This is your compare tray

Apps you want to compare will be listed here. Launch a head to head comparison at any time.

SpyFu Pricing, Features, Reviews and Alternatives

SpyFu product overview

Price starts from

$

49

/momonth
Per Feature

What is SpyFu?

With over 9 years of historic ranking and AdWords data, all corroborated with cached copies of search result pages, SpyFu aims to assist users in improving their SEO (search engine optimization) and advertising strategies by exposing their competitors’ tactics. Unlimited domain, keyword and backlink searches, backlink results, and data exports allow users access to extensive data available on their competitors, and also their own sites.

Key benefits of using SpyFu

Advanced contact information, including social media contacts, telephone numbers and email addresses allows users to reach out for linkbuilding.

AdWords advisor reports contain actionable details for specific changes to make to improve users' ROI on advertising campaigns.

3-way domain comparisons show which keywords are core to all three companies, shared between two, or unique to the user, revealing which keywords should be invested in and which may be a waste of money.

SpyFu has over 9 years of organic ranking data and AdWords history, and keeps cached pages accessible as evidence for all keyword stats.

SpyFu's SEO ranking graphs allow users to follow the history of a domain or page alongside updates to Google's algorithms and filter keywords to see the cause of any downward turns.

Typical customers

Freelancers
Small businesses
Mid size businesses
Large enterprises

Platforms supported

Web
Android
iPhone/iPad

Support options

Phone Support
Email/Help Desk
Chat
FAQs/Forum

Training options

Videos
Documentation
In Person

SpyFu pricing information

Value for money

4.3

/5

119

Price starts from

$

49

/momonth
Per Feature

Pricing options

Free plan
Subscription
Free trial
Pricing range

Value for money contenders

SpyFu features

Functionality

4.3

/5

119
Total Features6 4 categories

Most valued features by users

API
Keyword Tracking
Customizable Branding
Competitive Analysis
Keyword Rank Tracking
Keyword Research Tools

Functionality contenders

SpyFu users reviews

Overall rating

4.5

/5

119

Positive reviews

91%

Write a review
Rating breakdown
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8.27/10
Rating distribution

5

4

3

2

1

64

44

11

0

0

Pros
There is a lot of automation in the set-up that builds out the information that can be useful to your campaigns. Great guides to help you understand search and SEO better.

Dwight Z.

It gives you great insight into your competition and your competitors competition. It helps us make an educated guess based on real analytics to help improve our site and our client's site.

SH

Shawn H.

It is a good tool, it has what you need to do a good research on competencies and search for keywords. And it is much cheaper than most tools.

Fernando Adrian O.

Cons
I have had a negative experience and will not be using SpyFu in the future.

AR

Anonymous Reviewer

There are some websites which are missing in their database so I can't get any info on their campaigns.

AR

Anonymous Reviewer

Navigation within the site is very difficult at first, which makes it hard to efficiently complete what you're trying to do.

AR

Anonymous Reviewer

Overall rating contenders

Overall Rating

Great way to compare your ads and keywords with competitors

Reviewed 2 months ago

Transcript

Speaker 1: Hey, my name is Jenny, and I am the Director of Marketing. I would give SpyFu a four out of...

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

One of the Better Keyword Tools I Make Regular Use Of

Reviewed 2 years ago

In terms of helping to give SEO clients an edge it's a great tool, and its lead gen capabilities are excellent as well. It's a 'stay in the toolbox' software when I have trialed and tried out many more that have long since been retired.

Pros

The volume of information that can gathered. Not only can you track competitor keywords but it's an excellent prospecting tool for lead gen, which is a lesser known aspect of the software. The relative ease of use is another bonus, the reports and dashboards are a lot clearer and easier to use than many of the other SEO tools I use/have used.

Cons

It's a bit pricey, but it has proved itself in terms of ROI from both improved SERPS positioning and lead generation. Customer service could be a little better too.

Vendor response

Thanks for taking time to share a review, Melanie! I hope we can wow you in the future should you need any customer support. We're available via live chat on our site and email, with Facebook messages, and Twitter giving an assist. We love to hear that you're getting a lot out of the tool. Right on!

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

Good tool but needs a little more

Reviewed 10 months ago

It's a good tool, but for my specific needs I couldn't replace SEMRush

Pros

It is a good tool, it has what you need to do a good research on competencies and search for keywords. and it is much cheaper than most tools.

Cons

The reports in the basic version are quite limited.

Vendor response

Thank you for sharing your review, Fernando! Glad to hear that we have become part of your keyword research toolset.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend3/10

Share this review:

Lots of broken features

Reviewed a year ago

I have had a negative experience and will not be using SpyFu in the future.

Pros

More affordable than its competitors, Spyfu is the poor man's SEMrush. I think they use the SEMrush API--so its literally the same thing.

Cons

Lots of features that were promised in the demo video were outright lies. Link importing doesn't work, finding contacts doesn't work or hasn't worked yet for me.

Vendor response

Thank you for taking the time to share a review. I'm sorry that your experience was below par. I noticed that you had used the free version of the tool. We do not have a free trial like what you come to expect from other tools. Instead we offer unending free access with limits on the results. Anyone can use it for as long as they'd like. I wonder if that limited version kept you from accessing the premium features that you wanted to see?

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

SpyFu - Great for SEO's Slightly Less Great for PPC's.

Reviewed 2 years ago

Generally speaking, SpyFu has been great, it's a powerful tool, and often you'll run into clients who require this level of analysis both organically, and paid. I've come back time and time again over the last 10 years or so.

Pros

The UI is easy to navigate, and lots of ways to continue your search via finding more competitors, and looking at their competitors and so on. On the SEO side, this software is fairly indespensible, though it has competitors which do similar things at different price points. SpyFu however has been my go-to for many years, and having tested many of the competing products, especially during darker times for SEO many years ago, SpyFu did a quick job of staying current, which is one of the most important things for software like this. When there's changes to algorithms, or how we gather data, who's the most reliable source to get you that info? SpyFu has been that for me.

Cons

Generally the cost is prohibitive. More PPC level insights would be useful, but really they're working off whatever data they can get access to, and do a fairly good job of it. The only downside is many of the old Landing pages are not cached or visualized so when you click on the link to view the competitor's page, it doesnt exist more often than not. This feels like a huge waste of time.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Love them (only using free version)

Reviewed 4 months ago

It helps me analyze our own site's SEO and PPC as well as our competitors super easily!

Pros

I don't use them to spy on competition, I use them to also gauge how I'm doing too. I only use the free version but their dashboard and tools are so simple and insightful regardless!

Cons

I only didn't like how costly it is, I won't be using this for the premium options, only the free options are good enough.

Vendor response

Thanks for the great review, Kevin! We're happy to hear that you're getting so much out of the free version. It's been helping thousands of search marketers for years--with no time cut off. Continued success to you!

SpyFu FAQs and common questions

SpyFu has the following pricing plans:
Starting from: $49.00/month
Pricing model: Free, Subscription


SpyFu has the following typical customers:
Freelancers, Large Enterprises, Mid Size Business, Non Profit, Small Business


SpyFu supports the following languages:
English


No, SpyFu does not have an API available.


SpyFu offers the following support options:
Phone Support, Email/Help Desk, Chat, FAQs/Forum

Related categories