App comparison

Add up to 4 apps below to see how they compare. You can also use the "Compare" buttons while browsing.

Alteryx Designer Logo

Alteryx Designer

Empowering people to turn data into breakthroughs

see alternatives

(8)

Alteryx Designer Reviews

User ratings

Overall rating

4.8

/5

87
100%
positive reviews
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9.04/10

See full reviews by rating

Pros and cons

The online portal is excellent as well; there's a whole community ready and willing to assist and help you get better at using Alteryx. Very impressive software.
Great assistance from Altyrex - committed resources at no cost to help implement, train etc. A lot of willingness to help us 'prove' the business case - i.e. make a success of the pilot project.
No coding experience necessary, seamless integration with Tableau and SQL, great workflow icons and capabilities, great automation.
The only small complaint I have is that some of the error messages themselves are cryptic and convoluted.
Occasionally, Alteryx will stop processing a workflow because of a minor error. Frequently, that minor error has a handful of different solutions, forcing you to try each solution one by one.
Previously I had to restart the Alteryx service on my machine at least once a week, which meant my workflows weren't running while the service had been stuck and data wasn't moving.
Filter reviews by

Overall rating


Company size


Industry


Time used


87 reviews

Recommended

AR
AvatarImg

Anonymous Reviewer

Verified reviewer

Consumer Services, 10,001+ employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Alteryx Designer

Reviewed 4 years ago

Alteryx is one of the fastest & easiest softwares to use for data processing, data modeling, and data visualization.

Pros

Ease of use & speed of use. Very user friendly and intuitive. Processes massive amounts of data very quickly, even on a desktop/laptop.

Cons

With the frequent releases, there seems to be more (minor) bugs than in the past when releases weren't so frequent.

YP
AvatarImg

Yazir P.

Retail, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Powerful and simple

Reviewed 4 years ago

This is a great data handling software. Half the company runs on this.

Pros

There is basically a module for doing everything Connectivity in both inputs and outputs is simply superb

Cons

Output to PDF to export reports might need better capabilities Documentation of less used features might be insufficient compared to most commonly used features

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Jaehoon L.

Hospital & Health Care, 5,001-10,000 employees

Used weekly for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

A good tool for automating complicated analytics pipelines

Reviewed 4 years ago

Alteryx is a good tool and well fits in our need of clinical data management and analytics pipeline optimization. There are rooms for improvement in terms of stability in desktop application.

Pros

Alteryx is a great tool when need of integrating multiple or complicated analytics pipelines in one place and manage them in a systematics manner. It provides a variety of data connections to common relational database product and web resources. It also provides plugins to add other product such as Tableau, etc.

Cons

The desktop application used to crash (not responding) in case of loading large sized data. It also gets very slow when moving or drag-dropping objects in the authoring environment.

LZ
AvatarImg

Lu Z.

Accounting, 10,001+ employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

This software is easy to learn and efficient for data wrangling

Reviewed 3 years ago

Overall experience is good. Even can build app and help with data automation.

Pros

It is easy to learn and efficient to do data preparation. Can deal with big volume of data that Excel cannot.

Cons

More machine learning and prediction tools can be developed and make them user friendly to non data science people.

AR
AvatarImg

Anonymous Reviewer

Verified reviewer

Banking, 10,001+ employees

Used daily for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Simplify Data Manipulation with the Press of a Button

Reviewed 3 years ago
Pros

It has a simple to use drag and drop interface.

Cons

There is so much functionality, it is difficult to know everything.

AR
AvatarImg

Anonymous Reviewer

Verified reviewer

Management Consulting, 1-10 employees

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Game changer.

Reviewed 4 years ago

Postive 100%

Pros

This application has no limits as it relates to everything data. With Alteryx, I have been able to automate my data cleansing / loading activites within hours and now runs within SECONDS daily. Truly remarkable product, and quite frankly scares me at times how well it works.

Cons

Price for the premium packages. However, the price points are accurate and justified based on what the application can do.

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

adel g.

Financial Services, 11-50 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Amazing self service analytics tool

Reviewed 3 years ago

Amazing tool for crunching big amount of data. Very easy to learn and very powerful when you take the time to dig deap. The community is also great.

Pros

Friendly graphic interface. The drag and drop workflows are fun to create

Cons

The tool is a bit pricy. However it is worth the spending when you need it

DS
AvatarImg

Drew S.

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Great analytics and overall tool

Reviewed 5 years ago
Pros

The ease of use is great. We can teach people how to data analyst very quickly. The functions they continue to add have been great.

Cons

We have issues at times with it hanging or shutting down but customer support is quick to respond and resolve issues.

AC
AvatarImg

Adam C.

Insurance, 11-50 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Alteryx is a great self selfservice ETL tool for non-coders

Reviewed 5 years ago

great customer service

Pros

no coding experience necessary, seamless integration with Tableau and SQL, great workflow icons and capabilities, great automation

Cons

pricing, but they are flexible, could make a cloud product that is easier to scale out to more people

RK
AvatarImg

Robin K.

Information Technology and Services, 51-200 employees

Used weekly for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Makes data prep and predictive analysis a breeze

Reviewed 6 years ago

We used to spend a lot of time in Excel and SQL queries trying to get the data right for reporting, plus if there was anything more complex involved such as forecasting or predictive model building to do, we'd have to find an R expert which really slows the process down. Alteryx changed all that and building workflows that preps the data and spits out a clean dataset or report complete with forecasts etc. can all be done without coding and in a visual way that anyone can understand and see what's been done and where leading to the greater confidence the data is right.

Pros

Easy to use interface, extremely flexible for data analysis tasks, self-documenting, very fast on large data sets

Cons

Automating workflow is an additional cost

AR
AvatarImg

Anonymous Reviewer

Verified reviewer

Veterinary, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

My favorite data science tool

Reviewed 4 years ago
Pros

I would argue that this is the number one product for data science. I have change my entire analytics department for the better with using alteryx.

Cons

No major complaints on this software, my team loves it!

AR
AvatarImg

Anonymous Reviewer

Verified reviewer

Financial Services, 10,001+ employees

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Pretty good data analytics software

Reviewed 4 years ago

Business problems like considation, analytics, dashboard and reporting can be made very convenient

Pros

Easy to use You can see data as it passes through each tool. Seamless integration with excel, database other sources Good reporting options

Cons

Lack of customer service Not able to read excel files with macro enables format correctly

AR
AvatarImg

Anonymous Reviewer

Verified reviewer

Hospital & Health Care, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used daily for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Great cleaning tool.

Reviewed 3 years ago

Alteryx has overall been a very useful tool for data analysis and manipulation. It helps clean data, and make things easier to read for once you get to the visualization stage of the data analysis process.

Pros

I like being able to quickly manipulate data and create new rows and columns with ease, making the data easier to read as well as adding new factors into data sets.

Cons

I dislike how it can be at time cumbersome when one creates complex workflows that take over an hour to load just once.

JS
AvatarImg

Jenifer S.

Marketing and Advertising,

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Alteryx is the most frequently used software at my office.

Reviewed 8 years ago
Pros

The inputs are easy to use, the tools are easily understood and well described in the help files and they easily connect with one another. Writing neat output files is made easy regardless of file type. The ability to use R within the module has made a lot of analyses much easier.

Cons

The transition to newer versions of Alteryx is much too complicated when you have to skip a few of the in-between versions, which my company often does.

RG
AvatarImg

ROMARIO G.

Retail, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used weekly for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

An extraordinarily ETL tool

Reviewed 3 years ago

In conclusion, Alteryx is a great solution for all the data wrangling and joins activities. It has helped my team to create data models faster and easier. I have not used the analysis and ML capabilities that it offers, but for my use case, I find it very helpful.

Pros

Alteryx offers great capabilities for data prep, blending and processing intuitively. It's possible to connect to a wide variety of data sources. Also, It offers visual and table data to help you visualize the results and profile the data you're using. Furthermore, flows are very easy to understand what's going on and are exportable to formats such as direct SQL queries.

Cons

There's a learning curve to understand all the components that Alteryx offers. However, there's great documentation out there to learn.

DK
AvatarImg

Dinesh Kumar B.

Accounting, 501-1,000 employees

Used weekly for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Great tool for Process Automating

Reviewed 4 years ago

Amazing tool for process automation and integration

Pros

Easy drag and drop interface for creating workflows. Easy to debug (easy to track and monitor the workflows while it is running) Can Integrate "R" code with Alteryx Alteryx provides variety of features for text data cleaning (including fuzzy matching, regular expressions and table joins) Without much coding alteryx provides machine learning for predictive analytics (drag and drop features)

Cons

At times Alteryx is slow in responding Expensive tool Not good for data visualization Very few training videos

RM
AvatarImg

Ravi M.

Information Technology and Services, 51-200 employees

Used weekly for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Easy to use, beautiful interface, documentation in a cinch

Reviewed 5 years ago

So much time saved Easy to share documentation without worrying about syntax, coding and verfication Trainable to a layman analyst

Pros

Drag and drop interface, the ability to manipulate my data at any point and expand my analytics through spatial and predictive.

Cons

The Server solution could be better developed to be ready to integrate with other enterprise wide features (for example, managing users, databases, schedules)

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Lincoln S.

Verified reviewer

Retail, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Alteryx simplifies and Enhances Data Preparation

Reviewed 4 years ago

I've loved working with Alteryx. After just 4 months of using the software, I have managed to automate over 20 daily or weekly processes that used to take all my time. I now have more time to create meaningful reports that can help management make the decisions that will keep our company moving forward.

Pros

Alteryx allows you to walk through your data preparation step by step to ensure that everything is following the exact process of orders that you want.

Cons

Occasionally, Alteryx will stop processing a workflow because of a minor error. Frequently, that minor error has a handful of different solutions, forcing you to try each solution one by one. After some experience you learn what things to look for, but when just starting out, it's a nuisance.

VB
AvatarImg

Vishal B.

Verified reviewer

Management Consulting, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

One tool for most of your data management and preparation needs

Reviewed 5 years ago
Pros

I have been using Alteryx for past few months and it has made my life so easy when it comes to handling multiple files. You can combine multiple excel files, CSVs, any other files, 100s of MBs in size, and within minutes it carries out the entire ETL process. 1. Ease of use - simple drag and drop 2. Input and outputs - multiple file formats are supported 3. Very easily handle GBs of data

Cons

1. A few visualization capabilities can be added to make it more comprehensive tool 2. You have to run the entire workflow again, even if you have made a slight change - having the functionality to run just a piece or small part of the entire workflow will save much more time

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Monel K.

Verified reviewer

Oil & Energy, 10,001+ employees

Used daily for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Automating Workflows

Reviewed 4 years ago

Helps to increase efficiency and saves money for the company.

Pros

Very useful to automate manual workflows with repetitive tasks. Python Integration helps to ease out the process. Saves a lot of cost. Integration with other servers and applications is top notch.

Cons

Costly license limits the use. Requires training for getting used to it.

SV
AvatarImg

Spencer V.

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Saves me hours a week and allows me to think critically more often!

Reviewed 8 years ago
Pros

I love how diverse the product is. I can do a simple data pull to a demographic report to doing regression analysis for a complex model.

Cons

The only small complaint I have is that some of the error messages themselves are cryptic and convoluted.

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Jesse M.

Verified reviewer

Management Consulting, 51-200 employees

Used weekly for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

The future of ETL is here. No coding needed

Reviewed 4 years ago

The possibilities are endless and the future is bright

Pros

The ease of use to prep, blend, transform, wrangle, etc is awesome. The learning curve is not that challenging. This is the future of development. There are a lot of connectors inherently built in.

Cons

Some of the connectors can be finicky. Support can be a little slow to respond

AR
AvatarImg

Anonymous Reviewer

Verified reviewer

Management Consulting, 10,001+ employees

Used weekly for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Simple and easy to use data prep, data processing and ETL tool with intuitive drag and drop visuals

Reviewed 4 years ago
Pros

- Great for data prep and processing. Very light weight ETL tool. - Ability to enhance the data by applying statistical models, available public data, etc. - UI interface is very intuitive with drag and drop components

Cons

- Hard to scale (Best use case is for individual projects) - Expensive to use, high license cost

AR
AvatarImg

Anonymous Reviewer

Verified reviewer

Retail, 201-500 employees

Used other for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend6/10

Share this review:

Alteryx

Reviewed 4 years ago

I like Alteryx as a data mulipulation tool but it's also very diffult to learn.

Pros

With Alteryx, you're creating a workflow to alter the data, rather than altering the data directly. Because you're creating the workflow, each of the steps are easily auditable and you can swap out the source files when it changes. This is a huge bonus and time saver as data will tend to change.

Cons

Alteryx has a huge learning curve. It's hard to get started without some sort of live tutorial from someone that has been using it for a long time.

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Luke S.

Verified reviewer

Commercial Real Estate, 10,001+ employees

Used monthly for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

The data software that can do anything

Reviewed 9 months ago

Really powerful and robust software. I'm sure it has competitors or peers, but I'm not familiar with them. I've found a host of benefits from using Alteryx to automate repetitive, time-intensive tasks that would typically be done in Excel, as well as analysis that Excel was never built to handle

Pros

Alteryx is incredibly powerful. I used it on a daily basis for 3~ years, and I still only scratched the surface of its total functionality. Its GUI is beyond easy to use because it's so intuitive. Alteryx is a great solution for handling the tasks Excel was never built for.

Cons

Contacting customer support is hard; the software's very expensive, but you have to pay extra to talk to someone on the phone.