WorkBook Reviews

WorkBook

Project Management & Resource Management, Accounting & CRM solution for advertising agencies

WorkBook

Review Summary

Pros

I like connecting with community and those in the same field. I also appreciate all the options for creative and client.

Candace C.

The system is very stable and easy to understand, and the guys at workbook are very supportive and knowledgeable. As to Cons; I just wish they had media module.

Georges A.

WorkBook is a great all-in-one solution and there is nothing like it on the current market. We used to have multiple systems for different departments, but WorkBook has everything integrated.

Stephen W.

Cons

We have struggled with the 'exceptions' - correcting user errors, subscriptions. Finance module is unusable in its current state.

Graham F.

Not userfriendly, extremely "heavy to use", confusing trainslation, confusing set-up.

Erika Katalin M.

As an engineering firm and not an agency, we feel that sometimes our core requirements are disregarded, or overlooked.

martin c.

Overall rating

4.1

(46)

5

4

3

2

1

18

18

8

2

0

78%
positive reviews
80%
would recommend this app

Filter reviews by


Overall rating


Company size


Industry


Time used


46 reviews

recommended

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

overall, very positive.

Reviewed 2 years ago
Pros

excellent resource planning and project management, good summary information for PMs. easy to use. HTML interface is much better than Silverlight now.

Cons

a lot of the reports are unclear, where figures are derived from. There are too many of them to be of real use. It would be great if reports were tailored to company requirements as part of set up. As an engineering firm and not an agency, we feel that sometimes our core requirements are disregarded, or overlooked.

Overall Rating
  • Ease of use
  • Customer support

Share this review:

Workbook

Reviewed 5 years ago

Pros: We have used 3 different PM-tools previously and about 20 trial versions of different PM-tools previously before Workbook. No other tool keeps their promise like WorkBook when it comes of being the full solution. Most other tools can't even do half of the features that WorkBook handles. They really have an extensive solution for all parts of our business; from CRM, to Cost calculations, Quotation,...

Pros

No pros were added to this review

Cons

No cons were added to this review

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend2/10

Share this review:

The tool that best adapts to our needs, very difficult to implement

Reviewed 2 months ago

That the team is familiar with the infinity of options that it offers you is an impossible task, and although the consultants have been very friendly, we are not managing to integrate the tool into our daily life.

Pros

I looked for an ERP that could adapt to the needs of a service agency, and among a benchmark of more than 15 options we opted for a workbook for its price and proposal.

Cons

Its implementation has been very complicated, so much so that we are not yet at an optimal point in the process and not very satisfied with this.

Overall Rating
  • Ease of use
  • Customer support

Share this review:

UK Agency Review

Reviewed 5 years ago

We were looking for an intergrated CRM / Pipeline / Job Costing and finance system. We had conducted intensive research on the options available on the market. Our challenge was to have realtime information that allowed us to react swiftly and in an accurately informed way to work in process, not only on the external spend but the recording of time and the financial impact it was having on the project...

Pros

No pros were added to this review

Cons

No cons were added to this review

Overall Rating
  • Ease of use
  • Customer support

Share this review:

Extraordinary tool with good support

Reviewed 5 years ago

We've been running our consulting and accounting business for over 20 years. Most of the time we used various project management, time tracking and billing systems. Last year we decided to introduce WorkBook and replace the previous system we used. As we knew what we needed, the implementation was fast (approx. 5 working days). The new solution was easily accepted by all people in our organization...

Pros

No pros were added to this review

Cons

No cons were added to this review

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

The right decision

Reviewed a year ago

Overall we are very pleased with the decision we made

Pros

Multiple functionality is streamlines a day-to-day workflow and allows us to analyse what’s going on from so many angles

Cons

Learning to use this software took far too long and was not well administered. People teaching uscdidn’t seem to have a grasp on our business. No this happened a year or two before Deltek took over, I was not administered by them.

Overall Rating
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Likelihood to recommend6/10

Share this review:

Workbook: Project & Hours Tracking

Reviewed a year ago

Ultimately, the software was mostly used for tracking hours on tasks and assigning them to the right client. But it could get tedious depending on how many clients you have or if a client had subproject codes which necessitated using dozens of rows to track keep track of hours and billing. However, this would be more agency and client-specific issues. As a task and hour tracker, it gets the job done.

Pros

The program gives the ability to pin project codes for clients which means that if you have static clients you don't have to dig through codes week to week before beginning to insert hours. This removes a tedious part of hourly project tracking, unlike some other programs that require you to reinsert them week to week. The program also has a comment section that allows you to describe the tasks that were worked on, so it makes it easy to recall what exactly was being worked if you need to look back at your hours or track down projects.

Cons

The navigability of the software can be confusing at times. Especially if you are mostly just using the program for work task tracking. Often, I would have messages that I wasn't sure how to get rid of or messages in the inbox making you think there was something urgent that needed to be taken care of but was really for just something from the previous week like clicking on a button to resubmit approvals or things of that nature.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

Interesting and informational

Reviewed 3 years ago
Pros

I like connecting with community and those in the same field. I also appreciate all the options for creative and client.

Cons

No cons were added to this review

Overall Rating
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

Good, robust agency software

Reviewed 3 years ago

We are a full service marketing agency who started using WorkBook in the last year. The software has been great at addressing a lot of our project management needs such as resource scheduling and project timelines and management. We started using the software in the midst of their transition from V8 to V9 which made implementation a little difficult, as we had to switch between two versions and ran...

Pros

No pros were added to this review

Cons

No cons were added to this review

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend6/10

Share this review:

Easy workload planification

Reviewed 6 months ago

Easy overall visibility on the workload of a team. Easy modifications to the planning daily.

Pros

Good visibility on the workload of the team and easy changes regarding assigned hours. Création of projects.

Cons

Not easily adaptable to specific needs of a team, organisation. Problèm with our web server, Many delays during the day within the software. The interface could be improved for a better and more modern and fun user expérience.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

I love WorkBook!

Reviewed 2 years ago

We have created more efficient business processes, reduced our dependence on emails and paper, and are now able to capture time entries for everyone in our company.

Pros

WorkBook is extremely easy to use, has all of the features we need to creative project management, and they provide us with amazing customer service!

Cons

That I didn't know about it 10 years ago.

Overall Rating
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend4/10

Share this review:

Waiting for the promised UX / performance improvements

Reviewed a year ago

I still see the huge potential of this tool, but am not sure when in the future we will be able to realise the true potential

Pros

It is one central place for all data relating to managing projects, and has some good views in the JobsList and Costs tracking. It is also great to be able to tailor your view (to a point)

Cons

There are so many bugs / performance issues throughout the system, which means we don't use it to the full extent. I cannot wait for the promised UX improvements to come to reality, but we are still waiting. There is so much great data in the system, but it is very difficult to get customised exports in one report so current analysis is still extreme admin heavy, downloading and collating multiple exports which is far from ideal.

Overall Rating
  • Ease of use
  • Customer support

Share this review:

Top notch features. Perfect project management tool for agencies.

Reviewed 5 years ago

We have been using Workbook for years. Heavily used others in the past. Nothing like it. When we chose them, I looked at their client list and was impressed.. big agency names and there is a reason for it. Researched on the other side of the pond to find our tool. Investigated small and large agencies and the response was pretty much unanimous: Workbook. Pros: Clean nice looking and elegant. Offer...

Pros

No pros were added to this review

Cons

No cons were added to this review

Overall Rating
  • Ease of use
  • Customer support

Share this review:

Excellent PM tool with all things integrated

Reviewed 5 years ago

WorkBook is a great all-in-one solution and there is nothing like it on the current market. We used to have multiple systems for different departments, but WorkBook has everything integrated. We now have time tracking, project management, resource management, budgeting, forecasting (incl. pipelines), CRM and all finances in WorkBook. We are in the process of setting up the also-integrated support...

Pros

No pros were added to this review

Cons

No cons were added to this review

Overall Rating
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

Good planning software!

Reviewed a year ago
Pros

Easy to schedule and manage time. Easy to create projects and tasks.

Cons

The software is not flexible in term of features. Hard to personnalize for specific needs.

Overall Rating
  • Ease of use
  • Customer support

Share this review:

Workbook is ideal too to manage the profitability of your services business

Reviewed 8 years ago

Workbook is a great product that will suit the needs for most sized marketing and communications companies. It is easy to use and easy to implement. A great tool for managing your business

Pros

Workbooks is centered on project/resource/task framework which makes it easy for agencies to manage their client workload and help control the profitability of their work. The ability to interact directly with clients thru the portal is a great feature. The integrated CRM and Accounting functionality provided make this a complete system for the small to medium sized agency, wanting to save time on administration and to manage their project more efficiently.

Cons

Requires Microsoft Silverlight which is not available in all browsers (Chrome for example)

Overall Rating
  • Ease of use
  • Customer support

Share this review:

All in one place and still manageable - and great support department!

Reviewed 5 years ago

We have chosen Workbook because it is tailored to advertising agencies, and because we want to have everything in one place. My impression is that Workbook can handle close to everything, even though we only use a part of the functions. It is manageable divided into tabs, so once you become familiar with the structure, it is easy to navigate. And when you encounter challenges Workbook's efficient support department is always ready to assist and guide you through. However, it would be really great if they offered regular meetings with one of their consultants, to show the new features etc. as part of the support deal. I am sure we could get a better outcome if we got some occasionally guidance. But all in all, I can highly recommend the Workbook as a tool to manage projects and finance.

Pros

No pros were added to this review

Cons

No cons were added to this review

Overall Rating
  • Ease of use
  • Customer support

Share this review:

not userfriendly, extremely "heavy to use", confusing trainslation, confusing set-up

Reviewed 5 years ago

The pros for the software is that is includes both CRM, Pipeline, Finance, RM and PM modules. The contras are unfortunately many. For everyday use and as working Tool, it is absolutely not user-friendly. Finance people, the way they think and Work, might be useful. However, sales and project managers think and Work completely different. Therefore the current set-up of workbook is far from being...

Pros

No pros were added to this review

Cons

No cons were added to this review

Vendor response

Hi Erika We are sorry you are not completely satisfied. Please reach out to us at support@workbook.net with any requests you have for improvement. Also, you can see who is included on a ticket by checking out the little icons of peoples faces, or by looking at the resources tab. You can also easily add people either by the "add user" button or by @mentioning them. You can remove participants by right-clicking on them and choosing to remove them. I hope this helps. Nikolai

Overall Rating
  • Ease of use
  • Customer support

Share this review:

Flexible yet standardized system

Reviewed 5 years ago

We were looking for a system that could support our growing company, number of employees and costumers. It had to be easy to use, easy to maintain and easy to update. Workbook gives us a system that gives us all that we need at a fixed price - and there's no hidden costs in expensive updates that takes days to set up. At times we get great ideas for new functionality (at least we think so ourselves) and very often we get a quick reply that Workbook also finds it's great idea and develops a solution for all users of Workbook. We find that's one of Workbooks strongest advantages - it's not only Workbook who develops and improves the system but also the users.

Pros

No pros were added to this review

Cons

No cons were added to this review

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Bilsing Automation GmbH

Reviewed 4 years ago

We are using workbook with nearly 150 users in 10 subsidiaries. The go live was 01.01.17 with our headquarter in Germany. At the moment we are using just the scheduling functionality. The next step will be to start with the booking of the needed time. Parallel we will start the rollout in all our subsidaries.

Pros

No pros were added to this review

Cons

No cons were added to this review

Overall Rating
  • Ease of use
  • Customer support

Share this review:

Great software and the minds behind it are even greater

Reviewed 5 years ago

We have been using the system for a couple of years now and frankly its really great in terms of capabilities and user friendly. We use it for project Management, client profitability, resource/task allocation and timesheet. I did quite a lot of research before I found Workbook and it is the best system. Workbook guys installed the system in our data center and did us an initial training then we carried on the training and implementation across the region. The system is very stable and easy to understand, and the guys at workbook are very supportive and knowledgeable. As to Cons; I just wish they had media module. Good Luck Guys

Pros

No pros were added to this review

Cons

No cons were added to this review

Overall Rating
  • Ease of use
  • Customer support

Share this review:

Complete but NOT complicated

Reviewed 8 years ago

I advice to use this system as a complete management platform for any services company (e.g. from 10 to 200 users). You can reach me if you need any information!

Pros

1. Easy to use, very intuitive for the everyday use of any services organization. 2. Economical (pay just for the users needed every month) 3. Nice user interface 4. Does not force you to enter all the information, just the one you need 5. Fast to deploy in your organization (2-3 weeks)

Cons

1. If your people does not want to enter timesheet, it's not very useful.

Overall Rating
  • Ease of use
  • Customer support

Share this review:

Simple and straight way of working with projects

Reviewed 5 years ago

In fact so simple that I begin to question my own business also is simple in the way we work/face our clients :-) "Ease of use" rated as 3 due to a lot of new functions witch I have to be familiar with. WorkBook 8 is browser-based and do not have the same speed/response time..It´s annoying to double-click in the fields all the time. Customer Service is 1st class, but miss the old online WB-Support function witch have many topics as fx. "to do at year end", "Setting mileage rate" a.s.o. ...and it was written in Danish !

Pros

No pros were added to this review

Cons

No cons were added to this review

Overall Rating
  • Ease of use
  • Customer support

Share this review:

Using WorkBook is the only way to run a successful agency.

Reviewed 5 years ago

Having used dozens of different pieces of software, I am very grateful that I have finally found WorkBook. It is a fully integrated solution that includes CRM/Pipeline Management, Collaboration, File sharing, Client Portal, Project and Resource Management and built in Finance & Accounting module. All this in a very simple and intuitive user interface. The key to running a successful agency is having the management information available in real time to make decisions. WorkBook achieves this brilliantly!

Pros

No pros were added to this review

Cons

No cons were added to this review

Overall Rating
  • Ease of use
  • Customer support

Share this review:

Great tool to cover the whole business cycle of a project driven organization

Reviewed 5 years ago

We have just gone live following a lengthy implementation process so my experience is limited. What is clear from start is that this is a very complex and comprehensive platform that enables us to manage most of our processes around projects: pipeline, quoting, resource allocation and usage, time sheet recording, measuring effectiveness, recording expenses, purchase orders, invoicing, keep track of profitability in a granulated view - in short: a tool that gives you the valuable sense of being in control.

Pros

No pros were added to this review

Cons

No cons were added to this review

page 1 of 2