App comparison

Add up to 4 apps below to see how they compare. You can also use the "Compare" buttons while browsing.

RetailEdge Logo
RetailEdge

Point of sale & inventory management solution for retailers

visit website

(6)

RetailEdge Reviews

User ratings

Overall rating

4.8

/5

142
98%
positive reviews
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9.39/10

See full reviews by rating

Pros and cons

The customer service is great, the features keep improving and the sales process is great. Gift cards, set up, customer records- all awesome.
Ease of use and the ability to teach a new cashier quickly. Compound report excellent so we can quickly see our on hand, sales over a certain period, what's on order and what we need to order.
Good sales and monthly reports. Great customer service-they are always willing to help.
However, I think my biggest dislike is the inability to get a beep when a negative item is scanned and we're not looking at the screen.
Not being able to adjust the spacing on a label is a pain especially when the label is cut off.
I really wish this worked on a mac. I hate that I have to use PC's at work when I use macs everywhere else.
Filter reviews by

Overall rating


Company size


Industry


Time used


142 reviews

Recommended

AM
AvatarImg

Angie M.

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

User friendly & versatile

Reviewed 5 years ago

Easy to use and train new employees. Upfront cost are very reasonable and monthly cost is well worth it and affordable. Best POS system I have used for everyday sales and customer billing.

Pros

Easy to set up & use daily. New employees learn quickly. It is all around a great POS system for any type of business.

Cons

Customer search defaults to ID. Layout of customer manager takes time to navigate through. Requires a few more steps in processing a swiped credit card than I would like but probably more of a cc processor issue and not the Retail Edge software.

PJ
AvatarImg

Perry J.

Recreational Facilities and Services, 1-10 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

State sales and use audit was flawless per the auditor .

Reviewed 4 years ago

Organization

Pros

Ease of use, great tool for inventory and customer purchase history. Love the reports. We love it and wouldn't change anything.

Cons

Pay to upgrade, missing out on good stuff which we can't always pay to update. Maybe an annual free upgrade could be possible

Vendor response

Perry, Thanks so much for your review! We're glad you like the reports and and customer purchase history. Our Upgrade plan is only $5/workstation/month, and at 9-10 updates per year, we feel that amount best suits our customers and our efforts to provide the best version of RetailEdge we can.

SQ
AvatarImg

Shanisa Q.

Food & Beverages, 11-50 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend4/10

Share this review:

Need some ease of use changes

Reviewed 7 months ago
Pros

The software is Convenient as it allows for monthly payments

Cons

The software should allow for persons to enter stock quantity, supplier and price on the same tab. Also when opening up the management tab it should not be saying in bold whats the sales because everyone can see it

Vendor response

Hi Shanisa, thank you for the feedback! In order to fully address your concerns, our team will be reaching out to you for some clarification and hopefully resolve the issue. Thanks again!

SA
AvatarImg

Steven A.

Retail, 1-10 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Long time customer

Reviewed 7 months ago
Pros

The software is easy to use, there aren't any features I'd like in a POS system that are missing. In fact there are features in RE that I don't use that make me want to try them out just because I have this access to them.

Cons

I have reported a bug five years ago and it still hasn't been fixed. Support looked at it with me and said I was the only person that had reported that issue and that they'd work on it but yearssssss later the bug is still there!

SL
AvatarImg

Scott L.

Used daily for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

Best bang for your buck, no doubt. Excellent support During implementation.

Reviewed 4 years ago
Pros

The price point was unbelievable. Best value on the market, no doubt. Support during implementation was excellent. Everyone in tech support was always friendly. Customizing our price tag labels & receipts was greatly appreciated. Direct integration with credit card processing. The last thing I wanted was to give our customers 2 receipts (sales & CC receipts). The integration works seamlessly.

Cons

All complaints are minor, and relatively insignificant. Inventory Manager & Recieving seems like redundant functions and can cause some confusion. Search functions in Recieving has limited function. Search functions always revers to default search category rather that keeping last search preferences. I still haven't figured out how to label display discounts the way I want to.

SR
AvatarImg

Sara R.

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Awesome is the word I would use.

Reviewed 4 years ago
Pros

It's user-friendly and has many layers so there is always some report that you can create or you can detail and customize your inventory. Minimal training when you hire new or seasonal staff. RetsilEdge's staff is very professional (I can probably name every one of them from all the help they've given me over the years and knowledgeable, they are all great!

Cons

Nothing really; As I mentioned before, it's user-friendly and can be used easily. Nothing to complain about.

KM
AvatarImg

Katherine M.

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

Overall good

Reviewed 4 years ago
Pros

Easy to use. App is helpful. Service is great. The Island functionality is very helpful, as is the ability to hardwire and network. We run two PCs and a laptop that sometimes serves as a register and all three communicate well.

Cons

The reporting is not great. Basic sales etc is fine, or if you just want to see PDFs, it's ok, but the two ways you can export to excel are not great if you need to manipulate the data. Hard to sort, lots of repetitive page break info etc.

GG
AvatarImg

Ginny G.

Retail, 11-50 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

From day 1 (almost 15 years ago)been so helpful! Rarely need help when I do they are great!

Reviewed 4 years ago

Inventory management, sales reports

Pros

Easy to learn, provides data I need to make good decisions for my business. Turn key set up and support.

Cons

Having to modify the price to reprint a price label with the original price on it. We do markdowns in red pen from original prices. Never need the sale price printed on a label. Would be nice to be able to reprint labels always at original price. Now look up item, change price back to original, print label, change price to sale price.

DS
AvatarImg

Dave S.

Recreational Facilities and Services, 11-50 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

We have used Retail Edge for 20 years. It has always worked well for us.

Reviewed 5 years ago

We can track customer history, product sales and see trends in the paddlesports industry.

Pros

Customer Support is incredible, when you call in you get real people who understand the product and can solve your problem in a few minutes or less. The new Android Dashboard so I can stay in tough with my store sales.

Cons

When Microsoft does its updates there are often small issues that crop up and make something in Retail Edge malfunction. But the good news is that Customer Support is awesome!

KR
AvatarImg

KORIE R.

Apparel & Fashion, 1-10 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

The easiest to use and loaded with features

Reviewed 2 years ago

the customer support team was amazing, we suffered from a computer crash and the the team helped us get back up and running very quickly

Pros

We like the ease of adding inventory and products into the system which is the longest process of any system but retail edge made this quick.

Cons

the only thing we wish we could do would be to modify or have the ability to change invoice numbers

EE
AvatarImg

Ed E.

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Been using for 13 years now. Overall great experience

Reviewed 5 years ago

Fairly bulletproof Point of Sale (POS) application.

Pros

Within the framework provided the software has a fair amount of flexibility. Adding common utilities can allow you to run your business from anywhere using the RetailEdge functionality. The price is also a strong "Pro." Lots of great tools for a reasonable price

Cons

You must move within the framework provided. If you want to do something not supported it can be a difficult road.

EL
AvatarImg

Eva L.

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

Great people to work with.

Reviewed 5 years ago
Pros

Easy and inexpensive. Over 135 reports. Easy to search current inventory. Easy to teach employees.

Cons

Should have reports other than a sales report that generate manufacturer or vendor part numbers. Hard to integrate with some of our manufacturers reports. Have to manipulate excel sheets which is too cumbersome. Would like the sizes listed horizontal instead of vertically. Kind of like a size sheet where you make scores.

MC
AvatarImg

Maia C.

Retail, 1-10 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Easy to Use Daily

Reviewed 8 months ago

The support has always been great, [SENSITIVE CONTENT] is always so patient with non-techy people like me, it makes dealing with RE easy!

Pros

Daily POS, ease of creating reports and keeping track of customer purchases

Cons

I don't use RE as in depth as other members of staff do, I don't have complaints!

Vendor response

Maia, Thank you so much for taking the time to give us your feedback! We are so glad RetailEdge and our Support staff are meeting your needs!

KL
AvatarImg

Kathryn L.

Retail, 1-10 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

RE at VC

Reviewed 3 years ago

The best benefit we have realized is the tracking of inventory.

Pros

I had used Retail Edge in a previous position and knew that it would suit the needs in the small store that we have. I like it best for the purchase orders, tracking of merchandise and the customer data base.

Cons

What I like the least is that I am sure there are features we could use but don't, which is why I am attending the conference next week.

NJ
AvatarImg

Nicole J.

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

Being a customer for 14 years I think says it all. Great product and even better support!!

Reviewed 5 years ago
Pros

Perfect for my small retail business. Having two stores it tracks our inventory and simplifies the ordering process for the two stores. It is a user friendly piece of software and if you don't understand anything, the RE Tech staff is there for you!

Cons

I wish it was available for a Mac platform as I am not a fan of windows. When windows updates is the time we have trouble and need tech support.

PF
AvatarImg

Phyllis F.

Retail, 1-10 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

Excellent

Reviewed 4 years ago

Data collection, retrieval and analysis. Easy reports for sales tax and accounting.

Pros

I like the robust data collection - that it has so many fields - and that I can import from and export to a CSV file.

Cons

I would like to see more flexibility to use the data - for example, ability to sort and organize fields on a page and keep that layout, ability to filter and sort by multiple levels, and ability to create customized reports.

VA
AvatarImg

Vince A.

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Simple to use, great value, does everything needed.

Reviewed 4 years ago
Pros

Great customer service. Easy to use functions. I like the retail island, I can check my sales remotely.

Cons

When looking up a customer, if the customer isn't in the system you need to start over again. ie; What is your name...my name is Philips...you look up Philips and he's not there...it should then say do you want to make Philips a customer, rather than making us retype Philips...which is an easy last name .

DD
AvatarImg

David D.

Retail, 1-10 employees

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

New to R.E. in June. Very easy transition.

Reviewed 4 years ago

Quick, easy and comprehensive transition from a POS system we had been using for 20+ years to Retail Edge's product. Still learning (only been on-board for 2 months), but any avenue I take to become savvy with an unexplored area meets with quick and comprehensive understanding. It's remarkable intuitive. The options to perform tasks make sense and the performance is easy.

Pros

The intuitiveness of the tasks. It guides you to success. We like the multi-options to perform tasks. You can do it this way or that and still be successful. Very easy to train folks to use the system. Support was there and very helpful when needed.

Cons

The least favorable pre-purchase issue was the anxiety in setting up and learning a new POS system. I didn't look forward to the anticipated time needed to learn and launch the program. It was easy ! The anxiety was totally unwarranted and the time requirements were well below the hours I expected. So much of it was intuitive and reasonably understood.

Vendor response

David, it was a pleasure working with you personally on your transition and I'm so glad to hear everything is going smoothly for Forth N Goal! Thanks so much for your positive feedback! -Kayla

JP
AvatarImg

Jason P.

Computer Hardware, 1-10 employees

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

It has a been an easy software to understand and setup

Reviewed 5 years ago

I am able to use the new chip credit cards and it is very professional interface when we have credit card machines that interact with our software. Customer history and inventory management.

Pros

This software is able to handle the 14000+ clients we already have. The import process was easy. It handles the variety of inventory all the way down to serial numbers.

Cons

The only real complaint I have with this software is when receiving check payments from customers there is no field to enter the actual check number. Many times months down the road a customer will call and ask for the check number an invoice was paid with.

DD
AvatarImg

Dave D.

Retail, 1-10 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Sept 13, 2022

Reviewed 3 months ago
Pros

Solid software without a monthly subscription

Cons

Credit card processing isn't linked to the sale.

Vendor response

Hi Dave, Thank you for your review! We do have credit card processing that is fully integrated with RetailEdge. If you would like to get your processing integrated, please reach out to us and we will be happy to get you going with one of our merchant partners who can match or beat your current rates.

AK
AvatarImg

Allison K.

Retail, 1-10 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Great Customer Service!

Reviewed 4 months ago

I have had a really nice experience

Pros

It is very easy to use and the customer service is wonderful. [SENSITIVE CONTENT] is very helpful and patient.

Cons

I don't dislike anything really. It is a good program and I have been quite happy

Vendor response

Hi Allison, We appreciate the great review and are so glad you are happy with RetailEdge!

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Michael Y.

Verified reviewer

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

Simple and amazing software!

Reviewed 5 years ago
Pros

As a used bookstore we have utilized the customer features to track book credits. This allows us to see when our customers were last in and contact info to get them back! Simple and easy to use!!

Cons

There is little I don't like about this software.. it's a software that it always in evolution. Having consistency when having doing reports... A default selection choice would be nice...

AR
AvatarImg

Audrey R.

Retail, 11-50 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

we use retail edge for four location and online sales. great for inventory control and cust. info

Reviewed 5 years ago

the ease of viewing from any computer, not just the point of sale computer. customer info is easy to access and set up. the reports are very easy to customize.

Pros

all of the reports are easy to use and customize. customer contact has all you could use to keep track of customers.

Cons

inventory search. that being said it may be the way we have ours set up and could be used a different way to make it more efficient.

JS
AvatarImg

John S.

Used daily for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Very good standalone software suite for managing sales and inventory for a retail store.

Reviewed 4 years ago

It is invaluable for our business.

Pros

The software is easy to use and very intuitive. Loading inventory is pretty straight forward. Because it is windows based we can run it on any computer that fits our needs. Currently we are using a surface tablet with a generic Bluetooth barcode scanner, receipt printer, label printer, and cash drawer. Initial setup for accepting credit cards was quite easy with the assistance of customer service. The software has a very robust reporting system that help in day to day management and simplifies the accountant's efforts.

Cons

Becuase the software package is so comprehensive, it can take some time to complete the initial setup.

JS
AvatarImg

Judy S.

Retail, 1-10 employees

Used daily for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend1/10

Share this review:

The sales process was fantastic. The training was the worst experience ever

Reviewed 4 years ago

Ability to have vendor accounts and scan product

Pros

It has the ability to give me the information I need. the scanner is a great feature. The ability to pick and choose the equipment was nice.

Cons

You have to wade through way too much to get to what is needed. The ease of use is minimal. Functionality for the daily user as a cash register is too slow.

Vendor response

Judy, thank you for taking the time to give us your honest feedback. We are very sorry to hear you're having a difficult time using RetailEdge, as our Technical Support agents pride themselves on exceptional service and training. Someone will be reaching out to you shortly in order to gather more information about the issues you're having and offer ways to make the program more functional for you and your business. Thanks again. -Kayla