App comparison

Add up to 4 apps below to see how they compare. You can also use the "Compare" buttons while browsing.

HOA Start Reviews

Overall rating

4.9

/5

15

Rating criteria

  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9.6/10

Reviews by rating

Pros and cons

It's been really great, the onboarding specialist are really helpful and responsive, overall we've been very satisfied with the entire system.
Your product is great and Customer Support ([SENSITIVE CONTENT]) is amazing as mentioned before.
I like the clean manner in which members and addresses are handled. It's extraordinarily easy if you have learned to get data from your county assessor's database.
We had an event that we charged outsiders to attend.
That point alone emphasizes why I learned as much as I did as opposed to simply following recommendations from a manual or a coordinator who might not be engaged.
The household data import/upload has been a little complex, but the big one for use was the inability to delete it (as an admin) and start over.
Filter reviews by

Overall rating


Company size


Industry


Time used


15 reviews

Recommended

AR
AvatarImg

Anonymous Reviewer

Verified reviewer

Nonprofit Organization Management, 1-10 employees

Used weekly for less than 6 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

The Right Fit for our Association

Reviewed 13 days ago

Overall my experience with HOA Start has been extremely positive. Having researched other offerings out there, HOA Start was by far the best choice, especially for an association like ours with more basic needs than larger associations but needing more than the bare minimum. Others offered either the bare minimum, or were geared and priced toward large & complex associations, or their pricing tiers were based on # of units and generalized assumptions about HOAs which was not reflective of the nature and needs of our specific association.My experience with HOA Start in terms of product quality, support and price/value has been great so far. I must say, being satisfied in all three of these areas is rare these days.

Pros

Even at the low-end 'Starter' level, the set of features available is substantial and allows for a robust website both for the public/member facing side as well as the administrative backend. There is a good range of website templates to choose from and they are straight-forward and simple to set up, edit and maintain. HOA Start has really good help resources and video tutorials, and the support desk has been great and super responsive.

Cons

Not necessarily a con, but it would be nice if there was the ability to customize certain aspects of the template, i.e. set default fonts, specify colors for links, etc.There could be improvements in the invoicing/payment systems. I've run into some limitations and bumps that have required figuring out various workarounds.

Vendor response

Our Specialists work hard for our clients on every plan purchased, regardless of size. We see a lot of the same you speak about with the overlooked options for associations. It's extremely rewarding to receive review like this is. We want you to know that we're thankful and proud. Thank you again for the feedback!

SW
AvatarImg

Scott W.

Automotive, 5,001-10,000 employees

Used monthly for less than 6 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

HOA Start - Easy to Create & Administer our HOA Website with Outstanding Customer Support

Reviewed a month ago

As our HOA administrator, I was really surprised how easy it was to get our website configured and 'live' so quickly. I was able to use our existing domain name which was a plus too. Feedback from our homeowners has been overwhelmingly positive where they love the modern look/feel, graphics, ease of use, access to our HOA documents, Contact Us page and how great the website looks on their mobile devices. Your product is great and Customer Support ([SENSITIVE CONTENT]) is amazing as mentioned before.

Pros

The ability to quickly and easily configure our HOA website is where this product shines. Our HOA is on the Starter package, yet this is feature rich with the ability to manage our members, post and expose HOA documents, ACH payments, calendars and the flexibility to create additional webpages as needed. The modern user experience provides our HOA a fresh new look. The fast response from our Onboarding...

Cons

Because HOA Start is so feature-rich and everything is configurable, there is alot of functionality in this product. I am an IT professional where I needed to reach out to the Support team for clarification on a couple items, like the Households feature for example. Two things that can be improved: 1) making HOA Start mobile enabled (not just viewing website on mobile device), 2) email blast as part of the Starter package.

Vendor response

You really may not know how rewarding a review like this is, but we want to assure you that we're thankful and proud to receive it. Our Specialists work hard for our clients on every plan purchased, regardless of size. It goes without saying that it's an easy job when the client comes in ready to succeed. Thank you again for the feedback, and we look forward to working with you!

AR
AvatarImg

Anonymous Reviewer

Verified reviewer

Nonprofit Organization Management, 1-10 employees

Used weekly for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Arlington HOA

Reviewed a month ago

Our experience with HOAStart has been excellent for all of the previously mentioned reasons.

Pros

HOA Start has most of the features we were looking for including ease of setup, excellent customer and technical support, the ability to automate certain functions like ARC reviews, member sign-up and communication with homeowners.

Cons

Documentation was insufficient in some areas but excellent technical and customer support made up for that.

Vendor response

We sincerely appreciate you taking the time and providing us this thorough review that allows us to see where we're shining, and where we can make improvements. Customer service means everything to our organization, and we strive to make sure no client is left behind. We have a full development roadmap slated for 2023 with features that will be sure to provide an even better experience to communicate with your members. We again thank you for your trust in us and look forward to the partnership!

SC
AvatarImg

Sue C.

Information Services, 51-200 employees

Used daily for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Our first year with HOA Start

Reviewed a month ago

We wanted a way to disseminate documents, manage members, communicate and streamline our architectural control process. The first and last are well accomplished. We're still struggling with the middle one. We are hoping to implement online billing and payment this year.

Pros

I like the clean manner in which members and addresses are handled. It's extraordinarily easy if you have learned to get data from your county assessor's database. Members were a bit more difficult at first, because not all have email addresses, which are required. But a question to our contact revealed the magic trick of using @example.com. I like the ease of changing web pages' content, with the preview option to make certain the changes look right. Our architectural control committee is delighted with the ticketing system. They will campaign absinthe any hint of wanting to abandon the software.

Cons

Messaging members is our least favorite part. We do it regularly, and wish we could do more with design. We often send aplain text message, with the graphic version as an attachment, but our older population find this challenging. I was excited to see a page format for a newsletter, but disappointed when it could not be emailed, but just referred to.

Vendor response

Sue, we greatly thank you for taking the time to help us learn about what we're doing right and where we can improve. We have a full slate of new features arriving in 2023, and we think you'll enjoy many, like the upcoming Mobile App. Our promise to you and all of our clients is that we will keep improving the product, experience and delivering top level support. Thanks again for your trust in us as a vendor!

RK
AvatarImg

Richard K.

Nonprofit Organization Management, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used daily for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Our new HOA website is an overwhelm success - thanks to HOA Starts powerful and easy to use system

Reviewed 16 days ago

I led the team which did the market survey and source selection for our new website system product.Since the selection of HOA Start and throughout a very compressed site creation, review and rollout I have never for a moment had cause to question, or reconsider our choice of HOA Start. I was delighted with the community reaction to replacing our old system with this new website and I was immodestly delighted when last October, a month after going live, the Board named me “Community Hero of the Month”.

Pros

No need to understand HTML or other generalized web tools. Use of more than 20 available templates make it easy to create pages which clearly convey content in a format VERY well suited to that content using a simple but powerful edit panel combined with the automation built into the individual templates.We are also VERY impressed with the support provided. In addition to the VERY extensive online documentation, our onboarding specialist has answered more than 50 individual queries all of them within one working day.

Cons

Key concepts concerning how the automation in the templates and the Admin Dashboard features interact with the site builder tools need to be more clearly explained and given prominence in the documentation.

RW
AvatarImg

Rob W.

Recreational Facilities and Services, 51-200 employees

Used weekly for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

This software simply works

Reviewed 12 days ago

My team and I agree that our experience was much better than expected. Each of us on the team has an IT background and therefore experienced with various software product upgrades or replacements. The implementation coordination was excellent. [SENSITIVE CONTENT], our coordinator, was able to quickly identify our needs and help guide us through implementation. Always offering best-paths, she was expert at explaining options and the trade-offs that we'd see. That point alone emphasizes why I learned as much as I did as opposed to simply following recommendations from a manual or a coordinator who might not be engaged. The HOA Start process and procedure work flow provided us with clear steps to success.

Pros

The website management and configuration features are not only equal to all of the more expensive products; but it exceeds them in many cases. As a career software developer, I know pain points for users. Good/great products work hard to ease that burden. Work flows, communications, mass-editing...these things matter. We found a great product.

Cons

As a board member on our POA, I would like to have more reporting for my members, especially statistically. In the future, I'd consider adding canned reports that would satisfy the number crunchers.

sg
AvatarImg

steven g.

Computer Software, 11-50 employees

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

HOAstart a great choice

Reviewed 16 days ago

Only good things to say. I like that they gave me a trial period to evaluate. That helped our decision. [SENSITIVE CONTENT] is a pleasure to work with for customer support.

Pros

This is the only software project I worked on (and I've done plenty,) where I didn't have to write code. Their templates, widgets, etc are fully configurable where you can put together a decent website without having to code!!

Cons

I would like the ability to define my own templates. You have to use an HOAstart template. However, they give you plenty to work with.

EB
AvatarImg

Edward B.

Nonprofit Organization Management, 1-10 employees

Used weekly for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Modern DIY website for any homeowners association.

Reviewed 17 days ago

Our old website was useless. People are engaged in the HOA Start website. We had an event that we charged outsiders to attend. We used the event capabilities to set up the event online and the credit card capabilities to charge people. Would have been a nightmare without the website to assist here.

Pros

It's easy to use, administer and change. Also, it's newer than most of it's competitors out there. Most others I found were 15-20 years old and they looked it. HOA Start is fairly new (a couple years old) and thus state of the art for the industry. Also, we maintain it ourselves as opposed to relying on the website company. therefore, changes happen in hours and are exactly what we want them to be. We control it.

Cons

It wasn't as feature rich as some of the others initially when we got it, but what it has now is plenty for what we need now.

jL
AvatarImg

jb L.

Nonprofit Organization Management, 1-10 employees

Used weekly for less than 6 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

All in one software

Reviewed 16 days ago

It's been really great, the onboarding specialist are really helpful and responsive, overall we've been very satisfied with the entire system.

Pros

We are able to have a nice website and offer the ability to our residents to stay connected, reserve our club house online and pay for their dues, rental etc all in one place

Cons

The household data import/upload has been a little complex, but the big one for use was the inability to delete it (as an admin) and start over. Granted, a quick email to our onboarding specialist fixed it (he had to do it for us). This feature should be turn one for Admin so that we can "delete and start over" if need be (in case we upload something incorrectly)

Vendor response

Thank you for taking the time to give your thorough detail of your experiences within the product. We're listening and honed in on improving the software, as we continue to develop the platform. The feedback we have been asking for from clients as of late has been amazing, and we sincerely appreciate you taking the time.

DS
AvatarImg

Dave S.

Public Policy, 1-10 employees

Used weekly for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

SAM review

Reviewed a month ago

So far it has been very easy to use and performs very well

Pros

Ease of use / customer support. The options are very useful

Cons

Have not utilized all the features yet so hard to tell but one area is the ability to link members with households and make modifications easily.

Vendor response

We value our customers and sincerely appreciate them all. These submissions allow us to see where we're doing well, and help us get better. We're always improving, and its feedback like this that helps navigate where we're most needed. Thank you tremendously for the glowing review, and for choosing us as your provider! We look forward to the relationship.

DG
AvatarImg

Denise G.

Recreational Facilities and Services, 11-50 employees

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

An Awesome Team to Support Those of Us Who are Not Tech Experts!

Reviewed a year ago

The support is phenomenal and immediate and they never make you feel like they do not have time nor patience to help you (even when you are not catching on very fast). You feel like your team members know you and really care about what you are creating together.

Pros

Ease to work on the admin side and then quickly look at the public side.

Cons

Just need to work with it more to get more automatic in completing tasks I will be doing routinely.

Vendor response

Thank you Denise, we appreciate your feedback! We love seeing communities who really need a solution find what they're looking for. Kudos to your team for putting in the work and continuing to create a website/experience that is valuable for all residents!

GK
AvatarImg

George K.

Civic & Social Organization, 201-500 employees

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

in the beginning....

Reviewed 14 days ago
Pros

Ease of use is a major reason why we selected this product. The tutorials were great!

Cons

At this point nothing comes to mind. As we use this over time, we may want to see some features added as we become more proficient, and the needs of the community expand.

JH
AvatarImg

Jack H.

Civic & Social Organization, 1-10 employees

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

HOA Community Site

Reviewed 4 days ago
Pros

The customer service is excellent.. It is easy to add new containers and news items

Cons

Extra cost to produce a newsletter to use for the owners

HF
AvatarImg

Heather F.

Marketing and Advertising, 1-10 employees

Used monthly for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Easy to Use HOA Management

Reviewed 9 days ago

So far, it's been good. The team is responsive and helps us figure things out. We are about to fully turn on features and have every confidence.

Pros

Website is relatively easy to update. Very user-friendly.

Cons

The documents - it's easy to upload the documents but I'm still not 100% sure they are all in the spot I want them to be in.

MN
AvatarImg

Mike N.

Graphic Design, self-employed

Used monthly for less than 6 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Condo web software

Reviewed a month ago

It was quick, easy, and very intuitive

Pros

The template selection and editing approach

Cons

Didn’t find anything that I didn’t like. It worked.

Vendor response

We have clients from all over the nation, and it's always so humbling to see how they respond well to the product, our process and support team. When you get organizations like Mariners Point, the job is a breeze. Thank you for taking the time to help us learn about ourselves through your lens.