and customer service. Especially in the beginning, we submitted a lot of "wish list" items, almost ALL of which have been incorporated into the software since we started using it several years ago. The team is helpful, professional, and just plain COOL. We couldn't imagine running our agency without the software. From the time keeping to the projects and assignments management to the client portal, FP offers everything we need. Even though we're a boutique firm, FP gives us the capability to operate like our larger counterparts. We are hyper organized and the software seamlessly integrates into our systems and procedures. We are very pleased with our choice and look forward to many, many more years as FP clients!

Pros

Flexible Robust Fairly easy to use Consistent addition of new and/or improved features Price

Cons

The learning curve and getting everything set up was a big undertaking, but we are glad we did it and have no regrets.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 2+ years

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

10/10
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No

Response from Function Point Productivity Software


Hi Ruth, thanks so much for taking the time to share your feedback with us. Keep sending in those "wish list" items -- we're always looking for ways we can improve FP!

Read more
donna gray

How did we do it before Function Point

01/02/2017

As a growing advertising agency, we needed help managing our timesheets, workflow, schedules and budgets. We went from paper daily workflow sheets to this user-friendly digital solution. Now we can accurately track time and manage budgets. It's so wonderful -and literally changed how we operate as a company.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Ioanna Bakalova

Function Point - Great Program

26/01/2017

We've been using Function Point for a little over 1.6 year and it is a great program. It made a positive change in our daily operations - from communicating jobs between the account, creative and digital teams, to managing personal and client hours. Function Point is very easy to use, it keeps all of your client jobs in the same place, so it is easy to reference a past job whether it is a job from a month ago or from a year ago. Also you can add as many contacts as needed, so the whole team has access to the jobs/assets/information and etc. I would definitely recommend the program.

Pros

easy to use, easy to manage projects and hours, keeps your projects organized

Cons

Sometimes it is a bit slow and it takes a minute to register an update, for example when I dismiss some of my notifications, it takes a bit to remove it from the list and it reloads to the homepage.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 1-2 years

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

10/10

Recommendations to others considering Function Point

none at this time

Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No

Response from Function Point Productivity Software


Thanks for your kind words about Function Point, Ioanna. I appreciate you taking the time to share your thoughts with us.

Read more
donna gray

Best thing to happen to our company

09/01/2017

Function Point changed how we do everything at our agency and all for the better. The tracking is amazing, the system is easy to use, and the customer support is second to none. I'm happy to discuss with anyone who is considering switching to Function Point.

Pros

accountability

Cons

sometimes staff only sees tasks vs larger picture

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 1-2 years

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

10/10

Recommendations to others considering Function Point

love it

Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No

Response from Function Point Productivity Software


Donna, thank you so much for your kind words here - they are the highest compliment we could receive!

Read more
Penny mclean

Farmlands Review

11/12/2016

Our experience with Function Point has been a really positive one. Right from the start the FP team were happy to help with any queries and even now with any questions that come up they respond in a timely manner with the answers. The actual program is easy to use and the whole team agrees we don't know what we did without it!

Pros

Ease of use, clear simple design, great reporting and tracking of jobs.

Cons

Having to download files in the files tab can take a while Cant have symbols in links

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 1-2 years

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

8/10
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No

Response from Function Point Productivity Software


Thanks so much for sharing your thoughts with us, Penny. I'm so glad to hear that you're having a great customer experience! Please let us know if you ever have other feedback or suggestions.

Read more
Megan Sgroi

Function Point helps us Function better!

09/12/2016

We have been using Function Point for a little over a year now and we are very happy with it overall. It definitely takes some time to learn the product... as with any software, you have to learn the different functionalities. However, the main commitment is figuring out what works best for you and your company. What one company might love, another might find pointless, but that is the great thing about the program! You can customize it to fit your needs. Our company manages Associations and we do a lot of print and design work for them. Our Associations use the Function Point portal to submit and track their jobs. They can also use it to reference past jobs so they always know what paper something printed on, who the vendor was that printed it, and the quantity that was printed. We can track proofs and keep files all organized in one place, rather than in emails and filing cabinets. On the art department side, we can track what jobs we have in progress, assign tasks to different designers and web developers, and even invoice the job when it is completed. I can tell you that we save so much time just being able to locate jobs and all the information about them rather than digging for information! We also use the time clock to track non-billable work so we can see how efficiently our team is working and where improvements can be made. Going back to invoicing... this feature has helped us and our accounting department tremendously. We are able to use the time clock to track time spent on a job so we know we are billing accurately. We can apply different hourly rates to different clients (such as not-for-profits) and see what our profit on a job is immediate. The invoice also looks more attractive than a lot of programs because you can brand and customize it.

Cons

Their customer support team is really great and always willing to help you figure out how to accomplish your ideas. They also have a great suggestion board where users give ideas on how to make the product better. They have used a couple of mines already! It's a great community that works together to continuously improve and perfect the program.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Recommendations to others considering Function Point

If I was going to say anything I don't like about Function Point it would be one very minor thing... If someone forgets to close their task when it is completed, you can't easily go back and change the status of the task. You have to reopen the job, close the task, and then close the job again. But like I said, it's just a minor inconvenience!!

Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No

Response from Function Point Productivity Software


Hi Megan, thanks so much for your kind words here. Please continue to reach out whenever you have ideas or suggestions. We're always ready to listen.

Read more
David Coates

fp.tacular

04/11/2016

Love it! Been using fp. for a decade and it just keeps getting better and making us more and more money while reducing stress. Now if only I could get my partner to do his time sheets, we'd actually know if we are making a profit!

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No

Response from Function Point Productivity Software


David - I really appreciate your kind words here. We know how lucky of a team we are to have worked with Ion Brand Design for the past 10 years!

Read more
Felicia  Walker

Function Point Forever

03/11/2016

We really enjoy how easy it is to search for any project information we need. We always have the need to pull specific detailed information related to jobs and this always allows us to do so.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No

Response from Function Point Productivity Software


Felicia - thanks for sharing your thoughts with us. I'm so glad fp. is giving you more visibility into your projects and providing access to the important information that you need.

Read more
Darren Patterson

Project Management Hero

03/11/2016

Overall I enjoy the multifaceted project management experience Function Point provides. The software operates as a simple and easy-to-use database system allowing users to customize their method of capturing information on projects. Function Point has a diverse set of features including dependent based scheduling and task sharing capabilities. I hope the development team continues to provide interactive and engaging support for improving the software's overall functionality.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No

Response from Function Point Productivity Software


I appreciate your feedback here, Darren. Please let us know if you have suggestions for how we can make fp. even better. We're always ready to listen.

Read more
Erica Lodholz

I'm an accountant

02/11/2016

From my perspective, I can see where the project management tools can be functional for the rest of the office. My views however, could use some more controls. Examples: 1) When something is deleted, it is gone forever, I can't tell who did it or why, just that it's gone. 2) Why can shipping be entered as an internal expense. This is never the case, but everyone in the office has the ability to select it (after several attempts to remove the feature), and we will never pay ourselves for shipping; we pay FedEx for that. 3) There is no way to easily track open POs, and once an invoice is received for a portion of the PO, I have to create a copy and edit what is remaining so an additional invoice can be entered against the job, then go back to the original PO and make notes as to where the new information needs to end up (example: we order 10 pieces of furniture for a project-5 are ready to ship today invoice#1, 3 pieces ship next January invoice#2, and the last 2 ship in March invoice#3). There is no easy way to tell me which parts of the PO are complete and what I am still waiting for. I find this extremely time consuming and it can delay billing. 4) Generally, I have 4 open Function Point windows working at the same time. Because we export to QuickBooks, and the export feature takes longer than 1 minute, I am entering vendor invoices, exporting, opening another window, exporting another invoice, etc... Once I have all 4 windows completed, I go back to the beginning, 'stop QB sync' the invoice so it can be classified in QB for our two different sides of the company (for financial reporting) and then begin the process again. I have developed a system over the last 10 months, but find that this can be confusing and if I asked anyone else to try and do this 'data entry', steps would get skipped and un-syncing may not occur (5))which caused a huge back up of information and stopped allowing export to QB period). Please call if you have any questions about anything written, I realize it may be quite jumbled here.

Rating breakdown

Ease of use
Features
Customer support
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No

Response from Function Point Productivity Software


Hi Erica - thanks for your feedback. I really appreciate you taking the time to share your thoughts with us. Your Customer Success Manager will be reaching out to you for a quick chat to see how we can help you out with this.

Read more
Meg Stirewalt

It's a good tracking system overall.

02/11/2016

I've been using function point about 3 years now and it's easy to use as a designer who needs to keep track of time.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No

Response from Function Point Productivity Software


Hi Meg - I appreciate you leaving us your feedback. Please reach out if you have any suggestions for how we can make fp. even better for you.

Read more
Steven  Lambiase

I wish I had this at my last job

02/11/2016

Much like my title, I wish that every place I worked used function point. It truly does help me plan my work load significantly each week and easily transfer the tasks back and forth between the necessary people. Greatly speeds up my process and keeps me organized throughout a whole task. Slight learning curve but once it clicks you will never be able to go back.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No

Response from Function Point Productivity Software


Thanks for your kind words here, Steven. I'm so happy to hear that fp. is making it faster and easier for you to plan your work and stay organized!

Read more
Maya DeJoie

Maya's Review

02/11/2016

My experience with Function Point has been overall positive. It is a very intuitive system that does a good job of accurately tracking projects and being a capable tool for project managers. I've encountered some bugs, but overall the system has helped streamline processes between various departments in our agency and help us to identify new ways to become more efficient with budgeting, organizing, tasking and producing our work.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No

Response from Function Point Productivity Software


Maya - I appreciate you sharing your thoughts with us. I'm so glad to hear that fp. has helped Koncept Design Studio become more efficient!

Read more
Amy Glynn

Function Point Creative Agency software: great help for workflow

31/10/2016

We have been using Function Point for two years. Overall, it has been a terrific upgrade for us. Our time keeping and job management are all in one place, whereas previously we managed those two things separately. Onboarding was very smooth and easy. We felt we had adequate training and that the software is very intuitive for new users. I like that it is customizable for each user and that different level employees have different permissions/views. Being a creative shop, some employees long for something more visual like Trello for project management. However, Trello and the like do not have all of the back-end time tracking and accounting that Function Point does. Overall, we really like Function Point. It has been a time saver for time tracking, estimating, invoicing, and workflow management. We do not have a client portal and do not plan to in the near future. We are just beginning the process of linking to Quickbooks and look forward to the benefits that will bring. Customer Support is super responsive and helpful for troubleshooting, every time.

Pros

Time tracking, Job Management from Estimate to Invoicing.

Cons

Lack of visual interest (i.e. would be great to look for like Trello cards /boards at a glance to see all project status at once) - also would be nice to have a thumbnail of the project (i.e. of the ad, brochure, etc.) next to the job name on all dashboards.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 2+ years

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

10/10

Recommendations to others considering Function Point

Easy onboarding, great customer service.

Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No

Response from Function Point Productivity Software


Thanks for sharing your thoughts here, Amy. Please reach out if you have any other suggestions for how we can make fp. even better!

Read more
Princess Mangiliman

Cons/Feature Requests outweigh Pros

26/10/2016

PROS -timesheets directly logged to specific services from estimates; extremely important -each person can customize their homescreen -job #s structured into our qnap filing system -can see billable vs nonbillable hrs -weekly timesheets help to remember what we did & are doing -can see leftover hours per service -can review everyone's hrs CONS/FEATURE REQUESTS -not scalable, harder to close business, no easy way to e-sign estimates; solution may be create open api to use w/ other apps (quoteroller/docusign etc) so no need to print estimate, sign, scan, email back etc -no open api, huge issue; can't use grow.com metrics or integrate other software -client portal shouldn't require login; feels like too much work on client's end, can't e-sign estimates on it -feature requests also feel like too much work, logging into another site, then separating each request into different comments instead of one comment box-type thing -only 1-way syncing w/ qb -if invoice is created in qb first, have to manually add it in fp -no option to create/send autorecurring invoices, so we have to setup auto in qb & manually add it in fp so they match -must manually check the invoices in fp vs qb; fp can't tell if the $ match -when exporting to qb, never populates email address in qb -when exporting to qb, doesn't take description to qb -invoicing needs to be systemized but feels more manual, therefore easy to forget to do -doesn't give any warnings if we forget to/haven't sent invoice or closed a job yet; dangerous because higher chance of human error in forgetting to get paid -linking qnap/digital filing system -too many steps/clicking when adding tasks, to-dos, schedules etc; schedule too confusing & time consuming to create & keep track of -internal communication/messaging (Slack etc) -google calendar sync or useful shared cal integrated into fp; current fp calendar not as intuitive & doesn't match w/ phone app -we're all using our own different apps for to-do lists & notes rather than using fp (evernote/apple notes etc) -way to easily create recurring tasks or schedules -way to autocreate duplicate estimates/jobs for recurring 6month contracts -crm not enough features as opposed to other crm softwares such as Base/salesforce that work well even on phones -ability to run filters for bulk emails; match email distribution list w/ mailchimp -Easier way to check on open jobs status -Easier way to manage one-off contracts vs retainers

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 1-2 years

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

2/10
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No

Response from Function Point Productivity Software


Hi Princess - thanks so much for taking the time to leave us your feedback. I'm sorry that you're feeling frustrated with part of the system. Your Customer Success Manager will be reaching out to have a quick conversation with you.

Read more
Kaoru  Coates

Administration use

19/10/2016

We've been Function Point Software customer since 2004. Our Company has been more organized and simplified drastically. Our business requires detailed job activity reports to our clients made a lot easier and more professional level. Thank you Function Point Team!

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No

Response from Function Point Productivity Software


Hi Kaoru - we truly appreciate Ion Design's business for the past 12 years. Thanks so much for your kind words here. Please reach out to us if you ever have suggestions for how we can make fp. even better!

Read more
Kathleen Sullivan

Great software for Graphic Design and Pre-Post Production - and Accounting integration!

19/10/2016

The software is exactly what our Company was looking from a Creative to a Production to an Accounting 'all-in-one' package. The Accounting integrates with QuickBooks perfectly. Customer Support is top-notch!

Pros

The Online Help and Customer Service

Cons

The occasional glitch that causes the system to get hung up.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 1-2 years

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

9/10

Recommendations to others considering Function Point

Love it!!

Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No

Response from Function Point Productivity Software


Hi Kathleen - I'm so glad to hear that Artistic Digital Imaging is really benefitting from fp.'s QuickBooks integration. Thanks for taking the time to leave us your feedback!

Read more
Louise  Jordon

Great help for Administration

19/10/2016

As admin have found it very helpful for reports, invoicing and keeping things tidy with no actual paperwork anymore!

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No

Response from Function Point Productivity Software


Thanks for your kind words, Louise. I appreciate you taking the time to share.

Read more
Nancy Hewitt

FunctionPoint and Quickbooks

19/10/2016

I love FunctionPoint. The way it keeps track of expenses attributed to a job is excellent. Nothing slips through the cracks. And the way it syncs with Quickbooks is the feature I was looking for...such a time saver!

Pros

The way it works with Quickbooks

Cons

Not the most intuitive sofware.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 2+ years

Frequency of use: Weekly

Likelihood to recommend

9/10

Recommendations to others considering Function Point

try it!

Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No

Response from Function Point Productivity Software


Nancy - thanks for sharing your thoughts here. Please reach out if you ever have suggestions for how we can make fp. better!

Read more
mark wisz

Mark from OtherWisz... aka Power User

18/10/2016

Use it everyday, revolutionized our biz from day 1. I have no idea how we would be running our biz without it!

Pros

Easy to use, well organized.

Cons

Sometimes it is hard to find past notes.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 2+ years

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

0/10

Recommendations to others considering Function Point

I don't recommend it ever-- since it would give our competition an equal advantage... let them figure it out on their own. Sorry, FB. I do tell not marketing/designer types about it.

Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No

Response from Function Point Productivity Software


Hi Mark - having your 'non-recommendation' is the greatest of compliments ;). Please know that we're definitely committed to making sure we work for your trust. Feel free to reach out if you have suggestions for how we can make fp. even better!

Read more
Erika Putinsky

Great system!

18/10/2016

The folks at fp are always willing to help and take/iterate on product feedback. It is truly refreshing to see a company that cares.

Pros

Always improving

Cons

Sometimes buggy. No real manual to guide you.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 6-12 months

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

8/10

Recommendations to others considering Function Point

Get to know the people at fp! They are super helpful with tips and tricks.

Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No

Response from Function Point Productivity Software


Hi Erika - thanks for your kind words here. I'm glad you can feel the fp. love! Please let us know if there's ever anything we can do to be more helpful to KDS.

Read more
Cesar Balda

Function Point Excellence is to be Recognized

18/10/2016

We work with Function Point for three years now. We are very satisfied with this project management software. Planning projects, track progress and collaborate with our team has never been easier. We are more productive, cut meeting time and reduce the stress to finish a project on time. We tested other project management software and finally decided for Function Point because it is easy to use, it has many advanced features that are easy to learn and the customer service is superb. Whenever we had a question we always have received a prompt answer or a call.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No

Response from Function Point Productivity Software


Cesar - I appreciate you taking the time to write us a review. I'm so glad to hear that fp. has helped AC&M Group become more productive and less stressed! Please reach out if you ever have suggestions for how we can make fp. even better.

Read more
Bobbie Fredericks

Function Point is a great value.

18/10/2016

We have had a great experience with Function Point. It is easy to use and handles most of the reports we need.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No

Response from Function Point Productivity Software


I appreciate the kind words, Bobbie. Thanks for taking the time to share.

Read more
Xana  Winans

Friendly people, outdated platform

18/10/2016

While I liked what Function Point could do when we first purchased it, my team quickly learned that it was very unwieldy and took far too many steps to make a single change. Today's software allows for immediate editing, drag and drop functionality, and is much more intuitive. Unfortunately, this is no longer a long term solution for us.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No

Response from Function Point Productivity Software


Hi Xana - thanks so much for your feedback. We recently spoke with someone from GPM, and your Customer Success Manager will be reaching out to have a quick conversation with you.

Read more
Dawn  Williams

New functions

18/10/2016

Looking for new functionality that will provide us the important information our company needs and also keeping up with functions competitors are providing to allow us to continue using FP

Pros

The ability to keep everything in one place.

Cons

Too many layers. More user friendly and process simplicity would be great. Also the speed is a real big problem.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 2+ years

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

7/10

Recommendations to others considering Function Point

I will tell you there are a lot of other programs out there that we are looking at for the reasons above. We also know how time consuming it is to switch so we are hoping we can stay but getting FP up to date with the new features offered by other would be best.

Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No

Response from Function Point Productivity Software


Hi Dawn - I really appreciate you providing us with feedback. Your Customer Success Manager will be reaching out to you for a more in-depth discussion, so hopefully we can find a solution to the parts of fp. that are frustrating for you.

Read more