App comparison

Add up to 4 apps below to see how they compare. You can also use the "Compare" buttons while browsing.

OpenCart Logo

OpenCart

Open source e-commerce platform for selling online

(15)

OpenCart Reviews

Overall rating

4.3

/5

148

Rating criteria

  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8.33/10

Reviews by rating

Pros and cons

The best aspects of OpenCart include the ability to integrate payment gateways and e-commerce tools easily into websites. Many are free to use and the variety of tools are fantastic.
Great feedback from the community, being and active and responsive community. We were able to develop one online shop with easy and great performance.
What I like most about OpenCart is that it is open source, thereby it has a huge community. I like that OpenCart is easy to use and setup.
Most of the templates require further work, as they are usually bought at foreign sites. There are also problems with translation, or rather its lack and with optimization.
Some say bad customer support, but no personal experience in this regard.
We do not favor how limited the base platform is on shipping integration, fraudulent order monitoring, or promotional sale control.
Filter reviews by

Overall rating


Company size


Industry


Time used


148 reviews

Recommended

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Mattress Mike S.

CMO

Retail, 1-10 employees

Review source

Overall Rating

Open Cart User Review

Reviewed 2 years ago

Transcript

Whitney S.: My name's Whitney. I am a chief marketing officer and co-business owner. I give OpenCart...

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Faizan M.

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Working with OpenCart from last 3+ years. Developed many extensions for extend functionality.

Reviewed 6 years ago
Pros

Ready to use e-commerce software. Just install and upload your product information and publish your store to world wide.

Cons

The support from the vendor should be improved. Improve documentation for better way to how to do it.

AR
AvatarImg

Verified reviewer

Computer Software, 51-200 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Use it if you love open source

Reviewed 3 years ago

Very Good, where extreme customisation is required.

Pros

It is open source Easy to customize Huge developer community Easy to setup Full control over data

Cons

Doesn't have a huge plugin marketplace like shopify Non-tech person can't customise this platform Quite outdated in few features.

WP
AvatarImg

Will P.

Printing, self-employed

Used daily for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend5/10

Share this review:

It works but ....

Reviewed 4 years ago
Pros

how easy it is to install, configure and get around

Cons

The fact that you often hae to go play in the php coding

AR
AvatarImg

Verified reviewer

Tobacco, 1-10 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Good open-source cart platform if you have a developer

Reviewed 5 years ago
Pros

It's free, what's not to like about an open-source shopping cart platform. It's extendable with modules, and can be made to be pretty powerful.

Cons

The modules, more particularly, that there are no coding standards or screening processes in which developers must go through before a paid module is put up for sale on the marketplace.

AR
AvatarImg

Verified reviewer

Internet, self-employed

Used weekly for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

Decent self-hosted e-commerce solution for small shops

Reviewed 5 years ago

For a basic e-commerce website for a small shop, OpenCart can be a decent solution for self-hosted. Clients are always happy with the easy to use administration and find intuitive. As a developer, its been fairly easy to modify code. I typically recommend other software over OpenCart, but overall it's a decent platform to start out with.

Pros

Website administration is easy-to-use and non-technical clients can easily find what they need. Great basic set of features making setup of website fairly easy to get going. And of course the best part of OpenCart, it's free to use as open-source software.

Cons

Extensive customization can get costly with extensions. Some security issues with some of the extensions, so choose wisely. Outdated templates/themes. Not a good choice for larger shops as it will slow down considerably.

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Matheus A.

Internet, 1-10 employees

Used daily for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Virtual store system full of new functions

Reviewed 5 years ago
Pros

A virtual store with lots of integration options, safe and very fast is what we always need. Do not think that all are like this, but many customers who make use of it always look for this. This can handle in a professional manner and with highly accepted language in the PHP market.

Cons

Some payment types have not yet been programmed for the platform, we still depend on programmers to program Brazilian payment solutions, but there are already several that can already be used. I believe time may come more.

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Md Jahan M.

Internet, 10,001+ employees

Used weekly for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

"A comprehensive and scalable eCommerce solution"

Reviewed 2 years ago
Pros

OpenCart is a great CMS for creating eCommerce stores. It's really easy to use, includes multiple payment integration tools, and has a multitude of features that makes your store more user-friendly. It is very simple to deploy both domestically and on servers, and it is quick and simple for both administrators and consumers.

Cons

Not found any complicated issues, it's a wonderful CMS tool.

AR
AvatarImg

Verified reviewer

Information Technology and Services, 51-200 employees

Used weekly for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Manage OpenCart as per your requirements.

Reviewed 5 years ago
Pros

1. OpenCart provide you complete environment to manage your products. 2. You can customize OpenCart as per your requirement. 3. You can edit OpenCart functionality if you have good web development skills . 4. Product listing , creation of product details , adding captions is easy. 5. Disable product , enable product is great features. 6. It has complete shopping cart features.

Cons

Customization of OpenCart is required web development skills .

AR
AvatarImg

Verified reviewer

Real Estate, 11-50 employees

Used weekly for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

Free Comprehensive E-commerce Softwarre

Reviewed 5 years ago

I lie it very much and used it for my websites temporarily

Pros

It is an optimized for only e-commerce so It is so fast in terms of loading time of a website especially when it is compared to wordpress. So it does not need so much ram to upload your website .

Cons

Its moduls or attachments are so restricted. If you wouldlike to make special project, sometimes you cannot find out right attachment or modul.

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Khawja S.

Information Technology and Services, 1-10 employees

Used other for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Best OpenSource Code for e-Commerce

Reviewed 4 years ago

I am running an online shopping website with OpenCart.

Pros

I have been using OpenCart for last 6 yrs or so and I find it very easy to use and also very easy to customize according to your requirements. You can add plenty of free plugins and themes to it and also some paid themes and features also available.

Cons

Some features of plugins are not compatible with new versions of OpenCart which is kind of disappointment.

AR
AvatarImg

Verified reviewer

11-50 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

OpenCart is an amazing software.

Reviewed 6 years ago

I have been using this software for over 6 years to build ecommerce websites for my clients, offering customized solutions, template design, extensions, modules, consulting, maintenance.

Pros

Seo friendly. Easy to install and setup. Continued upgrades. Easy for develop custom solutions. Great community. Great marketplace to buy extensions for good prices. Infinite Payment gateways. Infinite Shipping Gateways. Email Marketing Tools. Insightfully Reports. Users and Role Administrations. Discounts, Sales, Coupons, Rewards Points. Products Reviews. Multi Language. Multi Currency. Mobile Ready. Marketing Tracking Tools. Affiliate Program Tool. And more...

Cons

OpenCart's core upgrade processes are often laborious, but the OpenCart team seems to be working on this, and often offering solutions that allow you to take these weak points to disappear in a short time.

SD
AvatarImg

Stavros D.

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

The best e-commerce platform

Reviewed 6 years ago

I gained many things but most important I improved my programming skills

Pros

It's easy to use and really fast. You can easily build a shop with thousands of product without paying a flrtune on hosting. It is SEO promising with built in SEO customization. Its also an independent framework by itself which I found pretty interesting as I am developer as well. Last but not least there is a big community supporting it.

Cons

Sometimes in a hurry on publish new releases which leads to bugs. And forum members (some of them) can be really aggressive .

SS
AvatarImg

Shikhil S.

Computer Software, 1-10 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Feature rich CMS with alot to do! Security could be better

Reviewed 6 years ago

- Easy to manage products - Setting up a store in no time - Selling products online - Accepting payments online

Pros

- Made for small and medium e-commerce shops - Alot of features - A number plugins available to do almost any tasks - The latest version enables customizations without much loss during updating

Cons

- Security can be proved. OC is often a subject to malware attacks and credit card scammers - Community can be stronger like other CMSs like Magento/WordPress

kk
AvatarImg

kalaiselvan k.

Computer Software, 501-1,000 employees

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

OpenCart Review

Reviewed 4 years ago

Overall it is good e-commerce application for online shops with very ease effort.

Pros

This is one of the best opensource e-commerce product available in market. we can do lot of customization stuff using the plugins. Administration and Maintenance is pretty painless one. It has good graphical user interface for managing the products. Installing the software is straight forward and easy.

Cons

Few plugins are quite expensive and upgrade is painfull. It requires, lot of learning curve to understand the products.

MA
AvatarImg

Michael A.

Retail, 11-50 employees

Used other for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

OpenCart is an eCommerce from the Future

Reviewed 6 years ago

This software is our go-to recommendation for companies that want the most customization without recurring fees impacting their monthly profit margins. Keep in mind it may be a little more pricey to start out with your necessary extensions, but you won't regret your choice (as long as you install extensions as instructed). Maintain your site and your site will maintain your income.

Pros

We absolutely love that it is initially a free platform. Competitors charge for the platform and then charge for features, but OpenCart has a wide range of extensions that perform what you want, the way you want. High-quality platform-wide access to have a large amount of customization and control over your store.

Cons

We do not favor how limited the base platform is on shipping integration, fraudulent order monitoring, or promotional sale control. These are all available as add-ons but are necessary for the majority of businesses, even when they are starting out as a new company.

FA
AvatarImg

Florin A.

Internet, self-employed

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

A very good ecommerce web app with a great comunity.

Reviewed 6 years ago

I get a secure and reliable ecommerce store base for my customers.

Pros

The easy to understand code; The extensibility of the app; It is relatively lighweight; The forum comunity;

Cons

The integrated marketplace in opencart 3.x; The integration of the twig templating system into opecart 3.x;

VU
AvatarImg

Vesna U.

Computer Software, 201-500 employees

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Versatile and easy to learn platform

Reviewed 5 years ago
Pros

The platform has a huge number of useful features that we managed to use quite easily after a short study time. The Internet has a huge amount of educational materials.

Cons

After being removed from the site, the pages are still being indexed by search engines for a sufficiently long period of time. A bit complicated folder structure.

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Vinh V.

International Trade and Development, 1-10 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

OpenCart review

Reviewed 5 years ago
Pros

It packs with a lot of important features and installation is quite straightforward

Cons

Upgrading from version to version might be a pain sometimes

AA
AvatarImg

Ayub A.

Information Technology and Services, 11-50 employees

Used weekly for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Opencart for your online business

Reviewed 5 years ago
Pros

Opencart is one the best free CMS in today's era. If someone who wants to make online presence of his/her business one can choose opencart with ease & undoubtedly. It has a huge list of pros but i'll mention few of them which i like the most Its development cost is far less than its competitors Its light weight & super fast. It has user friendly & easy to manage. It has many built in shipping & payment methods. It has live 24/7 support & huge community of developers. It has large list of free modules & themes.

Cons

Even though its very valuable product at 0 cost but it has few of the cons. Its security is quite vulnerable because of free modules over the internet. Not suitable for large scale business Cache management is quite difficult.

NM
AvatarImg

Nishtha M.

Marketing and Advertising, 1-10 employees

Used weekly for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

my clients love this platform to build their e-commerce stores

Reviewed a year ago
Pros

OpenCart is a great platform to build an e-commerce store and my clients love it too. I am amazed by OpenCart, it has everything that my clients need to run their e-commerce stores fluidly. The platform is not too complex so even the new comers can easily get up to speed with this toolkit. It's the perfect solution for any e-commerce business that wants to start with a sleek, modern store design and at no extra cost.

Cons

So far OpenCart has been an amazing platform for us. So, no cons for OpenCart

AR
AvatarImg

Verified reviewer

Outsourcing/Offshoring, self-employed

Used weekly for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

Excellent for a start up e-commerce store

Reviewed 5 years ago
Pros

Open cart is a great cms /e-commerce application for a quick online store set up. The back end is easy to learn and has all the functionality one requires to operate a profitable online store.

Cons

Customisation is not straight forward as far as creating your own themes and store designs. The application comes fit with great templates that can be used in the interim.

AR
AvatarImg

Verified reviewer

Information Technology and Services, 51-200 employees

Used weekly for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Open New business with Open Cart

Reviewed 5 years ago

Very good

Pros

Open cart is a great store management system. It's a open source software and lots of websites are using this software. I am as a software developer got a chance to give support to my client who are using open cart tool for their e-commerce websites. It's a good software essy to implement new themes and customisation according to client need.

Cons

As this is a open source software so some time you may be in a queue to get the customer support , because this is a very popular software.

MF
AvatarImg

Melissa F.

Hospitality, 51-200 employees

Used weekly for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Works fast and stable

Reviewed 5 years ago
Pros

We have created several client online stores that run CMS OpenCart. The main advantage of OpenCart is that it consumes much less server resources than other CMS. This ensured stable work, despite the fact that more than 1000 products are sold on each of the sites.

Cons

Deleted pages continue to be indexed by search engines for a long time. Once the deleted page continued to be indexed for another 8 days, and we received daily calls from users who could not access the page.

AR
AvatarImg

Verified reviewer

Computer Software, 11-50 employees

Used weekly for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Opencart is the best Store Management System ever.

Reviewed 5 years ago

I have been using OpenCart for the last 1 year.It is very easy to integrate and manage your online store using OpenCart. It has a variety of designs which looks professional.Even it can be edited with out much effort for a developer.

Pros

It is very easy to manage your online store using OpenCart. It gives many designs which is easy to integrate and manage. All the pages from product listing to checkout looks professional and even we could edit it in the back end.It is the best open source Store Management System I have ever used.

Cons

At first, it takes some time to get familiarized with the functionality. And the folder structure is little complicated.

VW
AvatarImg

Vegard W.

Internet, self-employed

Used monthly for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Free and easy ecommerce with lightweight muscles!

Reviewed 7 years ago

It's open source and free, so anyone can be up and running with this lightweight champion of an ecommerce. If you're a beginner or a startup looking for an effective ecommerce solution that will sell both physical and digital goods, this is it. My first ecommerce venture scaled with this solution and was easy for my first employee to learn fast and very easy to maintain, even security updates are now hassle free! You got a few dollars for hosting and you can install this great piece of software.

Pros

Easy, intuitive and mostly problem free (just minimise usage of external plugins).

Cons

Not scalable for professional use (we're talking millions of dollars yearly sales). To simple code that could be problematic to scale for serious businesses looking for "metrics" and ways to "show" them more effectively. Go for other software or similar if already big, but start with OpenCart if your business is currently small.