App comparison

Add up to 4 apps below to see how they compare. You can also use the "Compare" buttons while browsing.

Quip Logo

Quip

Docs, tasks, & spreadsheet collaboration with built-in chat

(41)

GetApp offers objective, independent research and verified user reviews. We may earn a referral fee when you visit a vendor through our links. Learn more

Quip Reviews

Overall rating

4.4

/5

199

Rating criteria

  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8.1/10

Reviews by rating

Pros and cons

Quip has great integration, it's a great platform for project management and customer service is great.
Quip is a great tool to use for your team when quickly brainstorming and jotting down ideas. It strips itself of unnecessary formatting/UI options and provides you a clean slate to work smarter.
Beautiful UI design and user friendly. Import export functionalities are really good.
The only small complaint I have is that the text formatting controls are a bit limited. The other problem is how Quip doesn't work well with PDF's.
There is often latency issues that we run and some of the syncs are not done properly. It has some problem with commenting.
Some of the features can be hard to locate when switching over from other comparable platforms. Other than that there isn't too much to complain about.
Filter reviews by

Overall rating


Company size


Industry


Time used


199 reviews

Recommended

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Chris T.

Principal Content Strategist

Hospital & Health Care, 51-200 employees

Review source

Overall Rating

The idea is a great one (the execution is another story...)

Reviewed 2 years ago

Transcript

Chris: Hi, I'm Chris. I'm a Content Strategist. I give Quip three out of five. For more reviews like...

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Jakob B.

International Development Manager

Sports, 11-50 employees

Review source

Overall Rating

Google Docs on Steroids

Reviewed 3 years ago

Transcript

Jake: Hi, I'm Jake. I'm a senior manager at an events company, and I give Quip four out of five stars....

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Sam W.

Pharmaceuticals, 5,001-10,000 employees

Used daily for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Perfect for small team word or excel collaboration

Reviewed 7 years ago

Quip is Perfect for small team, if your team need on time word or excel collaboration, the UI is beautiful and easy for use, and for small teams, it's totally free.

Pros

Best choice for word collaboration.

Cons

Optimization need for Chinese doc editing, especially when Chinese docs output to PDF files

AR
AvatarImg

Verified reviewer

Computer Software, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

A fantastic collaboration tool for medium to large sized teams

Reviewed 2 years ago

Overall my experience has been very positive. Using quip makes the process of writing and sharing documentation a lot more painless and enjoyable. The sleek and responsive UI garners a much better feeling when using the product over others such as the Google suite. It's also fairly functional and I didn't feel like it was lacking any features that I needed.

Pros

The ability to easily create and share different types of files such as documents, presentations, spreadsheets etc. and then collaborate on them with the team. The UI feels incredibly smooth and responsive and just feels pleasant to use. The preset formatting options makes life a lot easier when writing up larger documents as it makes documentation pleasant to look at. Able to export documents into their appropriate formats for local download if necessary. Finally, the fact that quip maintains a record of all changes, allowing you to go back to previous states is tremendously useful in case of mistakes etc.

Cons

It would be nice if in addition to having preset formatting options, we had control over being able to completely customize formatting. Better control over editing photos that have been pasted into a document in quip would also be better. Currently, you cannot completely control the size or position. It would be better if I could place an image whereever I wanted and size it however I liked instead of in its current state where I can only place it in specific quadrants in the content body.

lm
AvatarImg

leslie m.

Law Enforcement, 501-1,000 employees

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend2/10

Share this review:

Why, Why and Why?

Reviewed 5 years ago

I am continuously asking 'why does it do that'? The UI does not behave as expected, it is inconsistent and much of what I produce is achieved through trial-and-error (admittedly, I have not had training in Quip, maybe a training course might help to explain some of my Whys). Examples: Selecting text bottom up produces a different result to selecting text from the top down. Only 1 comment per sentence,...

Pros

Short learning curve. Easy to enter text and pictures. Keeps a history of changes. Organize content by folders. You can chat!

Cons

Very few features. UI is missing standard functionality. So much wasted white-space. Difficult to navigate and organize because there is no folder structure view. Chat feature does not appear to be related to Quip. (If I want to chat in Quip, I want it to be about specific content, not about the weather or some other totally unrelated topic.)

JK
AvatarImg

Jana K.

Retail, 10,001+ employees

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Quip as a great collaboration and organizing tool

Reviewed 3 years ago

I enjoy working with Quip as it is very easy to use and it has a lot of features and tools not only for time management, project planning it is also very helpful for online collaboration.

Pros

Quip is very easy to use and navigate within the software. Basically, it offers you a never-ending list for your notes (very similar to OneNote for example). You can style these notes with basic formatting similar to MS Word: underline and strikethrough words, make them bold, or change them into italics. You can also choose the size of the words but this is a bit limited. The best thing about Quip...

Cons

The text you are writing is always centered way too much on the page meaning there will be a lot of unused space around your text.

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Jeffry T.

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

Quip is my one app to create, organize, and collaborate in almost all kinds of documents.

Reviewed 6 years ago
Pros

It's very easy to collaborate on a document. You just add people to it. All the changes are logged so you can see all the things that happen to your document. You can also create all kinds of documents on Quip, from the everyday text document and spreadsheet to the specific kanban board and project tracker (with a little help from Live apps).

Cons

The app lacks the ability to add tags - which will be very helpful to further organize the documents. It also doesn't hurt to add the font-customization feature so that users can set the look and feel of the working environment to their liking.

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Faiyaz T.

Design, 1-10 employees

Used daily for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

Cheap Solution for Team Collaboration

Reviewed a year ago

Overall experience was great. It was easy and smooth.

Pros

Quick Setup, easy interface, combines team messaging with collaborative document creation and editing tools, cheap plans compared to its competitors. Also supported by Zapier.

Cons

Limited API, limited storage on free accounts, interface could be more polished and not that much strong as other competitors.

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

EBIN E.

Human Resources, 11-50 employees

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

All in one platform to manage the entire documents and other tools in a single platform

Reviewed 5 years ago

We have increased the productivity of our employees and thus our core goal of high productivity is achieved.

Pros

We really like Quip the way it is built as the platform itself acts as a source to maintiain all the tools like docs, chat etc. in this single app itself. Quip is the best way to manage all the different tabs under one window. The major hike is with the single window system where all the needed plugins are added and can be managed. Quip is the one and only platform to simplify the user burden of maintaining multiple apps and multiple windows.

Cons

The UI is very hard to understand at the first time and for newcomers.

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Ifeoma O.

1,001-5,000 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Effective text editor.

Reviewed 6 years ago
Pros

Quip enable me collaborate on documents in real time with my colleagues.Unlike other document collaboration programs,I am able to chat in real time with my fellow collaborators about the document we are collaborating on.

Cons

While I am able to edit documents by myself offline.To collaboratively edit documents,I have to be online and this requires a stable internet connection.

CW
AvatarImg

Claude W.

Marketing and Advertising, 11-50 employees

Used weekly for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Great for team sharing and project management

Reviewed 7 years ago
Pros

Quip has great integration, it's a great platform for project management and customer service is great.

Cons

It doesn't have enough security from my point of view. The desktop app has no security at all and I think that they should change the way information within the app is accessed.

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Retno W.

Architecture & Planning, 1-10 employees

Used weekly for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

All in One Document Creator and Team Communication

Reviewed 5 years ago
Pros

Quip takes the concept of Slack one step further by combining team communication with document creator. And it's not just any document creator. Other than text document and spreadsheet, users can also create kanban board, calendar, to do list, and more.

Cons

I think Quip can do even better by upgrading the spreadsheet into a database. So, you can link the data in one document into another.

AR
AvatarImg

Verified reviewer

Internet, 501-1,000 employees

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Quip is fantastic collaboration tool

Reviewed 2 years ago

It was fantastic and very efficient to create and share files and add task owners with version control.

Pros

Ever added an excel sheet and image and even gifs in a document seamlessly? Use Quip and you will be blown away by the easy formatting options available in Quip.

Cons

I least liked that Quip was costly and that not sufficient font quality and UI was not appealing enough.

AR
AvatarImg

Verified reviewer

Human Resources, 201-500 employees

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Good Wiki Alternative

Reviewed 5 years ago

I really like Quip. Having used Confluence and various Wikis, I think this is about as good as it gets. There's room for improvement for sure, but 90% of the time it does what I want and I'm able to communicate what I want to colleagues.

Pros

- Good for documentation - It creates links to any part of the document for easy referencing - The WYSIWYG editor works pretty well - The keyboard shortcuts are good - Embedded spreadsheets are neat (though I don't find I use them that often) - Comment functionality really neat, including the ability to "resolve" comments. - Edit History works well

Cons

- I really hate how embedded images work. It's bordering on impossible to make it look how you want and you'll have to compromise on it looking sort of crappy - The search could use some help - The auto numbered or unordered list stuff is annoying as hell and takes some finagling to get around. If you have a "1." then an image, if you type "2." it'll change it into "1." because it thinks you're starting a new numbered list because of the image. Really annoying. - When I look at the Recently Updated list and click "Mark All As Read" why don't all of them become unread? This annoys me more than it should, but why don't they all get makred Read?!

JI
AvatarImg

Joby I.

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

Great way to collaborate

Reviewed 6 years ago
Pros

Very easy document creation that live updates to all users as you create them. No more messing around uploading and downloading documents. Documents have lots of options like spreadsheets tables charts, images and other apps that can be inserted into any doc. You can also manage folders and share them with specific groups of people, so you might have a folder for employees which has all your procedures on it and a separate knowledge base for customers. For free its hard to find a better product

Cons

I would like to see the ability to copy documents between different quip accounts. I'd also like to see direct connections to excel of numbers, to give some more power to some of the features

AR
AvatarImg

Verified reviewer

Sports, 11-50 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Google Docs on Steroids

Reviewed 6 years ago

We have rolled Quip out to multiple departments and teams over the past few years.

Pros

Continuing improvement in the feature set. The software was good when we started using it 2.5 years ago. However, the improvements continually made month after month have really made the product shine. We really get use out of the full index/searching capability.

Cons

A few basic things that would mimmic Excel functionality, like the ability to freeze columns on mobile, or hide rows/columns on both the desktop and mobile.

SM
AvatarImg

Sam M.

Education Management, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used daily for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend2/10

Share this review:

Quip User Revew

Reviewed 6 years ago

At the end of the day, I would suggest you look into using Google Docs over Quip as it seems to be another system that does not communicate with any other formats, and can be a very frustrating system as a user.

Pros

This software is great in theory - allows for teams to connect and share working documents with live updates. It is fairly straight forward to use, and allowing multiple users to read and edit the documents at the same time is helpful.

Cons

This software constantly updates - I have yet to open this software without there being a system update needed (and therefore a restart). Beyond that, you cannot export the documents built into quip into any other format (Excel being the most critical). Some of the tasks are far more difficult than they should be - even changing the font requires multiple click through menus.

RH
AvatarImg

Rebekah H.

Computer Software, 51-200 employees

Used weekly for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend4/10

Share this review:

Have a solid foundation or don’t use

Reviewed 2 years ago

Switching to confluence because it’s just too limited and chaotic for our companies use

Pros

I like the straightforward means of creating a document. It makes for a lot of sameness and alignment across different teams. I like the kaban feature

Cons

I find myself irritated when trying to change between bulleting and not bulleting. It tends to change my font. I don’t like that I can add bullets in a sheet/cell. Kaban is limited as are all the brainstorming features. Notifications often get lost. Can’t connect engineering tickets to documents in a good way. If your company doesn’t start with a solid and clear foundation in terms of documentation management, you’re screwed

AV
AvatarImg

Alvaro V.

Online Media, 5,001-10,000 employees

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

I would like the old Quip back!

Reviewed 6 years ago
Pros

Quip does a great job at being a very easy-to-use app when it comes to having collaborative documents to share for work. I like how different team members can contribute and leave their input simultaneously with other coworkers.

Cons

The new UI makes things and tools hard to find. With an extremely clean look where the color white is so predominant, buttons are difficult to see and getting your work done may be more difficult.

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Victoria M.

Information Technology and Services, 11-50 employees

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

Great

Reviewed a year ago
Pros

The overall design of Quip is great and it allows for easy collaboration. We have used Quip together with Trello to allow for document sharing, as well as task management. With this tool, it's so easy to check for task progress online.

Cons

Quip failed to work on my Chrome Chromebook (desktop) so I had to look for other options.

KC
AvatarImg

Kelly C.

Information Technology and Services, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Very Customizable!

Reviewed 5 years ago
Pros

I like how you can add a spreadsheet or a check list to a document. It's very customizable and the functionality to create it all is easy to use.

Cons

Creating a spreadsheet into Quip is not the best. I feel like there is always a delay or a "lag" when editing or dragging cells. It's not the best option to use when creating a spreadsheet. Might stick to Excel for that part.

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Raegan F.

Used weekly for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend6/10

Share this review:

Nice but pricey.

Reviewed 6 years ago
Pros

Group chats and file sharing are a lifesaver. No one likes group texts, they're annoying and don't carry over well between mobile platforms. With Quip, we can share a group chat that isn't annoying. File sharing helps when people are out of the office. We're always on the go and being able to send things back and forth without it getting lost in email is wonderful. Getting everyone together for meetings is almost always impossible with our crazy schedules and we never manage to pass the info around to everyone. This way we can send it out to everyone and know it was received. The to-do list function helps keep me organized.

Cons

The price. At some point you start wondering is it really worth the price of every additional app and software you need. We have 20 something people, that adds up real quick. Much more cost effective for a smaller team.

AB
AvatarImg

Andrew B.

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

Great product for collaboration

Reviewed 6 years ago
Pros

It is great how you are able to work on the same doc at the same time. I really appreciate the collaboration tools it offers

Cons

There are alerts that get generated every time a change is made - the only way to turn these alerts off is for each user to manually go in and do it themselves. They should have the alerts function at the document level

AR
AvatarImg

Verified reviewer

Computer Software, 51-200 employees

Used daily for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

I built a custom reporting tool without being a programmer.

Reviewed 6 years ago

I was up to produce a highly functional spreadsheet to use as a reporting tool for my upstream management.

Pros

The interface is clean and user-friendly. A novice can create a robust reporting tool for your internal use in less than a week.

Cons

The embedded spreadsheet application has many advanced features. The Quip spreadsheet has more bells and whistles than I could figure out in one sitting. Quip's tutorals and customer service staff guided and coached me through the rough spots.

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Cole G.

Business Supplies and Equipment, 51-200 employees

Used daily for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

Quip works great at first..

Reviewed 5 years ago

We're still using Quip. But if you're not careful to make sure it's well organized, there can be communication problems.

Pros

Quip is free/inexpensive. And it's easy to add people, so collaboration is a breeze.

Cons

When too many projects are added to Quip, it gets quite confusing. Especially if you have different users with different access levels. Suddenly you have 3 folders with nearly identical content, and you never know which one to update.

JC
AvatarImg

Jeff C.

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Great product, love the simplicity

Reviewed 6 years ago
Pros

Simplicity, easy to use. Export to PDF is a function we use a lot. Also a big fan of the various keyboard short cuts.

Cons

Customizing text and some docs. Would love a few additional templates...but no huge complaints that hinder our productivity.

rh
AvatarImg

robert h.

Computer Software, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used weekly for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend6/10

Share this review:

decent document collaboration and management tool

Reviewed 4 years ago

We are able to manage multiple projects and team documents and have an easy way to share and control this info.

Pros

it allows you to share team documents with multiple people editing them in real time. It tracks changes as well as who made them. You can organize the documents in a way that make sense for your team. You can access via a web browser or the standalone app.

Cons

The interface is a little clunky sometimes. Also double clicking on folders which is the natural behavior ends up passing the second click onto whatever is directly under the folder.