This is your compare tray

Apps you want to compare will be listed here. Launch a head to head comparison at any time.

Elvanto

An all-in-one hosted church management software solution

see alternatives

Elvanto Reviews

Reviews summary

Pros

A very comprehensive solution to church management, with flexible pricing, customisable appearance and functions, secure access control, and freedom from software compatibility issues.

Gordon W.

It is very easy to customize to our needs and they keep improving it on a regular basis. Their customer support is very friendly, helpful, and responsive to customer requests and suggestions.

John T.

It is a very robust system with Child Check-In, pastoral care, keep track of people in your church, and so much more. They are capable of handling churches of any size, and the cost is very good.

Anonymous Reviewer

Cons

Missing key features here and there. For example, rostering can be frustrating.

Alyssa L.

The event registration portal does not work very well for us, it did not track cash payments and we need to re work the report when we print it to update with who had paid by cash.

Nicole B.

It's hard to assign people to see just the service locations/times they should, and then it's difficult to schedule in advance unless you're doing it on a separate calendar first.

Alyssa L.

Overall rating

5

4

3

2

1

70

34

8

0

1

92%
positive reviews
96%
would recommend this app

Filter reviews by


Overall rating


Company size


Industry


Time used


113 reviews

recommended

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Super Easy to Use

Reviewed 2 years ago

Tithely has been a great addition to our online giving mechanism. The forms presented to the user are super clean and easy to use. We have had no major issues at all. Any questions we have had have been answered by the Tithely support people quickly.

Pros

Tithely makes it easy to track online giving. Users are immediately issued a customizable giving receipt when donations are made. Reports can be run with just a few mouse clicks. There are options for recurring giving, which makes it easy for people to setup automated donations on a recurring basis.

Cons

Emails to notify that donations have been received are sent only once per day. These emails contain no details whatsoever how much was given, how many donations were received, etc. Clicking a link in said email is required to view the actual donations. This isn't terrible, and I can see why they did this (for privacy reasons, as well as to keep the admin's inbox from getting cluttered with repetitive emails), but a tad more info, such as the total for the day, would be nice to have.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Tithe.ly ChMS gives us the mechanism to track discipleship

Reviewed 2 years ago

Overall, I'm excited to see how Tithe.ly ChMS transforms our daily work flow and impacts church growth. It's seems like a very cool company that has a great product and we're happy to be partnering with them!

Pros

What's great about Tithe.ly ChMS is how discipleship-centric it is. The People manager is easy to use and easy to manage. The People Flow feature gives a very unique and useful way to place people - new guests, people on discipleship pathways, etc.. - in a specific flow so that they don't fall through the cracks. We'll now have the ability to get some true metrics beyond just attendance on Sunday. My other favorite feature is the Services feature, which gives us the same capability as Planning Center, but doesn't have the people limitations. We will soon drop our Planning Center subscription because Tithe.ly fills that need.

Cons

The part of the experience that was the least enjoyable was migrating data from our old system to Tithe.ly. First line support seemed to be out of order in where we were in the process. Once we got connected with our migration specialist at Tithe.ly, it got a lot better. He was very knowledgeable and was able to answer just about every question.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend3/10

Share this review:

Awkward and difficult

Reviewed 5 years ago

After a year of searching for an "all inclusive" church management software, we landed on Elvanto. Unfortunately, it's been difficult to implement, not user-friendly, and most of the features we look for ended up being such long processes it's never really stuck. Support is a timezone away and many of our issues come back with a "not our fault." 3 years in, and we've had so many bad experiences that half our staff team is unwilling to even try to make it work anymore. This may be a one-stop-shop, but without serious tech experience on your staff, and a high commitment level from the users, it's just not worth it.

Pros

[Should be] everything in one: it was meant to get rid of the myriad of different systems we used for child checkin, accounting, communications, booking venues, and volunteer follow up... They recommend having a dedicated technician for the first 2 years full-time to help integrate. I can see why, but that's just not in our (or many church) budgets, and without it we just couldn't seem to get off the ground.

Cons

Child checkin: only supports one printer (the most expensive & most glitchy), doesn't work well with Macs, couldn't get the iPad/tablet system to work at all, and tech support was pretty slim. After 3 years, parents still aren't used to the system (not intuitive). Bookings: allows users to double book spaces without flagging problems to an overseers - people assume since they "booked it" it's fine,...

Vendor response

Sorry to hear about your bad experience Kirsten. It really sounds like our customer support was lacking in your case as some of the issues you have faced (like setting up multiple check-in printers and getting them to work) should be easy to sort out. At this stage we are stuck with DYMO label printers (those expensive ones you mentioned) simply because other label printers don't have good...

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Great tool to help churches be more organized

Reviewed 2 years ago

We are solving the issue of ensuring no one falls through the cracks at our church. Being a church of almost 500 people, we could no longer just store information on excel spreadsheets and in our minds. This system helps us to better care for our people. No longer do we need to use multiple google spreadsheets to manage different areas of our church since we do only the managing within the system. In only a few months using the system, we are already seeing a great benefit.

Pros

I like that I can both see at a high level how many people are coming to our church, how many people are attending small group, how people are getting engaged, etc. and also drill down into specific people to see how they individually are involved. Getting both a macro and a micro view help pastors to better care for the church as a whole and individual people.

Cons

There is a learning curve to understanding the product, especially since it has a LOT of features. I certainly could not "hit the ground running with it". This also impacts other users. I need to make sure I adequately train users so that they do not make errors while using the system.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Expansive Church Management System

Reviewed 2 years ago
Pros

Tithe.ly purchased Elvanto. I've been an Elvanto client since 2016. I'm a huge fan of the types of reports you can run on this church management platform. It's very easy to create groups to manage people and there are so many integrations with other services.

Cons

It takes a WHILE to import contacts from a previous church management system. A great feature is you can create so many fields on this platform but that requires a lot of detailed work when importing contact cards from a previous platform.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Easier for our staff, empowering for our congregation

Reviewed 5 years ago

We've been with Elvanto since 2012 . It now supports all the core activities of daily life in our congregation - in one program, with one subscription, and without any software compatibility hassles. This is easier for our staff who ride one learning curve then rise to draw on all Elvanto's capability. This is also empowering for the congregation, because we use Elvanto in a way that empowers...

Pros

A very comprehensive solution to church management, with flexible pricing, customisable appearance and functions, secure access control, and freedom from software compatibility issues.

Cons

Getting the broader congregation to draw on its capabilities. Staff and key leaders have taken this up well. There can be cultural expectations that church life is 'low-tech' and simple - I can respect this is some ways. But passwords and online comms are as common as cars and phones in the 21st century. It's ok for people to have to learn.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Church management with lots of capabilities

Reviewed 5 years ago

Elvanto is really worth while! Our church has moved away from an operation based on numerous Excel sheets and document versions, and has been using Elvanto for the last two years. Just to know that you are looking at the correct version - be it contact information, group schedules or the detailed plan for the next service - has really helped us a lot! We use Elvanto for - LIFE group organization...

Pros

All basic functionality for church and group management is there. The ability to lock down and manage who sees what of information. Integration with Google calendars.

Cons

The software has world-wide customers and some of the functionality does not make sense everywhere. I had hoped that Elvanto put more effort in making functionality that is flexible and an fully featured API. In this way every church has the ability to ajust the system to their needs.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Great way to take payments from our church website

Reviewed 2 years ago

We were able to add a seamless donor experience to our site and allow people to give from phones, helping to grow out giving by removing barriers.

Pros

I liked that I could integrate payment options seamlessly into our website, without sending the donor to a separate site. I was able to adjust colors to match our colors to ensure a seamless experience.

Cons

When using the app the user is directed outside the app for payment; seems like it would be simple (maybe not?) to build the ability to keep it in the app.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Gets all our team on one page

Reviewed 3 years ago

Our team and Pastors love the workflows and day to day use after it's setup

Pros

We love that it's fully online, in the cloud Easy to make custom fields Smartphone apps SMS text support for Australia Automatic notifications to fill out attendance reports

Cons

A little "clunky" in some features Permissions a little confusing at times

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Great software for mobile giving!

Reviewed 2 years ago

Allows members of our congregation to give via a mobile app. Money is deposited in our bank account very quickly and the giver usually pays the fee, so we get the donation they used to give via check.

Pros

Easy to use and great rates. Not expensive for a small church like ours.

Cons

On Android phones it takes you to a website and does not function like a true app by letting you give totally on your phone. However, we have not yet had any complaints regarding this.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Elvanto has been great to use, work with, and so helpful for our church!

Reviewed 4 years ago

Overall organizational unity and efficiency. Streamlined, standardized and unified volunteer coordination. Centralized mass communication, and a highly user-friendly worship service planning platform and the ability to store the church worship song inventory online for all to utilize as needed.

Pros

I like how intuitive it is and how easy it is to figure out. I can teach functions to even the most tech-challenged people in our church and they are able to know what they need to do with ease. I also like the umbrella of functions it has under the one program for the price point offered. When you go from 100 to 200 active users the price doubling is a bit steep (this is why I gave value 4 stars), but it is comparable to similar programs, but easier to work with. Lastly, the customer service as well has been fantastic from day one and that was a major reason I chose Elvanto over other programs. Their speed of response is typically within 1 day, despite being in Australia, while I'm in the US.

Cons

More than anything it is their phone app, which is fairly useless at this time compared to just logging into the website on your phone (this is where 4 stars on Features comes in). The phone app has yet to be integrated with the majority of functions offered and the development has been too slow to get it going. Elvanto has a community Post board, which we love as a church, but to not have that on...

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Best Church Management Software I've used

Reviewed 5 years ago

I have used Elvanto for many years now and find it by far the easiest, feature rich ChMS around. Whilst functionality and UI are important, solid backup and support is critical. The Elvanto team are always on hand to answer questions quickly and the support team know their product (sounds obvious but not always the case!). There is a cost to using the software, but for those trying to weigh...

Pros

Ease of use. Feature Rich. Fantastic Support. Competitively Priced. Integrates with many 3rd party applications. Simply makes church management easier.

Cons

Check-In printing can be hit and miss (your average volunteer struggles if things go sideways). No "Offline" check-in mode, so mobile churches need to consider internet services (and speeds). BI is a little behind and could be improved. There are reports, but true "BI" and dashboards are missing.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Easy to use and everything you need for church management!

Reviewed 6 years ago
Pros

The software within this web-based, in-the-cloud system is amazing! It does everything you'll need to run your church efficiently, and it's very easy to use.

Cons

I love everything, but if I have to pick the least favorite thing, I'd change the looks of the website we work from. It's very nice, but there are a few things I'd do different (more colorful, square boxes for the photos of the congregation vs. round ones, and a cleaner looking layout). But, here's some good news. They're going to give Elvanto a new facelift very soon.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Best ChMS bar none

Reviewed 5 years ago

I have been a loyal customer with Elvanto since 2014. Before Elvanto I had tried a bunch of other softwares out there but they fell short of what we were trying to accomplish. Some of the more decent ones that we demo-ed like fellowship one and Church Community Builder had tiered pricing that were pretty expensive. When we looked into Elvanto the major things that attracted us were; 1. User friendly...

Pros

1. User friendly interface 2. Robust platform 3. Ridiculously low price 4. Great customer service

Cons

Member page still need more work but they have assured meet they are getting to that after rolling out their wonderful event registration feature they have been working on.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

A Great, Well Rounded ChMS System!

Reviewed 5 years ago

There are positives and negatives to any system. The same is true for Elvanto. I researched a huge number of Church Management Systems, but didn't find anything that fit exactly what we needed. However, I stumbled upon Elvanto. The design & pricing is what originally captured my interest. They have a nice, clean design that is easy to customize to fit your church's color scheme & logo. The pricing...

Pros

Service Planning, People Management, Customizable Reports, Group Management, Check-in System, Top-notch Support, Responsive Design for easy access across all devices

Cons

Form Builder can be limiting on available actions after a user submits a form, Reports are super customizable but many built-in reports cannot be saved in an easy to view location, Mobile app is a work in progress

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

The best all-round database available - and still on the improve!

Reviewed 5 years ago

We signed up for Elvanto early on in terms of their development. They weren't quite as good as CCB as a database, or PCO as a planning tool, but the fact it could do both in the same system made it worthwhile. Since making the decision to switch, we haven't looked back! Elvanto is user friendly, highly adaptable, looks good and is still continually improving. The mobile app still has a way to go to be fully functioning, and event payment still hasn't arrived yet, but I have no doubt that they will be worth the wait. While we as a church still aren't using it to its full capabilities, we are definitely doing things now, that are leading to growth, that wouldn't be possible without Elvanto.

Pros

The fact that it is able to do everything in one program. Rostering, service planning, attendance tracking, people flows, etc. That it's intuitive and looks good (with great a great ability to personalise) and that updates and improvements are coming thick and fast!

Cons

The service planning still lacks a little adaptability in terms of look and feel (compared to PCO) and images still can't be added to nametags. Can also seem like too many configuration options are possible when starting out (people categories, demographics, locations, groups, services) which can make starting a little confusing.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Great Product

Reviewed 5 years ago

I really enjoy this App. It is web based so able to be accessed anywhere by anyone you chose. Pricing is reasonable and there are so many functions that it s a challenge to use them all efficiently! There is a bit of time involved in the initial set up but well worth it. It is also very user friendly and intuitive. The support guys are constantly improving and updating features and open to suggestions....

Pros

The various functionality options and that it is web based so your people can access it from any computer anywhere and reasonably priced.

Cons

Nothing

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

We love Elvanto

Reviewed 5 years ago

We have been using Elvanto at Gateway Church Geelong now for well over 2 years. Our initial interaction with using Elvanto was during the trial period. The team were highly helpful in helping us transfer over from another PC based program that was locked to one machine. They were able to help with tweaking elements that would have hindered our transition within minutes of making them aware of our...

Pros

Its flexibility and the way it supports local church function at any size.

Cons

-

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Very happy with Elvanto cloud based mobile friendly Church Management System

Reviewed 5 years ago

We were looking for a church membership database software that was cloud based and mobile friendly so that all our pastoral staff could access it anytime, on the go, from anywhere, on any device, without installing any software. We also needed it to support Chinese characters, and Elvanto was one of the few that worked for us. After signing up for a trial, we found the system super easy to use and...

Pros

so easy to use that even our most tech averse pastoral staff are able to use it

Cons

Difficult to track extended relationships (aunts / uncles / cousins / etc.) beyond the standard family unit

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Amazing System

Reviewed 4 years ago

Would love to really implement new integrations to help engage people in new ways and make it easier for volunteers and staff to use Elvanto on the run. An App would be AMAZING that has full function. As well as integrations to elevated reporting dashboards. We would love to build a follow-up app as well that links with Elvanto to make it easy for people to make calls, add notes, tag others while on the run.

Pros

Great customer service and high functionality! We as users have a lot of freedom to manipulate advanced searches and reports to cater to what we need. Top class in that department. Also the reporting functions for groups is amazing.

Cons

Doesn't have a full functioning app. Not user friendly for volunteers that are on the run and not working from our church office (for follow-up purposes). Dashboards could be better to show key indicators digitally and graphically inspiring. We don't use Elvanto currently for our rostering, only for database and pastoral/follow-up. We also create all our reports manually based on exported reports on Elvanto. We find the display is just as important and the numbers.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Does Many Things and Does Them All Well

Reviewed 5 years ago

I love how Elvanto keeps all the things we need in one place. It's easy to use. It's easy to train people on. And you get all the features for one price! Not only does it look beautiful, it actually functions how you want it to. It's easy to set up and run out of the box. Then the more you use it, the more you realize how powerful it is. In church world, you always feel understaffed understaffed. Think of Elvanto like hiring three or four different people to keep track of all the stuff you wish you could keep up with. The customer service is that good. You feel like they're just a part of your team. That's all the things I can think to say. Seriously can not recommend this enough.

Pros

It has all the different systems and one system, but it doesn't feel too big or overwhelming.

Cons

The only con is that it's still new so sometimes there are minor bugs or glitches. But they are always really fast to fix them.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Elvanto has been a game-changer for our 300+ member church

Reviewed 5 years ago

We use Elvanto for database, attendance, assigning contacts, running reports, email, and texting our people. However, the best part about Elvanto is the People Flow concept. Keeping track of people at multiple stages of development with centralized notes has been amazing for us.

Pros

The fact that contact info, group and service attendance, notes, and activity log on each person is available with a few clicks. Running reports, Communicating with people through email and text is great. You can even do an advanced search and get really granular, and then just contact those people with one click. Simple and easy to use. The best part about Elvanto is the People Flow concept. Keeping track of people at multiple stages of development with centralized notes has been amazing for us.

Cons

The user interface for services and volunteering is a bit off par.

Vendor response

Thanks so much for the feedback Drew! I'd love to hear what we can do to improve our services and volunteering interface. If you had time, could you email in your thoughts to support [at] elvanto [dot] com?

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Best bang for your buck

Reviewed 5 years ago

We chose Elvanto as our Church Management System after looking through dozens of systems and demoing several of them. We are a small church of under 100, so we were looking for something cost effective without sacrificing features. Elvanto had all the features we were looking for and was just within our budget. The key features that made Elvanto stand out and were our deciding factors were service...

Pros

Feature-set, price, customer service

Cons

Some features could be improved to be made useful (like calendar/event reporting, printing, and emailing)

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Good product

Reviewed 5 years ago

As a church plant, we appreciated getting off the ground with this software. It helps you organize your church with service planning, scheduling, groups, and communication. There are a few functions we wish were added, but the team regularly adds greater functionality. It has been extremely reliable with almost zero downtime. We been pleased for the three years we've used it.

Pros

Financial management, scheduling, church directory, awesome introductory price for church plants

Cons

It doesn't currently integrate with our online giving platform (EasyTithe), limited on the groups side with members being able to see and communicate with each other, Some things are difficult to figure out how to customize.

Vendor response

Thanks Wes! We'll be sure to reach out to EasyTithe to see what we can do about integration! We are currently working on message boards for groups in the Member Area and will be adding more features like group search and more. What are the areas you found difficult to customize? I'd love to look to see what we can do. Cheers, Ben

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

We have loved this software. They are great about adding new features to make this great.

Reviewed 4 years ago
Pros

We love the ability to customize user log-in. We can add different users with different amount of accessibility into areas of the software. Also we focus a lot on being able to pastor people. We can add categorizes of notes. This helps us track and note where people are at. We can also add custom fields to in their profile to track spiritual growth. We switched to this program and have been thoroughly satisfied. This was also a great price software for church databases.

Cons

It is a little difficult with customer service cause they are an Australian company so at times the time difference for us in the US is hard to maneuver. The only other con we have found is the graphic appeal of customizing forms and mass email. This is something they are aware of. They have already made improvements since we have used their service.