App comparison

Add up to 4 apps below to see how they compare. You can also use the "Compare" buttons while browsing.

Tabs3 Reviews

User ratings

Overall rating

4.7

/5

163
94%
positive reviews
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8.88/10

See full reviews by rating

Pros and cons

Pros

Cons

For me, the billing and reporting functions are great. Customer support is accessible, knowledgeable and a big help.
Maintenance is awesome and worth every penny. Flexibility in use with other programs is absolutely flawless.
I have been using this software for over 15 years and I still love it. With every upgrade they have listened and thoughtfully made great upgrades.
You have to do a reverse update to open and print old charges which is annoying when that info is needed. I print the bill each month so that I have the record handy.
Somewhat uncomfortable with use for flat fees.
It is very difficult to navigate and hard to learn if you are not trained well, and especially if you do not have significant bookkeeping experience.

Tabs3 users...

Sage Timeslips-logocaret
listing-logo
+ 2

Sage Timeslips

Amicus Attorney-logocaret
listing-logo

Amicus Attorney

How would you rate Tabs3?
AvatarImg
AvatarImg
AvatarImg
AvatarImg
AvatarImg
Filter reviews by

Overall rating


Company size


Industry


Time used


163 reviews

Recommended

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

Unethical business practices. Maintenance is a not good. Poor treatment of customers.

Reviewed 4 years ago
Pros

It does what it is supposed to do. I use Tabs3 for billing and for keeping track of my client trust account. It has many useful features and reports.

Cons

They had very bad service when it comes to maintenance. The software is not very user-friendly, first of all, so you're likely going to need technical and/or customer support. I've been using it for nearly 10 years, and this is how they treated me: I paid the same price for maintenance for the first three years, and everything was fine. Then they decided it was time to start gouging me. Every year,...

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Best time and billing software

Reviewed 2 years ago
Pros

The tech support is fabulous. The software is not only excellent for time and billing but is excellent at tracking receipts collected by timekeeper, practice area, origination, etc.

Cons

Not sure, I've been using TABS for so long and have recommended it to several colleagues over the years, I find it very easy to use and could not live without the report capabilities.

Vendor response

Sandra, Thank you for taking the time to leave a review! We appreciate hearing from you. Thank you for giving us such a glowing recommendation! - Emily L., Software Trainer

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

KDRlawyers

Reviewed 2 years ago

I've had a great experience with TABS, our firm has been using this software since 1993.

Pros

It is very user friendly and most always the information you need is quickly accessed, if not right at your fingertips.

Cons

I prefer the ease of the classic view, but all the features in the standard view - can't have them both.

Vendor response

Christine, Thank you for taking the time to leave a review, we really appreciate it! I hope you're enjoying the new Tabs3 Matter Manager and Statement Manager! If there's anything we can do to help you, please let us know. Thanks again! - Emily L., Software Trainer

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Pleased with the Tabs3 Platform

Reviewed 3 years ago

Customer service is always helpful on the rare occasion help is needed, the product is easy for all types of users (timekeepers and administrators), and integration among platforms is excellent.

Pros

Integration with additional STI programs (APS and GLS) is excellent and easy to use.

Cons

That I am unable to accept credit cards for trust and professional accounts.

Vendor response

Krystal, Thank you for taking the time to leave a review! There is credit card processing available in the software for payments on account and for replenishment of Trust funds. Please contact Technical Support for information if you're interested! - Emily L., Software Trainer

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Best Legal Specific Software Available

Reviewed 3 years ago

Excellent

Pros

Software that you can grown with. Simple enough for a solo with advanced features to fit a 50 timekeeper firm.

Cons

In addition to a plethora of reports, it has a custom report writer included but I had to call their support line (unlimited support is included in the annual maintenance) to do some of the layouts.

Vendor response

Sandra, Thank you very much for taking the time to leave a review! We appreciate it very much! - Emily L., Software Trainer

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Longtime Tabs3 User

Reviewed 2 years ago
Pros

Tabs is very user friendly and their customer support is accessible and knowledgeable. The newest version recently saved me from a big job with a new function "reorder fees". This function came just in time.

Cons

We have the version that only allows 9 timekeepers. We only need a few more but the cost is prohibitive to upgrade for a small firm like ours.

Vendor response

Faith, Thank you for taking the time to leave a review! We appreciate your feedback. If there's anything we can do to help, please let us know! - Emily L., Software Trainer

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

TABS3 has helped to organize our firm's billing and accounting system - we love it!

Reviewed 2 years ago

Pros

Our firm started with the TABS3 billing software initially, we loved how simple billing a client became and later added the full accounting package. It has made our lives so much easier!

Cons

Our firm is based in the Bahamas where we have currency and exchange rates that are applicable which prevents us from using some of the features of the software.

Vendor response

Angela, Thank you for taking the time to leave a review! We appreciate your comments. If there's anything we can do to help, please let us know! - Emily L., Software Trainer

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Tabs3 -- definitely #1

Reviewed 3 years ago

We use the whole package - except PracticeMaster. It's so easy to use and it just flows from one program to the other and to the other.

Pros

Our law firm has used Tabs3 for years and years --- I've been here 32 years and it's the only program I've ever used here. It's great and easy to use. And the customer service folks are #1 too!

Cons

Nothing -- I think it's great. Everything works well together.

Vendor response

Shari, Thank you for taking the time to leave a review! We appreciate hearing your feedback. Please let us know if there's anything we can do to help! - Emily L., Software Trainer

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Refused to learn program at old firm!

Reviewed 3 years ago

This program takes care of ALL my financials from billing to accounts payable, vendors, tax statements and general ledger programs.

Pros

Everything! Both prior firms I was with used this software and I chose not to learn it. Once out on my own, it was a very user friendly and intuitive product.

Cons

When I create my own problem within the program! Good news is awesome technical support team always rescues me!

Vendor response

Jeffrey, Thank you very much for taking the time to leave a review! We appreciate your input very much! - Emily L., Software Trainer

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

The Tabs/PracticeMaster family of software is tops!

Reviewed 3 years ago

We can get almost any report that we want in the Tabs3 software, already there and ready to go with many user options.

Pros

It is very capable software for the price, and the software company that writes it bases many of their upgrades on enhancement requests from actual users.

Cons

As it has grown more sophisticated, the non-platinum software has become slower and the integration with Outlook 365 keeps dropping the PracticeMaster add-in.

Vendor response

Sandra, Thank you very much for taking the time to leave a review! We appreciate it very much! - Emily L., Software Trainer

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

TABS3 is great!

Reviewed 3 years ago
Pros

This software is really user friendly. Entering time and preparing reports are easy. Been using this for over 20 years!

Cons

Software maintenance is pretty expensive, since we rarely (if ever) use it as we never have any issues. However, it's good to have "just in case."

Vendor response

Bonnie, Thank you very much for taking the time to leave a review! We appreciate your input very much! Please do keep Support in mind if you even just have questions as to whether something is possible, or if you need a quick question answered. We'll be happy to help! - Emily L., Software Trainer

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

Great for Price

Reviewed 3 years ago

I very much like the program

Pros

Very easy to use and price was right for our size firm

Cons

There are little things that could be done to make things easier that cheaper program offer, there could be more free/inexpensive training and/or training groups

Vendor response

Angie, Thank you very much for taking the time to leave a review! Please contact Technical Support for help submitting your wishlist, and keep an eye out on our newsletter and mailings for available webinars. We appreciate your feedback very much! - Emily L., Software Trainer

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Love this software!

Reviewed 3 years ago
Pros

I've used Tabs3 for over two years at my present job, but have used it for over three years at a former job. It's the best. All of the modules integrate seamlessly with each other, and the technical support is fantastic.

Cons

There are no cons. The software is the best.

Vendor response

Thank you very much for taking the time to leave a review! We appreciate your input very much! - Emily L., Software Trainer

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Fantastic Software

Reviewed 6 years ago

I have worked with TABS for the past 10 years and have enjoyed working with it since day one. They constantly strive to improve on the software and do a fantastic job in that area. It seems like I am always learning something new that makes my job easier. When I call, the staff members are friendly and knowledgeable. I would have no problems recommending this software to others

Pros

The software is easy to use and if you need help it is only a phone call away.

Cons

There is nothing that I do not like about the software

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

TABS REVIEW LMD RMW 2-2-17

Reviewed 6 years ago

I like the product! There are a few things that I would like to see added....such as: why doesn't it generate the 1096 form? it prints the 1099 report and forms, but then I need to manually generate the 1096 to the IRS.

Pros

integration with modules

Cons

doesn't print the 1096 form ; every accounts payable entry interfaces with TABS 3 - and not every AP invoice needs to be interfaced with a client invoice - why isn't here a way to by-pass this?; inability to highlight items on an invoice - on a case-by-case basis, i.e. high light amount due

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Tabs3 is a good product

Reviewed 3 years ago
Pros

The integration between Tabs, AP, GL, and Client Trust makes everything very easy, no double entry needed

Cons

Upgrading is a hassle, you must install through the server, and our small business uses outside IT, so we have to wait for them to be available.

Vendor response

Martha, Thank you very much for taking the time to leave a review! With the version of the software you have, you can actually run updates through the workstation, if you're comfortable with navigating through Windows. Support would be happy to help with the process! - Emily L., Software Trainer

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Highly recommended

Reviewed 4 years ago

I am currently in the process of updating all my systems and they have been amazing to work with. Everything I have asked for has been completed.

Pros

Although there is a learning curve, this software is able to do everything I need. The other Tabs systems all integrate seamlessly which allows for less time wasted.

Cons

There is a learning curve. It isn't an expensive system, so the cost shows in some of the functionality. There is way more offered than you actually use so it's not as user friendly as it could be.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Consistent, clear and customizable customer service with a smile

Reviewed 5 years ago

Every day is smoother.

Pros

Everything! The people are fantastic, easy to reach, supportive and really understand what they are doing. No delays. Updates are effortless and well-done. Maintenance is awesome and worth every penny. Flexibility in use with other programs is absolutely flawless. This is a joy to use every day. When updating time records, there is a flawless connection with everything, which is crucial for transparency with clients when inquiring about balances due.

Cons

No cons were added to this review

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

All Around Great Software Package!

Reviewed 6 years ago

Tabs3 is the best investment you can make!!! The Billing seamlessly interfaces with their General Ledger, Accounts Payable, Trust Accounting and Practice Master (Case Management). You'll have all you could ever need for your practice and more. All facets of their software are extremely user friendly and the final products you receive will have all around you believing you have spent a ton of money for high-end specialty software.

Pros

The seamless integration, along with ease of use.

Cons

When I find something - I'll share but I have no "Cons."

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Excellent Support

Reviewed 3 years ago

Integration between modules reduces reentry/double entry of info, making the system efficient. Overall, I am happy with the package.

Pros

Extremely versatile, well developed program that offers many options and features. Customer support, when needed is excellent.

Cons

As with all complex programs, there is a fair amount of training that is necessary for all users, in order to get the most out of it.

Vendor response

Jennifer, Thank you very much for taking the time to leave a review! We appreciate your input very much! - Emily L., Software Trainer

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend5/10

Share this review:

Excellent customer support

Reviewed 5 years ago

The support staff was so very patient (as I did not have a clue), knowledgeable about how to correct why I was unable to download the upgrade. He stayed on the phone and walked me through each step (additional steps) on getting the download to start. Super friendly guy and I wanted to take the time to thank him again and to let his supervisors know what an asset he is to your support staff, as he was able to talk a very frustrated user down from my frustration....TOTALLY AWESOME PERSON AND WONDERFUL JOB!!!

Pros

No pros were added to this review

Cons

Not very easy to access financials, payments etc. Too many steps to input certain items.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

TABS3

Reviewed 2 years ago

It is a value for money software.

Pros

After sales customer service and support from the technical staff. Ease of use. Version upgrades.

Cons

Version 19 did not successfully support automatic upload to positive pay.

Vendor response

Maribeth, Thank you for taking the time to leave a review! Version 2020 of the software has added a Positive Pay export so you can get a file to upload to your bank. Contact Support if you have questions about it! - Emily L., Software Trainer

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

TABS3 is a wonderful product

Reviewed 3 years ago
Pros

I like the integration between the different financial modules and the context-sensitive help facility.

Cons

Requires Windows operating system and no web-based access.

Vendor response

Randy, Thank you very much for taking the time to leave a review! We do have an option for entering fees and costs via an internet browser called Tabs3 Connect, available in the Platinum version of the software. If you'd like to know more about it, please contact Technical Support to see if that would meet your needs! Thanks again! - Emily L., Software Trainer

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Excellent software suite and great support.

Reviewed 3 years ago

We have used the STI suite of products since 1990 and added PracticeMaster in 2003. The software is user friendly, highly customizable and the support is excellent.

Pros

The flexibility of customizing reports and customizing areas of practice in PracticeMaster.

Cons

Would like to see more financial/dashboard options.

Vendor response

Lisa, Thank you very much for taking the time to leave a review! Dashboards will be coming to the Financials and Tabs3 in our next version. We appreciate your feedback very much! - Emily L., Software Trainer

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Tabs3 Review

Reviewed 4 years ago

It has been a good 6 months working with Tabs3 Software and overall I like the speed and functionality it is comprised of.

Pros

I like the various different types of functions that this software offers. It makes it easy to get numerous different tasks taken care of without having to leave the site. Overall it is easy to navigate and worth getting.

Cons

I dislike that, to go back and correct errors in features within this software such as the billing feature, it isn't as easy and usually requires me to exit out of the software to do so.

Vendor response

Jesse, Thank you very much for taking the time to leave a review! We'd be happy to help you with any questions that you have while you're working on your bills. Support is available via phone from 8a-5p Central time, Monday-Friday. Thanks again! - Emily L., Senior Technical Support Representative