App comparison

Add up to 4 apps below to see how they compare. You can also use the "Compare" buttons while browsing.

DocuWare Reviews

Overall rating

4.6

/5

61

Rating criteria

  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8.75/10

Reviews by rating

Pros and cons

Year on year the software has improved and now represents simply amazing value for money. We looked at many systems closely but DocuWare proved to offer the best functionality vs cost.
Ease of learning and use made it easy for even veteran employees to become invested in the product. We couldn't be more pleased.
We've found that better vendor relationships support better customer service. The breadth of features has also allowed us to improve information flow with our customers.
Lack of documentation and information on the web to troubleshoot problems on your own. The company does not seem invested in its clients' education of how to use the product.
The one thing I think is missing (and this has been recorded) is that the "fat" client has been removed from the software. As an administrator, I made frequent use of the fat client.
In order to get results when performing a search you have to search the name of the document exactly as it was recorded. This can be difficult when looking for something that you stored months ago.
Filter reviews by

Overall rating


Company size


Industry


Time used


61 reviews

Recommended

WG
AvatarImg

Wisdom G.

Computer Software, 11-50 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Docuware Functionality

Reviewed a year ago

It is very pleasant and an easy to use software.

Pros

It has an option of being server or cloud based and the users have a webclient interface that is compatible with all modern browsers

Cons

Docuware support still has to improve. Africa has to be reliant on support from German. it is as if Africa is a country and not a region. that might negatively affect it in Africa

Vendor response

Thank you for taking the time to review DocuWare. I'm glad that your overall experience with our solution was positive. Please be assured that our support function is improving all the time. If you have further input, please reach out to us at customer.feedback@docuware.com.

DB
AvatarImg

Danielle B.

Hospital & Health Care, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Helpful

Reviewed 2 years ago

Using daily to upload shared files within our facility for easy access

Pros

Makes it easy to scan in files that multiple people need so that everything is in one spot & easy to access

Cons

Nothing is missing that I’m aware of and I haven’t really ran into any issues. Maybe make the search area easier?

Vendor response

Thank you so much for your review. We're pleased that DocuWare's capture features and centralized repository are making collaboration easier at your company. We make continuous improvements to our search capabilities and would be happy to get more detailed input from you. Please reach out to us at customer.feedback@docuware.com if you have further comments.

IN
AvatarImg

Ian N.

Marketing and Advertising, 11-50 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Talbot Marketing

Reviewed 6 years ago

'Overall, the number of documents we print has been reduced by 90% as electronic processes have been put in place. More significant than our cost or environmental savings is our ability to ensure orders are being processed in a timely manner and accounts payable invoices are being processed efficiently. Our Return on Investment was achieved in less than one year, but we saw immediate improvement in our customer service with our new ability to quickly place orders and address issues that may arise. DocuWare gave us real-time transparent processes and seamless information flow between departments. We are very happy with DocuWare and couldn't live without it.'

Pros

Ease of Use & improvements to our Processes

Cons

No cons were added to this review

NB
AvatarImg

Nicole B.

Government Administration, 201-500 employees

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Happy about selection

Reviewed 3 years ago

The overall capability of the software is amazing; it makes you really take a step back and reevaluate your own process and goals.

Pros

How you can incorporate this product on any area in your business. I also like how it bridges with various software applications.

Cons

I can’t select a series of documents and index them/store in separate trays simultaneously.

Vendor response

Thank you for your review. We appreciate hearing from our customers. We're glad that your organization is benefiting from DocuWare's flexibility and integration capabilities. Depending on what you are trying to accomplish, your DocuWare administrator or your partner can configure the solution to store documents in separate trays. The documents must have an index field that identifies their document type. Then a process runs in the background to send the files to the designated tray.

LH
AvatarImg

Leana H.

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

support & implementation teams are very responsive! Love this system...great for internal control!

Reviewed 6 years ago
Pros

Once this system is set up to follow the approval / processing flow, the system is seamless. Nobody can forge a supervisor's approval. There are never any lost invoices as they all are scanned into Docuware and follow the pre-established process. We are more easily able to trace transactions do the source documents. Our auditors love it!

Cons

You have to call support to have a new user set up or cancel the rights of a user. Also, if a user closes the software by clicking the "X" in the upper right hand corner vs. officially logging off, it locks up the license and blocks the ability for another person to log in.

AR
AvatarImg

Anonymous Reviewer

Verified reviewer

Accounting, 11-50 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Good Software

Reviewed 4 years ago

Docuware is a very easy software to scan and access reports. It's a place to store documents

Pros

- good software to store company's documents - easy access in searching specific documents

Cons

- at this moment of time their is nothing bad to say about this software

Vendor response

Thank you so much for taking the time to review DocuWare. We appreciate hearing from our customers. We're so glad that your experience has been very positive. If we can be of help in the future, please contact us any time at customer.feedback@docuware.com.

JO
AvatarImg

John O.

Government Administration, 201-500 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

I took over the Docuware administration for my company. The learning curve was steep, but worth it!

Reviewed 6 years ago

Organization, shedding of old paper records (which made it easy to relocate).

Pros

It allowed my company to get rid of @ 80% of it's paper records! It collated the old files into a common user interface (per department) that allows anyone to use it and find stuff quickly and easily!

Cons

The one thing I think is missing (and this has been recorded) is that the "fat" client has been removed from the software. As an administrator, I made frequent use of the fat client.

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Mahmoud A.

Verified reviewer

Information Technology and Services, 11-50 employees

Used weekly for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Document Management and workflows

Reviewed 4 years ago
Pros

It's ability to built workflows for the document (approvals, verifications, reminders....) these workflows can be visually seen on the document (stamps, annotation, comments...) . This is very customizable for each business based o their requirements. Also the ability of Docuware to integrate with DB's is amazing and to pull and push data based on your configuration

Cons

I wish their configuration is centralized in one area. And I see they are in this process now

Vendor response

Thank you so much for your review. It's great to hear that DocuWare Workflow is performing so well in your organization and that you're benefiting from DocuWare's powerful integration capabilities. As you've noticed, we are in the process of centralizing our administrator configuration functionality. The project will be completed soon. If we can be of further assistance, please reach out to us at customer.feedback@docuware.com.

RL
AvatarImg

Ryan L.

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

We researched document managing programs, Docuware is by far the best program available! WE LOVE IT!

Reviewed 5 years ago
Pros

Simplicity, Thorough, and Value these are some words that come to mind about the Docuware program. We are in the process of "managing" 17 years worth of document. Through Docuware we are able to "spider web link" our Bill of Ladings to our Packing Slip to our PO's to our Invoices (AP) to our Customer Invoices (AR) to the SDS sheets to the Certification of Standards documents our customers require....

Cons

No cons were added to this review

KP
AvatarImg

Kurt P.

Computer Hardware, 201-500 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Great Document Archival!

Reviewed 6 years ago

Document Archive.

Pros

Web based software. Works with almost any device. Complies with our strict security standards. The software is very flexible and easy to use.

Cons

Cost, It costs money and isn't free. But you get what you pay for. Seriously the software is an awesome buy.

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Jeffrey K.

Verified reviewer

Legal Services, 11-50 employees

Used weekly for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Great Integration into Outlook

Reviewed 3 years ago
Pros

I liked having the ability to link documents directly from DocuWare.

Cons

I wish there was a google style search option

Vendor response

We appreciate your taking the time to review DocuWare. We're glad that the solution's Outlook integration capabilities work well for you. You can enhance DocuWare's search capabilities by using Full-Text search. You can also use a wildcard by adding an asterisk on either side or on both sides of your search expression. Additionally, wrap multiple search terms in quotes and separate them with AND or OR to use multiple values against a field or fields in a search dialog. Please reach out to your DocuWare Sales Director for further assistance or contact us at customer.feedback@docuware.com.

OP
AvatarImg

Oscar P.

Used daily for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Good software, easy to setup and use

Reviewed 5 years ago
Pros

The capability of host documents in the cloud is one of the best things in this software and the user profile administration process too.

Cons

Some bugs in the task assigning process is the defect i identified in this software, i have some troubles with this function.

Vendor response

Thank you so much for taking the time to review DocuWare. We appreciate hearing from our customers. If you need help in fine-tuning your business processes please reach out to your DocuWare Partner who can assist you with effective assignment of workflow tasks. You can also contact us at any time with suggestions at customer.feedback@docuware.com.

WC
AvatarImg

Wendy C.

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

No complaints. Great product!

Reviewed 6 years ago

We were able to confidently go paperless.

Pros

That it connects to my email account, as well as, other software for ease of use. If confused about setup they processes are easy to figure out.

Cons

No cons were added to this review

AR
AvatarImg

Anonymous Reviewer

Verified reviewer

Human Resources, 51-200 employees

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend5/10

Share this review:

DocuWare Review

Reviewed 4 years ago
Pros

I like that it gives me a preview of the files before I open them. I also like that it stores everything in color and that I can store multiple things at once. It works well at keeping things neat and is simple to use.

Cons

The search function is not very good. In order to get results when performing a search you have to search the name of the document exactly as it was recorded. This can be difficult when looking for something that you stored months ago.

Vendor response

Thank you for taking the time to review DocuWare. We want to help you get the most out of your DocuWare system. We can work with you to help you fine-tune your searches. With DocuWare you can search by date, type of document, keyword and any other parameters you set up. Please reach out to us at customer.feedback@docuware.com. We would appreciate the opportunity to improve your experience with our solution.

SV
AvatarImg

Sally V.

Sports, 501-1,000 employees

Used weekly for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Improved Service

Reviewed 6 years ago

Improved information flow with customers and with suppliers. Also, greatly simplified locating documents.

Pros

The relationship with our vendors has improved because we now have a consistent and reliable way to communicate order information. We've found that better vendor relationships support better customer service. The breadth of features has also allowed us to improve information flow with our customers.

Cons

To fully leverage the features of the product we did need to develop owners inside the business who could trouble shoot and fine tune solutions. As is often the case, the more expert the user the more powerful the tool.

KG
AvatarImg

Kellyanne G.

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

So far our experience with DocuWare has been very positive. It has been a great help!

Reviewed 6 years ago
Pros

It's ease of use is the largest PRO! We have our entire shop (35+people) using the software and the fact it is so user friendly is simply excellent!

Cons

At times we wish there were more sort options and export options. but overall it is a very good product!

AR
AvatarImg

Anonymous Reviewer

Verified reviewer

Graphic Design, 1-10 employees

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Great for Automating your Document Managment

Reviewed 4 years ago
Pros

We use this to manage incoming invoices to automatically link it with our inventory managment solution

Cons

Steep learning curve. But other than that, it is great.

Vendor response

Thank you so much for taking the time to review DocuWare. We're happy to hear that integration with your inventory management solution brought new efficiencies to your invoice management process. If you are interested in ongoing administrator or end-user training, members of your team can participate in in-depth classroom training at our New Windsor, New York headquarters. They can also access FAQs which are found in the Support section of our website. The FAQs cover key subjects including ¿How do I¿ guides and solutions for common issues. The DocuWare Community forum is another valuable resource. If we can be of assistance, please reach out to us at customer.feedback@docuware.com

BL
AvatarImg

Brian L.

Oil & Energy, 51-200 employees

Used weekly for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Docuware review

Reviewed 3 years ago

So far, I am absolutely loving it. So easy to use and without having a client to install.

Pros

I love the web interface. It makes it so convenient. The UI layout is so intuitive compared to our old document system.

Cons

I don't like that I can't process multiple files by selecting the ones I want to change. It's either all or nothing.

Vendor response

Thank you so much for taking the time to review DocuWare. We appreciate hearing from our customers. The ability to process multiple documents at once depends on what you're trying to accomplish and whether you have installed the most current version of DocuWare. Please reach out to your DocuWare Partner for assistance or contact us at any time at customer.feedback@docuware.com.

DC
AvatarImg

Diane C.

Law Practice, 11-50 employees

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Amazing, organized and completely simple. Even the transition from our old system was flawless.

Reviewed 6 years ago
Pros

Customized and user friendly. So easy to teach new users, so many shortcuts and completely organized. I love it!

Cons

No cons were added to this review

SH
AvatarImg

SARAH H.

Philanthropy, 11-50 employees

Used other for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

DocuWare

Reviewed 3 years ago

DocuWare really helped streamline our invoice processing and document control systems

Pros

The DocuWare setup team really works with you and helps you customize the software for your needs. It's electronic identification of scanned documents and intelligent filing is top notch

Cons

It is an expensive investment and endeavor. Working out the all the tweaks can take some patience and time.

Vendor response

Thank you for taking the time to review DocuWare. We're glad that our solution and its workflow capabilities helped your organization improve the speed and accuracy of invoice processing and gain a clearer view of the status of documents and data. If we can be of assistance, please contact us at customer.feedback@docuware.com

TD
AvatarImg

Trish D.

Used weekly for less than 6 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

Docuware act as a 'holding place' for invoices...I am still evaluating how I feel about it.

Reviewed 5 years ago

I was not immediately on board when the company began using Docuware... it felt redundant as if you were handling the invoice more than once. I am currently a user and becoming more and more used to the many tools and drop down boxes offered. It does do a lot, that much I will say.

Pros

Docuware allows you to store all invoices. This applies for all users within our department, so assisting with invoice processing and coding while someone who may be out of the office can be easily accomplished...there is no need to exchange passwords etc. Also, searching for an invoice you may not be sure you received or not is simple.

Cons

No cons were added to this review

Vendor response

We appreciate your feedback. DocuWare is feature-rich so it can adapt to any organization¿s processes. As part of the system design, we establish a streamlined workflow that minimizes the amount of time people spend on routine tasks. If you have suggestions for process improvements as you become more familiar with DocuWare, let your DocuWare Administrator know.

DS
AvatarImg

Donald S.

Banking, 51-200 employees

Used weekly for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Easy to implement and use. We were up and running in a very reasonable time frame.

Reviewed 5 years ago

Improved efficiency and better document management.

Pros

The system is user friendly and easy to learn. It has helped improve our efficiency in handling the accounts payable function by eliminating the need to move paper documents. It has also replaced paper document storage with imaged files which are much easier to work with both from a storage aspect as well as a research aspect.

Cons

At this point we have not had any issues with the system performance or capabilities. It is providing what we need for this function.

AR
AvatarImg

Anonymous Reviewer

Verified reviewer

Computer Software, 11-50 employees

Used weekly for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Great software

Reviewed 4 years ago
Pros

You can keep your documents in one place, easy to access and use the documents

Cons

There is nothing I don't like at this moment.

Vendor response

Thank you so much for taking the time to review DocuWare. We're so happy to hear that you appreciate having centralized access to your documents and data. If we can be ever be of assistance, please reach out to us at customer.feedback@docuware.com.

LF
AvatarImg

Lance F.

Utilities, 11-50 employees

Used weekly for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Nice way to keep documents safe

Reviewed 6 years ago

Safe way to store important documents and keep them organized and archived.

Pros

Easy to use, runs in a browser, great searching capabilities.

Cons

Takes a bit to get used to the cabinet approach vs the windows explorer style of folders organization.

DH
AvatarImg

Denise H.

Used weekly for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

Good.

Reviewed 6 years ago
Pros

Functionality is great - makes searching for documents easy and easily and. Cloud based makes accessibility easier

Cons

Uploading documents and sorting are time consuming and difficult to get it done easily and effectively.