App comparison

Add up to 4 apps below to see how they compare. You can also use the "Compare" buttons while browsing.

Deltek Costpoint Logo

Deltek Costpoint

AI-enabled enterprise resource planning (ERP) software

see alternatives

(2)

Deltek Costpoint Reviews

Overall rating

4.0

/5

203

Rating criteria

  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7.78/10

Reviews by rating

Suggested alternatives

Pros and cons

I have been using Costpoint for a few years and it is a great tool. I would love to hear about applications that interact with CP for Purchasing and Subcontracts.
My review is from an administration standpoint. When I first started supporting this software, the support from Deltek was less than amazing.
Ease to select rows of data and export to excel and vice versa. Help information is great as well.
There is not a day that goes by that I am not pissed off at this software. It's 10:00 A.M and I have stopped working to come here and post about how awful cospoint is.
It reminds me of a slapped together MS Access database. The interface is awful, just awful.
Lack of direct integration of Time & Expense. Very expensive Deltek consulting, with a one-day (8-hour minimum charge).
Filter reviews by

Overall rating


Company size


Industry


Time used


203 reviews

Recommended

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

David M.

Government Administration, 201-500 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Work Smarter not Harder

Reviewed 6 years ago

The Costpoint enterprise suite allows a complete set of tools that can influence critical business decisions in a vertical business. What sets this software apart from others, is the tools available to customize the software using Extensibility.

Pros

ease of use and customization features

Cons

native application limitations out of the box.

KC
AvatarImg

Karen C.

Government Administration, 201-500 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

I have used Costpoint for 8 years. I have been able to learn a lot.

Reviewed 6 years ago

Reporting, payroll, versatility, project reporting and capture, labor capture

Pros

I love the versatility of this software. It does so much and we can pull a lot of different information. It's very detailed in most areas and we can hold notes as well. Since I work in payroll, I think that the people and payroll modules are most useful for me.

Cons

I really don't like that we can not accrue a non-cash fringe. We have asked and asked for this feature and it has never been considered. All our employees accrue fringe non-cash to use towards benefits. I also don't like the way the employee garnishments are set up. Every time there is a change to a garnishment (such as the amount in a child support order), I have to stop the garnishment and set up a new one in order to preserve any history. It can be confusing for anyone else looking at someone's file. Also, the note field is to small, doesn't hold enough information for the order (like children or custodial parents) that used to be included in Costpoint 6. I was disappointed when this was removed.

jb
AvatarImg

james b.

Aviation & Aerospace, 501-1,000 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

COSTPOINT IS LAZY AND STUPID

Reviewed 4 years ago

There is not a day that goes by that I am not pissed off at this software. It's 10:00 A.M and I have stopped working to come here and post about how awful cospoint is. Example: While creating a Purchase order costpoint tells me there are 10 PR's total for the PO. I continue to the PO and start pluggin in the information and realize there are only 9. What hapenened? Did I do something wrong? ...

Pros

There really isn't much that I like about costpoint except that it is an online database that can be accessed from the internet instead of being hosted on a server at the company. however this also limits it as well so I remain neutral on anything positive. Over several years of working with it my hatred of the software has grown to the point of me not seeing any thing really that good about it. It completes tasks sometimes.... which is unacceptable. it should complete them all the time.

Cons

You cannot work fast and have to save often because the program will get confused if you do too much at one time. It creates extra workload due to the time it takes to undo the problems that it created. program seems to be lazy and does tasks intermittently. When you click the save button it is like a gamble as to whether or not it will carry out the task. it will assign key tracking numbers to multiple people at the same time without the users knowing and they will have to back out all their data.

RD
AvatarImg

Robert D.

Aviation & Aerospace, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

This Software is a must have for any Gov't Contractor that wants to do business in this space

Reviewed 6 years ago
Pros

The application is very powerful and very flexible which allows you to set things up for your business as simply or as complex as you would like. The ability to enter everything only once and capture all the data needed to properly allocate all of your Fringe / Overhead / G&A or Material & Handling Cost Pools is critical to being able to prepare DCAA / DCMA compliant Invoices, DCAA Disclosure Statements and Incurred Cost Submissions. Every module that you add on automatically links with the existing Accounting data so no extra steps are needed to get different modules to talk to one another.

Cons

Not always easy to tell if or when a patch is needed to update a specific module. Don't really know anything is needed until you run into an error message. Sometimes it is hard to update or patch just the application that is giving you problems because fixes can cover more then one application.

VP
AvatarImg

Vicki P.

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

Costpoint is an extremely powerful project based accounting system

Reviewed 6 years ago
Pros

The flexibility it provides. With both private and public clients, we are required to provide invoices to clients in many different formats, and some project setups can be quite complicated. Costpoint allows us the flexibility we need to manage our projects effectively and also meet our client's needs. We also love the extensibility tool introduced with Costpoint 7 that has allowed us to customize the software in order to enforce many of our internal procedures and business rules.

Cons

Because of it's flexibility, it can be complicated, which leads to errors. We hear from our new users that systems they worked on previously provided more of a standard workflow that guided them through the project setup process. We realize this is very difficult to do with some many different project setup requirements, and we've tried to accomplish some of this through the extensibility tool.

NC
AvatarImg

Nabeel C.

Computer Software, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

CostPoint Review

Reviewed 5 years ago

Overall, if you are in the government contracting industry, CostPoint is as reliable as a software as any out there. With its wide acceptance across the industry, it is a extremely useful software to be familiar with.

Pros

CostPoint is an extremely powerful and a widely used accounting software. One of its best features is the ability to accommodate a diverse set of accounting and financial needs and the innate ability to run seamless interfaces with other Deltek products such as T&E and Cognos. It's relatively easy to use and can be picked up by most users quickly.

Cons

Costpoint lags behind its competitor in the innovation it offers it's users and customers. They software updates are infrequent and often do not result in any major updates and upgrades. There are also many areas of functionality within Costpoint that seem to be offer duplicity and could be improved.

SO
AvatarImg

Sandra O.

Military, 501-1,000 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend6/10

Share this review:

Costpoint from BRM viewpoint

Reviewed 3 years ago

Great software overall

Pros

Ease to learn and easy to use screen and download data

Cons

Incomplete error messages and missing edits.

HS
AvatarImg

Heather S.

Aviation & Aerospace, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

The system is very straight forward and easy to navigate.

Reviewed 6 years ago

It meets all my HR Technology needs.

Pros

From an HR standpoint, the system is very easy to use and well thought out. The reporting is easy to do for mandatory compliance. It makes our jobs easier. We just starting using the Talent Management last year for applicant tracking and onboarding. Once we go live with the integration from Talent Management to Costpoint, it will create efficiencies for HR and payroll departments.

Cons

Once some is entered and saved in someone's record. It can be hard to remove that person. There also seems to be a lot of hotfixes, but it does make the system better in the long run.

JH
AvatarImg

Jane H.

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

CP is good and user friendly

Reviewed 6 years ago
Pros

Costpoint offers government contractors unparalleled project management, accounting, labor, reporting and compliance features so you get the exact capability you need to increase efficiency and improve profitability. It was built specifically for government contractors and has been adopted by thousands of government contractors and earned the trust of federal agencies and their auditors.

Cons

System bug, system not stable. Take long time to get customer service back some time. Field names and connections to other fields are not readily apparent. Takes years to become fluent in the program.

HH
AvatarImg

Harlan H.

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

7.1.1 Admin disappointed with the constant updates but the end-users like it

Reviewed 6 years ago
Pros

Our end-users generally have zero complaints with the software. We use it for everything from purchasing and receiving to HR functions.

Cons

I'm not a fan of the new update model they have rolled out with 7.1.1. It seems there are constant updates and, unlike previous versions where you only installed the updates you needed to fix a particular issue, they now expect ALL updates to be installed. I realize they are trying to get away from the need for major revision upgrades by doing this but the load on the IT department is WAY more than it used to be for day-to-day operations.

NB
AvatarImg

Nastazija B.

Government Relations, 501-1,000 employees

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

Not a big fan of this program

Reviewed 2 years ago
Pros

Accessible (once you have your credentials) from any computer. Easy to track your hours worked and if they were approved or not. Also the feature of used/unused leave balance is really helpful.

Cons

If you are not assigned to a project for a while, the whole access needs to be reset by HR, which is completely unnecessary. It is a bit annoying that every time you put in your hours worked you have to save the changes otherwise if you sign out and sign back in from another device you have to start all over. If HR has not uploaded the correct project code - you can't put any hours in at all. If you need to make changes of the hours worked, it is a hassle, because it's throwing error messages all over.

WM
AvatarImg

William M.

Security and Investigations, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend5/10

Share this review:

Costpoint - A+ for DCAA compliance, a D for all else

Reviewed 6 years ago

Costpoint sets the standard for project accounting and indirect rate application and reporting. But Costpoint has none of the features that users love in other ERP systems, like drill down reports, modifiable reports, paperless processing, budget setup, easy bank reconciliations, etc. Users of Quickbooks, Dynamics and others will miss these features.

Pros

Project and indirect rate applicaton accounting & reporting

Cons

Much more expensive than comparable solutions. Extremely high lifecycle expense. You will buy this software every year with maintenance. And growing is expensive with employee based fees.

LK
AvatarImg

Laura K.

Research, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

User since 1999

Reviewed 6 years ago

From the initial setup till now a strong asset in the Project Setup and Billing Modules. I look forward to the continued enhancement in CostPoint and improvements that allow us to meet the DOD requirements.

Pros

Allows us to meet government requirements both in CLIN, ACRN and contract limitations.

Cons

Does not maintain Zero Invoices that are required by DCMA, The retroactive rate adjustments still need improvements to work in the system.

LR
AvatarImg

Luther R.

Government Relations, 5,001-10,000 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

Good tool for analytics. Mostly prebuilt reports help

Reviewed 5 years ago

I am in the bi team and reporting is easy. I was forecasting was as easy as other tools.

Pros

Search from any thing is easy. Reporting is easy. Integrated package helps save money. Subcontractor costs calculation - pools is integrated well.

Cons

Some of the joins in Congo's framework manager do not exist and we had to build again. When. The new release comes to market, we have to add them back.

LC
AvatarImg

Lisa C.

Information Technology and Services, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

An Accurate Way to Track Time

Reviewed 4 years ago

Easy capture of time to various charge codes and projects. Easy to navigate between indirect and direct charges.

Pros

Deltek is pretty intuitive and is a good way to capture your time at work. I like the breakdown of multiple charge codes and projects and the easy search features.

Cons

Sometimes I have a hard time signing into the software remotely.

BY
AvatarImg

Barbara Y.

Telecommunications, 11-50 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Controller

Reviewed 6 years ago

Costpoint is a dynamic system with many features that are automated. We use it for not only our accounting system, but also our budgeting and reporting. It is complex and able to do many things, but the right people must be in place to ensure the system works for you and is used to it's fullest. We are only using some of the capabilities of the system, and have only started to unlock all the possibilities of the system 2 years into implementation.

Pros

No pros were added to this review

Cons

No cons were added to this review

JK
AvatarImg

Jim K.

1,001-5,000 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Good product, good customer experience

Reviewed 5 years ago
Pros

Good product that continues to evolve. The customer experience is excellent and their annual conference is a great opportunity to learn more about how to better use the product.

Cons

Some things, like expense reporting are lacking. They are making progress, but this is one area that needs improvement.

OA
AvatarImg

Omar A.

Military, 51-200 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Omar CP review

Reviewed 3 years ago

It’s an easy to use software that has real-time inventory management that I find useful in everyday tasks.

Pros

The ease of running MRP once everything is set up.

Cons

User interface seems outdated. Friendlier screens can be used where you can finally use dual monitor support.

MC
AvatarImg

Melissa C.

Environmental Services, 501-1,000 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Convenient All-in-One Tool

Reviewed 2 years ago
Pros

I like that I can switch between daily tasks easily in Costpoint; I an enter payroll and set-up a project all in one place.

Cons

Sometimes the system freezes and causes unsaved work.

TF
AvatarImg

Tawnyia F.

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

I have used Deltek on the Project side and the Accounting side. Very positive experience!

Reviewed 5 years ago
Pros

The software is intuitive and very easy to use. All modules seem to flow together from project set up to billing.

Cons

There is not very many things that I do not like about Deltek Costpoint. Compared to other accounting software it is the best!

PW
AvatarImg

Pauline W.

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

Makes reporting especially easy

Reviewed 6 years ago
Pros

Ease of use. From data entry to reporting, it is easy to use and also to translate the numbers into easy to read reports.

Cons

Not customized completely to meet our needs so we have to have work a around in order to accomplish our day to day activities.

CM
AvatarImg

Carmen M.

Defense & Space, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Costpoint Review

Reviewed 3 years ago

Costpoint is our financial system and it works well for us tracking our government contracts.

Pros

How the different modules are integrated .

Cons

The way that hot fixes/patches are released, too cumbersome to apply at times.

jh
AvatarImg

joshua h.

Defense & Space, 10,001+ employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend5/10

Share this review:

Costpoint Review

Reviewed 3 years ago
Pros

Ease of use. Thank you for letting me take the survey.

Cons

Iter-database iwo functionality with single employee doesn't function per the help screen.

ja
AvatarImg

joelah a.

Research, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Intermediate CP7

Reviewed 6 years ago

As a first time person attending the conference for the first time, I have learned a lot. the classes are a bit full but the speakers are great and knowledgeable

Pros

easy to access

Cons

I wish there were ways to merge (import and export items)

kg
AvatarImg

kevin g.

Defense & Space, 10,001+ employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

good software for the money

Reviewed 6 years ago

mrp manager and getting on board with cp7.1.1. looking forward to understanding how wawf works and automatic backflush. customer support is very good

Pros

rfgen interface

Cons

big company wants to go to sap