This is your compare tray

Apps you want to compare will be listed here. Launch a head to head comparison at any time.

SendBird

Messaging SDK & chat API for mobile apps & websites

see alternatives

SendBird Reviews

Reviews summary

Pros

Sales and account team was fast, responsive, and had solid knowledge of the product. Technical team was readily accessible over a Slack bridge -- we loved that.

Darren A.

The performance is impressive, the API straightforward, and the iOS client code provided was good enough for us to build on and ship production worthy code quickly.

Frank B.

Easy to implement and super easy to monitor the messaging -- we're very happy.

Anonymous Reviewer

Cons

Lack of flexibility with moderation, lack of multi user per account.

Werner v.

Some features were missing when we initially tied up and had to custom implement on our side.

Anonymous Reviewer

Not open prices as they provides different price to different customers. Some core features are missing with different platform.

Dheeraj S.

Overall rating

4.4

5

4

3

2

1

14

12

2

0

0

93%
positive reviews
100%
would recommend this app

Filter reviews by


Overall rating


Company size


Industry


Time used


28 reviews

recommended

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

Implementation was super easy and functional very quickly. We got up to speed super quick.

Reviewed 4 years ago
Pros

It is super stable. After trying to build our own using firebase... This was an awesome experience that got us deployed super quick. It is fully featured and ready out of the gates requiring very little adaptation.

Cons

There are still some things that are not included in our portal management. However, engaging support has been able to resolve them.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

Good chat foundation that you can build upon

Reviewed 4 years ago

Sendbird allows you to get up and running with a chat solution pretty quickly. We have since customized it a lot (integrating it with Slack, building notifications etc). It is pretty good for plug and play if you are looking for a basic chat service. We don't use their UI, but their UI is good straight out of the box. Their response time is a bit slow, and they have made some changes to their...

Pros

Plug and Play

Cons

Needed to customize quite a bit and the customer support is not the fastest.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

SDK for Mobile chat and integrations

Reviewed 4 years ago
Pros

It provides SDK for creating one to one, and group messaging features. It provides translation as well.

Cons

Not open prices as they provides different price to different customers. Some core features are missing with different platform

Vendor response

Thank you Dheeraj for the candid feedback. I will try hard to place the pricing information more user convenient for you and also upgrade our features across the entire platform

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

A Growing Product

Reviewed 5 years ago

I think the product is useful and needed. Chat is quite difficult to implement into an app on both the front-end and back-end. SendBird makes it much easier to do so, but still needs work in terms of documentation and support. It was not that easy to implement a front-end solution, albeit a custom one. I would like to be able to speak with a tech support staff via chat. It was very difficult to get...

Pros

Definitely makes it easy to add chat. Saves a ton of time and headaches. It's a better back-end solution than I could have done personally.

Cons

- Needs better technical support. - Needs a better front-end solution. - Not very easy to implement.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Responsive and helpful partner to build a chat feature with

Reviewed 7 months ago

Very pleasant and would recommend using Sendbird to other engineers looking for chat integration.

Pros

The customer service team has been very responsive with any inquiries. Although they are a third party partner, it feels like they are in my own team. Integration was very easy and straightforward as well.

Cons

Sometimes when there are errors, we have to reach out to them, instead of them reaching out to us.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Solid product, but much more room for growth

Reviewed 5 years ago

I launched my app Pro Photo Shoot using SendBird as the engine for in-app messaging. I was very pleased with the way the API handled conversations, as it really took a lot of work out of the process, which can be very complicated if building from scratch. A few things in the suggestion box: - Faster, faster, faster! Make the API as fast as possible. - Improve your console to make it easier to drill down into a conversation when needed

Pros

Ease of use. Decent SDK and REST interface.

Cons

Documentation is a little thin. It could be more robust with details, examples, and use cases.

Vendor response

Responsiveness to our client needs is always the top priority for us. Thank you for your feedback and I will make sure to serve customers betters in production and inquiry responses - Mark (Head of Growth at SendBird)

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Found it was the most customisable chat API available for iOS (and Android).

Reviewed 4 years ago

Not having to implement it by ourselves :)

Pros

On top of the customisable API, one thing I appreciated the most was how easy you can communicate with the team behind SendBird. Had a request regarding some push notifications with WatchOS that were actually missing and within a few days, after some email exchange, here it was.

Cons

The fact it is not open source I would say. Open sourcing it would make it better for the community.

Vendor response

Thank you for being a valued customer Nicolas! Deeply appreciate your kind words. We look forward to further contributing to C&Z Tech's success.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

A great team, helping to integrate a great product

Reviewed 7 months ago
Pros

Team is willing to help you - starting from your first contact. all relevant platforms we need to integrate the chat on, are supported. if you have some custom requests, the team is willing to find a good solution to enable your business implement their plan.

Cons

the ui kit could offer more functionality.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Great team to work with

Reviewed 7 months ago
Pros

Great tech support. Always proactive when we face issues

Cons

Some features were missing when we initially tied up and had to custom implement on our side

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

SendBird is an awesome product and team!

Reviewed 7 months ago
Pros

SendBird makes it really us to build out complex chat features with minimal overhead! This helps us quickly differentiate vs. other competitors.

Cons

Documentation could use some improvement, but their team is amazingly helpful in filling in any gaps.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

I, as a prodecre at Pikicast; mobile media, am currently using Sendbird for live streaming service.

Reviewed 4 years ago

No need to develop chatting tool, Low cost for using such tool

Pros

Easy to use, quick response for issues or inquiries. Also it's easy to implement at the beginning of the service.

Cons

No cons were added to this review

Vendor response

Thank you for your kind review, we feel extremely lucky to have been a part of Pikicast's mega growth journey in the past two years!

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Very flexible, Very customizable, Very good!

Reviewed 5 years ago

Our product relies heavily on the messaging aspect, so we chose our chat SDK really carefully. Before settling on SendBird, we tried about 10 different chat SDKs. SendBird was the clear choice for us due to how customizable and flexible it is. This flexibility gave us the freedom to easily build many features using their SDK. Sendbird is still evolving. We sometimes experience service issues and interruptions from time to time. However, their customer support is really amazing and they have been extremely helpful. They even built specific features we suggested. TL;DR: Go for it!

Pros

Flexible & Customizable, great customer support

Cons

Infrequent service interruptions and bugs

Vendor response

Dear Omar, Thank you for your support. Sibly has been very unique use case for us that integrate SendBird inside (mental) health care industry. Please don't hesitate to give us a feedback and send us inquiries that we are more than happy to follow up. Mark (head of growth, SendBird)

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Overall SendBird is a killer product, and a critical part of our product offering.

Reviewed 4 years ago

An (almost) out of the box production-ready and performant chat as a service solution with incredible group communications features that is easy to integrate and build on.

Pros

For our use case the large scale public and private group chats were absolutely essential. The performance is impressive, the API straightforward, and the iOS client code provided was good enough for us to build on and ship production worthy code quickly.

Cons

The API has a few design flaws and, while superior to the competitors offerings that we have direct experience with, the iOS client code is pretty mediocre. Building truly high quality client UI/UX will still involve a significant amount of effort.

Vendor response

Frank, we will put much effort to offer better UI and Design experience going forward. Thank you so much for the feedback

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Great product/service

Reviewed 4 years ago

We've been working with SendBird for nearly 2 years. The customer service has been excellent and the learning curve to get up and running, minimal. Already a great service/product when we began, it's been nice seeing the team refine and expand the product. Each iteration has been well thought out and implemented. Highly recommended.

Pros

Ease of use, minimal learning curve

Cons

A couple times in the early days I found the documentation lacking a little but it appears this is no longer an issue.

Vendor response

Hi Mike, I am grateful for the all the supports you send us from the very beginning of Bombd app integrating with SendBird!

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

It's very easy to use and the transmission speed is also good.

Reviewed 4 years ago
Pros

What makes chat services available to users without direct management. Considering the labor cost, the use of the solution seems to be efficient. The part where sustained service is maintained at a reasonable speed for use.

Cons

Constraints on custom. It feels like extra cost for administrative features but not cheap. I am currently using the moderation tool but it is not easy to check the chat history because the filter function is not advanced. It would be nice if you could experience paid services before contracting.

Vendor response

Mr. Lim, I really appreciate your feedback. Out team will assure to improve our product to become more user friendly.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Overall experience is quite good, not have problem until now.

Reviewed 4 years ago

Chatting service

Pros

Customer service and feature.. the SDK is quite easy to implement. The performance is good.

Cons

The price, quite expensive. And the feature is quite limited for paying user. I hope I can get more MOU.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Highly Customizable

Reviewed 5 years ago

What we love about SendBird is the ability to integrate it smoothly with our brand while maintaining our own identity and user experience.

Pros

- Customizable - Constant improvements

Cons

- Had too many critical bugs - Changes to software without prior notice

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Great platform to save time

Reviewed 5 years ago

With SendBird, we were able to cut costs and development time by using their API. It is robust and the documentation makes it easy to get started in no time.

Pros

No pros were added to this review

Cons

No cons were added to this review

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Implementation on android & iOS app

Reviewed 4 years ago
Pros

Support was awesome ! Team answsered very fast and was really helpfull. Moreover, we had some latency issues due to EMEA deployment and the tech team has done a good job to improve the quality.

Cons

Maybe the SDK is a little young and some stuff must be redone (like the ability to create a user instead just login it and see...)

Vendor response

Thanks Tom! We will keep up with our SDK to become more complete and user friendly.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

The only 3rd party chat integration software for Unity done right.

Reviewed 4 years ago
Pros

Product is technically flexible and supports Unity. Technically skilled product team. Sales and account team was fast, responsive, and had solid knowledge of the product. Technical team was readily accessible over a Slack bridge -- we loved that.

Cons

Wish it had a cleaner 1:1 and 1 to many admin/host chat interface. Was expecting something closer to Slack. Ended up having to customize a sample javascript web page that they had in order to get get closer to what we wanted.

Vendor response

Darren, thank you for your feedback and we will leave note to our product team to make customer-friendlier chat interface going forward!

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

SendBird saved my time for integrating a chat platform.

Reviewed 3 years ago

SendBird is a best solution for a basic chat service.It is very easy to use.I recommend SendBird for all those who want to integrate a chat platform. It is fast and easy to learn and use.

Pros

It is a tough job to integrate chat in both front-end and back-end.But SendBird makes it possible with out much time.It is very fast and easy. It didn't take much time to first implement. And the the back-end solution is really good. It saves a lot of time.

Cons

It would have been better if you provide good documentation and support. It's difficult to get support from the team.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

Good experience

Reviewed 5 years ago

Easy to install, to use and to scale. We were happy to use Sendbird, which is a very practical tool to interact with our customers.

Pros

No pros were added to this review

Cons

No cons were added to this review

Vendor response

Dear Ludovic, This is Mark, Head of Growth at SendBird. I am sincerely grateful to your candid feedbacks. We will keep doing our best to bring more scalable, advanced interaction tools for Afrostream and your customers. Please don't hesitate to reach out to me if you have any questions or concerns. I am always happy to support you and your product. Kind regards, Mark

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Easy to set-up and use chat platform and SDKs

Reviewed 2 years ago
Pros

The platform offers a large set of tools and features to help you build a chat solution quickly. Documentation is nice. SDKs are easy to use. Supports translation of messages to over 50 languages.

Cons

Missing out on a couple of essential features like offline syncing & caching. Doesn't support presence (online/offline/away) statuses out of the box.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Great personalized support

Reviewed 4 years ago

They've been flexible and responsive to any questions we have

Pros

SendBird is great messagining software! The pros range from ease of use, customized features, and quick response time

Cons

No cons were added to this review

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Great and easy-to-implement option for the price

Reviewed 4 years ago

Had a pleasant experience integrating it into one of our products. I wish there was a little more flexibility, such as multi-user accounts, more timeout options on the banning of users in chat etc., but overall a great quick-to-start option with good customer support.

Pros

Price, speed, simplicity

Cons

Lack of flexibility with moderation, lack of multi user per account.

Vendor response

Hi Mr. Werner, I really appreciate your kind words and feedback !