App comparison

Add up to 4 apps below to see how they compare. You can also use the "Compare" buttons while browsing.

GetApp offers objective, independent research and verified user reviews. We may earn a referral fee when you visit a vendor through our links. Learn more

SpiraTeam Reviews

Overall rating

4.2

/5

98

Rating criteria

  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8.63/10

Reviews by rating

Pros and cons

This suite is just as good, if not better than IBM's or HP's suites. I've now worked with all three and can easily recommend this for all but the most complex and complicated organizations.
I am very happy using this tool and pleased with the customer service quick responses. However, here are some of the improvements and enhancement suggestions.
Excellent company to do business with in all aspects. Outstanding Sales, Service, and Product.
Too bad it does not have copy features for workflows etc from 1 project to another.
Very occasionally can be slow, for no apparent reason. Validation against AD can be difficult to setup.
Misunderstanding the designed use compared to their personal opinion.
Filter reviews by

Overall rating


Company size


Industry


Time used


98 reviews

Recommended

KD
AvatarImg

Kevin D.

Food Production, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Great product for managing software testing at a great price.

Reviewed 7 years ago

SpiraTeam has been a great tool for meeting our Software Quality Testing goals. We use Planning to track our business requirements and trace them to our test cases. We use the Testing section to capture all our test cases and record our test runs. We have started to use the Rapise Test Automation Tool to integrate with SpiraTeam and run our test automation scripts. We use Tracking to document all our test failures and track incidents for our projects. The Dashboard and Reporting sections have been valuable in communicating test progress and results to our project teams. We have been very pleased with the tools use and performance.

Pros

All the functionality needed for our Software Quality Testing goals at a great price.

Cons

Reporting could be easier to manage and sorting columns by "not" would be valuable - ex. Status = "not" Accepted for Requirements.

AD
AvatarImg

Ambrish D.

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Its an awesome prodect from Inflectra for overall project management . Customer support is excellent

Reviewed 6 years ago
Pros

Nice features,integration with most of the automation tools,ease of navigation,easy to understand UI,tracking of tasks,version control,access as per roles,easy tracking of all artifacts and easy to understand the mappings with them.

Cons

Reporting can be much better.Sometimes some formats throw error while reporting,mostly detailed incident reports fail while attaching images other than jpeg formats.

CW
AvatarImg

Christine W.

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

I don't know what you mean

Reviewed 14 years ago

Gather project mgmt design specs to your program and you will have a killer app---with integration between project management, bug tracking, and QA.

Pros

Integration with bug tracking and testing.

Cons

It was slow. Clunky interface. You seriously need to consult an agile expert, and implement better project management capability. Need person based detail, assign two engineers to one task, dashboard where you can choose multiple reports for multiple projects display, group tasks under user story/spec--heirarchy, input hours worked per day (auto accumulation instead of manual), and hours left to do estimate, needs better reporting for project managers, drag and drop tasks to iterations, drag and drop work order (your priority field is REALLY criticality---priority is work order. Progress bar should update automatically with hours worked over hours estimated.

Vendor response

We are aware of some of the additional features such as time tracking and enhanced personnel resource tracking that are already planned for future versions. The ability to drag and drop tasks to iterations does exist (we worked with Christine to show her that feature) and the % complete is deliberately not associated to # hours expended as that is a misleading metric if a task was under-estimated to begin with.

BG
AvatarImg

Boris G.

Computer & Network Security, 51-200 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

SpiraTeam, great potentials, good feature set and excellent support team

Reviewed 7 years ago

I believe the fact that I bringing with me the SpiraTeam to the third company I am working for, speaks for itself. In my current company, I was able to replace Jenkins and TestRail with the SpiraTeam. Eliminating an extra tool is always great news for the companies, thank you SpiraTeam!

Pros

Great variety of plugins

Cons

Limitations for some integrations, Jenkins will be a good example for that.

Vendor response

Thanks Boris, we have the page rendering speed, firmly in our sights for the next version.

NG
AvatarImg

Neethu G.

Hospital & Health Care, 11-50 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Great product for the Quality Team

Reviewed 3 years ago
Pros

I have been using this product for almost 10years for my quality team. I really like the product; it is very easy to use, very easy to track team's performance , easy to do requirement traceability ,easy to assign tasks for the team. Overall a great product.

Cons

I am satisfied with the features I am using.

DT
AvatarImg

Don T.

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

High Functionality, Low Price & Responsive Support - It's a Winner!

Reviewed 14 years ago

Highly recommended. Cannot be beaten for functionality and support at the price point. And I've looked at many, with over 10 years experience with the big boys !!! Throw away those Word documents and Excel spreadsheets. At this price you can afford this top class software. You'll wonder why you made do with anything less!! And there is a free 30 day trial. That's how we got hooked.

Pros

Functionality, Price and Support. What more do you need in a Test Management Tool? And it has integration with other tools and test automation. SpiraTeam was trialled over three major projects and was enthusiastically accepted by both the IT group and the Business Areas doing UAT with absolutely minimal training. SpiraTeam provides a high level of functionality at an extremely affordable price point....

Cons

Oracle support (but it is on the way). Greater email support ( such as broadcast notification to all SpiraTeam users)- but that is on the way too.

D
AvatarImg

Doug

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

SpiraTeam an easy implementation and Great Customer Support

Reviewed 10 years ago

As a QA Manager I've worked with many defect tracking systems and ALM tools including TFS and HP QC\ALM. SpiraTeam is quick to implement and easy to work with. The key is mapping out your hierarchy and workflows for the project or all your projects if you're creating a template. This makes creating future projects a snap. The ease and flexibility of creating a custom Issue workflow was also key...

Pros

Easy and Quick Implementation Ease of use througout Pricing Good overall functionality across the board for all SDLC Artifacts, not just Defect Tracking Integration to third party software Great Customer Support Importing of artifacts is easy

Cons

Limited flexibility of controlling location of the fields on each screen Reports are a bit cumbersome Making Global Changes that would impact multiple projects in progress Linking Artifacts across projects for cross functionality

LG
AvatarImg

Lawrence G.

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

Great feature set at any price - yet at the best price!

Reviewed 14 years ago

SpiraTeam from Inflectra was inexpensive enough for us to use when our QA efforts were first launching as well as feature rich enough now that we have dozens of testers, analysts, and developers involved. We plan to bring on a test automation tool next year (QuickTest Pro, SmarteScript, or TestComplete) and SpiraTeam came with the hooks built in. In fact, SpiraTeam has a number of extra features built...

Pros

SpiraTeam is an incredible value. Its feature set rivals competitors that are literally 10 times the cost. It has provided all the test case management that we need & the sales/support team has been immediately responsive to every question we've had.

Cons

The only challenge we've had with SpiraTeam is the "team" part. It isn't quite as graceful as we'd like for using a team of testers to execute tests. They came up with a solution so it's not a show stopper but I hope it improves with the next release.

WK
AvatarImg

Walter K.

Military, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used weekly for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

SpiraTeam Review

Reviewed 7 years ago

I am an engineering contractor performing both SW development and SW qa work. I have convinced my last 3 employers to use Spirateam to help with project management and automation testing.

Pros

1) great value for the money 2) flexibility 3) can help track all aspects of a project

Cons

I am still on version 4, so it may be that some of these are handled by v5 1) not tied in well enough with build systems 2) no test scheduling support supplied for linux systems 3) no simple way to tell which automated hosts are currently being used for automated testing. Should be some GUI screen that provides a single look at whats being scheduled and to what host.

JD
AvatarImg

John D.

Health, Wellness and Fitness, 10,001+ employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Great value and great support

Reviewed 7 years ago
Pros

Feature set for the price compared to competing products. Flexible licensing. Very good support from the company.

Cons

Very occasionally can be slow, for no apparent reason. Validation against AD can be difficult to setup.

G
AvatarImg

Galina

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

Easy to use ALM tool at an affordable price

Reviewed 11 years ago

We’ve been using SpiraTeam for test management for almost a year and already implemented 2 projects with it. User experience is great, since SpiraTeam is a lightweight tool and we hadn’t had any experience with such a tool before adopting SpiraTeam. The most value it adds to our test management process and to the company in general is that all test cases and test results are stored in a single repository,...

Pros

No pros were added to this review

Cons

No cons were added to this review

wm
AvatarImg

waleed m.

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

Good web based tool

Reviewed 14 years ago

VERY good for its price !

Pros

Very good clean work . Having planing + test cases tracking + issue tracking in one integrated solution is great. It worth every penny of its price.

Cons

Requirements ,and Releases features are fair. Test Cases and Runs features are very good. Incidents features are good. Tasks features are only basic. Some suggestions:- 1-Need to enable multiple resources assignment for tasks. 2-It will be great to submit time in a weekly time sheet view. with resource tasks as rows and days as columns. 3- It will be nice to enable the user to choose a distinct color for each status in the incidents workflow definition. so he/she can easily recognize it in the grid. 4- In the Requirement screens, it will be nice to make the colored inductors for testing and tasks "click-able" linking to the corresponding test cases or tasks

JV
AvatarImg

Julien V.

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

Complete, flexible and intelligent software for managing entire software development life cycle

Reviewed 13 years ago

Strongly recommend it, it provides much more functionality than expected, and the support team is awesome!

Pros

- Allows to manage the entire life cycle of software, from requirements to test cases and bugs - The price is much inferior than other similar products (HP Quality center) - Allows to manage release numbers, schedule and assign tasks - Support team really nice and reactive - Many update patchs, product is constantly evolving - Possibility of defining custom workflows for incidents

Cons

- A bit slow sometimes, maybe because we have installed it on our company server - The associations between requirements, test cases, incidents, and code version could be easier to use - Some difficulties to attach big files

PM
AvatarImg

Peter M.

Information Technology and Services, self-employed

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

My contacts with Inflectra can only be reviewed at 5-star at the moment

Reviewed 7 years ago

A very good tool for my QA skill set

Pros

Integration of all tools, open interfaces, online access from anywhere => to showcase example business cases to my customers, ease of use,

Cons

It would be good to have the possibility to create own reports, that can be used as official QA-Reports... every customer has his own QA-Reporting requirements (...but maybe I haven't found it yet...)

RW
AvatarImg

Russell W.

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

WASTE OF TIME AND WORSE, "MONEY"

Reviewed 10 years ago

I can expect better from a open source project, and that would be free. This is quite literally the most dysfunctional piece of software that I have ever had to deal with. API is buggy, bulky, and non-intuitive. Copy then paste is broken Custom properties are very limited no reporting tools to search test runs based off of custom properties Vs permutations of properties.. etc..... etc. Your better off implementing your own MySQL database with it's own web front end.

Pros

No pros were added to this review

Cons

No cons were added to this review

Vendor response

We're sorry that Russell doesn't like SpiraTeam, however we're surprised by his comments because his company has been using it for the past 4 years and renewed it as recently as 3 days ago (January 4th, 2014). We recommend customers take a trial version and try it out for themselves...

GS
AvatarImg

Greg S.

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

SpiraTeam is a Feature-Rich Product with Incredible Technical Support

Reviewed 14 years ago

I would absolutely recommend the product to others who are looking for a easy to use, feature-rich, well-supported, and low-cost solution. [Note: I can act as a referral on my own accord, but cannot endorse any product on behalf of SAIC.]

Pros

- Easy to install and use. Out of the box, the package just works, no hassles. - Documentation is *extremely* well done, in all areas: Comprehensiveness, organization, layout, technical content, language and grammar, clarity. - Technical support is incredibly responsive and helpful; extremely knowledgable; and goes above and beyond what is required.

Cons

I cannot think of any cons.

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Jim R.

Information Technology and Services,

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

Best Value Alternative to the Big Bloated Beasts

Reviewed 9 years ago

This is a great suite for managing the application development life cycle. Very competitive in features and functions. This suite is just as good, if not better than IBM's or HP's suites. I've now worked with all three and can easily recommend this for all but the most complex and complicated organizations. I'm using the SaaS version and it works great. Gartner positions this in the niche-players section of its magic quadrant when it should be in the Leaders section, far above and to the right of the others!

Pros

Functionality Reasonable Documentation Customer Service Pricing

Cons

None discovered yet

js
AvatarImg

jus s.

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

Excellent Value

Reviewed 13 years ago

Our web search found a large spectrum of requirements traceability tools from do-it-yourself spreadsheet templates to enterprise class installations that were far out of our price range. SpiraTeam was a great find in that it exceeded our needs and was very affordable offering great value. It's quickly become the focal point of our project implementation activities.

Pros

- Affordable - Ease of installation - Has all the functionality we were looking for, primaily reguirements traceability and testing.

Cons

- had a bit of difficulty with JIRA sync but have since decided not to integrate the two.

BG
AvatarImg

Boris G.

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

SpiraTeam

Reviewed 9 years ago

Pros: Great integration story with variety of third party tools. Strong customization capabilities Availability of all key components Cons: Reports don't have enough graphical representations. Limited and not very intuitive customization of the reports. Some painful flows in the integration with very popular tool on the market: Jira.

Pros

No pros were added to this review

Cons

No cons were added to this review

Vendor response

Thanks for the feedback, we are aware of the JIRA integration piece and we are going to be releasing a direct cloud connect option in the very near future for customers where both tools are cloud-based.

CL
AvatarImg

Christian L.

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

As a small organizatio but with a multi million dollars software project to manage, we were looking

Reviewed 15 years ago

As a small organizatio but with a multi million dollars software project to manage, we were looking for an affordable solution in order to manage our requirements, define and follow-up test plans. We had also to integrate it with Jira, the bug tracking software used by our subcontractor. We have been very satisfied with SpiraTeam: easy to implement, easy to use, well documented. Inflectra delivers a very fast and impressive support, even to a French customer !

Pros

Price Functionalities Outstanding support

Cons

Some functionalities could be added but SpiraTeam is definitevely worth its price

OR
AvatarImg

Obaidur R.

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

Can't beat the awesome customer support

Reviewed 12 years ago

i would highly recommend this product as QA/ requirement management tool.

Pros

Inflectra customer support team provides the best customer support in the software industry. It is simply uncompareable. Can't thank Mike and Adam enoguh for their support. The team is very rich in knowledge and can answer or solve any problem that i come accross.

Cons

Sometime upgrade and patch installation is bit confusing.

NP
AvatarImg

Neil P.

Computer Software, 1-10 employees

Used monthly for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Flexibility

Reviewed 4 years ago

Good support. Flexibility excellent. We are supporting some clients in their implementation.

Pros

You are able to configure almost anything. This allowed us to generate reports and screens appropriate to two clients.

Cons

Some names of fields seem contrived and not everything is in the expected place. But these will be transient problems.

JR
AvatarImg

Jagatha R.

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

Spira Team Review

Reviewed 14 years ago

I would strongly recommend this product.

Pros

This seems to be one tool that could replace several different tools that we have. Also, this is one centralized location for various teams to look into the status of the projects.

Cons

I have some questions. Once I figure out if the tool can do that or not, I might be able to answer this better.

FR
AvatarImg

Fermin R.

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

Outstanding Software and Support

Reviewed 11 years ago

Would recommend to other organizations

Pros

Easy to deploy and use. The benefits of having an importer from quality center to spira team makes it easier to bring in all of your projects.

Cons

Make it FIPS compliant and you can attain a greater government audience

NK
AvatarImg

Neeraj K.

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

Very good keep up the great work you guys are doing.

Reviewed 15 years ago

Very good keep up the great work you guys are doing including development team, customer support(Adam stand out in his response) very positive team.

Pros

You are have a good customer support which really speaks a volume about your commitment toward product.

Cons

If i find one let you know.