App comparison

Add up to 4 apps below to see how they compare. You can also use the "Compare" buttons while browsing.

PrestaShop Logo

PrestaShop

PrestaShop is the leading open-source ecommerce solution.

(48)

PrestaShop Reviews

Overall rating

4.3

/5

312

Rating criteria

  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8.31/10

Reviews by rating

Pros and cons

Great features, great team, great support. If you need an online store, in any field, any language, and any country, PrestaShop is absolutely the best choice.
It's an easy to use program, friendly UX, responsive, it covers all the basic needs for a basic e-commerce business, great library of admins to upgrade your business.
There were over a thousand options and all are pretty good. The first time I see that any CMS has such thoughtful templates.
The worst of this is you have an ecommerce with more than 10000 references. On those particular cases the software became a little bit slow.
In the process, it turned out that some plugins conflict with each other, causing malfunctions in the site. Initial setup requires programming skills.
Very unstable when it comes to updates / everything breaks every time we update. Code is still not fully migrated to symfony.
Filter reviews by

Overall rating


Company size


Industry


Time used


312 reviews

Recommended

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Jorge G.

Senior developer

Information Technology and Services, 11-50 employees

Review source

Overall Rating

A great tool for web design

Reviewed 4 months ago

Transcript

Jorge G.: Hi, I'm Jorge. I'm website developer, and I give a PrestaShop a five of five. Before I use...

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Ali K.

Information Technology and Services, 1-10 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Simple and Pretty DIY eCommerce website builder for anyone

Reviewed 3 years ago

I have been working with Prestashop for many years. It is very simple and fluent and you can ask any problem or question you have in its forums or search for the answer in it.

Pros

There are many modules and templates ready by different developers for this software. You can also easily design a new module yourself or implement your own template. The PrestaShop Management Dashboard is so stylish and simple that you can easily learn to work with it. Adding products and changing specifications to the product is very simple and easy.

Cons

A mobile and tablet application for Android and Apple requires that managers can easily use it

CM
AvatarImg

Caleb M.

Information Technology and Services, self-employed

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Excellent Ecommerce Software

Reviewed 3 years ago

Overall besides upgrade issues, this is still the best ecommerce building site. It works globally and offers you everything you need from the default package.

Pros

Lots of plugin and template options. You can literally add anything to Prestashop and create your own unique ecommerce site.

Cons

Has quite a lot of upgrades and versions, which at times can change your whole site and even make some of your plugins not work as it did before.

AC
AvatarImg

Andreina C.

Program Development, 11-50 employees

Used daily for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend4/10

Share this review:

Prestashop is not as simple as they show, but is an option to start your online business

Reviewed 6 years ago
Pros

Prestashop is one of the "cheapest" options in the market to create an online shop in a short time. It has the advantage that you can choose among many predesigned templates, which are certainly very nice and allow you to show the public your products in an attractive way. You can also set up the products in an administrative panel to keep track of the number of products available, prices, you can create discount coupons and much more. It is a complete software in the sense that you can manage the business from one place.

Cons

However, the installation, uses and features of this program are not as simple as they show in advertising. If you do not have knowledge in programming or computer science, you will necessarily need the help of a professional because there are certain functions that you will not be able to carry out by yourself. For me was a headache to load the products in the store because the program it is not...

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Rafa¿ M.

Management Consulting, self-employed

Used weekly for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend6/10

Share this review:

still good but woocommerce is far ahead

Reviewed a year ago

It is good when you start your online bussines. A lot of free and paid templates makes easy to choose preferred design. Almost every payment gateway in the world has a dedicated gateway for PS so you may start your online store in few minutes. But when your shop will rise - it is hard to scale. Especially if you want to integrate it with some external apps (like 3d shopping) - you may hit the wall here. Communication between plugins may slow down your store so it wont be rocket-fast anymore.

Pros

+ easy to install (but not so easy to modify if you dont know how Smarty templates works)+ quick without any enhancements (it is solution just for one purpose - shopping)+ a lot of plugins (free and paid)+ community support is ok (forums, fb groups)+ a lot of payment gateways integrations (paid and free)

Cons

- just community support - in most cases, if you use many plugins and something goes wrong, every plugin developer says it is not his plugin fault but some other plugin conflict)- TCO for prestashop is not so small as you may thing, especially if you compare prices for Shopify or similar paid platforms where hosting, updates, security and functionalities are included in monthly price- some plugins are written badly so it is hard to find bugs or debug them- closed plugins (via ionCube) mostly without any custom_functions hook to extend functionality- lack of well developed themes (not only by graphics, but mostly SEO/UX/performance optimizations are missing)

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Muhammad Adil M.

Information Technology and Services, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

PrestaShop

Reviewed 3 years ago

A good choice open source website development platform for developing of PHP based sites. Support for MySql is superb and very easy interface to configure and manage.

Pros

Super easy to install with no glitches. Customisation is easy and lots of options for payment s, international shipping and secure payment. SEO option is helpful and email automation is configurable easily.

Cons

If you want to add any module that is very expensive. Design is not that professional and there are issues in scalability.

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Mariusz S.

Retail, 51-200 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

Best ecommerce for small company

Reviewed 4 years ago

More stable.

Pros

- advanced ecommerce software - good SEO template - best UX on backend - API - low cost of development

Cons

- module in PrestaShop addons is very low quality - no integration with professional solutions (eg. PimCore) - no great SEO addons

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Serhat C.

Banking, 10,001+ employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Everything Considered

Reviewed 8 months ago
Pros

It is easy to integrate with payment providers, all modules are configurable and I can configure them according to my country. In some special cases, such as shopping with gift points, I can easily manipulate the code. Themes and language options are quite a lot. I can also get templates from paid template sites.

Cons

I haven't come across a feature that I don't like. I can do anything I want.

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Romain O.

Marketing and Advertising, 1-10 employees

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Excellent platform

Reviewed 2 years ago
Pros

prestashop is a simple and very complete platform for all people who want to create their online store

Cons

For me I don't find negative reviews on prestashop to say for the moment

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Emily J.

Marketing and Advertising, 5,001-10,000 employees

Used weekly for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

A Platform with Integrated Powerful E-Commerce Tools

Reviewed 3 years ago

One of the main benefits of Prestashop is that it is totally free to use. You can get its free design theme right after installing it with a lot of satisfying features. You can add your products easily in it and manage tour store online with many helpful management features of it and achieve your goals. One of the main responsibility of its reporting and analytics features is tracking visitors so that you will be able to know that who are your customers and where they are coming from and what are they buying from your store.

Pros

It is used by more than 1lac businesses all over the world as it is an e-commerce platform. It is supported by more than 41 languages. It is having helpful administrative interface through which most of the complex inventories are easily manageable. A large number of options are available in it for customers to view their chosen products in the shopping cart. A lot of payment systems are also supported in it like Google Checkout, Skrill, PayPal and a lot more.

Cons

Besides various benefits, it is having a lot of limitations in it such as it is not as much scalable like other platforms that it will not be beneficial for large stores but it is a lot more beneficial and helpful for those businesses that are small or starting their new businesses.

LH
AvatarImg

Luis Hernan V.

Electrical/Electronic Manufacturing, 51-200 employees

Used weekly for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Ideal for companies of any size that want to venture into ecommerce

Reviewed 8 months ago

I started using Prestashop as a Joomla or Wordpress plugin and it was a turning point in starting my ecommerce business. It helped me boost my sales and grow my business.

Pros

Prestashop is easy to use, it does not require great knowledge to install. You can start with free templates and as a basic user you have great options.For users with more knowledge in Web development, it is a good starting point to avoid starting from 0.It can be customized a lot and the functions it provides are one of the most complete.

Cons

The free templates are identical for the most part.

MC
AvatarImg

Matthieu C.

Marketing and Advertising, 1-10 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

PS review

Reviewed 4 years ago
Pros

- ease of use - the core is open source - BO is clean - it's easy to develop modules - supports a lot of products without any performance issue - supports many languages by default

Cons

- very unstable when it comes to updates / everything breaks every time we update - code is still not fully migrated to symfony - localisation : it's very difficult to found a string when we don't know where it is (theme? core? module, which one?) - modules are not open source / we can't even test them before buying... - lacks a lot of functionalities in the core for an e-shop (stock management is a joke, no whishlist nor comparator, real cart reminder...) - it's almost impossible to deal with discounts because the system doesn't work sometimes, and/or is unstable, and also lacks basic functionalities (buy 1 get 1, but if we buy 2 we still have only 1...) - bought modules don't update automatically, even when the account with addons is linked - no "starter" theme anymore : why ? -

FP
AvatarImg

Fabian P.

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

The best online shop platform I ever used

Reviewed 6 years ago
Pros

If you want a professional store setup you need to take a look at prestashop. Don't be scared by the rugged design, you can change it by buying a premium template builder, and build your store without the need for any code. The simpleness of the platform and easy updating, one click upgrade make it the best free software for most businesses. If you plan on having thousand and thousand of products you are in need of some key modules,but they are easily available and not that expensive. Is it a no brainer for any business man that in order to get the same quality from some other platform you should invest thousands of dollars in it.

Cons

You have to understand what you are doing, maybe whach a few tutorials, and setup your security properly, also keep in mind that are some tweaks for fast caching and the importance of using a CDN.

SF
AvatarImg

Scott F.

Computer Software, 1-10 employees

Used weekly for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

Decent Online Store Option, But Has Drawbacks

Reviewed 5 years ago

I've got a ton of experience with running and configuring Magento, but I wanted to try PrestaShop simply to use something different on my own business storefront to expand my own knowledge, not to mention that Magento needs more power than PrestaShop. Although PS is easy enough to setup and get running, it lacks a few features which I would consider "standard" by today's terms, not to mention that there is also a serious lack of free/opens source plug-ins available for it like Magento has, which includes things like themes. Overall, the store does its job and works well once all the modules are in place, but In the grand scheme, I would consider PrestaShop as a stepping stone to something bigger and better like Magento or more.

Pros

Prestashop is for the large part, free to use, and pretty easy to setup and maintain. Most website hosting companies have a single-click installer for it, making getting started easy. Creating categories, products and advanced products is all very easy with very nice menus and layouts, and the default theme is surprisingly useful. Prestashop also comes with many of today's standard features built-in.

Cons

The cost of the add-on modules for PrestaShop is ridiculous, and so is the platform's reliance on those modules. There is no way to do anything except free or basic flat-rate shipping unless you spend considerable monies on buying realtime rates modules for EACH shipper, or subscribing to a third-party app that combines and does the checking in a single package, which is costly. Accessing anything except the software's basic features can be incredibly clumsy as well.

AR
AvatarImg

Verified reviewer

Accounting, 11-50 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Prestashop your simple open source ecommerce software

Reviewed 4 years ago

We have worked with Prestashop for clients. It is quite simple to get up and running but the running costs escalate as the project gets bigger. Hosting is a big requirement and you will need plugins for integration as integration can sometimes be a problem when you need to integrate with other software.

Pros

Prestashop is free opensource software and a great platform to start off your website. With minimal knowledge you can be up and running. It is not heavily reliant on plugins so you can get your website going without having to purchase plugins. The admin panel is also very user friendly and our clients love it.

Cons

Prestashop is not a small platform. You need a lot of hosting space. Talk to an experienced hosting provider to make sure you have the correct hosting package.

SS
AvatarImg

Sanoussy S.

Telecommunications, 201-500 employees

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Prestashop review

Reviewed a year ago

One must fully understand the needs of a project before choosing a platform, as it allows an online store with full control.

Pros

Prestashop is very easy to use, as it suits us for creating a commerce site that I missed some integration with but provider.

Cons

From the application the basic functionalities are free, because the interesting plugins are generally paid.

RW
AvatarImg

Rendy W.

Apparel & Fashion, 1-10 employees

Used daily for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend4/10

Share this review:

Need coding skill to use the platform

Reviewed 4 years ago
Pros

If you are a programmer and want to make an e-commerce website not from scratch, this platform is recommended, because of the free of use and already have all system for e-commerce platform. there're plenty add on for shipping and others from add on provider

Cons

The platform is not easy to use, need some coding skill to make it work. always need to update the version to make sure the security system up to date. I've used the previous version and my website got hacked

AR
AvatarImg

Verified reviewer

Civil Engineering, 11-50 employees

Used weekly for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

One of the easiest ecommerce platforms to use

Reviewed 2 years ago

It took about a week to get everything set up and tweaked to a point where I felt I could go "live." I don't think the typical user will breeze through startup without a few puzzling hours working out various intricacies, but getting a stable, functional online selling platform is, overall, pretty easy.

Pros

I think the best thing about PrestaShop is the ease of installation and guided initial setup. If you have basic CMS backend experience, you'll find setting up your store fairly easy. While they generally have a cost related to them, there are plugins available for virtually any functionality you might desire. You can set up a basic online store pretty quickly and then add functionality as you earn.

Cons

PrestaShop integrations with online selling outlets can be a bit tricky and unreliable in my experience. Upgrades with the program are not always synced with the platform that you have integrated and you can find random unexpected results when that happens.

MK
AvatarImg

Moussa K.

Internet, 11-50 employees

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

PrestaShop e-commerce

Reviewed a year ago

PrestaShop is a good e-marketing tool

Pros

PrestaShop is a perfect software to create an e-shop anywhere in the world

Cons

Actually PrestaShop is perfect, no problem for me

SR
AvatarImg

Sergio R.

Consumer Goods, 1-10 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Best E-commerce Solution

Reviewed 7 years ago

I have been using it for about 5 years. So far, I cannot imagine my business without it. It has most of the functionalities you may need and there are a lot of third-party modules providers that will help you with special and specific features you may need.

Pros

You will find most of the features you may need. Multiple languages. Multiple currencies.

Cons

Not able to modify some things, however you will be able to find third-party modules. I did not have the best experience with customer support so maybe you will have to know about it, use the community support or have someone specialized in it.

FP
AvatarImg

Florin P.

Construction, 11-50 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

The easiest way to having a professional ecommerce business

Reviewed 6 years ago

The best looking online store for our business, with tons of complete house building materials and info.

Pros

The ease of use in everyday situations, the stability through upgrades and the easy of customizations for the front end are top notch. Also the ease to integrate a tone of great themes and modules. The large following it has on forums and discussion boards.

Cons

The seo factor of the website is not that great. I do think that it can be upgraded, in fact I frequently use one or two after market modules to make it seo friendly.

AR
AvatarImg

Verified reviewer

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

It has multiple options to develop a purchase and sale portal, with good design and good security...

Reviewed 6 years ago

I have had effective sales from the web portal, instant payments in addition to good security ... I recommend this system for buying and selling projects

Pros

It has a variety of options to make sales with the client in addition to providing payment options and shipping, I think is one of the most complete systems for this type of purchase and sale pages

Cons

It is a bit difficult to use at first and it is somewhat heavy on some servers which affects the speed of the web portal, I recommend using a good hosting provider

JC
AvatarImg

Johann C.

Information Technology and Services, 1-10 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Point of view from a web host

Reviewed 3 years ago
Pros

Hi, We host many clients using prestashop over the years (https://www.yoorshop.hosting/), and we must admit that prestashop is as good as promises. It is fast natively if you use an optimized theme, and latest PHP 7 versions. Combined with our NVMe SSD, users confirmed that speed is really higher in back office.

Cons

Sometimes, upgrades are failing and require a webmaster

Md
AvatarImg

María del Carmen P.

Marketing and Advertising, 51-200 employees

Used daily for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

The best CMS to work with

Reviewed a year ago
Pros

To me, it is the best CMS to work with if you have an ecommerce. You can manage the feed of products you want to offer on you website, manage the orders and sales, cart abandoners, develop email marketing strategies, select different payment methods and transport methods, connect the tool with others that are useful to analyse data (such us GA4). Moreover, you can analyse al the results you achieve in a selected period, thansk to the statistics option.

Cons

Some times, the CMS may seen difficult to use as it has a lot of different functionalities. Also, the cost of the tool and the modules you need to develop a good CMS to you ecommerce.

TA
AvatarImg

Taoufiq A.

Information Services, 1-10 employees

Used weekly for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

good ecommerce solution to build websites

Reviewed 2 years ago
Pros

i used this script to build lot of websites, easy to use comparing to other exist solutions

Cons

not yet ready for composer install modules and integration for package managements

MZ
AvatarImg

Mehrshad Z.

Computer Software, 1-10 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

PrestaShop, a solution for everyone

Reviewed 4 years ago

More than 5000 merchants are using PrestaShop in Iran. It is helping them to grow their business and earn money in current econimic situation. I suggest it to everyone.

Pros

Great features, great team, great support. If you need an online store, in any field, any language, and any country, PrestaShop is absolutely the best choice!

Cons

With great development team, you won't find any cons :)