Asana Reviews

Asana Reviews

Asana

Shared task list for project management & collaboration

4.35/5 (1,546 reviews)
192,977     113,911

Greg Stone

Love asana

28/03/2017

Usually I have lots of tasks for myself and other team members in different industries (IT, marketing, administration etc.). This helps me to organize all those tasks efficiently and track what is done/on process/not done in a very easy way.

Pros

Simplicity, functionality and the whole structure of platform.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 6-12 months

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

9/10
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Tom Hudson

Excellent project management software

13/03/2017

Pros

Ease of use and good for tracking project health and timing. I like the intuitive interface and the fact it is online

Cons

Limited features sometimes. They add features but on a timed basis that I'm not totally sure that.

Rating breakdown

Ease of use
Features

Time used: Less than 6 months

Frequency of use: Monthly

Likelihood to recommend

8/10
Source: Software Advice
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Dan Smith

Asana is easy to use

12/03/2017

Not a ton of reporting and other features but very easy to us.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 2+ years

Frequency of use: Weekly

Likelihood to recommend

8/10
Source: Software Advice
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Arielle Kesweder

Very adaptable, a good thing and a bad thing

12/03/2017

What I like about Asana is it's ability to be used for a lot of different things - the user ends up deciding on the best organization of tasks and teams. Which is great if the person setting it up knows how to do that, but it can be really frustrating when it's being set up by someone who hasn't thought through the whole task. I strongly recommend taking advantage of their trainings and support to learn how to get the most out of this very adaptable tool.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features

Time used: 1-2 years

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

8/10
Source: Software Advice
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Nathan Eshman

Needs more features

12/03/2017

Pros

Easy to use between the app and online content. It all looks fairly similar between the online content and the app which makes locating information quite easy

Cons

I feel like there could be a lot more done with asana. E.G. Incorporating google docs or something like that into a project. E.G. As a music publisher, I enter details about a song for our team to then register to collect royalties etc. But I would like to create a form within ASANA so that I don't miss any details and the information is in a similar layout every time.

Rating breakdown

Ease of use
Features

Time used: 1-2 years

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

5/10
Source: Software Advice
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Huaiyu Fan

It's easy to use

12/03/2017

You can use it in many methods, event track, TODO list and so on. And the teamwork is great.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 2+ years

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

7/10
Source: Software Advice
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
a b

Asana rocks

10/03/2017

Oh yeah in 100 characters this is a very great experience Oh yeah in 100 characters this is a very great experience

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Erica Helmer

Horrible, well features are good, company organization makes it impossible to use

03/03/2017

Asana automatically assigns you to an org based on your domain, if someone else in your org already created an account, good luck getting admin access. Paid gives you no more, support is dismal.

Pros

The actual project planning tool is easy to use.

Cons

Everyone on the same domain is lumped into a new account. Wouldn't be a problem if they didn't push the free version so much.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend

0/10

Recommendations to others considering Asana

You can not get around the domain issues with a paid account, their documentation implies otherwise.

Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Rush Mayo

Verified Reviewer

Great for task management

01/03/2017

Really this is a great organizing platform. For almost 2 year I ran a small collaborative using Asana. My wife and I use it for everything from grocery lists to who's packing what for vacations. At a certain point though Asana becomes more cumbersome when you are working in diverse areas. And we had problems trying to keep it simple enough for clients to be on and track progress. They offer some great stuff. And if you're using a normal or slim focused business structure and services then do it. Go for it. You'll be happy.

Pros

Quick to learn, reports, integrations, cross-collaborations, organization, drag-n-drop, mobile app, push service, simplicity

Cons

There's a cap on the expansion possibilities. A few minor additions to their core would improve everything.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 1-2 years

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

8/10

Recommendations to others considering Asana

Check out the videos. Don't over-think it. It really is that easy to use.

Source: GetApp
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Emily B

Simple at first look; but packed with features you learn as you go along

01/03/2017

I've been using Asana for two years now to manage projects for a web development company, and I've been incredibly impressed with the features and capabilities throughout. When I first started with Asana, I definitely thought it would be too simple to manage what I needed - however, with all of the plethora of features and options to sort tasks, assign, manage, attach details, and see the results, I've been extremely pleasantly surprised. It's simple enough that you can add a task in a few seconds (whereas with other task management systems it would require you to ) Additionally, it links with all kinds of third party software - Slack, Freshdesk, Zapier, Google Drive and Trackduck are just a couple of the integrations we've tried. We've considered moving to other softwares a few times, but just can't seem to let it go - and there's a reason for that!

Pros

It's super easy to add a new task - you can do it in two clicks from any page within Asana. However, it's also complex enough to organize templates, manage schedule and workflow for multiple people and multiple projects, and support multiple kinds of project management methodology.

Cons

I'd like to see the main view - each person's Incomplete Tasks view - built out more, allowing for more easy prioritization rather than just Today, Upcoming and Later. With all the tasks I have, those three ways to categorize my own tasks aren't enough, especially when you are dealing with a LOT of tasks per day.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend

10/10

Recommendations to others considering Asana

Delve into the features. It's worth it!

Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Tina  Parks

Good Project Management Collaboration

28/02/2017

This is a great platform for managing simple to complex projects. It has all the features we need to share files, collaborate, and manage a product from start to finish without spending all day in endless email chains

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Anusha Iyer

Asana user review

27/02/2017

I like this product and I use it everyday. I manage my work using ASANA. It is very convenient to keep track.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Jackson Solway

It's worth it overall, though I'm still struggling to adapt from Trello

24/02/2017

I run a small marketing agency, and as our team has grown Asana has become an essential tool for collaboration. That said, I'm struggling to adapt from Trello, where I previously managed my tasks. Asana's addition of Kanban-style boards is a step in the right direction, but they currently lack key functionality. Overall, I'm also bummed by Asana's minimal options for tagging. These are small concerns in the scheme of things, however: our team gets along here better than anywhere else.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features

Time used: Less than 6 months

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

8/10
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Jennifer Jensen

Haven't used for very long, but so far

24/02/2017

Great experience so far. I've been using it a little bit weird to get a couple of projects started, but it's flexible and does what I need it to do. Great interaction between team members and I've been contacted by support just to see if I liked it or had questions.

Pros

Easy to see what has been accomplished by team members and easy to assign tasks. Makes the visualization of a project very easy and has a lot more features that I haven't really used yet.

Cons

Haven't used it long enough to find any

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: Less than 6 months

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

10/10

Recommendations to others considering Asana

It's free for a trial use and that is definitely worth giving it a try.

Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Anonymous
Digital Marketing (Information Technology and Services company, 51-200 employees)
Verified Reviewer

Little Useful, otherwise a complex app to use

24/02/2017

I didn't like this app too much. It's very complex to understand. I am getting notifications for the tasks for which I am not assigned. I won't prefer to use in future, even won't recommend to anyone.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: Less than 6 months

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

1/10
Source: GetApp
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Jody  Poland

Absolutely the best online app for managing task/projects, organizing information & brainstorming

23/02/2017

I use Asana to organize all the functional areas of my 3 businesses. I also use it to keep my personal and family life organized. It is simply best of breed with Kanban-style boards or list views, global calendar and task management.

Pros

Kanban-style boards for project management, brainstorming, storing & organizing information. It also features a global calendar that tracks due dates across all your boards and lists.

Cons

Nothing.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 6-12 months

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

10/10
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Nicholas Scalice

If you like getting things accomplished, you need Asana

22/02/2017

The best part of Asana is that it gets out of the way and lets you focus on the tasks you need to do. Other project management tools feel like a chore to use. You get tied down by all of the features and it's a task just to use them. But Asana is light and flexible. It keeps you organized without being overbearing. And it's fun to use too, with lots of bright colors and fun animations. If you care about your productivity, especially if you're in a team, then check it out. My favorite feature is the inbox, where all of your notifications are in one spot.

Pros

It's very colorful!

Cons

Sometimes I wish it loaded a slight bit faster.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 2+ years

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

10/10
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Telyamori Njau

Asana making project management great again!

22/02/2017

Best for organizing your projects. Very simple to use. Best way to plan your projects. Effective in communicating to groups. Good place to track events. Great for tracking for accounts

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 2+ years

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

10/10
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Jordan Kapellusch

Literally, our business in one application

22/02/2017

We use Asana for all project management and team work. It's great because it really does lighten the load on email communication between marketers, project owners and production team members. Asana seems ready to introduce great new features to their software regularly and the mobile app is as functional as it is beautiful. The custom fields feature has been the biggest benefit to us recently, as it allows us to track items within the context of Scrum project management.

Pros

Limits emails, Great mobile application, Custom field navigation is brilliant, Support is above average.

Cons

Very text-based, which is a minor detriment to its overall great UI, Uptime and load times could be improved a little bit.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 2+ years

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

9/10
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Ebony Wright

Best Personal & Professional Project Management Software!

17/02/2017

I have used Asana for projects at work, personal projects, and vision boarding and can say it is the best software for home and work. It is visually appealing, accessible on many formats, and is a personal tracker, providing reminders and a visual representation of progress and achievements. The ability to integrate the software with other platforms such as Google Drive, Box, and Dropbox is also very helpful. I would recommend this software to any student or professional.

Pros

Visual representation, reminder notifications, progress bar, desktop notifications.

Cons

No cons to report thus far.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 1-2 years

Frequency of use: Weekly

Likelihood to recommend

10/10
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Yoneco Evans

Great project management tool for self-employeds and freelancers.

15/02/2017

Asana makes project management easy. It¿s my favorite for client projects that include a lot of moving pieces or extra contractors. First, I like a clean and easy to navigate dashboard, Asana has that. Set up a project and tasks, invite members to the project and assign them tasks. Simple. I can see what project areas will require multiple interactions or multiple people, and keep everyone on task. We can also message/comment to one another within each project, so there¿s less time on email check-ins or unnecessary team calls. And, I can track work on my own personal projects. It integrates easily, but I¿ve only used integrations with Google calendars, Google Drive, and Dropbox. I would add that I¿m self-employed, so this works well for me. If you need more comprehensive project management ¿ budget, resource tracking, etc. ¿ this probably isn¿t for you.

Pros

Asana makes project management easy. It¿s my favorite for client projects that include a lot of moving pieces or extra contractors. First, I like a clean and easy to navigate dashboard, Asana has that. Set up a project and tasks, invite members to the project and assign them tasks. Simple. I can see what project areas will require multiple interactions or multiple people, and keep everyone on task. We can also message/comment to one another within each project, so there¿s less time on email check-ins or unnecessary team calls. And, I can track work on my own personal projects. It integrates easily, but I¿ve only used integrations with Google calendars, Google Drive, and Dropbox.

Cons

I would add that I¿m self-employed, so this works well for me. If you need more comprehensive project management ¿ budget, resource tracking, etc. ¿ this probably isn¿t for you.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features

Time used: 1-2 years

Frequency of use: Monthly

Likelihood to recommend

10/10
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Tales Buonarotti

Collaboration is everything

14/02/2017

In addition to every amazing aspect of Asana as a project manager, I believe the most valuable thing they've done is to teach people how to collaborate and the benefits in terms of quality and speed. When I started to work at my current company, I was the only one using Asana to organize the activities of my team. Now, almost two years latter, the role company is using it - and loving it! We can make things faster, we can organize things better, we can have knowledge management easily and everyone can collaborate with everyone, even if they are not around, when they are able to.

Pros

Amazing UX

Cons

Pricing

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 1-2 years

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

10/10

Recommendations to others considering Asana

Use your Inbox, A LOT! :)

Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Lauren LaRochelle

Great team project management tool!

14/02/2017

Our team works in a small non-profit and even then need to keep the "who's doing what?" and the "what's been done?" around our projects and programs organized. Asana lets us do that and keeps us efficient. It's has a pretty good user interface making it easy to navigate. The only issue I've run into is not being able to switch from the "list" view to the "column" view on a project once you've started it. My understanding is this is a functionality that is in the works.

Rating breakdown

Ease of use
Features
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Eric Schell

Simple and easy project management!

14/02/2017

Asana is super easy to use, packed with features and has a really clean and easy to navigate user interface.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Jordan Puckett

Great Product

13/02/2017

Let's of flexibility and options allows our team members to use Asana to meet their own needs, while still working together towards our goals.

Rating breakdown

Ease of use
Features
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more