Destiny One Reviews

Destiny One

Cloud-based student lifecycle management solution

4.44/5 (9 reviews)

Anonymous

Destiny One Review

Used daily for 2+ years
Reviewed 2019-09-11
Review Source: Capterra

We have a centralized system and database that is utilized by multiple campuses at various locations. A single repository for information that allows for online registration and integration of program information across multiple platforms is a something we did not have before.

Pros
The flexibility of the product to accommodate various use cases is important for a continuing education unit. Also, Destiny One has come a long way to provide vendor hosted users access to customization and configurations. This allows us to be agile and responsive to the customers needs.

Cons
Eastern time zone of the company headquarters can delay progress and response time. However, urgent issues are handled in a timely manner.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 10/10

Minimize review


Destiny One

Cloud-based student lifecycle management solution

Billie Boles

Destiny One Multi-Program Office Implementation

Used daily for 2+ years
Reviewed 2019-09-06
Review Source: Capterra

Overall, our experience has been positive. Destiny One Support is very responsive. Whether we have questions about how to perform a complex transaction, how to resolve a problem, or reporting a bug that needs to be fixed, we always receive a prompt response. If they can answer right away, the do so with explanations and screenshots. If they need to speak with a developer, they keep us posted on the status of our query. We also have the thank Destiny for providing the GROW site where we can offer suggestions for product improvements

Pros
Destiny One is the first Registration Software I've administered and supported. I found it relatively easy to learn and use. It was named OneCE when I started working with it and the help files weren't easy to understand. The help files have improved exponentially, and there is very little we can't find out for ourselves without having to turn to the Destiny One support team for assistance.

Cons
When we began to implement Multi-Program Office for other departments in the University the functionality seemed to be being created on the fly while we were preparing to implement. This meant that we had no experience with the new functionality, nor enough opportunity to test it in our test instance prior to implementation to production. One big flaw with Multi-Program use is that we aren't able to lock down functionality to Program Office for users which means administration personnel need to perform the manual entry for department heads by request to ensure they don't accidentally make changes to other Program Offices settings. For example: Workflow assignments, Enrolment Restrictions, Tuition profiles, etc. Setting up Workflow assignments and making changes is a long and arduous process as with each change, you're taken to the top of the screen and must scroll back down to where you were to add or remove an additional person. I estimate approximately 30 minutes of work for each Costing Unit. We have approximately 200 Costing Units and more to come as more faculties come on board. We also do not have the ability to print out or view the entire Configuration Map of our existing Configuration settings. Where reporting is concerned, we feel the developers don't really have a handle on what the requirements are to run programs or conferences. Perhaps to gather requirements, they should interview the faculties who are running these types of programs to ascertain needs.

Rating breakdown

Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 9/10

Minimize review


Destiny One

Cloud-based student lifecycle management solution

Andrew Chiang

Destiny One Review

Used daily for 2+ years
Reviewed 2019-09-16
Review Source: Capterra

Overall, our experience has been positive with Destiny One. The software platform replaces our aging systems and databases, and it provided much better stability versus old. The professional services team was easy to work with and enabled us to launch within a short time-frame. Their support is responsive, and was able to provide response promptly. However, I'd like to point out that extra features/modules is costly and it is challenging to commit to purchasing an optional license when we were unable to obtain trial license to complete business process modeling and feasibility testing.

Pros
With Destiny One we are able to consolidate multiple systems and databases into one centralized repository. Enabled simplified payment processing and reporting that meets our need. Good library of resources for end users. Automated workflows and tasks allows staff to stay on top of day to day operations.

Cons
The learning curve is steep for non-technical users. It requires lots of training and follow-up in order for staff to be comfortable using the software. The software doesn't fit our business out of the box and requires various costly customization to meet our business requirements and needs. The turn around for changes could take months to complete, which includes labels and minor configuration changes. Hot fixes for minor changes are not possible, and requires school to come up with a temporary solutions to mitigate impact. The administration of the software is challenging, particularly when there is no documentation on the configurable configurations, as well as, the mechanism for assigning workflows is time consuming and not user friendly.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 8/10

Minimize review


Destiny One

Cloud-based student lifecycle management solution

Cheryl Ball

Better over time

Used daily for 2+ years
Reviewed 2019-09-11
Review Source: Capterra

Overall, it works for me. I am a daily user and like to learn. However, for the not so computer savvy user, it is very complicated.

Pros
The ease of use for staff user compared to our last database system.

Cons
additional features cost more. Out of the box package was very limited and not customizable with out a fee.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 5/10

Minimize review


Destiny One

Cloud-based student lifecycle management solution

Chris Moir

Destiny OneCE Review

Used daily for 1-2 years
Reviewed 2019-09-12
Review Source: Capterra

Destiny One has significantly increased our on-line enrollment, we had 737 people register via Destiny One in August 2019 for non-credit courses, that is a 25% increase from last August 2018 when we had 589, which was at that time in it's first Fall registration cycle and was a 96% increase from the previous year when we were still using the Flex Registration software. Amazing!!!!

Pros
Destiny One has provided a user friendly on-line student experience for our non-credit, non- traditional students at Cuyahoga Community College. It is easy for our student demographics to navigate the registration process and has decreased the number of phone registration for our non credit courses.

Cons
Implementation of the software was time consuming and sometimes difficult based on the information provided by Destiny One. A dedicated project team has to be established in order to successfully launch the software.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 9/10

Minimize review


Destiny One

Cloud-based student lifecycle management solution

David Benson

Destiny One supporter

Used daily for 2+ years
Reviewed 2019-09-16
Review Source: Capterra

The customer and system support is great, the team running the destiny one system is knowledgable and approachable, and the product is consistently going in a direction that improves the impact and bang for buck we get for this SAAS product. I'm very happy with it!

Pros
This software was flexible enough to work for an incredibly varied array of courses/sections and conferences run by our institution. No other product I know of on the market today works for this array of use cases. My favorite thing about the product as a system administrator is the self-service customization, the system support we get from the vendor, and the integration packages.

Cons
Currently, we just get upgrades once every 3 or 4 months. In the agile/devops standards for SAAS providers, this isn't as competitive as other vendors on the market that provide more frequent updates.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 9/10

Minimize review


Destiny One

Cloud-based student lifecycle management solution

Carolyn Young

Continuing Education Software for the 21st Century

Used daily for 2+ years
Reviewed 2019-09-09
Review Source: Capterra

Destiny One had a significant impact on our department's efficiency and growth. The team that supported our project was outstanding.

Pros
Using Destiny One for student registration, records and reporting has improved the student experience for enrolling in our programs. The self-serve functionality, especially tracking a student's progress, is one example of the benefits. I use the reporting tools extensively for presenting data to senior leaders.

Cons
We offer credit programming and needed customizations to make it work for one of our program areas.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 10/10

Minimize review


Destiny One

Cloud-based student lifecycle management solution

Brandon Gregory

Strong software product for continuing education

Used daily for 2+ years
Reviewed 2019-09-11
Review Source: Capterra

Pros
Fairly easy student information system for continuing education units. Makes payment processing, reporting and tracking easy. Destiny Solutions is constantly making improvements and does a great job listening to customers.

Cons
This software requires quite a bit of technical, particularly to get a quality front-end website presence. Also, the product update cycle for fixes and major changes takes quite a long time.

Rating breakdown

Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 9/10

Minimize review


Destiny One

Cloud-based student lifecycle management solution

Robert Wensveen

Destiny One Software and Company Review

Used weekly for 2+ years
Reviewed 2019-09-12
Review Source: Capterra

Destiny is a responsive partner who respond quickly and professionally.

Pros
We like this software because it was specifically designed to support a continuing education/professional development operation.

Cons
It would be nice if there were a greater variety of web services and configuration points so customers can modify the product to support their unique markets and business processes.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 8/10

Minimize review


Destiny One

Cloud-based student lifecycle management solution