ChangeGear Service Desk Reviews

ChangeGear Service Desk

Cloud based solution to track & control IT services

3.97/5 (49 reviews)

David Gentry

Excellent Customer Service Throughout The Entire Process Of Implementing ChangeGear!

Used daily for 1-2 years
Reviewed 2017-12-20
Review Source: Capterra

Our Change Management process was over-hauled and we now have the tools in place to track/manage our changes. End Users now have a knowledge base they can access to assist in resolving their own issues. The email notification and rules within the Email Connector allow tickets to be worked/processed/closed all through email responses. The use of the Service Catalog allows the End User to enter tickets and decide from a list of our services what they actually need to be able to efficiently do their jobs.

Pros
Everything. ChangeGear has made an immediate impact in our facility by allowing us to create relationships between different ticket types, engage with the End User via Self Service/Surveys and has allowed us to enhance our Change Management process. We now have a Service Catalog that details our services and is published to our Customers. The ability to customize the ChangeGear application to meet our environment made the implementation process very smooth. The Sales team did a great job in meeting our financial needs as well as facilitating a smooth transition to the implementation team. The implementation team was quick to answer questions and ensure our initial setup/installment was flawless. The Professional Services Team has been informative and patient while configuring the application and teaching our technical lead. The Support Team has been courteous and diligent in making sure any issue is resolved quickly. Access to their Self Service Portal provides a multitude of knowledge base articles that allows me as a customer to resolve many of our issues by myself.

Cons
There are no error messages when two technicians are in the same ticket trying to update the ticket. Sometimes you cannot find exactly what you are looking for in their Knowledge Base but a submitting a ticket to their support team will get you the answers you need to any issue you might encounter. The user manual and administrator manual can lack information; however, what you don't find there you can find in MySunviewSoftware Support KB articles. The manuals need the screenshots updated as well.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 10/10

Minimize review


ChangeGear Service Desk

Cloud based solution to track & control IT services

Charles Rossi

Daily User Review

Used daily for 1-2 years
Reviewed 2019-03-29
Review Source: Capterra

Overall, we are extremely pleased with the software. The support staff and professional services are always on top of their game. When there is a problem, follow-up is quick and resolution comes shortly afterwards. Highly professional across the board. If you meet them at a conference, they are pleasant to work with on your issues and always open to suggestions. It's nice to know that there is a good team behind the product.

Pros
There is plenty out-of-the-box forms that follow ITIL standards which made it helpful for our organization to jump start into it. The simple end-user front-end, the Self Service Portal, makes users feel comfortable with entering requests without the need to look over complicated. We have had no complaints from our end users about the product. It is very "easy on the eyes" with a clear and precise web interface for our service desk technicians. The knowledge base along with the smart technology makes it easy for technicians to find resolutions much quicker than in the past.

Cons
Customization can be a challenge. Creating forms is rather clumsy and if you make a mistake, it takes some time to correct it. Updating from one version to another is also challenging since it is an update in place and not a migration. There is a roadmap where this will be updated in a future release of ChangeGear.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 9/10

Minimize review


ChangeGear Service Desk

Cloud based solution to track & control IT services

Ben Warner

ChangeGear - Great Product Delivered by a Great Company

Used daily for 1-2 years
Reviewed 2016-10-10
Review Source: Capterra

My company has been using ChangeGear for approximately two years. We love the product's ease of use, administration and feature sets. The initial price tag was VERY competitive. We found that the product can deliver Enterprise level capabilities at the price point of a typical SMB product. The support of the product has been great when we have to use it (which is almost never). They deliver the product in many forms including Public cloud, Hybrid or on-premise. SunView is highly committed to product development as evidenced by the latest features inherent to ChangeGear v7. Many would consider them a visionary or leading-edge company in the ITSM industry. SunView is also easy to do business with and you will be treated like a family member. Go just buy it. You won't look back.

Pros
Ease of use (for end-users and agents/admins alike) Ease of administration Feature sets Flexibilty of installation (Cloud, Hybrid, On-Premise) Pricing Ease of configuration

Cons
Remote manageability of certain features on full Public Cloud instance (requiring SunView support to interact)

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 10/10

Minimize review


ChangeGear Service Desk

Cloud based solution to track & control IT services

Brandon Wyen

Easy to manage a manipulate

Used daily for 2+ years
Reviewed 2019-03-29
Review Source: Capterra

We came from a paper change process before but change gear allowed us to move to digital approvals with an audit trail and a centralized place to store evidence for every change that takes place. Overall, from approval to completion the time it takes is nothing like it was before. We get results instantly.

Pros
I can configure everything in the change management system from the GUI to the backend workflows. Change gear is by far one of the most stable out of the box experiences i have come across.

Cons
The reporting could be a little more detailed out of the box to make compliance easier to manage. although Sunview provided us with a SSRS plugin to give us the details we need to meet our compliance requirements.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 10/10

Minimize review


ChangeGear Service Desk

Cloud based solution to track & control IT services

Jonathan Allen

ChangeGear Product Review

Used daily for 2+ years
Reviewed 2019-04-26
Review Source: Capterra

We use ChangeGear for the primarily application within our Business Technology group (IR, RFC, CMDB). Since having a stable and very utilized product within BT, we have started to development the application for various other business units around the organization. Overall, ChangeGear has been a great tool for NWE and we plan on growing the use of the application in the future.

Pros
Great, easy to use tool that provides customization capabilities to fit almost any business need.

Cons
Transport structure and method between environments (DEV, TST, PRD). OID's and other configuration seem to get misaligned which causes the testing team to always have to perform thorough testing, even with the most simple changes.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 8/10

Minimize review


ChangeGear Service Desk

Cloud based solution to track & control IT services

Pam Thomas

We would have insisted on initial vendor set-up, with one-on-one training for application management

Used daily for 2+ years
Reviewed 2018-01-16
Review Source: Capterra

Customer email notification and trending to forecast needs and change business processes. It also tracks what customers need more help with which has resulted in projecting future expectations.

Pros
We enjoy the application flexibility to make changes that suit our business needs and processes and not being held to limitations due to functionality.

Cons
What we like least about the software is the need for customization's that would require Professional Services. If resources are out there, they should probably be made available to the customers to follow and implement on their own. It would be nice to include better reporting capabilities and functionality.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 9/10

Minimize review


ChangeGear Service Desk

Cloud based solution to track & control IT services

Safi Raza

Change Gear

Used daily for 2+ years
Reviewed 2019-02-06
Review Source: Capterra

I think software can be used effectively if configured in its full capacity. The customization is nice but requires a dedicated person which e do not have the resources for. I like the features but did not have time to learn how to make the best use of it.

Pros
ITIL format... that has came handy for us. Service Request to problem Solving to RFC part is nice. Customization is nice as well.

Cons
Learning curve.. It requires dedication and set up. Probably better to have the vendor set it up for you. Also software is latent so difficult to use in a high speed work environment.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features

Likelihood to recommend: 3/10

Minimize review


ChangeGear Service Desk

Cloud based solution to track & control IT services

Terese Kath

ChangeGear is a very user friendly tool that makes ITSM simple!

Used daily for 2+ years
Reviewed 2017-12-26
Review Source: Capterra

Pros
It has modules to accomplish just about everything you could ask for that are simple to use and understand! It fully integrates into your environment and provides tools for you to use to better manage everything from issues and service requests to knowledge and assets!

Cons
I would like to be able to import MS Word documents or PDF's for the knowledge base. It would also be great if it could integrate with the phone system so that when a user calls, a new ticket auto-populates with their information.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Minimize review


ChangeGear Service Desk

Cloud based solution to track & control IT services

Aaron Duncan

Flexible software that will meet your needs quickly

Used daily for 2+ years
Reviewed 2017-12-22
Review Source: Capterra

Tracking of all Incidents, Requests, Problems, and Changes in our environments is easy to track and report upon. I'm able to take requests from our business and turn out solutions quickly and efficiently.

Pros
The software is very flexible in what it can do, allowing us to meet business demands quickly and efficiently in an ever changing environment.

Cons
The automation for forms could be streamlined some more, but this appears to be an issue that will disappear, as with each release they're improving the automation.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 9/10

Minimize review


ChangeGear Service Desk

Cloud based solution to track & control IT services

Laetitia Neathery

Training Material and Cost

Used daily for 2+ years
Reviewed 2019-04-25
Review Source: Capterra

The task functionality needs improvements. For example, notes in task tickets get overwritten as the information get updated. Why? Tickets should keep all historical information.

Pros
Cost is very reasonable. It's is the most important determining factor to why we recommend ChangeGrear to our organization.

Cons
Training material for ChangeGear is not available on the internet. Compared to ServiceNow for example, their "how to" step by step instruction to all their modules is easily accessible on line.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 5/10

Minimize review


ChangeGear Service Desk

Cloud based solution to track & control IT services

Nicole Schapansky

Great Product and Great Customer Service

Used daily for 2+ years
Reviewed 2018-06-18
Review Source: Capterra

We are better able to manage our incidents, service requests and changes.

Pros
ChangeGear is easy to use and customize for our needs and anytime I have had to contact Customer Support I have gotten quick knowledgeable responses and resolutions to my issues. SunView listens to their customers suggestions and is continually working to improve the product.

Cons
There is not really anything that we dislike about the ChangeGear product or services provided by Sunview.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 9/10

Minimize review


ChangeGear Service Desk

Cloud based solution to track & control IT services

Anonymous

Our go to ITSM tool

Used daily for 2+ years
Reviewed 2017-12-28
Review Source: Capterra

We have been using it as our main ticketing system for Incidents and Service Requests and also using it for our Change Management tool. This has helped us streamline our business processes around ticketing system

Pros
Ease of configuration and flexibility of the product. New features that are added recently such as Task Spawning, Multiple Workflows, Intelli Search etc.

Cons
IIS needs resetting after changes made to forms and fields. May be they can do something that it would not require user to reset it.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 9/10

Minimize review


ChangeGear Service Desk

Cloud based solution to track & control IT services

Anonymous

ChangeGear for Change Management

Used monthly for 2+ years
Reviewed 2019-03-29
Review Source: Capterra

My experience with ChangeGear is probably considered as advanced. I have worked with the solution for years and have trained internal staff on how to properly use the solution for our change management needs. I would not consider myself as an expert with ChangeGear as I have been limited on the changes I would make to this solution. Such changes would require paid support for customizations and we were not in a position to travel down that path.

Pros
This software solution hits all of the marks in regard to product offering and meeting the needs of the business process. The solution has a wealth of functionality and can be easily tailored to fit any organizational business process as it relates to change management. It is very easy for the business to use while ensuring that it provided enough content to support an established change management process.

Cons
The least favorable aspect to this solution is its complexity. The complexity is enough to customize the solution to a wide range of needs for change management. However, the customization can be a tedious task that may desire for one to obtain more from the solution. And the solution can provide more is that is what you choose.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 9/10

Minimize review


ChangeGear Service Desk

Cloud based solution to track & control IT services

Anonymous

Change Gear - Please Don't Change

Used daily for 2+ years
Reviewed 2018-08-13
Review Source: Capterra

Change gear, although wasn't the prettiest, was essential to what our company required. Easy to use, appealing interface, fast. ChangeGear was loved by all because of it's functionality. I would say it was my favourite service management application.

Pros
Great functionality and ease of use. Simple to learn, simple to master Perfect for our environment Reminders for outstanding tickets

Cons
Could be confusing for new users. Not the best support

Rating breakdown

Ease of use
Features

Likelihood to recommend: 10/10

Minimize review


ChangeGear Service Desk

Cloud based solution to track & control IT services

Jean Clark

ChangeGear

Used daily for 2+ years
Reviewed 2019-04-01
Review Source: Capterra

Our overall experience with the software is great. The vendor is a valued business partner and is always making improvements and asking how they can be better.

Pros
The self service portal for our customers is very well received.

Cons
The version that we are currently on makes it difficult for Service Desk staff to know what is in their workload, but the next version of the software is changing this.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 9/10

Minimize review


ChangeGear Service Desk

Cloud based solution to track & control IT services

Tim Wold

Mitel Networks ChangeGear Deployment

Used daily for 2+ years
Reviewed 2019-09-13
Review Source: Capterra

Overall a very positive experience

Pros
Ease of use, both from an administrative and general usage perspective.

Cons
Documentation: Admin Guide and a few operational shortcomings

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 10/10

Minimize review


ChangeGear Service Desk

Cloud based solution to track & control IT services

Robert Comstock

Full Featured Product

Used daily for 6-12 months
Reviewed 2019-01-02
Review Source: Capterra

We purchased this software to better understand customer demand and to better document our internal change process. The software meet this goal, easily. Now we're using it so that customers can perform self-help and agents can document and learn solutions to standard problems.

Pros
The ChangeGear software is feature-rich with all the modules necessary to create an ITIL based service management process. Easy to configure ticket workflow with notifications. Customizable data entry screens. Customizable (everything in this system can be customized from the interface to the database) reports and dashboards.

Cons
The software interface is somewhat dated and hierarchical.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 8/10

Minimize review


ChangeGear Service Desk

Cloud based solution to track & control IT services

Tylene Cunning

ChangeGear in K12 Environment

Used daily for 2+ years
Reviewed 2019-06-28
Review Source: Capterra

Pros
It is very versatile and IF you know what you are doing, could handle just about any scenario.

Cons
Unless we have a lot of money for services, for a typical technology user, the software is very complex. K12 environments don't have the money or resources to get the most out of this software.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 6/10

Minimize review


ChangeGear Service Desk

Cloud based solution to track & control IT services

Laetitia Neathery

Functionality

Used daily for 2+ years
Reviewed 2019-12-05
Review Source: Capterra

Considering our budget constraints, ChangeGear is currently a great tool for our organization. We are exited about the new and improved service catalog module.

Pros
Compared to other ITSM tool, ChangeGear very cost-effective. The licensing model is flexible and can scale easily. We selected the combine both the single user and site license option and this work great for our It team of 300+ users. The platform aligns with the ITIL framework so integrating the tool with our ITIL processes (Change, Incident, Problem Management, Service Request fulfillment, etc ) did not require any customization.

Cons
The Task functionality can be improved. We are experiencing some barriers with reporting of tasks. The other challenge is that we can only apply 1 SLA to tickets ( for example, we can only apply the Response Time SLA OR Resolution Time to incident tickets. Not both)

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 6/10

Minimize review


ChangeGear Service Desk

Cloud based solution to track & control IT services

Tammy Burton

Houston Methodist Product Review - ChangeGear

Used daily for 2+ years
Reviewed 2019-03-29
Review Source: Capterra

Pros
There are many prebuilt workflows which follows ITIL standards which gives the customer a base to design according to their business needs.

Cons
The overall appearance of ChangeGear forms are dated. Would be nice if

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 10/10

Minimize review


ChangeGear Service Desk

Cloud based solution to track & control IT services

Brad Broskey

Very customizable and useful product.

Reviewed 2015-07-28
Review Source: Software Advice

Pros
I liked best that the vendor worked with us on suggestions on how to increase certain capabilities of the product. They also made migrating to this product very simple. I also liked how the vendor thought logically about the functionality of the product and how it would be used in real world scenarios.

Cons
I have not ran into what I consider what I like least about the product or vendor.

Rating breakdown

Ease of use
Features

Likelihood to recommend: 9/10

Minimize review


ChangeGear Service Desk

Cloud based solution to track & control IT services

Paula Crawford

ChangeGear Review

Used daily for 1-2 years
Reviewed 2019-04-01
Review Source: Capterra

Currently we are strictly using this as our IT Help Desk Ticket Management System.

Pros
The end users love this software. If you have a good programmer on your team, this product will do just about whatever you want.

Cons
Need someone that understands the "back-end" to program all your customizations. There is a lot of lag time when trying to enter a ticket; sluggish.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 8/10

Minimize review


ChangeGear Service Desk

Cloud based solution to track & control IT services

Anonymous

ChangeGear - it's good enough

Used daily for 2+ years
Reviewed 2019-04-25
Review Source: Capterra

Pros
Ease of use. Creating incident tickets is quick and intuitive.

Cons
Customer support. the only time I hear from my support contact is at renewal time.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 6/10

Minimize review


ChangeGear Service Desk

Cloud based solution to track & control IT services

Anonymous

Great Potential

Used occasionally for 1-2 years
Reviewed 2019-03-29
Review Source: Capterra

Our experience has not been positive, so far, but that is largely due to the combination of challenges presented by our non-typical environment and a lack of time/effort to make ChangeGear work. We haven't completely given up yet, because we see the potential.

Pros
ChangeGear provides Flexibility and Configurability in a package with a clear ITIL orientation. It seems to be a good value, considering the balance of sophistication and cost.

Cons
It is very challenging to implement in a non-Active Directory environment; although it can, in theory, work in a non-AD infrastructure, it is far from easy to make it work. The agent-less computer scanning is a nice feature in theory, but it can also be hard to use.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 6/10

Minimize review


ChangeGear Service Desk

Cloud based solution to track & control IT services

Jeff Sabin

Decent ITSM offering - LOTS of hidden *bugs* and kinks that need worked through

Used daily for 6-12 months
Reviewed 2019-04-02
Review Source: Capterra

We needed a new ITSM solution (Incident, change, release, etc).

Pros
It's very customizable which is nice. It's also easy to use once it's configured.

Cons
There are a lot of bugs and odd nuances with the product that is not mentioned up front. While we have had much of this acknowledged it still feels like a half baked product, or a software company that doesn't have enough people on staff to address things like they should be addressed.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 4/10

Minimize review


ChangeGear Service Desk

Cloud based solution to track & control IT services