App comparison

Add up to 4 apps below to see how they compare. You can also use the "Compare" buttons while browsing.

LibreOffice Logo

LibreOffice

Software suite for creating, editing, and managing documents

see alternatives

(7)

LibreOffice Reviews

Overall rating

4.3

/5

1.7K

Rating criteria

  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8.31/10

Reviews by rating

Suggested alternatives

Pros and cons

What I liked best was that it is free software and has a lot to do with application features that are currently only available in the paid application.
It is super easy to write, edit, and save documents. It's simple to use interface makes it so easy to write important documents.
I like that this program is free, and an alternative solutions for Microsoft office. People like that it works just like office does.
I quite dislike the lack of integrations with other products and apps like Microsoft Office does. It just makes your workflow sluggish.
My wife (long-term MS Word user with a Master's degree) struggled finding the functions she needed as opposed to how she did it in Word and got very frustrated.
There are some features are illogical and really hard to find. Opening word documents does not always work well and sometimes LibreOffice deforms the files.
Filter reviews by

Overall rating


Company size


Industry


Time used


1,722 reviews

Recommended

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Justin S.

DevOps Engineer

Information Technology and Services, 201-500 employees

Review source

Overall Rating

Great alternative to Office with compatibility getting better all the time

Reviewed a year ago

Transcript

Justin: Hi, I'm Justin, DevOps engineer, and I give LibreOffice a big five out of five stars. For more...

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Steven D.

Pastor

Religious Institutions, 1-10 employees

Review source

Overall Rating

Great open source office software

Reviewed 2 years ago

Transcript

Steven D.: My name is Steven. I'm a pastor in the religious service industries, and I rate LibreOffice...

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Eduardo C.

Verified reviewer

Telecommunications, 501-1,000 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

A spreadsheet software that interprets data from different software

Reviewed 3 years ago

I solve an essential task in my work, the calculations. I use LibreOffice spreadsheets to create quotation documents, as well as budgets. Also, we benefit from the fact that it is a free software for which you do not have to pay any license.

Pros

LibreOffice is easy to use and allows me to make any calculation easily. This software is essential to manage sales or purchases in my organization, since I can keep all the data sorted. On the other hand, it is free software, so you save a lot of money that costs a license of a spreadsheet software. Also, I also like that it has Excel support, so I can open the same documents in both programs without the documents changing their structures.

Cons

I cannot criticize software that gives me totally free features and that are fundamental to my daily work.

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Zuhairah A.

Verified reviewer

Internet, 5,001-10,000 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Free office suite

Reviewed 2 years ago

It save some of my budget for my software costing as this software is free to use either or work or personal purposes. They may not have have all the premium feature that bigger software like Microsoft Office has, but they still has their own strength.

Pros

The best feature with LibreOffice is the flexibility of the document format that can open other software document format like .docx or doc. It is very important because it will not change the document layout and placement of the text or table. It is free to use and using open source which it will receive constant update from user to upgrade the software.

Cons

This software is full of bugs and things to be fix. The auto-save feature is not as reliable and i have experience my document is crashing and the auto-save can't recovering the document back to the last save point. I had to create the document back from the start and it is consuming so much time.

KA
AvatarImg

Kaes A.

Hospital & Health Care, 1-10 employees

Used weekly for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Good alternative to MS office

Reviewed a month ago
Pros

For students on a budget this is a good option. Especially if you don’t want to use google documents.It offers many of the features in the office package but in a trimmed version. Formatting options are more limited, cloud storage not available the way MS office has , collaboration not available either.However it gets the job done well for a fraction of the cost if any.

Cons

Can’t complain when comparing the very low running cost.

AR
AvatarImg

Anonymous Reviewer

Verified reviewer

Banking, 10,001+ employees

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

LibreOffice would have provided cloud storage

Reviewed 4 months ago

Overall, Documents in a variety of well-known formats can be imported and exported by the various programs. But it would have been provided cloud storage.

Pros

Almost any legacy document can be imported and converted by me.

Cons

Because there is no cloud connection, which was one of the reasons I switched to Microsoft Office, I lose the opportunity for collaborating.

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Shawn G.

Verified reviewer

Real Estate, 1-10 employees

Used daily for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

LibreOffice an AMAZING replacement option for expensive Microsoft office tools

Reviewed 6 months ago

We are very pleased using LibreOffice. After the initial "getting used to where things are" phase, we are able to seamlessly share and edit MS and ODF formated documents.

Pros

After a year of use, I have not found anything that Microsoft does that can't also be done in LibreOffice.

Cons

You do have to get used to where all the functionally buttons are located. It's not really bad, just different.

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Karsten B.

Verified reviewer

Nonprofit Organization Management, 11-50 employees

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

a bit quirky but well worth a try if you want to avoid MS Office

Reviewed 10 months ago

I am using it on a daily basis and wouldn't want to miss it

Pros

I loooooove that some of these stupid Excel errors do not occur. Importing a table allows you to set each column so there is not automatic conversion to date format. Well done!

Cons

It is a bit on the slow side but that might also be my computer ;-)

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Darren d.

Verified reviewer

Government Administration, 501-1,000 employees

Used weekly for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

LibreOffice just keeps getting better!

Reviewed 5 months ago

I used LibreOffice for compatibility with government systems. It worked very well, and I have grown to prefer its user interface to MS Office. Using LO Writer, I created high-quality documents and signage, and it works better for image placement on the page than MS Word.

Pros

LibreOffice is like a free, community-based MS Office, but slightly easier to use. And free.

Cons

It's still a bit rough around the edges, and compatibility with the (unfortunately proprietary) MS Office industry standard documents is not perfect.

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Fábio S.

Verified reviewer

Computer & Network Security, 501-1,000 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend4/10

Share this review:

LibreOffice for Linux Users

Reviewed 9 months ago

For quick edits on Word documents on Linux, LibreOffice offers everything one's needs.

Pros

Since Microsoft Office does not support Linux OS users must find an alternative. There are some sensitive documents that are not allowed to be edited online, so an offline program must be used. LibreOffice is the most complete editor for documents while working offline. It has the basic features of Word, also supports both .doc and .docx documents and runs smoothly on Unix systems.

Cons

Most advanced usage is limited by its features. It is not as easy to, since its interface is really confusing and not consistent as opposed to Microsoft Word.

KH
AvatarImg

Klodian H.

Mechanical or Industrial Engineering, 201-500 employees

Used weekly for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Helpful document software

Reviewed 19 days ago

Excellent

Pros

Price, converting word document to different types of files.

Cons

In general loved it. The user interface can be improved.

LG
AvatarImg

Ludmila G.

Judiciary, self-employed

Used monthly for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Makes my Professional Life much easier. I recommend.

Reviewed a month ago
Pros

Complete package for various types of work.

Cons

Difficult to provide a file generated With libreoffice to someone Who has never used it.

AR
AvatarImg

Anonymous Reviewer

Verified reviewer

Government Administration, self-employed

Used daily for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Greatest document management solution for Linux users

Reviewed 2 years ago

In the last months i have been testing different Linux distributions, leaving Windows i had no longer their Office package and i needed a new software for Document management. Once i installed Kubuntu i found LibreOffice extremely helpful, trustworthy and intuitive.

Pros

I'm very satisfied with its variety of options, inside this software everyone can access databases management with LibreOffice Base, presentation creation and edition with LibreOffice Impress, general text document creation with LibreOffice Writer and even calculation and information analysis with LibreOffice Calc. It automatically saves the progress made every several minutes preventing progress loss,...

Cons

One relevant downside is the fact that it lacks mobile app deployment, what may result tedious if the personal mobile phone is closely related with work activities. Nonetheless, for Desktop-centered activities it proves to be highly reliable and efficient.

RM
AvatarImg

Rodrigo M.

Computer Software, 1-10 employees

Used weekly for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Everything you can ask for from a free office

Reviewed 3 years ago

I use LibreOffice almost daily mainly for reading and file conversion tasks, also because many companies and governments have used the OpenDocument format, which is much better worked on Libre. The improved support for CSV is really fundamental for my work, especially when I exchange data between programs and I need to make adjustments. I just don't use Libre completely, because standard Microsoft files like DOCX and XLSX open better and look better in MS Office - LibreOffice often messes up these types of files.

Pros

I love the fact that it maintains the purity of the traditional office layout, while in other programs everyone switches to the ribbon tabs (I particularly hate the ribbon). I really like Libre Office Calc's CSV support too, which lets you deal with different row / column separators. Command line automation options are also great for solving document conversion and repetitive tasks with scripts, even when calling by other programs.

Cons

There is nothing I dislike about LibreOffice, for the purpose for which it is intended. Perhaps the fact that standard Microsoft files, such as doc / docx and xls / xlsx, do not always open correctly, as it is relatively common in more elaborate files, that LibreOffice makes a mess. But that usually doesn't affect me and I alternate between the two programs.

DD
AvatarImg

Dima D.

Information Technology and Services, 51-200 employees

Used weekly for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

LibreOffice - a complex tool at no cost to you!

Reviewed a year ago

This is really a great product, all and all! It is free of charge and you get quite a bit under the hood! If you need to do a few basic routine tasks with documents and to perform some basic spreadsheet calculations, this is a great place to start - and you don't have to pay anything for it!

Pros

There are a lot of advantages and since this is a free software, these stand out more than those of paid competitors . One can easily setup and install this on your machine, the document editing and making slide shows is very simple and after fiddling around for a few minutes you will find your way around most basic features. The spreadsheet functionality is also very good if you want to perform a simple calculation which is still a bit too complex for a plain calculator. And for more advanced users, there is a lot to sift through, there are a lot of powerful functions and formulas you can find for yourself, assuming you have a good background and know what you are looking for.

Cons

Sometimes there is a compatibility issue with margin formatting and other styling clashes where you can't save it in another format, like an MS Office format, without risking some glitches. One way around it is to export to PDF, if the end user only needs a read-only access. Another con is that there is really a myriad of different options and one needs to have some experience with document management to know how to utilise these properly. A beginner will probably use only 10% of what LibreOffice has to offer.

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Suhailah S.

Verified reviewer

Retail, 5,001-10,000 employees

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Cheap document creation software

Reviewed 2 years ago

Even though LibreOffice is free to be use, this software is often updated by the community to make it better and to have more feature and tools. I really have a great experience working with this software.

Pros

LibreOffice offer a free to use account, also with premium account that start as little as USD0.10 per month. It has every document type that Ms Office has, like spreadsheet and and word. It also has a text search function that let me to search content on the document easily without having to skimming thru all the text manually.

Cons

One of thing that i thing thing this software lacks is, they don't have a feature to convert the document to other format type like PDF file format. Sharing the file need to be done manually, as there are no cloud storage offered thus i need to use third-party cloud storage service to share it.

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Abel N.

Verified reviewer

Telecommunications, 11-50 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Libre office is the best free alternative in the market

Reviewed 3 years ago

I totally recommend this product, I am a faithful follower of free software and I believe that this is one of the best indispensable tools that an office for making all kinds of digital documents has little to envy to other products with very high costs.

Pros

Of the best tools to make office documents of all kinds and for free, it has a continuous update service and a large community collaborating in this project. Simple to install and very easy to use since it looks a lot like other paid services that have a very high cost and in this case libreoffice is completely free.

Cons

The biggest problems I have seen in this software is that for computers with few resources it is quite heavy and very old versions of the product are required to avoid the high consumption of resources in the system.

DK
AvatarImg

David K.

Medical Devices, 10,001+ employees

Used daily for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend6/10

Share this review:

Microsoft Office alternative worth checking out

Reviewed 2 years ago

We originally chose LibreOffice because it seemed to be the closest to which we were familiar. My wife (long-term MS Word user with a Master's degree) struggled finding the functions she needed as opposed to how she did it in Word and got very frustrated. We tried it for probably a month before switching back to Office 365

Pros

All of the fairly simple functions of MS Word are here, too. Even some of the medium-complex functions are included if you know how to find them. Never really got as far as needing the advanced functions so not sure about those.

Cons

We had some compatibility issues with other documents created in MS Word or other apps and then discovered that the version we were using had some goofy defaults that allowed this compatibility to happen (as I recall).... it cleared up after we adjusted the settings but it probably shouldn't have been this way.

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Hafizah S.

Verified reviewer

Telecommunications, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

More than just a free software

Reviewed 2 years ago
Pros

The software provides everything I would expect from an "office" software package. It's light, which is terrific if you're running it on a PC with an outdated processor or limited RAM. Also, this software has the feel of "earlier" MS Office editions, so if you're seeking for something similar, this is an excellent option.

Cons

I suppose the user interface might be a little more current; some people enjoy it, while others dislike it. It doesn't bother me. Although you can't expect flawless for this price, I don't have any concerns or dislikes with this software. Overall, a fantastic product that i enjoy using it.

DR
AvatarImg

Dorothy R.

Religious Institutions, 1-10 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Excellent Quality, Price Right

Reviewed 2 years ago

We are a small women's monastery and don't have a big budget, so we look for inexpensive but dependable ways to keep costs low. LibreOffice certainly does this. I would recommend it both to individuals and organizations.

Pros

LibreOffice is similar to MS Office, enough so that moving from MS to Libre is seamless. Impress (Powerpoint equivalent) works well for slide presentations--and I also use it for desktop publishing. The only function it lacks for that use is text flow from column to column, which I always found troublesome anyway. I've been doing newsletters in Impress for many years and recommend it. I also like Libre...

Cons

There is one function which may not be missing in Calc, but which for me is more difficult to use than the same function in MS Excel. That is searching for and deleting duplicates, for example in a mailing list. I wouldn't say it's intuitive in either software, but easier for me to figure out in Excel. The only other thing I can say that can, but doesn't always, make for difficulties, is if you are...

AR
AvatarImg

Anonymous Reviewer

Verified reviewer

Financial Services, 1-10 employees

Used monthly for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

An excellent suite solution for analysts

Reviewed 3 years ago

We have used Libre Office (and open office, as it was known previously) for a long time. It's a solid product, it does anything you'd expect from a suite and it has all normal benefits or a large open-source offering. It works well, tracks Office suite very closely and exceeds it in important ways. In calc for example it has something like 10-20% more formulas than say Microsoft Excel (though...

Pros

Libre Office has a number of great things not found in other suites, esp in our case but definitely not limited to: * number numerical and mathematical features (esp spreadsheet enhancements over excel) * number of import/export options and document format compatibility * formula editing and charting * also, it's FREE. (and open source, though we do not use or plan to use this aspect, nice it's...

Cons

It's a download. Most software these days is run anywhere from a website, especially if it's end-user facing. However Libre Office being totally free, you have to download it and run locally. It's pretty large (hundreds of MB), but with big drives these days not too much of an issue. You do have to maintain your own backups and updates though, which can be an issue. Also you have to install...

RA
AvatarImg

Ray A.

Research, 1-10 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Best alternative to MS Word

Reviewed 2 years ago

Outstanding. I use LibreOffice every day to review, edit, and translate documents in English and Chinese. The software handles multiple languages well.

Pros

I have used LibreOffice since 2010, when it forked from OpenOffice which I began using in 2003. From the beginning it has offered a viable alternative to MS Office. - Easy to use - Intuitive old-school menus, but offers an optional ribbon toolbar - Excellent track-changes features - Good document layout tools - Open standards

Cons

It has trouble handling long documents. When I edit dissertations of 100 or more pages, LibreOffice can become sluggish and responds poorly. However, been less of a problem in recent versions (ie current version 7) but has not been completely resolved. When adding Comment to a document, if the text in the Comment is too long, it cannot be seen without scrolling inside the Comment bubble. This makes...

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Oliur R.

Verified reviewer

Computer Networking, 51-200 employees

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

A free and powerful office suite for both business & personal usage.

Reviewed a year ago

My overall experience with LibreOffice has been fantastic. Prior to using this, I used to use Microsoft Office, which is a bit pricey for personal use, but when I discovered that LibreOffice can do all of my work perfectly and deliver exactly what I want, I switched to it and saved some money in the process. It is quick and easy to use, and it includes all of the necessary tools, such as the ability to edit any document in Word, create a spreadsheet in Excel, or create a Powerpoint presentation. As an open source, free, and powerful office suite, LibreOffice is one of my favorites.

Pros

I've been using Libre Office for quite some time, and it's one of my favorite free tools. It's simple and easy to use, and it works on all major platforms, including Mac, Linux, and Windows. It integrates all of the major office tools, such as Word, Excel, and PowerPoint, and is extremely fast and accurate. The most important feature is that it is completely free in comparison to Microsoft Office. It can also handle all types of office files with ease, which I appreciate. Its simple interface and feature-rich tools allow you to express yourself and increase your productivity. The Libre Office suite is a fantastic office suite.

Cons

LibreOffice, in my experience, is a great way to save money over Microsoft Office while still getting all of your work done. But I've noticed that it doesn't cover all of Microsoft Office's features, but it still gets the job done, so there's nothing to complain about. Also, I'm hoping they'll fix the compatibility issues and add all of the files that make up an entire office suite so that anyone can convert to LibreOffice. LibreOffice is a great tool and it helps in my personal & business works.

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Opeyemi O.

Verified reviewer

Internet, self-employed

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

libreoffice review

Reviewed 4 years ago
Pros

This document editing app is simply the best i have ever used. i came across this application as an alternative to the mainstream software when i decided to try Linux and since then i have never gone back. The software is lightweight, easy to use, feature rich, a plethora of helpful options and most of all, it is free. Open source; this software as against the other popular options does not make its...

Cons

is there something i don't like about this software? The answer is no, i love every bit of it as it handles all the task i throw at it as a writer.

RB
AvatarImg

Radoslav B.

Computer Software, 51-200 employees

Used weekly for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

LibreOffice - create your all documents with ease

Reviewed 3 years ago

I have been using the software in my work when I was Junior. On the machine I have been working there was an install of the LibreOffice. I found it pretty cool and useful for some kind of needs. I was able to create some documents and graphics that I needed. I was also able to open MS Office files, which most of our company used - that helped me not to have the need to convert the document in order to open it. I think the software supports small business needs and personal needs - when in school or University. So for everyone with that needs, I pretty recommend it because even it is open software it gives you a lot of features that can make your documents very cool.

Pros

I found it cool because of: 1. It is an open-source software. It is free and you can use it how you want for creating your powerful documents. 2. For me, LibreOffice includes applications that are enough for working - like software for creating documents, presentations, sheets with calculations and creating databases for your needs. 3. Its design is very intuitive - I think this is one of the most...

Cons

I think the product is quite good for its features. However, if you think about using it as for your business needs, I think it won't do your best job. There is no support. There are also no value-added features that can be powerful for your business. However, if you have a small starting business, you can try organizing your documents. Also, it is very cool for study purposes, where you do not need that type of support and many features.

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Jennie P.

Verified reviewer

Writing and Editing, self-employed

Used other for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Free Office Software

Reviewed 2 years ago

Overall, LibreOffice is a good software to install locally if you don't want to pay the price of MS Office, or if you don't want something cloud-based like the Google Suite. For a free product that doesn't have ads (a major bonus, by the way), you can't go wrong. I would definitely recommend this product for anyone on a limited or no budget. Or if you don't want to go with Office for whatever reason.

Pros

The best part about LibreOffice is it's free. It will do pretty much everything you could want a word processor to do. The rest of the Office Suite is on par with MS Office and most of the other free products available. It isn't cloudbased (like the Google Suite) so if you're wanting something locally installed, this is a great option. The setup is similar to MS Office, so switching between the two...

Cons

There is a small difference in page count. So if you're going by page count, and not word count, you're going to run into some challenges. Also, LibreOffice has it's own save format, so you have to remember to choose the more common word doc extensions (.doc and .docx). You have to really search for a few features, but considering it's not a clone of MS Office, it's to be expected that not everything will be in the same place.

LM
AvatarImg

LUCAS M.

Writing and Editing, self-employed

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Very solid free office suite. Transition from Microsoft Office requires an adaptation period

Reviewed 3 years ago

Very light and solid office suite, when used by itself. If working with colleagues or clients that use a different suite, requires some preparation and the habit of saving documents in a few different formats, if the user wants to be sure.

Pros

Very light and fast office suite, constantly makes security saves while you work on the documents. In the case you have a blackout or your computer is suddenly turned of for any reason, its recovery feature never failed to restore the archives. If transitioning from ofher software suites, expect to need some time to get used to the placement of tools, and the way formatting works. Usually works better than I would expect on computers with weaker hardware.

Cons

Probably, the main nuisance is the need to save documents in two or three formats to guarantee they will be opened by software from the other office suites. Also, for the later stages of work, when changing platforms, it is recommended to also save the document in pdf, as changing from Libreoffice to Microsoft Office can result in loss of formatting, comments, highlights or other features. Evidently, this is not an issue with Libreoffice, as it is a cross-platform situation, but this should be taken into consideration