NetSuite OpenAir Reviews

NetSuite OpenAir

The Leading Cloud Professional Services Automation Solution

4.15/5 (27 reviews)

mohamed ashraf

openair cloud version is very easy to use

Used weekly for 6-12 months
Reviewed 2019-01-03
Review Source: GetApp

Pros
- Easy to use. - Centralized location make booking and timesheets, so we can generate reports about how the resources are utilized during the week. - also we use it to book a vacation so it can be easily tracked. - you can also check the current projects and the time spend on each project which helps in identifying the areas which need improvement within the org

Cons
the way to edit timesheets and projects, is a little bit confusing for someone who dealing with it for the first time.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features

Likelihood to recommend: 10/10

Minimize review

Savannah Windham

You can likely make OpenAir work for your needs

Used weekly for 2+ years
Reviewed 2018-09-12
Review Source: Software Advice

Pros
We've really been able to make OA work for us. We use it for resource allocation and planning, expense reimbursements, vacation and sick time submissions, as well as normal daily time tracking. The ability to do all of that in one system is nice. It's fairly customizable if you're tech savvy.

Cons
Despite constantly adjusting bookings and information in the OA system, it always seems like incorrect or outdated information sticks around. We've taken to calling them "OpenAir Gremlins". It's not a huge deal, because we know to discount the additional bookings, but it can be frustrating and make resourcing more difficult than it already is. It's also not the most user friendly. Filters allow for highly customizable content, which is great, but can be a bit clunky. Also the "save" vs "save and submit" buttons often leave us with unsubmitted time sheets or vacation requests.

Rating breakdown

Ease of use
Features

Likelihood to recommend: 7/10

Minimize review

Jennie Gunnerson

Good riddance!

Used daily for 2+ years
Reviewed 2020-01-21
Review Source: Capterra

Pros
My company used this software for almost 13 years. It wasn't completely awful, as evidenced by the fact that we stuck with it for as long as we did, but I don't have a lot of good things to say about it. It was visually appealing, and once you got the hang of it, the navigation became somewhat intuitive. That's about it.

Cons
This software is cumbersome and rigid, and there are so many simple functions that it can't do that it's hard to understand why wasted their time making everything else so complex. The customer service is AWFUL - long waits to talk to people who are reading from a script. Their online help forum, SuiteAnswers, is equally bad. Most of the information is ancient. However, as I think about it, that probably doesn't matter, because OpenAir hasn't made any significant changes to its platform for many years, despite the fact that they said over and over and over that an update was right around the corner. The very worst thing about it is the astronomically high price. For between 15 - 20 users we were paying over $20K/year. It was overwhelming to think about changing since we had so much data stored in the system, but we have finally taken the leap not to renew our contract and move to BigTime, and I couldn't be happier.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 0/10

Minimize review

Alexa Henderson

Great DIY Solution

Used daily for 2+ years
Reviewed 2019-07-12
Review Source: Capterra

Pros
Love all the functionality of reports, saved searches and custom fields. Easy to add fields and publish them to transaction pages.

Cons
Creating reports is not always intuitive as you think it should be. For more complex reports you need to really understand where the data is coming from before you can create a report using it.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 9/10

Minimize review

Christopher Miller

OpenAir review

Used daily for 1-2 years
Reviewed 2019-10-03
Review Source: Capterra

Overall, I like the software and am anxious to see how they improve it next!

Pros
I like that it has the capability to integrate with things like Salesforce and Jira, making it easier for users to complete multiple tasks in one spot.

Cons
The UI still needs a bit of work. It is not easy to navigate through the platform and things are often "hidden" from plain sight.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 7/10

Minimize review

Kenneth Villapando

Great Timesheet Program

Used daily for 1-2 years
Reviewed 2017-12-14
Review Source: Software Advice

Pros
This is a pretty easy interface to navigate through to record and keep track of all your hours and PTO for projects.

Cons
It's difficult and not intuitive when it comes to trying to edit your hours after submitting your timesheet. It's also a little cumbersome that you can't record some of your hours ahead of time if you know you'll be on PTO.

Rating breakdown

Ease of use
Features

Likelihood to recommend: 8/10

Minimize review

Kendal Blake

Almost There

Used daily for 6-12 months
Reviewed 2017-08-10
Review Source: Software Advice

My PM's choose to use this tool only for Resource & Time Management. I'm having a hard time getting them to use this as a Project Management Tool.

Pros
Resource Management through Bookings - I can easily see what my Resource's utilization & Bench time is.

Cons
Projects and Bookings could be connected better. Reporting could benefit with more complex reporting. Resource Management Planner view could use a zoom in feature. Project Task Management could be more complex.

Rating breakdown

Ease of use
Features

Likelihood to recommend: 8/10

Minimize review

Brenda Hopkins

OpenAir review

Used daily for 1-2 years
Reviewed 2018-08-21
Review Source: Capterra

Pros
Can access from your phone to enter\submit time and expenses

Cons
If you enter a wrong amount on an expense, you have to delete the record and create a new one. Sometimes not all of the tasks for time entry show up so I have to wait to use it via the computer.

Rating breakdown

Ease of use
Features

Likelihood to recommend: 8/10

Minimize review

Patricia Chavez

OpenAir Review

Used daily for 1-2 years
Reviewed 2019-04-11
Review Source: Capterra

Pros
Ability to customize to our needs for the user view and the different user levels

Cons
Integration between other systems and the ability to make changes after an integration has been completed.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 7/10

Minimize review

Anonymous

Meh...

Used daily for 6-12 months
Reviewed 2019-02-01
Review Source: Capterra

Pros
I've used mostly for time tracking, and not seen the admin access/reporting. However, from an end user perspective, it's basically the same as every other time tracking suite.

Cons
the UX seems a bit outdated compared to many others.

Rating breakdown

Ease of use
Features

Likelihood to recommend: 6/10

Minimize review

Lyubov Pencheva

NetSuite OpenAir Review from an admin perspective

Used daily for 6-12 months
Reviewed 2019-02-25
Review Source: Capterra

I'm very happy with OpenAir and the extend to which it could be customized to the needs of the specific corporate organization. It is designed to cover a lot of corporate processes which gives it the potential to make it a primary corporate tool.

Pros
One of the main advantages of OpenAir is extend to which it could be customized to the clients needs. It also can be eintegrated with other business systems that an organization uses - for example SAP. This is a huge advantage because it saves a lot of manual work especially for the accounting department.

Cons
OpenAir is not very user friendly. also its design is not enough intuitive. What is more the new GUI is very confusing for users used to the previous design. One more drawback is that the OpenAir mobile app is not very convenient. It needs further development to make it equally useful as the web app.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 9/10

Minimize review

Steve Johnson

OpenAir makes project tracking easy

Used daily for 2+ years
Reviewed 2019-04-30
Review Source: Capterra

Overall, we have been pleased with the performance and functionality, as well as the support response when needed has been great.

Pros
I like the ease of use, seamless integration with most major platforms, flexibility and value proposition.

Cons
The feature that would be most helpful for us would be an additional column to input the baseline project hours and cost and have it be frozen. This way we could track changes in scope much easier.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 8/10

Minimize review

Mihail Georgiev

Great ERP system to solve our needs!

Used daily for 2+ years
Reviewed 2019-04-26
Review Source: Capterra

We had need to solve our revenue recognition and financial reporting and with NetSuite we did streamline the process and automated month-end closing process. Thanks,

Pros
Easy to operate, searching for a transaction is improved based on the other softwares and great ERP product.

Cons
The ability to connect with other softwares.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 9/10

Minimize review

Dana Miksad

Great system for time sheet & expense reporting

Used daily for 2+ years
Reviewed 2018-04-25
Review Source: Capterra

Pros
Great system for time sheet & expense reporting - very easy to use once you get the hang of it. Proxy access rights work seamlessly.

Cons
A little labor intensive, but you can format the system to pre-populate some fields to make data entry smoother.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Minimize review

Anonymous

Great software for PM, time & expense

Used weekly for 1-2 years
Reviewed 2018-06-13
Review Source: Capterra

Pros
Great at tracking time & expense. Easy to use to keep track of projects & resources on the projects. Able to do T&M billing easily

Cons
Reporting capabilities somewhat limited and hard to integrate with our other software - overall just lacks customization ability

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Minimize review

Christian Pires

Great PM tool, but too many features for my needs.

Used weekly for 6-12 months
Reviewed 2018-01-12
Review Source: Capterra

Time tracking, resource management

Pros
I like the many different options it presents for setting up projects and assigning resources. Also, great way to track time and progress bill.

Cons
If you are a small company, the assigning of resources can be frustrating, as we are an all hands on deck organization, so resources are often double booked, which can create confusion in OpenAir.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 7/10

Minimize review

Jonathan Schreck

Great tool but lacked some data integrations

Used weekly for 6-12 months
Reviewed 2017-10-10
Review Source: Capterra

Pros
Robust features that we could leverage across our services business. Provided scheduling tools that allowed for visibility into areas of high and low utilization for scheduling.

Cons
Lack of integration to the project financials. We struggled with integrating the contract data into the project so we could track profitability real time.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Minimize review

Anonymous

Buyer Beware

Used daily for 1-2 years
Reviewed 2018-02-08
Review Source: Capterra

Has good billing functionality

Pros
Timesheet and expenses approval workflows. milestone and T&M billing rules.

Cons
WBS very difficult to work with. Reporting leaves much to be desired. Buggy, inconsistent behaviour. lacks functionality. slow/poor performance.

Rating breakdown

Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 2/10

Minimize review

Michael Nouguier

its a typical tracking app

Used daily for less than 6 months
Reviewed 2017-07-18
Review Source: Capterra

transparent time tracking

Pros
it helps track all client billable hours and notes and can pull in data from SFDC. I can break out hours per day and comment per each

Cons
not as customizable as I would like. I wish we could turn some of the "features" off. Forcing comments makes my time entry quite tedious

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 8/10

Minimize review

Molly Ehlers

OpenAir is NOT Fully Integrated w/ NetSuite

Used daily for 6-12 months
Reviewed 2019-01-24
Review Source: Capterra

Pros
The customer support team has been great, likely because we have had so many issues.

Cons
The usability, the fact that is was advertised and sold to us as fully integrated with NetSuite (it's parent company which houses all financials) and the increasingly common issues that arise for no reason.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 0/10

Minimize review

Rakesh

Professional Services Automation Made Simple

Reviewed 2013-08-28
Review Source: GetApp

NetSuite OpenAir is an excellent solution that combines a comprehensive approach with convenience. Thanks to its integration and customization capabilities, it also extends typical PSA solutions and makes it easy for PSA organizations to track their efforts and be more successful. Integration with multiple CRM and ERP systems at the front end and back end ensures extensibility and easier processing of routine tasks

Pros
specific customizations within the solution makes it an interesting and innovative solution. For example, the solution integrates with iPhones and iPads.

Rating breakdown

Minimize review

Emilio Martinez

Pretty standard as timesheet tools go.

Used weekly for 6-12 months
Reviewed 2019-01-21
Review Source: Capterra

Pros
Set up for first use was mostly pain free.

Cons
setting up the same timesheet over and over again is a bit of a chore. There is no memory of what you did the last time you used it.

Rating breakdown

Ease of use
Features

Likelihood to recommend: 6/10

Minimize review

Gina Guarracino

Great for time tracking and reporting!

Used weekly for 6-12 months
Reviewed 2018-09-13
Review Source: Capterra

Pros
OpenAir is user friendly and integrates with multiple in house systems.

Cons
No cons! I am not familiar with other time systems but OpenAir seems to have it all!

Rating breakdown

Ease of use
Features

Likelihood to recommend: 8/10

Minimize review

Anonymous

strong PSA tool

Used occasionally for free trial
Reviewed 2018-12-05
Review Source: Capterra

Pros
* strong PSA tool which covers most of the project management aspects including task management, scheduling, resource management, timesheet, billing and invoicing, expense management, revenue tracking etc.

Cons
* UI needs improvement as navigation in resource scheduling and project budgeting takes longer time

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 8/10

Minimize review

Anonymous

Hard to use but good features

Used weekly for 1-2 years
Reviewed 2018-12-22
Review Source: Capterra

Painful at first, and even still to this day, but data is all organized and clean.

Pros
Great features and tracking of expenses, time, etc. Secure, we used it with SSO Mobile app

Cons
So hard to get used to. Not intuitive. Things aren't where you would expect them to be. Slow at times.

Rating breakdown

Ease of use
Features

Likelihood to recommend: 6/10

Minimize review