App comparison

Add up to 4 apps below to see how they compare. You can also use the "Compare" buttons while browsing.

PrestaShop Logo

PrestaShop

PrestaShop is the leading open-source ecommerce solution.

see alternatives

(35)

PrestaShop Reviews

Overall rating

4.3

/5

259

Rating criteria

  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8.36/10

Reviews by rating

Suggested alternatives

Pros and cons

Great features, great team, great support. If you need an online store, in any field, any language, and any country, PrestaShop is absolutely the best choice.
It's an easy to use program, friendly UX, responsive, it covers all the basic needs for a basic e-commerce business, great library of admins to upgrade your business.
There were over a thousand options and all are pretty good. The first time I see that any CMS has such thoughtful templates.
The worst of this is you have an ecommerce with more than 10000 references. On those particular cases the software became a little bit slow.
In the process, it turned out that some plugins conflict with each other, causing malfunctions in the site. Initial setup requires programming skills.
Very unstable when it comes to updates / everything breaks every time we update. Code is still not fully migrated to symfony.
Filter reviews by

Overall rating


Company size


Industry


Time used


259 reviews

Recommended

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Oscar R.

Publishing, 11-50 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Complete solution for e-commerce development

Reviewed 4 years ago

This has been a great solution for medium brands that process more than 100 orders per month and have some particular functionalitys of management stock with third party shared integrations

Pros

This free software is a complete CMS scalable and cusomizable solution for developing an e-commerce for a brand / client. It counts with a great historical versions and a big community that develops extra functionality like themes and modules so you can search for any solution you need. I see its data base very well structurated and normalized to have a good experience at Query's on them, Very intuitive on that aspect.

Cons

Since the basic process of e-commerce is well developed, the extra functionalitys that particular customer needs can transform into a big cost installing purchasing modules for it. You need a good capacitation for successful auto - management, and a team of developmentes to customize it and have maintancement.

NA
AvatarImg

Navid A.

Retail, self-employed

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Free e-commerce to start with most features

Reviewed 3 years ago

PrestaShop is the right tool if you have a plan to expand into e-commerce. The platform is widely use in some countries like France (started here) and Italy, many agencies offer on-line shops based on PrestaShop. It fits all basic needs and if you have some IT experience, than you can build your own shop totally free. If you are serious about e-commerce then sooner or later you will buy modules (plugins for PrestaShop) and later you need to find a php developer to adapt the site to your needs. Most shops find solutions with existing plugins that are sold on PrestaShop's site or many other portals.

Pros

You can install a shop with one click on Softaculous, now very common on shared hosting. The requirements for the hosting are basic, any hosting suitable for WordPress will work fine with PrestaShop, so 5 $/€ a month is more than enough. There is an active community in many languages, normally you get free help here for basic issues and bug reports. A template for the graphic is recommended, the site...

Cons

If you can't config your e-mail and are not interested in software, avoid trying your free e-commerce. There is little support from the headquarter, so you spend nights to understand what to do. Any site/developer can sell modules for PrestaShop, so there is no quality control.

AC
AvatarImg

Andreina C.

Program Development, 11-50 employees

Used daily for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend4/10

Share this review:

Prestashop is not as simple as they show, but is an option to start your online business

Reviewed 5 years ago
Pros

Prestashop is one of the "cheapest" options in the market to create an online shop in a short time. It has the advantage that you can choose among many predesigned templates, which are certainly very nice and allow you to show the public your products in an attractive way. You can also set up the products in an administrative panel to keep track of the number of products available, prices, you can create discount coupons and much more. It is a complete software in the sense that you can manage the business from one place.

Cons

However, the installation, uses and features of this program are not as simple as they show in advertising. If you do not have knowledge in programming or computer science, you will necessarily need the help of a professional because there are certain functions that you will not be able to carry out by yourself. For me was a headache to load the products in the store because the program it is not...

WZ
AvatarImg

Wangnin Z.

Computer Software, 11-50 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Prestashop review

Reviewed 3 months ago

Easy use software

Pros

It is a software that is focused on e-commerce, it allows you to easily realize your projects

Cons

The problem I see with this software is that some interesting plugins are not free

RD
AvatarImg

Rodrigo D.

Computer Software, 1-10 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

It feels like penguins in the North Pole

Reviewed 2 years ago

I've had several bad experiences with this software, but it is still a necessary tool for e-commerce businesses.

Pros

It is a complete software for an online store administration (catalogs, products, details, etc). It is perfect for small businesses if total control of your store is what you are looking for. Great tool for people who are in the e-commerce business.

Cons

It is quite difficult to understand, requires a lot of previous knowledge or of an expert to help you. It is vital to read all the documentation carefully.

CP
AvatarImg

Caroline P.

Information Technology and Services, 11-50 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Just the best e-commerce software. Ever. Anywhere. In the world.

Reviewed 3 years ago

We've developed over 50 e-commerce websites with Prestashop over the years, complex multi-boutiques, in different languages, in different countries using different currencies ... we're pretty happy with our overall experience with the software and the company.

Pros

We have been working with Prestashop for the past 7 years, from 1.3 to now the 1.7 version. When it was the "only" great shopping cart software it was good. Now it's outstanding. A large community supports it with a lot of plug-ins that work and help market and manage the e-shop.

Cons

Prestashop is currently going through the external plug-ins to make sure that they are compatible with eath other : which is important because we've had a couple of problems with buggy plug-ins. To be faire, they are not necessarily developed by Prestashop.

OM
AvatarImg

Omar M.

Internet, 11-50 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Great open-source Software

Reviewed 3 years ago

We are building PrestaShops since 2012 and are very satisfied with the solution. We can build nearly every special feature a user would like to have.

Pros

PrestaShop is a great open source software, which allows its users to set up and build a rich online-shop to earn money on the internet. It is easy to use in the backend, it is capable of building multi-shops for more than one country and more than one language very easily and it is easy to build your own sub sites in your online-shop with the help of certain page builder modules. It is highly customizable and there are thousands of modules to choose from to make it even better and cover issues like search engine optimization, integration with email marketing tools or payment solutions to name just a few.

Cons

One thing that should be improved is the speed of the shop.

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Zuzana S.

Retail, self-employed

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

Easy and flexible platform for your eshop

Reviewed 2 years ago

For a small e-commerce business is Prestashop a matching solution. You can run it for free or invest as much as is comfortable for you.

Pros

I use Prestashop for more than five years for my small side business eshop. It is opensource, free and easy to install and use. If you don´t have any programming skills, you can choose templates, auto backup, auto-upgrade and you will be fine, with no cost. No limits for how many customers, orders, users, no time limit, etc. Only when your business grows, you probably would want more. For example,...

Cons

Their customer service is not ideal and, if you are a beginner, you probably will struggle if any technical issue occurs. There are many freelancers and many add-ons, unfortunately, not all are reliable. In those years, I suffered through some security issues but nothing too serious.

AD
AvatarImg

Architecte D.

Internet, 11-50 employees

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

PrestaShop e-commerce software

Reviewed 3 months ago

PrestaShop one of the best e-commerce software in the world

Pros

I launched my single product store on this software and I was really convinced that it was a good e-commerce software

Cons

I have a very small problem with the site taking a long time to change at home. That's the only problem I encounter from time to time

EB
AvatarImg

Emanuele B.

Marketing and Advertising, 1-10 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Best solution to create an ecommerce if you want to build it yourself

Reviewed 4 years ago
Pros

This software is awesome for creating ecommerce. You can install the basic version and start selling in a very short time. Every operation is optimized at its best and you will spare a lot of time if you sell products with variations.

Cons

You shall pay for every little modification. There are a lot of plugins but they are not free. You cannot change the design as you may desire.

Kd
AvatarImg

Koen d.

Internet, 1-10 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Working with PrestaShop as a developer and as an e-tailor

Reviewed 3 years ago

We like working with PrestaShop, from both ways we are working with the software. So as well from a developer’s vision as from an e-tailor point of view.

Pros

As an e-tailor we like the flexibility of PrestaShop as an CMS, the large community who work with the software and the way you can make use of the software. As a developer and PrestaShop Partner we like the diversity of the product and the way we can build converting web shops for our customers.

Cons

The one thing we like the least is the assistance we get from PrestaShop themselves. Luckily the community is very active, and this solves most of our problems, but PrestaShop should have a more hands-on mentality.

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Lars F.

Internet, 201-500 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

In my opinion the best open source platform for online stores

Reviewed 5 years ago
Pros

Easy to configure, easy to update ( one click update ), easy to install new modules and themes and builders. One of the most versatile platforms for physical and virtual goods. I have custom made for customers shops with upwards of 1 million products, imported from dropshipping suppliers. It is very easy to manage, tons of free and premium modules and upgrades. A solid infrastructure to rely on and different profiles with permission for employs. Very Reliable for large amounts of traffic.

Cons

Not that great for backups. Modules and themes don't work from 1.5 to 1.6 to 1.7, have to reorder or to download new version ( incompatible by design of the code ). Big community but not that active. Translations needs an upgrade, being made by contributions from authors.

SS
AvatarImg

Sanoussy S.

Telecommunications, 201-500 employees

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Prestashop review

Reviewed 3 months ago

One must fully understand the needs of a project before choosing a platform, as it allows an online store with full control.

Pros

Prestashop is very easy to use, as it suits us for creating a commerce site that I missed some integration with but provider.

Cons

From the application the basic functionalities are free, because the interesting plugins are generally paid.

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Daniel S.

Internet, 11-50 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

One of the best CMS for shopping

Reviewed 5 years ago
Pros

Prestashop is one of the leading platforms for ecommerce, we use it extensively on building custom made shops, but you can really just install it and upload a couple of products and you are done, have a brand new online shop. It's very ease to use for beginners and advanced users alike. It has top knotch addons and modules to be install, free and paid. The dashboard is amazingly simple and you can find all the tools you just by browsing over the top categories.

Cons

It can be difficult to upgrade major versions, as you have to custom rebuild all your code and modules.

SR
AvatarImg

Sergio R.

Consumer Goods, 1-10 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Best E-commerce Solution

Reviewed 6 years ago

I have been using it for about 5 years. So far, I cannot imagine my business without it. It has most of the functionalities you may need and there are a lot of third-party modules providers that will help you with special and specific features you may need.

Pros

You will find most of the features you may need. Multiple languages. Multiple currencies.

Cons

Not able to modify some things, however you will be able to find third-party modules. I did not have the best experience with customer support so maybe you will have to know about it, use the community support or have someone specialized in it.

AL
AvatarImg

Aleksandr L.

Education Management, 11-50 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

A good option to create an online store

Reviewed 4 years ago
Pros

I have been using PrestaShop for many years now and I don’t think to switch to another service. I like the fact that in this CMS it is convenient to work with clients. Using email, I quickly notify clients of new promotions, and the ability to synchronize with popular social networks helps to work with clients outside the site.

Cons

The engine consumes a lot of resources, which is why the server is slow. Since I used other CMS, I can say that the problem is not in the server. PrestaShop is most likely poorly optimized.

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Gabriel G.

11-50 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Great software to use for your online store

Reviewed 5 years ago
Pros

It is one of the most undervalued softwares in the online space. You can really build your store in just a couple of minutes, with tons of modules and themes also from third parties you can have any type of store, either physical or virtual goods. With over 1 million websites constructed with this platform is a great asset to build with.

Cons

The difference from major versions is amazing, you have to carefully upgrade on a test website, to not ruin your website. It is best done by a professional

NC
AvatarImg

Natalia C.

Human Resources, 51-200 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Good functionality, but low stability

Reviewed 4 years ago
Pros

We used this CMS for exactly 3 years. On the advice of our programmers, the team switched to it from Magenta. Of the advantages, I can point out a cheap tariff, a broader functionality than our previous CMS and the absence of transaction fees.

Cons

CMS is unstable, a lot of mistakes. Plugins that we acquire for an extra charge conflict with each other. For example, if you install a plug-in for currency conversion along with synchronization via e-mail, none of them will work.

AR
AvatarImg

Verified reviewer

11-50 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Great Open-Source Product

Reviewed 5 years ago
Pros

We are using Prestashop for creating the most of our E-commerce products. Open-Source Platform and existing market with plugins - are the main advantages to use Prestashop for small-middle sized projects.

Cons

After updating the version of Prestashop, some of the plugins have to be recorded because the system is alerting us that there are some errors in platform update. In case you have a lot of project on Prestashop at the same time, it consumes quite a lot of time.

Md
AvatarImg

María del Carmen P.

Marketing and Advertising, 51-200 employees

Used daily for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

The best CMS to work with

Reviewed 4 months ago
Pros

To me, it is the best CMS to work with if you have an ecommerce. You can manage the feed of products you want to offer on you website, manage the orders and sales, cart abandoners, develop email marketing strategies, select different payment methods and transport methods, connect the tool with others that are useful to analyse data (such us GA4). Moreover, you can analyse al the results you achieve in a selected period, thansk to the statistics option.

Cons

Some times, the CMS may seen difficult to use as it has a lot of different functionalities. Also, the cost of the tool and the modules you need to develop a good CMS to you ecommerce.

MZ
AvatarImg

Mehrshad Z.

Computer Software, 1-10 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

PrestaShop, a solution for everyone

Reviewed 3 years ago

More than 5000 merchants are using PrestaShop in Iran. It is helping them to grow their business and earn money in current econimic situation. I suggest it to everyone.

Pros

Great features, great team, great support. If you need an online store, in any field, any language, and any country, PrestaShop is absolutely the best choice!

Cons

With great development team, you won't find any cons :)

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Roberto I.

Retail, 11-50 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Has nice free templates and it is a good alternative for an ecommerce

Reviewed 3 years ago

For getting introduced on an e-commerce platform, Prestashop has what it takes.

Pros

It is easy to use, has nice looking templates and has plenty of different industry applications for almost all ecommerces. It is cheap.

Cons

It lack of integration options compared with other options. It doesnt have a lot of plug ins regarding data analitycs.

AR
AvatarImg

Verified reviewer

Pharmaceuticals, 10,001+ employees

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

I was able to set it up myself - with no IT knowledge

Reviewed 4 years ago
Pros

Great functionality and simple to use design. It is possible to set it up with no special IT skills, just some general experience with tools like Wordpress etc. There is a variety of add-ons and widgets which make it highly flexible. You can find anything you need either for free or for cheap money. No need for expensive developers for tailored solutions.

Cons

The templates are pricey when comparing to other tools. There is a lot of work when adding new products - some of the fields are required while they should not be. For example for online products it is quite complex to set it up as my needs were much simpler than what was required. And I could not change the settings easily to require less information from customer etc.

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Giorgi G.

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

One of the best user-friendly free shopping cart software

Reviewed 6 years ago

I've started using the PrestaShop around 2 years ago and I'm still into this system. The experience with the system I got during all this time and throughout my several projects is enough to write ah honest review about the system. Starting with the advantages, the biggest advantage of the PrestaShop is its huge support community which is the best ever help a developer can dream of. Discussion...

Pros

No pros were added to this review

Cons

No cons were added to this review

mc
AvatarImg

massimo c.

Cosmetics, 11-50 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Ottimo sia per il B2b che per il B2c

Reviewed a month ago

Sia per la versione b2c che b2b è incredibile il rapporto qualità/prezzo, la facilità di utilizzo.Andrebbe migliorata la gestione degli aggiornamenti e il collegamento con prodotti di terze parti.

Pros

Facile da installare e da configurare.La versione b2c dispone di migliaia di moduli per tutte le esigenze.La versione b2b sta rapidamente crescendo, anche se molte funzionalità vengono rese disponibili con moduli di terze parte.Penso che il futuro di Prestashop sia legato anche al b2b, visto i vari problemi di stabilità e sicurezza che hanno altri software open source dedicati agli ecommerce.

Cons

L'aggiornamento di prestashop alle nuove versioni non è sempre facile e a volte non tutto va sempre liscio.Il problema maggiore è che con gli aggiornamenti molti temi smettono di funzionare, sarebbe interessante integrare un sistema di check per controllare che il tema sia supportato dalla nuova versione di prestashop che si va ad installare.

Showing original review in Italian. See translation