Grooper Reviews

Grooper

Artificial intelligence (AI) based data integration solution

4.59/5 (22 reviews)

Marie Hirst

Data Entry for our Old Court Documents.

Used daily for 1-2 years
Reviewed 2018-10-03
Review Source: Capterra

There is so much less down time on importing documents into our system. The staff take care of us like we are royalty.

Pros
It does most of the work for my employees, cuts time on data entry. Would love to use it in our other data entry program through the court.

Cons
Using it with Application Extender and doing searches

Response from Grooper


Thank you for the review, Marie! Glad you discovered Grooper and looking forward to supporting any future needs.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 10/10

Minimize review


Grooper

Artificial intelligence (AI) based data integration solution

Denise Clark

Grooper and Documentation

Used daily for 2+ years
Reviewed 2019-06-07
Review Source: Capterra

By scanning our documents, we have been able to free up space that was taken up by hundreds of thousands of pages. We have also freed up staff time when accessing records. Time is not wasted on having to bring a folder from off site storage and then going page by page to find a requested document.

Pros
Ease of use during the scanning process through the export process.

Cons
The documentation is not very informative. It lacks detailed information for someone that is trying to troubleshoot. I prefer more detailed documentation that includes the location within the DB tables when a value is added. In regards to the DB table documentation, it is basically useless due to the bizarre field names. If you are new to the software and are trying to query the tables, you must query each table and try to decipher the content. This is only an issue if you want to run your own queries.

Response from Grooper


Hi, Denise! Thank you for the feedback regarding documentation. We are working on restructuring our training program and corresponding documentation. I hope we will see you in an upcoming training event!

Also, happy to hear Grooper is saving you time!

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 6/10

Minimize review


Grooper

Artificial intelligence (AI) based data integration solution

Gerald Davis

Grooper Platform up for the Challenge

Used daily for 2+ years
Reviewed 2019-01-08
Review Source: Capterra

The time saved using the Grooper platform for automating processes verses manual intervention is outstanding! Grooper has been up to the challenge!

Pros
My initial experience with Grooper was to improve our OCR processing. Using the Grooper platform we were able to implement four major projects. We used the CMIS connectivity capabilities to extract images from our ECM system as well as locate and identify documents containing PCI data for compliance regulations from the billions of archived documents. We have been able to purge large amounts of documents and automated the process of getting document from our core system to our repository has been great.

Cons
Not knowing all the functionally available with the Grooper platform. Our decision to invest in the training and develop a SME for Groper has been very beneficial.

Response from Grooper


Mr. Davis, thank you very much for the review! We appreciate it.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 10/10

Minimize review


Grooper

Artificial intelligence (AI) based data integration solution

Darin Tiernan

Grooper Website - The competent community, at your fingertips!

Used daily for 6-12 months
Reviewed 2019-10-30
Review Source: Capterra

Once you understand the interface, the application is a breeze.

Pros
The interface, similar to other applications like Tableau, is clear and concise. The community is available 24/7, answering questions quickly and helping move my projects forward. AI is the next learning curve for businesses, and Grooper has you covered!

Cons
Initial setup, but helpful tech group got me going.

Response from Grooper


Very excited that you've found the GrooperxChange community to be helpful! Here's the URL for anyone else that hasn't visited it: https://xchange.grooper.com/

Thanks for the review!

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 10/10

Minimize review


Grooper

Artificial intelligence (AI) based data integration solution

Morgan Ashley

Grooper

Used daily for 2+ years
Reviewed 2019-05-29
Review Source: Capterra

Pros
Grooper is extremely easy to learn, very user friendly.

Cons
Just like most technology, it has a lot of hiccups. Such as getting errors during processing, which can be an easy fix or a difficult one, depending.

Response from Grooper


Hi, Ashley! Thank you for your review! I hope you'll reach out to your Grooper rep to see if an updated version of Grooper might help! There are many new image processing features which may be just what you need.

Thanks again!

Rating breakdown

Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 5/10

Minimize review


Grooper

Artificial intelligence (AI) based data integration solution

Todd Slocumb

Grooper is a Top Shelf Product

Used daily for 1-2 years
Reviewed 2019-06-14
Review Source: Capterra

Grooper gave Change Healthcare the ability to process huge diverse client print files and extract the data into a normalized data stream for processing.

Pros
One of the key feature of Grooper is the ability to identify, interpret, enhance, and extract data from a large number of media types (TIF, JPG, PDF, Word, Excel, ect...) Another key decision point was there wasn't a requirement for a software developer to write code, a business analyst can use a GUI base application to configure 98% of the extract jobs.

Cons
The configuration GUI has so many options to identify and extract data that it can overwhelm an beginner.

Response from Grooper


Thank you Todd for the review! Although future release will not "dumb down" configuration possibilities, we're working on combining certain configuration options based on desired outcome. We hope that this and more targeted training curriculum for Grooper ACE training will help new users.

Excited that Change Healthcare is enjoying Grooper!

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 9/10

Minimize review


Grooper

Artificial intelligence (AI) based data integration solution

Marshall Henry

A modern solution to document scanning

Used weekly for 2+ years
Reviewed 2019-06-28
Review Source: Capterra

Pros
Grooper enabled us to get rid of some ancient scanning software. The Team at BIS worked to understand our needs and got us setup pretty quickly.

Cons
BIS would not take on any small projects to enable us to do more scanning, which was very frustrating. It's help file is also lacking if you want to try and do setup yourself. The software is not very helpful when errors occur on helping you solve them. The software doesn't check for updates so unless you ask BIS to update the software it stays outdated.

Response from Grooper


Hi, Mr. Henry! Thank you for the review!

Updating the help documentation has been highly requested and we've dedicated additional resources to ensuring this happens quickly. Stay tuned for a rewrite of all help files on version 2.8, as well as a public release of the Grooper wiki. Also, if you haven't engaged the Grooper community on Grooper xChange, I encourage you to do that as well (https://xchange.grooper.com/).

Your comment regarding the small projects is certainly fair. We have a growing community of Grooper partners who are engaging exactly these types of projects. See Grooper partners here (https://www.bisok.com/about/strategic-partners/).

Thanks again for the review!

Rating breakdown

Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 8/10

Minimize review


Grooper

Artificial intelligence (AI) based data integration solution

Dorothy White

Grooper is FAST!

Used daily for 6-12 months
Reviewed 2019-08-20
Review Source: Capterra

We have saved time using Grooper and its been easier to use than our previous program. Its' been makes it easier to teach new scanners the procedure since we train young college students to do the bulk of our scanning on a part time basis.

Pros
I have to sat that I do not use Grooper myself, but I supervise two co-workers who do. The report to me very recently is how fast it is and how easy. We scan by large batches. Several offices on our Campus scan, but do not need to scan in large batches like we do. The procedure with Grooper has cut our scan time down and made each step much easier than our previous program.

Cons
Getting things set up took a little time, but the reps for the company walked us through the set up and we finally got it fine tuned for our needs.

Response from Grooper


Dorothy, thank you for your comments! Saving time is huge, and I'm excited that Grooper is performing well for you!

Rating breakdown

Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 10/10

Minimize review


Grooper

Artificial intelligence (AI) based data integration solution

Jeff Carlisle

Excellent product

Used daily for 1-2 years
Reviewed 2019-08-21
Review Source: Capterra

Automated document processing and workflow

Pros
Although the learning curve is high; it isnt too much more than other products. Grooper's approach to image and document analysis is not comparable to any other in the space. The intelligent analysis is fantastic and reduces man hours with growing return on investment.

Cons
Learning curve though it isnt much worse than other products in the space

Response from Grooper


Thank you for the review, Jeff! We've added resources to help with training curriculum and processes. We're also consolidating some commonly used features and making the design studio more intuitive. Grooper users like you are a critical part of Grooper's success. Thanks again!!

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 10/10

Minimize review


Grooper

Artificial intelligence (AI) based data integration solution

Micheal Kinney

The idea of Grooper is amazing, using it can be difficult

Used monthly for 2+ years
Reviewed 2019-06-13
Review Source: Capterra

When everything works, it's great but it's honestly 50/50. Clearing licenses can fix the issues often enough but it shouldn't have to be that way. And say you do have to restart a job, there are way to many steps you (or the end user) needs to take to get things working again (tech needs to clear license or reboot server, user needs to "Pause" the job to make changes, reset the "Previous Tasks", "Change Current Step", and "Resume"). The potential saving of work and automation, in this case, sometimes makes more work.

Pros
Being able to simplify and even automate the data entry of scanned documents into our system with OCR is amazing and a godsend.

Cons
In my experience, from the stand point IT support, the software is very hard to setup and has a steep learning curve. By default, licenses get tied up and there's often unexplained issues that cause errors when processing documents. I've been told by support that this is due to, again by default, that a process can grab another license before the last processes has completed, to save time. This can fill up the license pool and cause things to stop working.

Response from Grooper


Thank you for the feedback on the licensing! This is something we are working on. Be on the lookout for Grooper release 2.8 (arriving Q4 2019).

Looking forward to your continued success with Grooper!

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 7/10

Minimize review


Grooper

Artificial intelligence (AI) based data integration solution

William Moore

Grooper review

Used daily for 6-12 months
Reviewed 2018-11-21
Review Source: Capterra

One of our biggest challenges was how to bring in our DocuSign documents and get them into the OpenTXT platform without intervention. This is the ticket!

Pros
This software is incredibly flexible. The capabilities seem to be endless, I am amazed at how much it can do. We use this software in conjunction with our Automation system to bring in documents from DocuSign. However; we are in the process of expanding it for use by our HR department.

Cons
Out of the box it can be very daunting, it has so many capabilities that it can be very overwhelming. Taking the training class is an absolute must. Once I got trained I was able to better understand how to deploy this in our environment. I would recommend additional training if offered or maybe even take the class twice if possible. There is so much to learn.

Response from Grooper


William, glad we were able to help with getting docs into OpenTXT! Looking forward to exploring new use cases when the time is right!

Rating breakdown

Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 10/10

Minimize review


Grooper

Artificial intelligence (AI) based data integration solution

Laura Wellman

Very customizable if you don't mind paying to have them do it

Used occasionally for 1-2 years
Reviewed 2019-05-29
Review Source: Capterra

We are using Grooper in our Business Office to scan in multiple types of documents. The process is easy enough for student workers to complete the needed tasks.

Pros
There are lots of options on how to manage your documents and the program is fairly reliable. We've had very little downtime since implementation and don't normally need support.

Cons
It's very complex to set up if you want to add or change something. The documentation isn't as helpful as it could be. There is a how-to section that doesn't really tell you how to do anything, like set up a new process. But they are happy to let you pay for them to do it.

Response from Grooper


Laura, thank you for the review! Your comment on documentation is something we've taken to heart. Starting with version 2.72, the help documentation is much more robust. Also, be on the lookout for a notice on the new Grooper Wiki! I think you'll find it very helpful.

Sometimes it may be easier to have our professional services team help out, and for the times you want to learn more on your own, I hope you'll consider registering for an extended Grooper training class and/or create a login at the Grooper x Change forum where you can ask questions and interact with development staff and other Grooper users.

Thanks again for the review!

Rating breakdown

Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 8/10

Minimize review


Grooper

Artificial intelligence (AI) based data integration solution

Alex Clark

Still in the process...

Used occasionally for less than 6 months
Reviewed 2019-06-13
Review Source: Capterra

So far, I am impressed with the recognition features, as well as the automated correction.

Pros
So far, Grooper seems very familiar and user friendly for someone coming from a Kofax system.

Cons
I am learning that there are multiple levels of Grooper with price ranges that correspond to the level of features. This is something I wasn't aware of when Grooper was initially pitched.

Response from Grooper


Hi, Alex! Be on the lookout for the Grooper 2.8 release (out of beta in Q4 2019). We're working on an updated licensing model that should help.

Thank you for the feedback regarding the comparison with Kofax. As a platform, Grooper does have many levels of capability that not every use case needs. We'll keep our community updated on future releases and upcoming refreshes to documentation and training to help you get even more out of Grooper.

Rating breakdown

Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 10/10

Minimize review


Grooper

Artificial intelligence (AI) based data integration solution

Donovan Hicks

Grooper is for you

Used daily for less than 6 months
Reviewed 2019-10-29
Review Source: Capterra

We had a product for imaging that was not meeting any longer.

Pros
Product can be customized to meet an organizations specific needs.

Cons
Getting things just right might take some time and work.

Response from Grooper


Thanks for the review Donovan! Glad Grooper was able to step in and meet your needs!

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 9/10

Minimize review


Grooper

Artificial intelligence (AI) based data integration solution

Anonymous

Good product with wonderful support

Used daily for 2+ years
Reviewed 2019-08-19
Review Source: Capterra

Pros
good product with image processing and handling.

Cons
easy to confuse how to use the product.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 8/10

Minimize review


Grooper

Artificial intelligence (AI) based data integration solution

Kyle Souza

Easy to Use Machine Learning Software

Used daily for less than 6 months
Reviewed 2019-10-29
Review Source: Capterra

We are integrating this software into our processes to augment our analysts capabilities. So far it has been a success and we expect a 6x increase in efficiency for selected activities.

Pros
It gives me and the other users control. It allows us to create models in a structured environment without programming, but still with precision control. The team behind it is great too.

Cons
The navigation tree can get confusing if you aren't disciplined with your naming conventions and object placement.

Response from Grooper


Wow! 6x increase in efficiency is a testament to your work and the power of Grooper. Great advice on naming conventions.

Thanks for the review!

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 10/10

Minimize review


Grooper

Artificial intelligence (AI) based data integration solution

Jason Morgan

Grooper Software

Used weekly for 1-2 years
Reviewed 2019-10-31
Review Source: Capterra

Pros
It has been very easy to implement and train users on.

Cons
Occasional quirks requiring restarts. A clerk runs a batch job which hangs...

Response from Grooper


Hi, Jason! Thanks for the review. I'm not sure which version you're on, so perhaps an upgrade to 2.8 (released Q4 2019) will help. Either way, support is always here when you need it!

Rating breakdown

Ease of use
Features

Likelihood to recommend: 8/10

Minimize review


Grooper

Artificial intelligence (AI) based data integration solution

Kayl Everette

What Grooper can bring me

Used occasionally for less than 6 months
Reviewed 2019-10-30
Review Source: Capterra

I personally have been doing hundreds of tax statements for accounting and it takes hours to do, Grooper will save half and even more than half of time when it comes to data entry, Lease Analyst work and more. I cant wait to experience this program more fully.

Pros
How efficient it will be to check multiple documents at one time with Accounting Services and Oil and Gas Leases while saving hours of work.

Cons
Haven't gotten too into the program yet to see a downfall in the software.

Response from Grooper


Thanks for the review, Kayl! Glad to help you do the work you're so good at! Wishing you the very best and continued success!

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 8/10

Minimize review


Grooper

Artificial intelligence (AI) based data integration solution

Laurie Spano

Trial/Training Review

Used occasionally for free trial
Reviewed 2019-10-30
Review Source: Capterra

I imagine Grooper will be very advantageous in acquisitions and divestitures; Collecting, Assignments, Leases and Contracts.

Pros
Endless possibilities as far as collecting data for output.

Cons
Have not used Grooper enough to write a con.

Response from Grooper


Thanks for the review Laurie! Yes, you are spot on. In oil and gas, Grooper is a huge advantage in streamlining A&D.

Rating breakdown

Ease of use
Features

Likelihood to recommend: 8/10

Minimize review


Grooper

Artificial intelligence (AI) based data integration solution

Frances Brown

Take time to make time

Used occasionally for less than 6 months
Reviewed 2019-10-30
Review Source: Capterra

We have many standardized contracts in our business and it will save time to pick out the things we need to give our attention to rather than go through pages and pages of words.

Pros
It will save time once you get it set up.

Cons
It takes a lot of time to setup on the front end.

Response from Grooper


Thanks for the review Frances! Excited you'll be able to save time and focus your attention on more valuable things! AI enabling humans is what we're all about!

Rating breakdown

Ease of use
Features

Likelihood to recommend: 10/10

Minimize review


Grooper

Artificial intelligence (AI) based data integration solution

Anonymous

Grooper Goodness

Used occasionally for free trial
Reviewed 2019-05-29
Review Source: Capterra

Document imaging has been seamless.

Pros
The software did everything and more for doc imaging.

Cons
I have not come across any issues with the software.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 9/10

Minimize review


Grooper

Artificial intelligence (AI) based data integration solution

Peggy Morton

Just getting started

Used occasionally for less than 6 months
Reviewed 2019-10-29
Review Source: Capterra

We are still learning how to use it.

Pros
I like that you can conform it to what works best for company

Cons
It takes a while to set up each item (folder) you need to learn a lot before you can do so.

Response from Grooper


Thanks for the review! Wishing you continued success!!

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 9/10

Minimize review


Grooper

Artificial intelligence (AI) based data integration solution