Quip Reviews

Quip Reviews

Quip

Docs, tasks, & spreadsheet collaboration with built-in chat

4.64/5 (39 reviews)
38,060     8,500

Jess Roll off

Unlimited Free Trial

14/03/2017

Unlimited free trial and great for text-based collaboration

Pros

Quip allows you to try their platform for free as long as you need, so you can really figure out whether or not it works for your team before you invest in the paid version. Compared to other products that have a time-limited free trial, Quip offers a much better evaluation period.

Cons

The ability to upload images and PDFs is limited at best. It's easier to upload a photo album on Facebook and share it with your team than it is to do the same thing in Quip. Great for text based documents, however.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 6-12 months

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

9/10
Source: Software Advice
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
SEAN ALEXANDER

Sharing Docs Made Easy

14/03/2017

When it comes to Quip, it's super easy for collaboration and sharing of ideas/docs.

Pros

Sharing

Cons

Filters and doc changes are difficult.

Rating breakdown

Ease of use
Features

Time used: 1-2 years

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

7/10
Source: Software Advice
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Yana Oganesova

Verified Reviewer

Fantastic for Small Project Management and Collaboration

22/02/2017

Quip provides unique ability to create, edit and share highly customized documents/spreadsheets. Quip doesn't have a structure to follow for project management, so it requires a lot of upfront time commitment and development. However, after creating the needed documents and templates, it is the perfect tool. Specifically, great to use for mind-mapping, checklists, embedded spreadsheets/tracking.

Pros

Integrates with Google Drive, version control, file attachment, collaboration, custom templates, slack integration, flexibility, permissions control, great interface, easy to use

Cons

No internal task delegation/planning features, no report building

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 6-12 months

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

10/10

Recommendations to others considering Quip

Give it a try, it is well worth the money and provides flexibility for a whole range of projects and tasks.

Source: GetApp
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Tom Guthrie

My go-to productivity app

13/12/2016

A Beautiful and easy-to-use app that makes it easy to take notes, collaborate on documents, and keep all of my work in one place. Quip is indispensable to my day-to-day.

Pros

Beautiful design. Incredibly easy to use. Love it all.

Cons

Nothing.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 1-2 years

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

10/10

Recommendations to others considering Quip

Looking forward to seeing how Salesforce integrates Quip into their platform!

Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Christine K

Great collaboration tool

06/12/2016

Quip brings team messaging, document creating and editing in one service. It's fast and easy to setup. Great option for small teams who need a tool now.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Sarah Low

Great way to store and share docs with my team

05/12/2016

I love the UI for this software. It's very user friendly and a breeze to use. Like the history thread that shows on the side and the hover formatting options.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Mike Broome

eQUIP Yourself for Success

03/11/2016

I've spent a lot of time navigating the endless world of Google productivity tools and at times I'm met with more frustration than productivity, mostly related to scale and having a large number of contributors. Quip makes that easy with a sleek canvas feel and an easy-on-the-eyes way of organizing. Sometimes less is more and I've found that simple has boosted productivity for myself and my teams and collaboration is at an all-time high. The one drawback I have is somewhat of a challenge: when collaboration and comments spike there should be a better way to filter through the noise, as it can get a bit stifling keeping track of all the conversations. Thread/forum type implementation perhaps?

Pros

Sleek look, ease of use, organization

Cons

Filtering/presentation of comments/collaboration, lack of slide deck feature

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: Less than 6 months

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

10/10

Recommendations to others considering Quip

get it right away

Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Patrick Slaven

The best cloud based online collaborative writing tool

01/11/2016

Quip is my team's go to utility for writing documents together. Google Docs is probably one of the most well known cloud based document editors that facilitates collaboration between team members. However, its collaborative elements always seemed tacked on. You can tell that Quip was built to be a team writing tool from the ground up.

Pros

Ease of use. It's "stupid easy" to invite people to collaborate on a document. Comments are a breeze. Paragraphs auto-lock when you are editing them to avoid confusion. You can track your team members usage.

Cons

I wish that reviewing, version control, and security were stronger. The inclusion of approval processes and flows would be extremely welcome.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 1-2 years

Frequency of use: Weekly

Likelihood to recommend

9/10

Recommendations to others considering Quip

Try it out! It's so easy. This might not be the tool of choice for a large org with very detailed processes, but it is probably perfect for your team to get together (online) to write something.

Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Lauren A.

Quip is a great app and easy to use!

24/10/2016

Quip was very easy to learn - It's a great tool for collaboration, but for example, spreadsheets are easier to work with in other programs.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Santosh K

Overall good product

06/10/2016

It's good feature make quip noticeable for salesforce. And user interface and usability is at its best

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Mar Fig

review of Quip vs. Slack

05/10/2016

Quip has nice features like integration with excel and all, but its UI is terrible. I have user Slack before and would love to go back.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Johnas de Leon

Quip provides awesome collaboration

04/10/2016

Quip is easy to use, with greater functionality and visibility to most collaboration cloud software. I like the way you can see historical info.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Amanda Calvert

Great, easy to set-up, easy to use!

21/09/2016

We were looking for an easy way to share a work log with an outside vendor that we could quickly set up, spend no budget, that would automatically notify someone when they were assigned a line. This tool was perfect.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend

10/10
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Ayaz Alam Qayami

Wonderful Quip

15/09/2016

It is a great software to work with. I had a wonderful experience using it. Very easy to use and share files

Pros

Live discussion about uploaded materials.

Cons

Some file formats are not supported

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: Less than 6 months

Frequency of use: Weekly

Likelihood to recommend

10/10

Recommendations to others considering Quip

Must accept all file formats.

Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
runshan chen

Review for Quip

13/09/2016

i think i will use quip, and leave gitbook. : ) next time maybe we will ask for a keynote more

Pros

markdown

Cons

slackbot

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend

8/10

Recommendations to others considering Quip

custom css to doc page?

Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Alexander Neuhausen

Great for working on documents collaboratively

22/08/2016

Quip is a nice way to work on documents in a team, but some important features are still missing. It's pretty easy to create folders, documents and edit them in a team but tracking the overall status is complicated. You can create task-lists but there is no connection to the real documents so tracking progress is rather complicated. Functionalities to set the document status, assign it to team member and tracking progress would be a big plus.

Pros

- Great document collaboration - Simple and intuitive

Cons

- Too much focus on chat and commenting, but no proper way to indicate a document status - No task assignments - Document overview is confusing, sorting options only in list view

Rating breakdown

Ease of use
Features

Time used: Less than 6 months

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

6/10

Recommendations to others considering Quip

- No automatic task lists - A board link Kanban to indicate document status would be perfect - Idea board

Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
David Maish

Quip Review

22/08/2016

Nice product. Chat tech support was very helpful.

Pros

Intuitive navigation.

Cons

Small learning curve.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: Less than 6 months

Likelihood to recommend

9/10
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Michael Harrington

Quit passing email and documents around!

18/08/2016

I have a small staff who needs to work together at various times, and usually not in person. We've tried a handful of options (dreaded e-mail chains, Google drive, slack, OneNote, Trello), with varying degrees of success. But when you get right down to it, the majority of our conversations where revolving around documents. With Quip, that is exactly how this is designed. It is a live document centered experience with the ability to comment, discuss, and update to drive to agreed upon results. Other packages we would lose our chain of conversation, or a struggle to find the agenda, spreadsheet, plan. Here, these two elements tie together in one spot. End result for me? Instead of feeling like I was beating on people to keep moving, and often their secretary to help them find what I was talking about, now we work together with faster results and a whole lot less fuss and muss.

Pros

VERY intuitive interface. My staff is resistant to change, and they picked up on this software immediately. Looks good on the web, great on my desktop, and awesome on my phone! Customer support is astounding. Hit the chat window and someone is there immediately.

Cons

Very minor detail here - more of a feature enhancement request. It would be great to tie in some sort of task management, e.g. something with due dates that alert you.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: Less than 6 months

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

10/10

Recommendations to others considering Quip

Try it. Definitely something the more you use (give it two days), the more you appreciate it and how well it fits.

Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Keith Irwin

No comparable alternative comes close

18/08/2016

Very promising software right here! Got a few bugs to work out, maybe a few features to add, but in general, I am thoroughly impressed. Quip attempts to cover a large number of interfaces related to collaboration and excels at everything.

Pros

Chat is as good as slack Docs are as good as gDocs Support is as good as... well there's no comparison.

Cons

Minor bugs that will probably be worked out.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: Less than 6 months

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

9/10

Recommendations to others considering Quip

There's no linux version, but I've had no problems with the web interface. Who needs native software, anyway?

Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Mark Scribner

Love . . .

15/08/2016

Just live the collaboration tools that this provides. So much more wow than Google Drive when commenting and working with edits!

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: Less than 6 months

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

10/10
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Warvin Uy

Best so far

15/08/2016

Having a business with branches and investors overseas is really hard. Thanks to destiny that i was able to discover unexpectedly this app. Realtime edits, easy reports and many more.

Pros

Real time edits Group chats Unlimited reports

Cons

I still have no negative issue on this app so far

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: Less than 6 months

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

10/10

Recommendations to others considering Quip

More docs feature and editing tools

Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Andrew Purvis

Straight forward and easy to use.

12/08/2016

Quip provides an application that is very straight forward and easy to use. It allows team members to communicate flawlessly within a chat format instead of emailing each other back and forth.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: Less than 6 months

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

10/10
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Mitul Patel

Quip = Quick Start

08/08/2016

Great initial experience using it. I have been using it since last few weeks. Very happy with how quickly other team members can collaborate. Even the ones who had not used Quip in the past.

Pros

- Easy to use - Easy to get other team members to collaborate - Good customer service - Integration with Slack

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: Less than 6 months

Likelihood to recommend

10/10

Recommendations to others considering Quip

Give it a try.

Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
saicharan  reddy

Freaking Awesome

06/08/2016

I used it for just 4 days and its already won my heart. and it is extremely useful on the go and it is mobile go , it is the thing i liked it much

Pros

easy to access even a layman can understand the functionlity mobile go (y)

Cons

Not sure though as i didn't use it up to the extent

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: Less than 6 months

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

9/10

Recommendations to others considering Quip

As of now no

Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Maurilio Ramos

Excelente ferramenta para grupos

05/08/2016

Muito interessante o produto de colaboração em grupo, somos empresa de suporte TI e vamos indicar o produto aos nossos clientes

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: Less than 6 months

Frequency of use: Weekly

Likelihood to recommend

10/10

Recommendations to others considering Quip

Não

Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more