This is your compare tray

Apps you want to compare will be listed here. Launch a head to head comparison at any time.

NetSuite OpenAir

The Leading Cloud Professional Services Automation Solution

visit website

NetSuite OpenAir Reviews

Reviews summary

Pros

It has a great repoting feature that provides great insights about the project progress.

Seray Ö.

Also easy to evaluate Vacation OFF timing of resource and it will help on OPEX cost estimations and tracking.overall user interface is good and easy to generate reports.easy to integrate with JIRA.

AR

Anonymous Reviewer

I like that it has the capability to integrate with things like Salesforce and Jira, making it easier for users to complete multiple tasks in one spot.

CM

Christopher M.

Cons

Lack of integration to the project financials. We struggled with integrating the contract data into the project so we could track profitability real time.

Jonathan S.

The very worst thing about it is the astronomically high price. For between 15 - 20 users we were paying over $20K/year.

JG

Jennie G.

The customer service is AWFUL - long waits to talk to people who are reading from a script. Their online help forum, SuiteAnswers, is equally bad.

JG

Jennie G.

Overall rating

4.0

5

4

3

2

1

13

13

3

4

1

76%
positive reviews
80%
would recommend this app

Filter reviews by


Overall rating


Company size


Industry


Time used


34 reviews

recommended

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Best expensive and project management tool

Reviewed a year ago

Good software for maintaining expense and project time management and reporting tool.

Pros

Very easy to use and it is very easy to pull reports like time sheets and utilization in scheduled basis.Also easy to evaluate Vacation OFF timing of resource and it will help on OPEX cost estimations and tracking.overall user interface is good and easy to generate reports.easy to integrate with JIRA.

Cons

Not really much but sometimes I feel they can do little more improvements on user interface and sometime it is little time taking method for editing submitted time-sheets.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Quite expensive project management software

Reviewed 10 months ago

NetSuite OpenAir is a quite expensive project management software which is not flexible for customizations according to our own internal project management requirements.

Pros

NetSuite OpenAir is great project management software especially for expense management and project time configurations. It has a great repoting feature that provides great insights about the project progress.

Cons

NetSuite OpenAir is not flexible for customizing according to our internal project management requirements. Ready project managmeent templates are not sufficient in terms of number and variation of features.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

Good riddance!

Reviewed 2 years ago
Pros

My company used this software for almost 13 years. It wasn't completely awful, as evidenced by the fact that we stuck with it for as long as we did, but I don't have a lot of good things to say about it. It was visually appealing, and once you got the hang of it, the navigation became somewhat intuitive. That's about it.

Cons

This software is cumbersome and rigid, and there are so many simple functions that it can't do that it's hard to understand why wasted their time making everything else so complex. The customer service is AWFUL - long waits to talk to people who are reading from a script. Their online help forum, SuiteAnswers, is equally bad. Most of the information is ancient. However, as I think about it, that...

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Great Time Keeping and PM Software

Reviewed 8 months ago

My overall experience has been great. The tool has reduced the time and energy needed to complete these often labor intensive and activities and freed up my time to do more value added work.

Pros

This software is perfect for time tracking, project management and invoicing for a professional services organization. It reduces administrative overhead time by seamlessly integrating all of these critical functions. By setting up your projects on the front-end, it allows your organization to more effectively manage your team and projects.

Cons

The software is an optimal solution for full integration for project management and administration; however, it did take some time to learn all of the idiosyncrasies of the tool. Once you get proficient, the software is a dream.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

You can likely make OpenAir work for your needs

Reviewed 3 years ago
Pros

We've really been able to make OA work for us. We use it for resource allocation and planning, expense reimbursements, vacation and sick time submissions, as well as normal daily time tracking. The ability to do all of that in one system is nice. It's fairly customizable if you're tech savvy.

Cons

Despite constantly adjusting bookings and information in the OA system, it always seems like incorrect or outdated information sticks around. We've taken to calling them "OpenAir Gremlins". It's not a huge deal, because we know to discount the additional bookings, but it can be frustrating and make resourcing more difficult than it already is. It's also not the most user friendly. Filters allow for highly customizable content, which is great, but can be a bit clunky. Also the "save" vs "save and submit" buttons often leave us with unsubmitted time sheets or vacation requests.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

There are way better products in the market.

Reviewed 2 months ago

We were trying to run a 150+ consulting firm and outside of time tracking/project tracking/invoicing, there was very little of the product that we could use. Even the parts we were using were quite clunky.

Pros

This product is very configurable but be careful... one change can have a significant impact. In my view, it was too configurable but at least it wasn't "what you see is what you get". Time tracking was ok.

Cons

Pretty much everything. The reporting module was horrible. Resource management was clunky. The product seems to never evolve or change. This is a big company so don't expect personalized treatment.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

OpenAir review

Reviewed 2 years ago

Overall, I like the software and am anxious to see how they improve it next!

Pros

I like that it has the capability to integrate with things like Salesforce and Jira, making it easier for users to complete multiple tasks in one spot.

Cons

The UI still needs a bit of work. It is not easy to navigate through the platform and things are often "hidden" from plain sight.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Great Timesheet Program

Reviewed 4 years ago
Pros

This is a pretty easy interface to navigate through to record and keep track of all your hours and PTO for projects.

Cons

It's difficult and not intuitive when it comes to trying to edit your hours after submitting your timesheet. It's also a little cumbersome that you can't record some of your hours ahead of time if you know you'll be on PTO.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Almost There

Reviewed 4 years ago

My PM's choose to use this tool only for Resource & Time Management. I'm having a hard time getting them to use this as a Project Management Tool.

Pros

Resource Management through Bookings - I can easily see what my Resource's utilization & Bench time is.

Cons

Projects and Bookings could be connected better. Reporting could benefit with more complex reporting. Resource Management Planner view could use a zoom in feature. Project Task Management could be more complex.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

OpenAir review

Reviewed 3 years ago
Pros

Can access from your phone to enter\submit time and expenses

Cons

If you enter a wrong amount on an expense, you have to delete the record and create a new one. Sometimes not all of the tasks for time entry show up so I have to wait to use it via the computer.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

NetSuite OpenAir Review from an admin perspective

Reviewed 3 years ago

I'm very happy with OpenAir and the extend to which it could be customized to the needs of the specific corporate organization. It is designed to cover a lot of corporate processes which gives it the potential to make it a primary corporate tool.

Pros

One of the main advantages of OpenAir is extend to which it could be customized to the clients needs. It also can be eintegrated with other business systems that an organization uses - for example SAP. This is a huge advantage because it saves a lot of manual work especially for the accounting department.

Cons

OpenAir is not very user friendly. also its design is not enough intuitive. What is more the new GUI is very confusing for users used to the previous design. One more drawback is that the OpenAir mobile app is not very convenient. It needs further development to make it equally useful as the web app.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend5/10

Share this review:

Only Niche Industries Should Consider This

Reviewed 4 months ago

Rather negative - the company I worked for, a Marketing agency, really should not have selected OpenAir. I believe it to be better suited for niche companies who may have non-accounting staff entering transactions/data in a streamlined manner that would then port over to the primary accounting system, NetSuiet.

Pros

OpenAir is designed to integrate with NetSuite and it is possible to do a high volume of billing and tasks efficiently using OpenAir. The software is fairly streamlined to be able to move quickly and process recurring tasks in such a way that non-accounting staff can be comfortable in the UI too.

Cons

At my prior company, we were plagued with sync issues whereby data would not port over to Netsuite. Having to constantly work to keep the 2 systems in sync by troubleshooting, activating/de-activating various accounts/projects/etc., and sometimes just guessing at fixes drained significant time that could have been spent in more productive ways.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

OpenAir makes project tracking easy

Reviewed 2 years ago

Overall, we have been pleased with the performance and functionality, as well as the support response when needed has been great.

Pros

I like the ease of use, seamless integration with most major platforms, flexibility and value proposition.

Cons

The feature that would be most helpful for us would be an additional column to input the baseline project hours and cost and have it be frozen. This way we could track changes in scope much easier.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Great DIY Solution

Reviewed 2 years ago
Pros

Love all the functionality of reports, saved searches and custom fields. Easy to add fields and publish them to transaction pages.

Cons

Creating reports is not always intuitive as you think it should be. For more complex reports you need to really understand where the data is coming from before you can create a report using it.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Great ERP system to solve our needs!

Reviewed 2 years ago

We had need to solve our revenue recognition and financial reporting and with NetSuite we did streamline the process and automated month-end closing process. Thanks,

Pros

Easy to operate, searching for a transaction is improved based on the other softwares and great ERP product.

Cons

The ability to connect with other softwares.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

Great system for time sheet & expense reporting

Reviewed 3 years ago
Pros

Great system for time sheet & expense reporting - very easy to use once you get the hang of it. Proxy access rights work seamlessly.

Cons

A little labor intensive, but you can format the system to pre-populate some fields to make data entry smoother.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

OpenAir Review

Reviewed 3 years ago
Pros

Ability to customize to our needs for the user view and the different user levels

Cons

Integration between other systems and the ability to make changes after an integration has been completed.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend6/10

Share this review:

Meh...

Reviewed 3 years ago
Pros

I've used mostly for time tracking, and not seen the admin access/reporting. However, from an end user perspective, it's basically the same as every other time tracking suite.

Cons

the UX seems a bit outdated compared to many others.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

Terrible Application

Reviewed 8 months ago

Just a terribly put together application, I think it has potential but someone fell short of development.

Pros

Tracking project progress and time is the only thing this is good for. Heaven forbid you forget something and you have to start all over.

Cons

This application is not good, so many missing features and it's only good for tracking your time and project updates. You have to refresh every change, it erases everything if you forgot to add something. Out of 5 stars I'd give it a half star if possible

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

openair cloud version is very easy to use

Reviewed 3 years ago
Pros

- Easy to use. - Centralized location make booking and timesheets, so we can generate reports about how the resources are utilized during the week. - also we use it to book a vacation so it can be easily tracked. - you can also check the current projects and the time spend on each project which helps in identifying the areas which need improvement within the org

Cons

the way to edit timesheets and projects, is a little bit confusing for someone who dealing with it for the first time.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend1/10

Share this review:

Looks like something out of the 80s

Reviewed 6 months ago

We needed to track our time on projects for billing purposes.

Pros

I can't say many positive things about this, it kept the timesheet data recorded. It was relatively easy to add new client and jobs.

Cons

It was NOT user friendly. The tabs and user interface made no sense. The drop downs didn't toggle well and data would have to be refreshed all together to get the correct information in the drop down in case you wanted to see a different client. Just clunky and difficult for no reason. We never used it for more than that and they increased the price substantially despite our light use. We cancelled and went with another service.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

Great software for PM, time & expense

Reviewed 3 years ago
Pros

Great at tracking time & expense. Easy to use to keep track of projects & resources on the projects. Able to do T&M billing easily

Cons

Reporting capabilities somewhat limited and hard to integrate with our other software - overall just lacks customization ability

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend6/10

Share this review:

Hard to use but good features

Reviewed 3 years ago

Painful at first, and even still to this day, but data is all organized and clean.

Pros

Great features and tracking of expenses, time, etc. Secure, we used it with SSO Mobile app

Cons

So hard to get used to. Not intuitive. Things aren't where you would expect them to be. Slow at times.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

Great PM tool, but too many features for my needs.

Reviewed 4 years ago

Time tracking, resource management

Pros

I like the many different options it presents for setting up projects and assigning resources. Also, great way to track time and progress bill.

Cons

If you are a small company, the assigning of resources can be frustrating, as we are an all hands on deck organization, so resources are often double booked, which can create confusion in OpenAir.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend2/10

Share this review:

Buyer Beware

Reviewed 4 years ago

Has good billing functionality

Pros

Timesheet and expenses approval workflows. milestone and T&M billing rules.

Cons

WBS very difficult to work with. Reporting leaves much to be desired. Buggy, inconsistent behaviour. lacks functionality. slow/poor performance.