App comparison

Add up to 4 apps below to see how they compare. You can also use the "Compare" buttons while browsing.

HOA Start Reviews

Overall rating

4.9

/5

41

Rating criteria

  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9.56/10

Reviews by rating

Pros and cons

Overall, it was a great pleasure to work in the software and the build and implementation was actually fun.
Amazing - the Sales representatives, the Developers, the Billing department - all are friendly, helpful and super responsive.
Your product is great and Customer Support ([SENSITIVE CONTENT]) is amazing as mentioned before.
We had an event that we charged outsiders to attend.
That point alone emphasizes why I learned as much as I did as opposed to simply following recommendations from a manual or a coordinator who might not be engaged.
It’s really a pet leave if mi e to be able to have a live conversation.
Filter reviews by

Overall rating


Company size


Industry


Time used


41 reviews

Recommended

MH
AvatarImg

Matt H.

Nonprofit Organization Management, 11-50 employees

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

User Friendly

Reviewed 22 days ago

It has been a great experience using HOA Start. [sensitive content hidden] has been a great asset when needing help, extremely responsive and follows through with any questions or needs. I appreciate the quick response time overall.

Pros

User Friendly Easy to train team members Easy for our members to use Has great customers service and extremely responsive

Cons

Website struggles to talk to QuickBooks, Boardroom feature is different that how it was originally explained to us.

Vendor response

Thank you for taking a moment to tell us how we’re doing! We appreciate that our software and services give your organization the flexibility needed to manage the membership. We’ll keep working hard to improve the software to make life seamless, so you can spend less time managing and more doing the things you love!

RK
AvatarImg

Richard K.

Real Estate, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

One Outstanding year of our new HOA website -

Reviewed 5 months ago
Pros

Great system for building your Community Website. We are celebrating our first anniversary of going live with ours in a community with 2200 members. Key HOA Start (HOAS) elements in our success:We built and administer our whole site with community volunteers. Training interested volunteers is easy with the high level of support from HOAS.Our annual cost of running our website went from $12k/year with...

Cons

The system for ticket sales is not flexible enough

Vendor response

What a wonderful review! Thank you for being so specific in your journey, and explaining how we fit into that process. We'll keep doing our part to deliver the best product and service, as is possible. We thank you again for your trust in us as a partner!

TH
AvatarImg

TERRY H.

Accounting, 1-10 employees

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend1/10

Share this review:

Product Not Working as Promised

Reviewed 2 months ago

If I had known that the turn around to fix certain issues would take so long, I would not have purchased the product. I was promised that we would have a good product and so far, I only have questions and headaches because the product has some critical issues.

Pros

It looks to be a very good product when it is working.

Cons

Some of the critical functions are not working and I find the support needs better support from the client.

DB
AvatarImg

Debra B.

Nonprofit Organization Management, 1-10 employees

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

GREAT SOFTWARE for HOA/POA specific organizations

Reviewed 3 months ago

Overall, it was a great pleasure to work in the software and the build and implementation was actually fun!

Pros

First benefit is the support staff they employ for implementation of the software which is specific to the industry it was designed for alleviating the need for extensive research and website design requirements. Allows residents to access Public Website and Operations software from one location once completely built out. POA staff/Committee Leads easily maintain public website updates and operational...

Cons

There were no cons, each issue I took to support was addressed rapidly and fully to my satisfaction.

Vendor response

We appreciate that you took the time to write such an informative review! We're so proud of our Service & Support staff, and reading your comments it's easy to see why! Thank you again for your excellent feedback.

TW
AvatarImg

Tonya W.

Civic & Social Organization, 1-10 employees

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Great for our Association

Reviewed 5 months ago
Pros

We were looking for something that offered a bit more functionality than TownSq (more robust survey capability so we could eliminate the extra cost of a separate survey platform, payment interface). HOA Start checked just about all of the boxes. Our White Glove Concierge, [sensitive content hidden], has been very responsive and did a great job setting up the site for us. It's easy to set up new users, change the website header designs to give it a unique look, create custom surveys, send mass mailings, and text homeowners with urgent information. We love that there is a calendar for events, and we've been able to easily categorize and manage folders for the association's documents.

Cons

One big drawback for us is the lack of a dedicated homeowner forum. On TownSq, homeowners were able to post information and converse with each other easily in their own forum, while the Board was able to post information in the announcements section. On HOA Start, the Newsfeed function has to serve double duty as a homeowner forum and place for announcements from the Board. We have to pin the Board...

Vendor response

We really appreciate you taking the time to tell us how we're doing and where we can get better. We sincerely thank you for the honest feedback, and we'll keep working hard to deliver the goods.

SW
AvatarImg

Scott W.

Automotive, 5,001-10,000 employees

Used monthly for less than 6 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

HOA Start - Easy to Create & Administer our HOA Website with Outstanding Customer Support

Reviewed a year ago

As our HOA administrator, I was really surprised how easy it was to get our website configured and 'live' so quickly. I was able to use our existing domain name which was a plus too. Feedback from our homeowners has been overwhelmingly positive where they love the modern look/feel, graphics, ease of use, access to our HOA documents, Contact Us page and how great the website looks on their mobile devices. Your product is great and Customer Support ([SENSITIVE CONTENT]) is amazing as mentioned before.

Pros

The ability to quickly and easily configure our HOA website is where this product shines. Our HOA is on the Starter package, yet this is feature rich with the ability to manage our members, post and expose HOA documents, ACH payments, calendars and the flexibility to create additional webpages as needed. The modern user experience provides our HOA a fresh new look. The fast response from our Onboarding...

Cons

Because HOA Start is so feature-rich and everything is configurable, there is alot of functionality in this product. I am an IT professional where I needed to reach out to the Support team for clarification on a couple items, like the Households feature for example. Two things that can be improved: 1) making HOA Start mobile enabled (not just viewing website on mobile device), 2) email blast as part of the Starter package.

Vendor response

You really may not know how rewarding a review like this is, but we want to assure you that we're thankful and proud to receive it. Our Specialists work hard for our clients on every plan purchased, regardless of size. It goes without saying that it's an easy job when the client comes in ready to succeed. Thank you again for the feedback, and we look forward to working with you!

KR
AvatarImg

Kim R.

Writing and Editing, self-employed

Used weekly for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

High quality templates and services for a reasonable price

Reviewed 9 months ago

The demo of their product and services was very helpful. It was so easy to get set up and start working on a new website the same day! There are helpful guides to show/tell you the steps to do things and videos for many tasks as well. There's a guided process with online tech support or - the option I really like - the White-Glove package with phone/Zoom support from a team member who will actually build the site for you! If you're in a hurry to get a website done and don't have the time to do it yourself, this is perfect. Or, if you get stuck along the way, there's always someone to help you move on to the next step.

Pros

Amenity reservations has been one of the key features that board members and residents love for its ease of use. This is a must have! Multiple calendar/event options are great for busy communities who want to organize multiple board/committee meetings and community events. The member dashboard is a great place for residents to see everything at a glance. The online forms and online review/approval for residents and board members is a huge convenience.

Cons

When setting up new pages, it would be nice to have a visual of what the page template looks like to make the best decision.

Vendor response

It's always great to start your day with a great feedback on your product. This helps to show us where we're getting it right, and how to keep getting better. We're never content that we've done enough, so while this review is amazing, we're taking the feedback on what we can develop going forward seriously. Thank you again for this review and trusting us with your business!

BT
AvatarImg

Beverly T.

Nonprofit Organization Management, 1-10 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

On Behalf of Our Homeowners

Reviewed 22 days ago

Every interaction I had with this Staff has resulted in solutions that were easy to follow and execute. What surprised me was the personal attention I received because I thought when working with a company of this size customer service starts to become automated and rote; not so with HOA Start!

Pros

I started this position last summer. My first job was to navigate the website. With the written instructions and tips taking the reader from one task to another made setup and training so easy. When I wanted to edit or change a page or feature, the Staff was "on call" so to speak, because their answer to my questions was immediate!

Cons

I would just move the content up the page more rather than have a large picture. That, I am sure, is a design preference that is personal in nature. I could not deduct any points for this at all!

Vendor response

We sincerely appreciate you taking the time to tell us how we're doing! When we work with customers like yourself, we never really work a day in our life... because you just make it fun. We'll put this feedback to work, so we can make our product and processes even better.

SG
AvatarImg

Stacey G.

Nonprofit Organization Management, 501-1,000 employees

Used daily for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Great company to work with

Reviewed 13 days ago

Both Sales and Client Support have been very responsive & accommodating

Pros

They are very open & responsive in their communications and have comprehensive customer support.

Cons

We’ve had zero problems so there are no cons.

Vendor response

Thank you kindly for your review! We work hard for our customer, and we always will. Much appreciate you taking the time to tell us how we're doing.

HT
AvatarImg

Hank T.

Nonprofit Organization Management, 1-10 employees

Used weekly for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

MHR HOA Website Review

Reviewed 19 days ago

It has been a great experience and we plan on keeping this website up for many years to come

Pros

How professional it looked and ease of access/maneuver

Cons

I really dont have anything that I liked least about this website setup.

Vendor response

We sincerely appreciate you taking the time to recognize our efforts. We love to learn how we’re doing, and it helps to continue to shape future development of the product. Thank you again!

MF
AvatarImg

Migerr F.

Nonprofit Organization Management, 1-10 employees

Used daily for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Purpose built, highly intuitive application

Reviewed 6 days ago

At Pinehurst #6, our association has been on HOAStart for about a year and it has completely transformed the operational management of our membership. We have an extremely large membership base of around 1500 active households and were apprehensive of the adoption levels but have been pleasantly surprised since our launch in Jan. Within 45 days this year we have surpassed our last year’s online channel...

Pros

Purpose built application Highly intuitive SaaS solution Very responsive team Good features and functionality Strong integration with Stripe Online Membership Directory

Cons

It does not have a true mobile app. There is a plan to deploy a mobile friendly version but it will still have to be accessed over a mobile browser

Vendor response

We really appreciate you taking the time to tell us how we’re doing and where we can get better. We sincerely thank you for the honest feedback, and we’ll keep working hard to deliver the goods.

SC
AvatarImg

Sue C.

Information Services, 51-200 employees

Used daily for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Our first year with HOA Start

Reviewed a year ago

We wanted a way to disseminate documents, manage members, communicate and streamline our architectural control process. The first and last are well accomplished. We're still struggling with the middle one. We are hoping to implement online billing and payment this year.

Pros

I like the clean manner in which members and addresses are handled. It's extraordinarily easy if you have learned to get data from your county assessor's database. Members were a bit more difficult at first, because not all have email addresses, which are required. But a question to our contact revealed the magic trick of using @example.com. I like the ease of changing web pages' content, with the preview option to make certain the changes look right. Our architectural control committee is delighted with the ticketing system. They will campaign absinthe any hint of wanting to abandon the software.

Cons

Messaging members is our least favorite part. We do it regularly, and wish we could do more with design. We often send aplain text message, with the graphic version as an attachment, but our older population find this challenging. I was excited to see a page format for a newsletter, but disappointed when it could not be emailed, but just referred to.

Vendor response

Sue, we greatly thank you for taking the time to help us learn about what we're doing right and where we can improve. We have a full slate of new features arriving in 2023, and we think you'll enjoy many, like the upcoming Mobile App. Our promise to you and all of our clients is that we will keep improving the product, experience and delivering top level support. Thanks again for your trust in us as a vendor!

ZN
AvatarImg

Zeke N.

Commercial Real Estate, 11-50 employees

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Easy To Establish, Great Company Support

Reviewed a year ago

We have a condo association that took a direct hit from Hurricane Ian last fall. Our communication needs are great and the website has been an important tool keeping everyone up to date, and as a repository for critical information. We were forced to leave our previous host company due to a change in their business strategy. HOA Start was a lifesaver for us since we had to put up a new site in the midst of a stressful recovery from the hurricane. They made it easy.

Pros

User friendly, no problem setting up a comprehensive website in a few days. Customer support is awesome. Any issues or question I had, would receive a response within an hour, sometimes minutes. Real, down-to-earth support.

Cons

I have talked to them about a couple things I'd like to see and they tell me they're working on them.1. Can't post to the Newsfeed from an Iphone2. Member notification when a new post goes up3. Notification to poster in Newsfeed when someone likes or comments on a post4. Would like to be able to have a Search feature in Newsfeed, and maybe the entire site

Vendor response

What can we say Zeke, other thank you! It's customers like you that make this job easy!! Think you'll enjoy our new Notification feature coming out in a couple months. May not be everything you want, but it's a good start. At HOA Start, we strive to make this process seamless. Top notch customer service is our daily goal. We don't strand clients and we make sure they are educated with on our software. We all sleep better as a result! :)

JM
AvatarImg

Josh M.

Entertainment, 1-10 employees

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

The best website builder and customer facing software by a long shot

Reviewed 9 months ago

HOA Start has their own modern, mobile friendly website builder. Other competitors in the industry were expecting us to use Weebly or Wordpress as an afterthought, and there’s no integration. Their custom forms creator allows us to have unlimited forms for collecting member data. Sending email/texts straight to my members from 2 click approach is fast and efficient.

Pros

Their Onboard Specialists are included in the cost of the annual software. [sensitive content hidden] was excellent during our build. No setup fee and she spent a lot of time with us. Their training is how you do it. Also, being able to collect money for events and monthly dues for vendors has stopped us from having to chase people down.

Cons

We’d love to see some AI built into this software that would allow us to intelligently respond to member requests, and handle some approval process.

Vendor response

Thank you for taking the time to tell us how we're doing. It's feedback like this that get's us streamlined and focused on continuing our mission to be the ultimate provider in this industry. We started this company with the customer and user experience as the most crucial piece of the puzzle. We're committed and we appreciate your trust in us to deliver.

KS
AvatarImg

Kate S.

Nonprofit Organization Management, 51-200 employees

Used daily for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

HOA Website

Reviewed 8 months ago
Pros

As the new chair of my HOA Communications Committee, it was my job to help bring our 55+ community's website into the 21st Century. After an exhaustive search, I found HOA Start and couldn't be happier. The site is beautiful, intuitive, interactive, budget friendly and so easy to build and navigate. We were assigned our very own Support Rep and [sensitive content hidden] has been amazing - so helpful and supportive. Our community is very proud of our new website and we are getting engagement from residents who swore they would never use a website. We can keep members only content private, while still being able to let prospective residents know how great our community is! Communicating with our residents has never been easier. I wish I could give HOA more than 5 stars!

Cons

Some of the add ons are a bit pricey for us but the included functions are superb!

Vendor response

We couldn't be more thankful for honest feedback like this. We value every review we get, because it's in that moment we're able to see how the Customer Journey played out. In this case, seems it was a great ride, and that's what we strive for with every project. We again thank you for taking the time to help us understand what we're doing right, and where we can get better.

JH
AvatarImg

Joel H.

Nonprofit Organization Management, self-employed

Used weekly for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

A solid choice for homeowner associations.

Reviewed 8 months ago

Overall, we are very satisfied with our first year's experience with HOA Start. They make a great additon to our team.

Pros

HOA Start provides web hosting and website building tools to create a unique landing place where homeowners can communicate with the board and with others, request Architectural Committee review of exterior home improvements, view important HOA documents and learn about the Arlington community and the town's amenities. Support from HOA Start during setup as well as with ongoing questions is quick, straight forward and always helpful. The company continues to add new features to enable our board to do it job better.

Cons

The tagging system allowing database segmentation to enable commmunication with portions of our HOA's population is cumbersome. Streamlining this feature to enable a quick way to communicate wwith residents on a single street, for example, would be helpful.

Vendor response

We truly appreciate you taking the time to provide honest feedback on your experience with our software, and the team. This allows us to keep our finger on the pulse of the users, and see where we can get better. Thank you for trusting us with the project, and your confidence in our abilities.

MH
AvatarImg

Margaret H.

Real Estate, 1-10 employees

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

HOA Start for Community Associations

Reviewed a year ago

Very well organized, step-by-step system for developing a website. Was easy enough for a person with only moderate experience to manage.

Pros

The onboarding process is extremely well designed. There is an extensive library of very helpful articles with clear directions. More importantly, we were assigned an onboarding specialist who walked us through the process. He was readily available, extremely helpful, and patient. We were able to design our website with great results.

Cons

There are a few items we would like to do differently--nothing mission critical. Our onboarding specialist is forwarding our requests to the developers, and we hope that they will continue to improve the product.

Vendor response

We sincerely thank you for taking the time to review your journey through our Onboarding process. It's always great to read from clients on how we helped to greatly improve a community and webmaster's experience. We'll keep improving the software with our customers in mind. Much appreciated!

sg
AvatarImg

steven g.

Computer Software, 11-50 employees

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

HOAstart a great choice

Reviewed a year ago

Only good things to say. I like that they gave me a trial period to evaluate. That helped our decision. [SENSITIVE CONTENT] is a pleasure to work with for customer support.

Pros

This is the only software project I worked on (and I've done plenty,) where I didn't have to write code. Their templates, widgets, etc are fully configurable where you can put together a decent website without having to code!!

Cons

I would like the ability to define my own templates. You have to use an HOAstart template. However, they give you plenty to work with.

Vendor response

I continue to say, we can't do this without feedback, so it's comments like this that help us to see what we're doing right and where we can improve. We appreciate this review and the feedback. Our commitment to our customers will always remain strong to provide the best user experience and feature toolset. We thank you for your faith in trusting us with your project and look forward to continue working together.

RW
AvatarImg

Rob W.

Recreational Facilities and Services, 51-200 employees

Used weekly for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

This software simply works

Reviewed a year ago

My team and I agree that our experience was much better than expected. Each of us on the team has an IT background and therefore experienced with various software product upgrades or replacements. The implementation coordination was excellent. [SENSITIVE CONTENT], our coordinator, was able to quickly identify our needs and help guide us through implementation. Always offering best-paths, she was expert at explaining options and the trade-offs that we'd see. That point alone emphasizes why I learned as much as I did as opposed to simply following recommendations from a manual or a coordinator who might not be engaged. The HOA Start process and procedure work flow provided us with clear steps to success.

Pros

The website management and configuration features are not only equal to all of the more expensive products; but it exceeds them in many cases. As a career software developer, I know pain points for users. Good/great products work hard to ease that burden. Work flows, communications, mass-editing...these things matter. We found a great product.

Cons

As a board member on our POA, I would like to have more reporting for my members, especially statistically. In the future, I'd consider adding canned reports that would satisfy the number crunchers.

Vendor response

Submissions like these shed light on where we're doing well, and guide us on how we can improve. We sincerely appreciate our customers, as they are the forefront of our product. Thank you tremendously for the kind review, and for selecting us as your provider! We look forward to the relationship.

EB
AvatarImg

Edward B.

Nonprofit Organization Management, 1-10 employees

Used weekly for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Modern DIY website for any homeowners association.

Reviewed a year ago

Our old website was useless. People are engaged in the HOA Start website. We had an event that we charged outsiders to attend. We used the event capabilities to set up the event online and the credit card capabilities to charge people. Would have been a nightmare without the website to assist here.

Pros

It's easy to use, administer and change. Also, it's newer than most of it's competitors out there. Most others I found were 15-20 years old and they looked it. HOA Start is fairly new (a couple years old) and thus state of the art for the industry. Also, we maintain it ourselves as opposed to relying on the website company. therefore, changes happen in hours and are exactly what we want them to be. We control it.

Cons

It wasn't as feature rich as some of the others initially when we got it, but what it has now is plenty for what we need now.

Vendor response

We appreciate the vote of confidence! You did an excellent job explaining what we're about, and what inspired us to develop this software just a few years back. Our focus is to continue to develop useful, modern features, with an keen eye on customer support and pride in service. We're laser focused to do better for you and all of our clients. Thank you again for taking the time to help spread the word.

KT
AvatarImg

Kelly T.

Apparel & Fashion, self-employed

Used weekly for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

HOA Start has been a blessing!

Reviewed 7 months ago

Don’t know what more I can say other than this experience has been hugely beneficial. We looked at many providers and this company was hands down the most industry educated, and best user experience out there. Excited for the future development of this product and thinking about using it for a club I’m in!

Pros

Working with their team through our customer journey was seamless. We were educated on the product and features. We ended up having [sensitive content hidden] as our onboard specialist; he was amazing. The support since we launched has been so fast. This product is worth a lot more than we pay for it!

Cons

We’re ready for the mobile app to come out. We know our members will engage much more when they can download this software on their phones.

Vendor response

We keep blushing over the reviews we're seeing from customers like yourself. We're fortunate enough to continually be working with the greatest clients on the planet. Thank you for making this easy, and for the valued feedback!

KM
AvatarImg

Kim M.

Government Relations, 1-10 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Real Customer Service

Reviewed a year ago

Amazing - the Sales representatives, the Developers, the Billing department - all are friendly, helpful and super responsive.

Pros

HOA Start had the most incredible customer service. I volunteered to take over the website for my HOA and they helped make it easy. From a domain name transfer to customizing my website to my unique needs - HOA Start has been there for me.

Cons

I would still like to see the Rental Page easier to change and update

Vendor response

It's a great start of the week when you wake up to see a glowing review like this. These are so appreciated, and welcomed. You'll see a repetitive theme looking through the responses from our company over all these reviews... it's about the customer. We know our product delivers and we'll continue to improve upon it, but customer service is a responsibility we take very seriously. Thank you again for taking the time to tell us how we're doing!

JO
AvatarImg

Jennifer O.

Nonprofit Organization Management, 1-10 employees

Used weekly for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

HOA Start was the right choice

Reviewed 10 months ago
Pros

Our subdivision needed an updated website that would allow users to pay dues online. HOA Start does those things and so much more. It offers the features that are useful for HOAs: an easy-to-maintain and attractive, modern website, membership portal, online dues and payment features, event calendar, custom forms, ticketing system and more. The best part is everything is designed just for HOAs so no customization is needed.

Cons

Although our Onboarding Specialist was extremely helpful and responsive, the onboarding process itself was a little overwhelming and cumbersome, at least at the beginning. All onboarding steps are generic and are conducted only by email and felt impersonal. It would go a long way to offer a 30 minute phone call with the specialist at the beginning to narrow some things down and to facilitate answers to the many questions that I had.

Vendor response

What can we say, other thank you! It's clients like you that make this job fun!! At HOA Start, we strive to make this process seamless. Top notch customer service is our daily goal. We don't strand clients and we make sure they are educated with on our software. We all sleep better as a result! :)

BW
AvatarImg

Bill W.

Medical Practice, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used weekly for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Long time coming, but glad we’re finally here

Reviewed 8 months ago

The software itself is pretty amazing, but the customer service with our Onboard Specialist is where this project succeeded. [sensitive content hidden] was there with us through the entire setup and helped us launch successfully. Can’t say enough about this company.

Pros

HOA Start has all the extras we weren’t able to find with the other competitors, like Sub-Admin and managing our Board Meetings through the software. They have a feature called Digest that allows our members to stay connected and received weekly or monthly updates on the changes to the website; we didn’t see any of these features anywhere.

Cons

While we can email our invoices through the software, we’d like to have the ability to print them out and physically mail invoices to some of the residents who aren’t online. We’re told that is coming in two months.

Vendor response

We sincerely appreciate you taking the time to give us this amazing feedback! We constantly strive to deliver a superior product, process and support experience. Thank you again for trusting this project to us, and your confidence.

BF
AvatarImg

Bill F.

Nonprofit Organization Management, 1-10 employees

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Easy start up, great support staff, plenty of bells and whistles.

Reviewed 7 months ago

The website we were using the previous ten years, was specifically written for us. It was difficult to navigate, and to administrate, so after the last administrator left, it never go used, but we were still paying for the monthly subscription.Also, your onboarding person, [sensitive content hidden] was outstanding! I don't use that term loosely. She was thorough, and very knowledgeable about the...

Pros

The ease of getting website up and running, and the knowledgeable and helpful onboarding specialist.

Cons

Wish that financial information was easier to download to our financial software system.

Vendor response

Seeing this review come in today was a breath of fresh air. We sincerely appreciate you taking the time to help recognize what we're doing right and where we can improve. We look forward to providing your organization a great experience all around!