SpiraPlan Reviews

SpiraPlan

Enterprise Agile Program Management

3.85/5 (13 reviews)

Jim Reardan

Very satisfied with SpiraTeam's requirements management features and functions.

Used weekly for 2+ years
Reviewed 2017-08-04
Review Source: Capterra

I can easily manage software requirements for any size software development project.

Pros
The value for the money. I primarily use SpiraTeam for requirements management. From that perspective alone, SpiraTeam's functionality is as good or better than IBM/Rational, HP, or ReqTool. To have all the other functionality (test management, task management, Kanban, reporting, etc.) include in the package is a true value-add.

Cons
It's a minor inconvenience: response time when first logging-in to the system is somewhat slow. But once the system responds to my login attempt, response time is acceptable - at least as good as other cloud-based systems I use.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 10/10

Minimize review

Dennis Lardenoye

Our R&D - managed, at last!

Used weekly for less than 6 months
Reviewed 2019-12-13
Review Source: Capterra

We used a maintenance release for one of our medical devices as a trial. Spira allowed very easy control of Requirements and Test artifacts and especially traceability and traceability reporting, which is vital for e.g. the FDA submissions.

Pros
* Easy to set up (meaning the project templates, users, customizable fields, etc.) * Very good integration possibilities with other tools * Attractive GUI * Great customization possibilities for reports * REST API available and well documented

Cons
* Support for reviews is a bit rudimentary - this is, IMO, the weakest part of the tool. We'd prefer to have the possibility to submit sets of artifacts for review, defined review groups, and allow adding Approvals and Discussion threads (similar to e.g. Gitlab)

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 8/10

Minimize review

bernardo buelga

We've used SpiraTeam in my company for over 5 years and it is great tool for Test Management.

Used daily for 2+ years
Reviewed 2017-08-01
Review Source: Capterra

Pros
I'd like to have versioning for requirements and others, Faster UI and Navigation. Dashboards with all the needed reports and graphs

Cons
When lots of test cases are created the app gets sloppy and confused Missing dashboards and better reports

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 9/10

Minimize review

Brian Kratsch

Great product for managing your software development projects at a reasonable price

Used daily for 2+ years
Reviewed 2017-07-27
Review Source: Capterra

A full ALM for our company to support a major multi year ERP implementation. Minimal setup and training was required and the tool has proved reliable for us.

Pros
When evaluating solutions for an Application Lifecycle Management tool it became clear to me that the choice would be SpiraTeam (including SpiraPlan). For the price to feature ratio, it could do everything and more than we would need. With the ability to just add additionally licenses as our team grew it provided the flexibility we needed. The support team at Inflectra is also top notch. Any time I had a question/issue, they were there to help in a quick and friendly manner.

Cons
Some areas of the application UI can be a little clunky and unintuitive at times. Inflectra does take user feedback seriously though and I have been able to work with them to resolve most issues we faced.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 9/10

Minimize review

Rian Mahaffey

Spiraplan

Used daily for 2+ years
Reviewed 2019-12-10
Review Source: Capterra

overall, very positive.

Pros
Ability to customize to my company's needs. Ability to link with other programs for automated testing

Cons
some basic features: unable to link an incident to at test case; can only link an incident to an individual test step. When using the main search feature, you have to use caps to search for an incident, task, test case by the IN:XXXX

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 10/10

Minimize review

Charles Hsiao

The tech support was very responsive to help me to set the environment. So impressed.

Used daily for 2+ years
Reviewed 2017-07-28
Review Source: Capterra

Effective work process

Pros
It is a worry free software for software development projects for me. Packed features allow the team to grow.

Cons
Better integrated source code management features for code review. Online development environment could be great as well to further simplify the development operations

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 9/10

Minimize review

Stephanie Beach

Quick review of Spira-Test

Reviewed 2011-10-20
Review Source: Capterra

Well let's face it. You don't charge a lot of money. However, for an extra grand + change I can get MS Test Manager. Both yours and that product are under evaluation. I think you have the start of a good program. I'll keep evaluating and if the check comes in the mail: you win.

Pros
I like the ability to connect the requirements to bugs to tests. It's reasonably priced. Your support team is very responsive The logo if pretty good too

Cons
We won't use the bug tracker. Not feature rich enough. The description field is just too small to be useful. See Bugzilla which is free. That is what we are going to continue using. For Requirements, we won't use that either except maybe at a very high level. My Product manager is looking for a better description page. We use MS Word and that allows up to view the requirement in full. Our requirements are multiple pages. What you offer is too limiting.

Rating breakdown

Ease of use
Customer support

Minimize review

Faisal Humayun

Good ALM for startups

Used occasionally for 1-2 years
Reviewed 2017-07-31
Review Source: Capterra

It was a great option at a time the company hadn't selected a requirements management agile tool. Ever since we moved to JIRA, it was best to move to the much simpler, speedier, easy to integrate, TestRail tool.

Pros
A much improved interface UI for testing and positively best option for requirements management in a testing tool

Cons
very slow access on shared hosting - windows server only - very difficult to integrate with 3rd party APIs

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 5/10

Minimize review

Jan Svoboda

Easy to use

Used weekly for less than 6 months
Reviewed 2017-07-28
Review Source: Capterra

Overviee

Pros
Dashboard is so simple and complex. Reports export is usefull and usable. We are happy to use this sw.

Cons
Individual setup seems to me as complicated. Many features is not used due hide somewhere. Need to be more user friendly and intuative.

Response from Inflectra


Thanks for the feedback, we are working to simplify the user experience for new users and hide certain advanced features until users are ready for them.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 6/10

Minimize review

Sriramasundararajan Rajagopalan

Great overall.

Used weekly for less than 6 months
Reviewed 2017-07-28
Review Source: Capterra

One stop experience for the entire ALM.

Pros
Like the one stop at a software for entire application lifecycle. The licensing fee model was also good.

Cons
User interface could be improved similar to Version in agile user stories or even Trello.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 8/10

Minimize review

Alan Bissett

Great product - especially good for remote project management

Reviewed 2014-03-10
Review Source: Capterra

I have used SpiraPlan for several years to help manage projects. It is a very stable and reliable piece of software. I find it great for managing tasks for staff working remote from the office. It took a bit of getting used to at first as there are several ways of setting up projects. However once you get the hang of it and find the way it works for you it is great. I really like the import / export functions to Microsoft Excel and MS Project - very useful. Also the ability to set up you own custom fields gives it a lot of flexibility. I have used several other software products over the years so have used both good and not so good ones, and I would thoroughly recommend SpiraPlan.

Rating breakdown

Ease of use
Customer support

Minimize review

Bhawna Dudeja

New Tool - central repository

Reviewed 2011-09-26
Review Source: Capterra

Good and Useful

Pros
New tool , 1 tool for multi functions

Cons
I am new to thistool so need to learn alot

Rating breakdown

Ease of use
Customer support

Minimize review

Chris Davies

Excellent customer support

Used monthly for less than 6 months
Reviewed 2017-07-27
Review Source: Capterra

Pros
Full featured

Cons
A little complex

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features

Minimize review