App comparison

Add up to 4 apps below to see how they compare. You can also use the "Compare" buttons while browsing.

Sunbird DCIM Logo

Sunbird DCIM

Data center management system for mid to large enterprises

see alternatives

Sunbird DCIM Reviews

User ratings

Overall rating

4.7

/5

135
99%
positive reviews
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9.27/10

See full reviews by rating

Pros and cons

Pros

Cons

I like it because of its ease of use, good features, great support and help if needed. Easy to update and are frequently updated.
What we like most about Sunbird's DCIM solution is the integration between dcTracks and PowerIQ along with the great features, detailed user interface and ease of use.
Even if you are not familiar with managing Data centers, the Support Team will make everything easy with swift support. Thank you best team ever.
When setting the display to PDU name it hides the IP address of the PDU and vice versa. It was apparently a security concern for some companies, but a pain for us.
Most of the problems I had is mostly on my side, i.e I am not familiar with terms, technical lingo and mindset.
The separation of features between the web client and classic view. It can also be confusing to understand what features are in PowerIQ opposed to DcTrack.

Sunbird DCIM users...

Experian Aperture Data Studio-logocaret
listing-logo

Experian Aperture Data Studio

Microsoft Excel-logocaret
listing-logo

Microsoft Excel

How would you rate Sunbird DCIM?
AvatarImg
AvatarImg
AvatarImg
AvatarImg
AvatarImg
Filter reviews by

Overall rating


Company size


Industry


Time used


135 reviews

Recommended

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Excellent software. Powerful and Intuitive compared to other solutions (DCIM or otherwise)

Reviewed 3 months ago

My experience with Sunbird has been great. The ease of use and ease of finding information on their support page is probably the best I've experienced in the DCIM industry or otherwise. Anytime I've had a question and reached out to support, they've responded promptly with a clear answer that allows me to either resolve the issue or pass on the needed information.

Pros

I've been thrilled with the update process. It's easy, secure, and accessible. Intuitive and setup how all software should be.

Cons

Probably the only con (and it's expected), is the learning curve. That's due to the powerful feature set though, and nothing inherently wrong with the software and how it's setup or executed. It's great on all counts of setup, layout and execution.

Vendor response

Thank you for your feedback. Glad to hear you find the software intuitive.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

DCIM Review

Reviewed 10 months ago
Pros

Assets are very helpful with the detail you can add. PowerIQ helps with power management to a granular level. The connectivity is also a plus when working in the rack with cabling. Also the "Company Standard" for adding new servers and such is useful.

Cons

Moving from 7.X to 8.X was about it. That was on my end not the software.

Vendor response

Thank you for the positive feedback.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

World class support and easy to use

Reviewed 4 years ago

We have been in full control of all our datacenters word wide

Pros

The easy way to build our datacenters into dcTrack and the huge difference from spreadsheets to dcTrack. Provides a quick overview as well as being able to produce reports to several departments

Cons

Models library could be more correct and updated more often not only once a month. More pic to the 3D view.

Vendor response

Thank you for your positive feedback. We will do mid month updates if requested by a customer, plus you have the ability to create your own models if you need and can set to either have them updated or not when you upload our update

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

6 years of work with dcTrack & PowerIQ

Reviewed 5 years ago
Pros

24x7 managing both our Data Centers. Received on time a power, connectivity, humidity and water alarms. Produced a great reports.

Cons

dcTrack Classic View can't open a full screen view. It could be a great to have a full vision of the dcTrack configuration

Vendor response

Thank you for your positive feedback. We heard your feedback. We are delighted to now offer a modern and elegant web based GUI. We even allow uses to select between light and dark mode.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Great Product, doesn't overstep it's bounds, good value for money

Reviewed 5 days ago

I think Sunbird DCIM is a great product! I think it will help my company in many ways, from tracking assets to being able to have a fully documented Datacenter so that we can direct people where to go and what to do. The ability to interact with PDUs allows up a lot of control over machines and their power, not to mention being able to watch power consumption, which greatly helps with capacity planning.

Pros

Sunbird DCIM was easy to get installed and get started. There are many options available to track machines, and the dcTrack and PowerIQ work very well together. The tools can be setup with appropriate roles and authentication so that many members of a team can work with it and update it. Also, when I have had a problem, the support team was able to correct the issue and were very knowledgeable about the product so it did not take long to fix.

Cons

The software can be a bit confusing to get around until you use it for a while. There have been a few bugs, but the support team was able to get things sorted out for me.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Everything and more

Reviewed 3 years ago

We have a lot of PDU's and UPS's distributed around the globe, all with varying firmware and configurations. The need is to bring all those inline easily, and then be able to monitor them. My NMS doesn't have explicit monitoring for our PDU's, so being able to use DCIM and traps makes that a breeze.

Pros

Straight forward and easy to install and begin configuring. Logically arranged and understandable in MOST areas but a quick trip to the documentation has cleared up any confusions.

Cons

It seems very slow to start-up on login, but I don't know why. Being unable to login to a shell and see the system and processes is frustrating at times like that.

Vendor response

Thank you for the positive feedback. I will follow-up with you on the login speed.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Data Center Inventory Management

Reviewed 3 years ago
Pros

With Sunbird Dcim you can conveniently do Data Center Inventory Management. I'm reporting cabinets and servers.

Cons

The licensing model can be a problem because it is cabin based.

Vendor response

Thank you for the positive feedback. Yes, we keep it easy and only license dcTrack by cabinet All features are included with no restrictions on the number of sites, devices, sq. footage, sensors, users, etc.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Review

Reviewed 2 years ago
Pros

Looks easy and intuitive to use. Low maintenance. Does what it says.

Cons

Exporting data needs to be customised correctly otherwise the data is aggregated. But when you have many devices, customising initial report is a chore. Needs to support modern authentication methods.

Vendor response

Thank you for your feedback. We have added support for SAML2 to support single sign on with most identity providers.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Emerson GDC Review

Reviewed 7 months ago
Pros

Product is easy to use and view when it is setup. Useful as we have multiple "teams" using Sunbird to look at assets on the floor and for future projects.

Cons

Most missing features are easy to request to get added and have a quick turn around response time.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

Sunbird DCIM Review

Reviewed 3 years ago
Pros

Easy to setup and use. Easy to add devices one at a time or discovery wizard.

Cons

The analytics and reports could be cleaner and more powerful. Better exports of them too.

Vendor response

Thank you for the positive feedback. I will reach out to you to discuss your reporting ideas.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

I'm excited to get to work everyday because I know I'm going to be working with DC Track!

Reviewed 4 years ago

The capability to utilize a single database to not only manage our data center racked assets but to also integrate with our incident and change management tool.

Pros

The support from Sunbird is beyond excellent. They're very quick to respond to inquiries and are always willing to provide whatever help we need. The 3D visualization is awesome and uploading asset details is easy. I especially like the custom fields feature because I can add data unique to our data center.

Cons

Would like the capability to create drop-down select lists that auto-fill additional/relative fields such as Systems Administrator name and the contact information (email, desk/cell phone and manager details).

Vendor response

Thank you for your positive feedback. That was a very popular ask and so it is now a product feature. You can create unlimited custom fields, edit pick-lists, set default values and customize your page layout. Plus hide fields you done use and make specific fields required. Custom fields can be of any type - date, text, check box, single select pick-list, multi select pick-list, etc.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Believe in your strenghts

Reviewed 3 years ago

Quite fast response from Support Team, always kind and a vast knowledge with lots of step-by-step help guides. Multiple troubleshooting options etc

Pros

Good tool to monitor all equipment easy to use lots of admin/network options

Cons

needs more bulk update of devices, eg: Change Timezone or Time on all PDU's , or Connect all PDU's to NTP server by a bulk option. etc

Vendor response

Thank you for the positive review. Have you tried out PDU bluk configuration clone feature? That will all you to set the NTP server and time on all you PDUs. This is a link to a video on how to use this feature. https://support.sunbirddcim.com/support/solutions/articles/24000046504-power-iq-7-0-how-to-restore-and-clone-raritan-and-server-tech-device-configurations

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Sunbird Software Serves us Well

Reviewed 4 years ago

With Sunbird DcTrack we are able to build and maintain an up-to-date inventory of our data hall equipment. PowerIQ enables us to monitor and quickly respond to alerts and alarms requiring attention and intervention. Both products integrate with our LDAP/AD directory services for centralized domain management. Excellent products supported with knowledgeable technical expertise.

Pros

The software functions work as expected. Any product issues reported are responded to quickly. Technical support personnel know the product and are professional in their correspondence. They follow up to ensure we are satisfied with the fixes. The products are easy to use and the tutorials are outstanding.

Cons

As far as what I like the least about the software, I would be hard pressed to find something of significance.

Vendor response

Thank you for your positive feedback.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Best DCIM available.

Reviewed 8 days ago

We just started using it be we are loving it.

Pros

Training, training, support and training. Sunbird has a huge amount of videos, knowledge articles, and excellent support.

Cons

Importing a floor plan could be easier. With that being said, it is an extremely complicated process. Sunbird has been patient, understanding, and willing to go the extra mile to get the job done.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

FD_Review

Reviewed 2 years ago

optimal powerdistribution management

Pros

The Dashboard, the Tree-Struktured Datacenter strukture, ability to add 3rd party products, floorplan integration

Cons

Setting up PUE, better sharper graphics would be desireable,

Vendor response

Thank you for the positive feedback and the insight on PUE!

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

DCTrack works for me

Reviewed 9 months ago

The main use I have with DCTrack is getting reports of inventory and tracking who the customers that own the inventory is. The tool makes this easy.

Pros

DCTrack makes it easy to visualize the data center and keep an inventory of all of the cabinets. I like the reporting features and the online help is outstanding.

Cons

I have no complaints with this product..

Vendor response

Thank you for the positive feedback and sharing your use case.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Review sunbird powerIQ

Reviewed 2 years ago

great tool to manage our smart pdu's

Pros

easy to use gui software works fast good support

Cons

Analytics and reports modules are a bit basic

Vendor response

Thank you for the positive feedback! We plan to enhance our charting and reporting features in release 8.1 this year

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Outstanding Customer Service and Overall Technical Support for NIST!

Reviewed 6 years ago

Here at NIST we have had multiple support tickets open for various issues. Each one was handled by your staff with the utmost professionalism and courtesy. All issues have been resolved in a timely manner. I would highly recommend your services/products to anyone. Thanks so much for you continued support.

Pros

No pros were added to this review

Cons

No cons were added to this review

Vendor response

Thank you for your positive feedback.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Powerful combo - dcTrack/PowerIQ

Reviewed 6 years ago

We implemented dcTrack and PowerIQ a few years back. The team at Raritan/Sunbird has always been responsive to our suggestions and concerns. The tools have met our needs.

Pros

We like the ability within PowerIQ to control our vendor agnostic managed rack power strips.

Cons

No cons were added to this review

Vendor response

Thank you for your positive feedback.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Test

Reviewed 4 years ago

Overall good

Pros

Ease of use of the software. GUI looks good

Cons

Licensing could be better on the website

Vendor response

Thank you for your feedback. Customer success has always been our number one priority. Reviews and customer user groups are a key source of learning for us.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Good communication

Reviewed 10 months ago

Overall, pleasant communications and openess to discuss moving the product forward

Pros

One pane of glass for ALL datacenter assets and information.

Cons

Disconnect between new Parts Tracker feature and main Assets feater

Vendor response

Thank you for your review.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Sunbird DCIM review

Reviewed 3 years ago

We are using DcTrack for inventory control and space management in our new data center. PowerIQ is monitoring our power strips inside the data hall cabinets. The alerting feature informs us right away when devices require immediate attention.

Pros

The Sunbird products work as advertised. Both DcTrack and PowerIQ products work well and are easy to use. The Sunbird website is easy to navigate with lots of helpful features and quick videos. Keeping the device models/templates up-to-date is an easy process.

Cons

The software has very few drawbacks, but he OS is not a standard Linux environment. It looks like an appliance running CentOS and not supported by our internal Linux team.

Vendor response

Thank you for the positive review and for hosting our Chicago user group meeting this year. Glad hear you find our quick videos helpful.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

GTS (DoS) Problem Management

Reviewed 6 years ago

My experience from the cradle has been top notch and unbelievable. I stared my relationship from Raritan and continue through Sunbird.

Pros

Very customized, robust, detailed, and user friendly.

Cons

I have non at this time, it just keeps getting better.

Vendor response

Thank you for your positive feedback.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

Awesome

Reviewed 5 years ago
Pros

Its vendor agnostic and awesome! They are very easy to work with. Definitely worth a look!!!!!!!!!

Cons

None. There are no cons that I think of, which is great!. I am a happy customer all around!!!!!!!!

Vendor response

Thank you for your positive feedback.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Support Engineer

Reviewed 2 years ago
Pros

very easy to use web interface, good dashboard reports.

Cons

Using the Classic view, no single line diagram.

Vendor response

Thank you for the 10 out of 10 rating. The classic view has been fully replaced by the web browser view.