Alteryx Reviews

Alteryx

Self-service data analytics platform for business analysts

Alteryx

Review Summary

Pros

Overall, am a happy user, ALteryx saved time and effort on daily basis and opened many horizons for me to clean he data in a timely manner.

Atheer A.

I am very visual and enjoy knowing what I am doing by simply looking at the icons. This software can be as technical and as user friendly as you make it.

Cristy L.

It is very easy to use, and easy to learn on your own. They also have great customer support, and training videos.

Anonymous Reviewer

Cons

Occasionally, Alteryx will stop processing a workflow because of a minor error. Frequently, that minor error has a handful of different solutions, forcing you to try each solution one by one.

Lincoln S.

License is very costly which hinders the use of it by everyone.

Joe B.

Lack of (or limited) visualisation capability. Machine dependent licensed(it should had license key Linked to email ID, making it easier to port licensed from one system to another).

Vikesh B.

Overall rating

4.7

(67)

5

4

3

2

1

51

16

0

0

0

100%
positive reviews
100%
would recommend this app

Filter reviews by


Overall rating


Company size


Industry


Time used


67 reviews

recommended

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

We started using Alteryx in a pilot project in November 2017, which resulted in immediate success

Reviewed 2 years ago

Massive time saving on Analytical function as well as improvement in accuracy with data from disparate data sources

Pros

Ease of implementation, fantastic product support. Great assistance from Altyrex - committed resources at no cost to help implement, train etc. A lot of willingness to help us 'prove' the business case - i.e. make a success of the pilot project. Workshops ran in business helped getting a number of other business functions exposed and on board in support of the product. Willingness to negotiate on price...

Cons

The cost initially seems exorbitant - especially as there are alternatives such as KNIME & Rapid Miner. Value delivered however overcame this barrier.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Alteryx - Take back control of your Data.

Reviewed 10 months ago

Our experience with this product is that it has transformed our ability to analyse, consume, and report on our data in a way that make sense to the business. We have been able to develop a business-centric Datawarehouse where all our cleansed data is stored and can then be queried or reported on, without the need to employ expensive data scientists or developers. Alteryx has truly revolutionised how see and use our data and this in turn has empowered the business to making the right decisions at the right time.

Pros

Alteryx is an incredible powerful analytics tool that allows users to input source data, manipulate, clean and transpose that data, then output into a Datawarehouse or other database. Despite the complexity of this product it has a great user interface and this makes it easier to learn and you are able to get up and running in a very short amount of time.

Cons

Still lacks some basic functionality, like an in-built tool for creating SQL views or a tool that can run multiple workflows in sequence (like Crew macro).

Overall Rating
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Quite Good

Reviewed 5 years ago
Pros

Alteryx seems to have ever-expanding capabilities.

Cons

Some of the error messages can be quite vague and help very little in troubleshooting.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Easy, Pricy but Worth it

Reviewed a year ago

I'm a Technology Consultant, using ALteryx for ETL projects where analyse the data is a critical job and the size of the data, wouldn't allow me to use tools like excel . Alteryx it has been a great tool for all my jobs, let in me stand out with fast and quality solution.

Pros

The most i like is the Easy drag and drop function that the application has. The design and how visual it is to keep the Information flow, makes Alteryx a great app for data analysis, formatting and design. Built in tool like time Formaters, filters and Joins facilitate the work of doing data cleansing and data prepping for any ETL job. Another great area is how flexible it is input and output formats. It lets you join CSV files with XLS or even TXT.

Cons

The least I like is the price and the latency when loading the data. Because is a strong and powerful Tool, it is a bit pricey in one hand, is not a tool for one day job, is more for enterprise and daily jobs. When loading the data, depending where is located the document, it will take longer than usual.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Best Tool for Mashing Data

Reviewed 10 months ago

I use Alteryx to combine multiple sources of data (from databases, excel workbooks, and others), clean, calculate, sort and provide an output that is easily digested. It allows me to provide analysis in a simple way, be creative in how I manipulate the data and even create automated running of the workflow. It saves me at least 8 hours a week.

Pros

Alteryx has a fantastic interface, using function blocks that you can drag and drop to create a workflow. This makes it simple to use and provides the ability to create complex workflows.

Cons

The license cost for the tool is very high, which means not everyone can use it. I find very little other cons with the program.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Quick and easy way to move from data exploration and blending to analysis and insight

Reviewed 3 years ago

This software, especially the predictive analytics piece, gave me new insight into my data. I saved time during the process of merging and cleansing data that could then be put to better use exploring, analyzing, and making decisions with the data. The work that previously required collaboration between several people to complete could be done by one person in a fraction of the time, which benefited everyone.

Pros

Alteryx has the full package starting with excellent customer service and continuing with an straightforward drag-and-drop interface. An abundance of available nodes make it simple to pull in data from many different sources, merge, union, filter, sort, and even perform statistical or predictive analysis on your data, and then disseminate it to the proper stakeholders. The visual nature of the product...

Cons

Alteryx may be better suited to fields other than education; however, I can still find good use cases for it in my job.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Alteryx is all you need to advance BI

Reviewed a year ago

I can't really discuss use cases due to proprietary information, but let me tell you- Alteryx elevates your entire organization and is a extremely versatile product to add to an analysts toolkit.

Pros

Alteryx is an incredibly easy to use tool that creates and automates data workflows with a click and drag toolbox. Passed R, Python and JSON code through the workflow so you can get technical tasks done without a developer.

Cons

Alteryx support could be a bit better in terms of follow up with very specific and technical questions. However, the community is a great resource to get answers to high level questions!

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Must have tool for analysts

Reviewed 2 years ago
Pros

1. Drag and drop based UI interface 2. Ability to import data from and export data into variety of data sources 3. Re-usuability of workflows 4. Full feature trial license

Cons

1. Lack of (or limited) visualisation capability. 2.machine dependent licensed(it should had license key Linked to email ID, making it easier to port licensed from one system to another) 3. Expensive license

Overall Rating
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

An extraordinarily ETL tool

Reviewed 6 months ago

In conclusion, Alteryx is a great solution for all the data wrangling and joins activities. It has helped my team to create data models faster and easier. I have not used the analysis and ML capabilities that it offers, but for my use case, I find it very helpful.

Pros

Alteryx offers great capabilities for data prep, blending and processing intuitively. It's possible to connect to a wide variety of data sources. Also, It offers visual and table data to help you visualize the results and profile the data you're using. Furthermore, flows are very easy to understand what's going on and are exportable to formats such as direct SQL queries.

Cons

There's a learning curve to understand all the components that Alteryx offers. However, there's great documentation out there to learn.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Alteryx simplifies and Enhances Data Preparation

Reviewed 2 years ago

I've loved working with Alteryx. After just 4 months of using the software, I have managed to automate over 20 daily or weekly processes that used to take all my time. I now have more time to create meaningful reports that can help management make the decisions that will keep our company moving forward.

Pros

Alteryx allows you to walk through your data preparation step by step to ensure that everything is following the exact process of orders that you want.

Cons

Occasionally, Alteryx will stop processing a workflow because of a minor error. Frequently, that minor error has a handful of different solutions, forcing you to try each solution one by one. After some experience you learn what things to look for, but when just starting out, it's a nuisance.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

A fantastic ETL, data munging, data prep, and data processing tool

Reviewed 3 years ago

Alteryx can do so much more than I use it for, so I believe the only case where Alteryx wouldn't be needed is when a department/team had a full development team to prep data pre-analysis or already has a central data store fully stood up and standardized. Alteryx works extremely well with a multitude of BI and database solutions and would be a great fit for any team trying to speed up the typical daily grind of data prep and ETL so their analytics and data team can be more agile, accurate, and automated.

Pros

Data ingestion: Alteryx is capable of connecting with a multitude of data sources from SQL databases to cloud-hosted solutions like Salesforce, Tableau, or Google Analytics. Also supports OleDB & ODBC connections. Dynamic data munging: Alteryx has a great variety of processing tools to clean and prep data including: dedupe, formulas, joins, union, sort... Performing these functions really quickly...

Cons

I've had issues with the scheduler tool getting frozen or stuck in previous versions. For about the last 2-3 months the latest software version has been much more reliable. Previously I had to restart the Alteryx service on my machine at least once a week, which meant my workflows weren't running while the service had been stuck and data wasn't moving. Some of the connectors, like the Tableau Online connector, should become supported by Alteryx. The online community is fantastic and has created a ton of useful macros and it would be great if Alteryx would adopt, support, and enhance some of the most widely used and useful.

Overall Rating
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Go With The Flow - Automation using Alteryx Designer

Reviewed a year ago

As an analyst in the Finance dept of a large financial institution, my work is largely cyclical in nature. I need to produce the same output on a monthly basis and a lot of my processes require several manual steps which can take hours. With Alteryx Designer, I have been able to convert many of these processes to automated workflows which can achieve the same results in literally seconds. With the power of automation, I have more time for analyzing results instead of spending a great deal of time generating reports.

Pros

Alteryx Designer is a very intuitive way to map out a process in a step by step visual workflow which can be then executed with the click of a button. Tedious manual tasks can be automated with ease. Traditionally, programming required drawing out ones algorithm in a flowchart and then having to translate that into computer code. With Alteryx, the flowchart itself is the code. It features a vast...

Cons

Alteryx Designer is excellent for data mining/wrangling for eventual output to be used for reporting but it's internal report generation and presentation tools are not as robust as others when it comes to publishing a polished presentation. I prefer to use Designer to produce my final data result set and export to Excel where I can then take advantage of Microsoft Office formatting and presentation options.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

So many uses!

Reviewed 2 years ago

Alteryx has been great! It solved our business need plus so much more. The number of users in my company has been expanding since we first started using it.

Pros

You can do so much with Alteryx! We acquired the software for one specific project but I find myself using it for so many other things, from day to day data work to other large projects. It has great features like fuzzy matching, data normalization, and join capabilities. It is great for working with large data sets that can't be easily managed in excel or access and for allowing multiple data sources to interact with each other.

Cons

There is a bit of a learning curve. However, once you understand how it all works its easy. Also there are so many tools and more than one way to achieve the same thing. It can be hard to know how to approach new projects.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Alteryx Means Work Done

Reviewed a year ago

Alteryx is a tool which can increase your productivity, at the same time providing you facility to re run again, schedule and automate easily. Best Feature is plug and play feature in statistical models too...It gives alot of feature like data profiling,quality ,scheduling and automation.

Pros

Easiness to use,PLug and play,For non technical poeple this is amazing tool.Time Saver.

Cons

I heard from Admin that license is expensive

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Daily user

Reviewed 2 years ago

Overall, am a happy user, ALteryx saved time and effort on daily basis and opened many horizons for me to clean he data in a timely manner. If you work in a dynamic environment where quick steps in data cleaning and wranglning are required in no time then ALteryx is your first option.

Pros

Not so steep learning curve, Alteryx is built around the human common sense. The fact that you can (View/Process) the data as a branch at any stage of the processing is really useful, and the way the software designed allows you to go backward and see what happened.

Cons

The limitation of some tools and the high barrier to developing new functionality.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

A simple yet powerful ETL tool

Reviewed 2 years ago
Pros

Easy to use UI, just drag and drop tools and start your data modelling. Geo spatial data for spatial analysis Blending data from different sources is quite easy. Create and schedule data models and it will run automatically.

Cons

Integration with other tools are less compared to its competitor tools such as Informatica .etc. Reporting option could be improved.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Alteryx Designer

Reviewed a year ago

Alteryx is one of the fastest & easiest softwares to use for data processing, data modeling, and data visualization.

Pros

Ease of use & speed of use. Very user friendly and intuitive. Processes massive amounts of data very quickly, even on a desktop/laptop.

Cons

With the frequent releases, there seems to be more (minor) bugs than in the past when releases weren't so frequent.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Powerful and simple

Reviewed 2 years ago

This is a great data handling software. Half the company runs on this.

Pros

There is basically a module for doing everything Connectivity in both inputs and outputs is simply superb

Cons

Output to PDF to export reports might need better capabilities Documentation of less used features might be insufficient compared to most commonly used features

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

A good tool for automating complicated analytics pipelines

Reviewed 2 years ago

Alteryx is a good tool and well fits in our need of clinical data management and analytics pipeline optimization. There are rooms for improvement in terms of stability in desktop application.

Pros

Alteryx is a great tool when need of integrating multiple or complicated analytics pipelines in one place and manage them in a systematics manner. It provides a variety of data connections to common relational database product and web resources. It also provides plugins to add other product such as Tableau, etc.

Cons

The desktop application used to crash (not responding) in case of loading large sized data. It also gets very slow when moving or drag-dropping objects in the authoring environment.

Overall Rating
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

This software is easy to learn and efficient for data wrangling

Reviewed a year ago

Overall experience is good. Even can build app and help with data automation.

Pros

It is easy to learn and efficient to do data preparation. Can deal with big volume of data that Excel cannot.

Cons

More machine learning and prediction tools can be developed and make them user friendly to non data science people.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Simplify Data Manipulation with the Press of a Button

Reviewed a year ago
Pros

It has a simple to use drag and drop interface.

Cons

There is so much functionality, it is difficult to know everything.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Game changer.

Reviewed 2 years ago

Postive 100%

Pros

This application has no limits as it relates to everything data. With Alteryx, I have been able to automate my data cleansing / loading activites within hours and now runs within SECONDS daily. Truly remarkable product, and quite frankly scares me at times how well it works.

Cons

Price for the premium packages. However, the price points are accurate and justified based on what the application can do.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Amazing self service analytics tool

Reviewed a year ago

Amazing tool for crunching big amount of data. Very easy to learn and very powerful when you take the time to dig deap. The community is also great.

Pros

Friendly graphic interface. The drag and drop workflows are fun to create

Cons

The tool is a bit pricy. However it is worth the spending when you need it

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Great analytics and overall tool

Reviewed 3 years ago
Pros

The ease of use is great. We can teach people how to data analyst very quickly. The functions they continue to add have been great.

Cons

We have issues at times with it hanging or shutting down but customer support is quick to respond and resolve issues.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Alteryx is a great self selfservice ETL tool for non-coders

Reviewed 3 years ago

great customer service

Pros

no coding experience necessary, seamless integration with Tableau and SQL, great workflow icons and capabilities, great automation

Cons

pricing, but they are flexible, could make a cloud product that is easier to scale out to more people

page 1 of 3