App comparison

Add up to 4 apps below to see how they compare. You can also use the "Compare" buttons while browsing.

Nuxeo Logo

Modern content management for enterprise organizations.

(9)

GetApp offers objective, independent research and verified user reviews. We may earn a referral fee when you visit a vendor through our links. Learn more

Nuxeo Reviews

Overall rating

4.2

/5

32

Rating criteria

  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8.19/10

Reviews by rating

Suggested alternatives

monday-com
bynder
bitrix24

Pros and cons

Nuxeo is a very powerful tool for the treatment of documents, I like because it is versatile and extendable.
Nuxeo University which is best place to start and it is free (https://university.nuxeo.com/store). From the University we can cover almost all the topics to start the product.
It can be a powerful tool, especially for searching - since the indexing is super fast. Implementation costs are extremely high - even with an OpenSource base.
One major complaint from our users is the inability to edit documents from within the repository by launching Office, something you can do with SharePoint and Alfresco.
The issue was related to Nuxeo losing its connection to the database every night, due to us shutting down the database to do nightly backups.
I dislike that the pricing can be a bit high for some organizations.
Filter reviews by

Overall rating


Company size


Industry


Time used


32 reviews

Recommended

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Todd L.

Religious Institutions, 5,001-10,000 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Nuxeo

Reviewed 4 years ago

Excellent overall experience setting up and implementing our platform

Pros

Open Source Platform that allows configuration for your organization's unique needs and processes.

Cons

Complicated backend setup. Documentation makes a lot of assumptions.

Vendor response

Thanks, Todd! We appreciate you taking the time to write a review. I'll share your feedback about our Documentation and backend setup with the team.

CG
AvatarImg

Chris G.

Hospital & Health Care, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used daily for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Nuxeo-o-o-o…

Reviewed 4 years ago

Our overall experience with Nuxeo has been stellar. Their professional services team has their game on for sure. Any major struggles we have had thus far have been related to our own product owners not having well defined requirements, which isn't uncommon in most companies. If you're well organized and know what you want to do, Nuxeo PS will enable you quickly, and their platform can do almost anything we've dreamed up needing to do.

Pros

Honestly the depth of API access to the Nuxeo Platform was an incredibly important selling point for us. The majority of our use cases for Nuxeo Platform are enabled via integrations through API & Integration Management solutions with other tools such as CRMs and internally developed applications.

Cons

While Nuxeo is incredibly flexible and powerful in precisely the ways we need it most, it has some weaknesses in install and configuration as well as native integration extension capabilities. Installation and configuration is not a huge deal for us since we went with their managed service in the cloud. But this weakness was notable during training on the Nuxeo Platform as even developers had some struggles getting set up and capable early on.

Vendor response

Thanks, Chris! We appreciate you taking the time to write this review. We're happy when our customers are happy, and I'll share your feedback about installation and configuration with our product team.

LH
AvatarImg

Lantz H.

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

Nuxeo is greatly improved but still has its share of kinks

Reviewed 7 years ago

The out-of-the-box functionality for document management is solid and their are some very nice features, like being able to view changes between versions side-by-side. The search functionality tied in with Elasticsearch is excellent. One major complaint from our users is the inability to edit documents from within the repository by launching Office, something you can do with SharePoint and Alfresco....

Pros

No pros were added to this review

Cons

No cons were added to this review

WC
AvatarImg

William C.

Information Services, 201-500 employees

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

A flexible product that can be customized

Reviewed a year ago

Overall, Nuxeo is an excellent platform for enterprise content management. It offers a great range of features, customization options and support. Despite a sometimes challenging user interface, Nuxeo is still a great platform for organizations looking for a comprehensive content management solution.

Pros

Nuxeo offers a powerful set of features and integrations that make it a great enterprise content management platform. There is a great deal of flexibility to customize the platform to meet the needs of any organization. Additionally, there is a wide range of support options available to help users make the most of the platform.

Cons

The user interface can at times be difficult to navigate and it can take some time to get used to the different features and settings. Additionally, the platform can be a bit pricey for some organizations.

RG
AvatarImg

Ramakrishna G.

Information Technology and Services, 201-500 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Nuxeo is a very good Open Source document management solution for for the midsize companies/customer

Reviewed 6 years ago

Nuxeo is a very good Enterprise Content Management solution that offers many functionalities like Records Management, Documents Management and also Case Management.

Pros

Nuxeo- It is a verygood Enterprise Content Management solution that offers many functionalities like Records Management, Documents Management and also Case Management. In this search functionality is tied with Elastic search which is providing the excellent results. The other big good thing of Nuxeo is Nuxeo Studio, which we use to configure our self-hosted Nuxeo instance without any interrupts. I have been using Nuxeo integrated with our product since 5 years to manage our files. It is a powerful tool, especially for searching - since the indexing is super fast.

Cons

One major drawback from nuxeo is it is inability to edit documents from within the repository by launching Office, something you can do with other tools SharePoint and Alfresco. UI is not soo good to handle. Its too costly to get the studio lincense. Nuxeo has to concentrate on bulk uploading, it requires Nuxeo support assistance - and a maintenance contract.

JA
AvatarImg

Julie A.

Apparel & Fashion, 201-500 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

Like it, but room for improvement

Reviewed 4 years ago
Pros

Flexibilty to build a system to fit our needs & processes vs changing our processes to fit an out of box solution. This system has allowed us to update and add to as we move and grow, it is not a static system we are making constant personalized changes.

Cons

The version upgrades can be challenging causing customers to have to fully rebuild to reap the benefits of new releases, we have already done this once and are lining up for both the current release AND the release planned after that. Would greatly benefit from more of a SAAS model.

Vendor response

Thanks, Julie. We appreciate you taking the time to write a review! We understand upgrades can sometimes be challenging on the JSF UI, and our Professional Services team is here to help. Please feel free to contact us anytime.

RM
AvatarImg

Resa M.

Information Services, 11-50 employees

Used daily for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Extremely user friendly

Reviewed a year ago

Nuxeo yazılımıyla ilgili genel deneyimim olumlu oldu. Belgeleri ve içeriği yönetmek için mükemmel bir araçtır ve kullanıcılara iş akışlarını özelleştirmek ve diğer sistemlerle entegre etmek için esneklik ve özellikler sağlar.

Pros

I like the flexibility of Nuxeo software. It provides a wide range of features that can be tailored to fit the needs of any organization. It's also user-friendly and easy to use, allowing users to quickly create and customize workflows and manage documents and content. The integration with other systems is also great, allowing you to easily connect to existing systems and leverage existing data.

Cons

I dislike that the pricing can be a bit high for some organizations.

AH
AvatarImg

Ahmed H.

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

Great open source content management solution with unlimited possibilities

Reviewed 7 years ago
Pros

Nuxeo is a solid Enterprise Content Management solution that offers many functionalities and development possibilities within the solution. It can be used in many departments and in several industries

Cons

Nuxeo has relatively still small community making it difficutl to get repsonses and asnwers to our questions

AvatarImg

Verified reviewer

Human Resources, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used weekly for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Love the ease of content management

Reviewed 3 years ago
Pros

This is a great centralized place for our department to maintain and share large files internally as well as make client facing links.

Cons

Search-ability can be tricky with this tool

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

sangam D.

Used daily for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

Nice DAM tool to use.

Reviewed 6 years ago
Pros

Very easy to manage your digital assets. Lots of option to protect your assets , review and share with required people.

Cons

Customization is bit difficult in Nuxeo as documentation is not so great. Sometimes you will not get much information over internet.

FS
AvatarImg

Frédéric S.

Information Technology and Services, 1-10 employees

Used daily for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Un DAM solide pour la gestion de gros volume de contenu

Reviewed 3 years ago

C'est une solution robuste fiable et personnalisable

Pros

Nuxeo présente de fortes qualités : - Un DAM solide et capable de supporter de très forte charge d'assets (Large Tiff, ou Videos 4k) - Un moteur de workflow BPM avancée - Un écosystème de connecteurs ( Check in out drive, AI, SF, CMS...) - Une personnalisation BO de tout le système, interface compris évitant les couts cachés

Cons

Un pricing un peu élevé mais à voir suivant les cas clients....pour les acteurs de la grande distribution ou de gros agences ce n'est pas trop un pb.

Showing original review in French. See translation

AvatarImg

Verified reviewer

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Best open source LGPL document management system

Reviewed 6 years ago

Good digital document management system for totally free of cost. I

Pros

Nuxeo platform is open for extension and we can make changes the way we need wither with code or with the Nuxeo studio Nuxeo have powerful search support with Elasticseach. Easy to customize and easy to deploy

Cons

Documentation should improve Community for development is very less, this makes new additions will take longer time to stable

AK
AvatarImg

Ankit K.

Information Technology and Services, 10,001+ employees

Used weekly for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

We have used Nuxeo for Content management and replacing documentum.

Reviewed 7 years ago

We are using it for the Migration of the data from the documentum and storing it for fast retrival on the frontend. So far so good.

Pros

The customization is easy and you can do we can make changes according to the the need through Nuxeo Studio, and deploy on the platform. The Platform responds well to the changes and does the job quickly. The API's are there to connect to the platform but I feel they are in naive stage and need more development.

Cons

The data Ingestion gives a lot of trouble while ingesting though other methods rather than the web UI. And the Locale and vocabulary thing is still not sorted. We needed one variable in different languages but that is not yet supported in the platform yet

RL
AvatarImg

Reza L.

Health, Wellness and Fitness, 10,001+ employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

New project for large storage

Reviewed 4 years ago

very good.

Pros

Design and plugins, use very low resources.

Cons

Documentation about ES should have more info

DA
AvatarImg

Daniel A.

Computer Software, 11-50 employees

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Nuxeo Platform

Reviewed 5 years ago
Pros

nuxeo is a very powerful tool for the treatment of documents, I like because it is versatile and extendable.

Cons

I think your flow component needs to improve

Vendor response

Thanks, Daniel! We appreciate the review. We'll share your feedback with the team.

RP
AvatarImg

Ron P.

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

A car without wheels - it could go fast, but needs a good pit crew and someone to drive

Reviewed 7 years ago

We have been on Nuxeo for about a year to manage our artwork files. It can be a powerful tool, especially for searching - since the indexing is super fast. Implementation costs are extremely high - even with an OpenSource base. Lacks modern interface capabilities: drag-drop of files within a browser, uses tiny check boxes to select images, quick-look or scrolling like image viewing, functional direct...

Pros

No pros were added to this review

Cons

No cons were added to this review

pv
AvatarImg

praveen v.

51-200 employees

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Im using nuxeo for 2 months and I feel its a good product

Reviewed 7 years ago
Pros

1.Cloud Connectivity: Despite being an on-premise system, Nuxeo Platform is able to connect with cloud services and enable users to access them from the system like local programs. 2.Scalability: With Nuxeo Platform, companies developers and creative teams can double their working speed. 3.Rich set of REST/Automation API ,

Cons

1.When they fix one issue they will create more regression issues so it will be better if they overcome this problem.

PG
AvatarImg

Peter G.

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

Users Satisfied with Solution

Reviewed 7 years ago

Hi over the last three years we have been using Nuxeo CAP 6.0 and we have had one major stability issue that we were eventually able to resolve with the help of Nuxeo support. The issue was related to Nuxeo losing its connection to the database every night, due to us shutting down the database to do nightly backups. Nuxeo wasn't able to recover therefore people weren't able to login in the morning. Nuxeo support did provide us with a fix that was easy to implement, So since then it has been quite stable. Other than the one major issue the users are happy with the software. We are using it out of the box as a document management system with only a few configuration changes to the document form. It serves its purpose well.

Pros

No pros were added to this review

Cons

No cons were added to this review

MA
AvatarImg

Mohamed A.

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

Using Nuxeo Platform

Reviewed 7 years ago

Nuxeo is a powerful open source CMS and provides tons of features for enterprise content management. It is developer friendly and developers have lots of opportunities to deep dive into it and do their customization. Through their Operations chain we can achieve most of the things we want and we really like this feature. The only part we are not feeling good about is the Nuxeo UI. Also the Studio which comes with subscription. Nuxeo should provide some documentation to create the data types and workflows without using the Studio so that the users who don't want to use Nuxeo Studio can benefit out of it. Overall we like this product and we are in the phase of completely replacing a vendor CMS with Nuxeo. Thanks

Pros

No pros were added to this review

Cons

No cons were added to this review

RR
AvatarImg

Ravikiran R.

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

A good platform for extensibility and cloud supported document management system

Reviewed 7 years ago

Nuxeo's Extensibility , Rich set of REST/Automation API , Their great technical team willing to assist and propose the solutions when we make a request , Nuxeo is good at adopting to the latest market trends like supporting Cloud platform . Quick in adding new features and providing the simple documentation . Nuxeo University which is best place to start and it is free (https://university.nuxeo.com/store) From the University we can cover almost all the topics to start the product Use listeners for light jobs which can finish in milliseconds Avoid using Nuxeo for long running jobs like OCR,Image Processing etc It supports full text search not exact search.

Pros

No pros were added to this review

Cons

No cons were added to this review

HA
AvatarImg

Holger A.

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

Software Manager

Reviewed 7 years ago

Nuxeo is a great platform designed to be customized and integrated. It uses modern frameworks and technologies so that developers find their way around quickly. For specific use cases there are probably others tools which offer more out of the box but if you are looking for solid document foundation services which allow you to build your own applications or service on top, the platform approach Nuxeo provides fits very well. Another key differentiator for us is the flexibility Nuxeo provides to define your own content model and be able to use it through APIs and with the help of Nuxeo Studio easily create a fully functional UI for your end users.

Pros

No pros were added to this review

Cons

No cons were added to this review

DP
AvatarImg

Daniel P.

Information Technology and Services, 5,001-10,000 employees

Used weekly for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend5/10

Share this review:

Review

Reviewed 4 years ago
Pros

There is integration with a lot of modern features and technologies.

Cons

The customisation is not that easy as it seams.

Vendor response

Thanks, Daniel. We're glad to hear you're integrating with other systems and leveraging our modern capabilities.

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Tony F.

1,001-5,000 employees

Used monthly for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

Cloud based Document storage for our Enterprise

Reviewed 6 years ago
Pros

we migrated our data storage from sharepoint to Nuxeo and overall it was a seamless transition. Very similar to other document storage

Cons

have to traverse the document tree to find documents was not easy and I could not find a way to bookmark the sections I used frequently.

CM
AvatarImg

Chethan M.

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

Nuxeo 8.10 review

Reviewed 7 years ago

Nuxeo is good ECM tool which is easy to setup. This is good if any organization needs basic DMS or DAM features. The latest version also has been released with new Web UI that needs to be explored. Nuxeo ECM is a good solution for use cases like Reuse and Repurpose of documents uploaded. Nuxeo is easy to configure and very less learning curve to get started

Pros

No pros were added to this review

Cons

No cons were added to this review

AK
AvatarImg

Ankit K.

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

ECM can't be better then this

Reviewed 7 years ago

It was an awesome experience when I started with Nuxeo.It takes a little time to understand the application and the functionality, and the Studio and platform thing. and the API's that are available to connect to the platform. Still i am implementing some of the features .

Pros

No pros were added to this review

Cons

No cons were added to this review