DocuWare Reviews

DocuWare

Cloud-based & on-premise document management

4.56/5 (48 reviews)

Rafael Vermöhlen

The Best Tool for Electronic Document Management

Used daily for 2+ years
Reviewed 2017-10-11
Review Source: GetApp

Pros
I use and manage DocuWare in the company where I work, it has an incredible administration tool, allowing you to create multiple access profiles, with rules for viewing and writing, allows you to create several file trays for separation and organization of them, among others features. Already for the end user of the company, the graphic interface of the Web part is very easy to understand, without a lot of unnecessary information, after only what the user needs to filter and find their documents. Importing documents into DocuWare is another fantastic thing, you can do this by simply printing the document through the DocuWare printer, a supplement that sends the document directly to the user's default tray, or to a certain tray if rules are created for it. You can also import documents into DocuWare simply by placing them in a certain pre-defined folder, which is monitored by the system and automatically imports as soon as a document is placed there. There is also the possibility of using scanners to scan physical documents, as you can also manually import the documents already scanned into DocuWare.

Cons
Regarding the tool I have nothing to complain about, but the support leaves something to be desired, DocuWare's own support takes some time to answer simple questions at times, but it has a vast documentation that can be used to remedy various types of doubts , often solving simpler problems without having to open a call for support.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 10/10

Minimize review


DocuWare

Cloud-based & on-premise document management

Chris Bradley

Docuware Review

Used daily for 2+ years
Reviewed 2019-07-29
Review Source: Capterra

Docuware has been a great experience for our Company. It has allowed us to pay invoices faster, track information about who has overcharged us, and track change orders without letting them get lost in the shuffle.

Pros
Docuware is a powerful tool for routing paperwork through workflows. It has eliminated paper running through our office and allowed our employees to work from any location without needing physical access to the paper.

Cons
Setting up the workflows is difficult at first, but once you get used to "speaking the language" per se it's not bad at all.

Response from DocuWare


Thank you for the great feedback! We love to hear when DocuWare is a great success for organizations like yours.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 10/10

Minimize review


DocuWare

Cloud-based & on-premise document management

courtney kabala

Docuware

Used daily for 2+ years
Reviewed 2019-04-05
Review Source: Capterra

Overall experience has been good, its saves our files which is what we need. I would give the software a 10 if it had a few more tools/options to modify and save the files.

Pros
Docuware is easy to use, reporting is easy to generate and the service is always very prompt.

Cons
Once a file is archived, you cannot (in my experience) delete it out of the system if needed. It would be ideal if you could edit the documents in the inbox (add or rotate pages) however once the documents are uploaded they remain "as is". Also, I have done this many times and hit the save button too fast and then had to go back and find the file to re-name or enter because a field was not complete- in the system lets you save blank fields, so just be careful!

Response from DocuWare


Thank you so much for taking the time to review DocuWare. We're happy to hear that you appreciate how user-friendly the software is ¿ ease of use is an important focus for us. Your ability to delete archived documents is linked to the permissions you¿ve been given. Permission to delete documents is granted on a limited basis to reduce the chance that documents will be deleted in error. You can ask your DocuWare administrator for permission to delete documents. If you have other concerns, please reach out to us at customer.feedback@docuware.com.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 9/10

Minimize review


DocuWare

Cloud-based & on-premise document management

Amber Jones

Everyday User

Used daily for 2+ years
Reviewed 2019-08-08
Review Source: Capterra

Docuware has made it so much easier to store all of our client documents without having to keep the paper copies in the office. I use it daily as my checklist to make sure that all checks/transfer/account changes are getting taken care of in a timely manner from our custodian.

Pros
I like that I can keep track of pending checks/transfer easily and make sure they occur on a timely manner. It is very easy to pull up clients records and see everything we have on them.

Cons
I feel like we are on a very outdated version and have never been notified of upgrades. I'd like to be able to make my own "stamps" to mark documents how they should be marked.

Response from DocuWare


Hello Amber, Thank you for your review. You can get notifications of any version release by subscribing to our Blog and UserInfo right from our website. We release a new version about every 6 months, usually one in the Spring and then again in the Fall. Stamps are created in the DocuWare Thick Client, you should have access to create stamps as needed.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 9/10

Minimize review


DocuWare

Cloud-based & on-premise document management

Jennifer Booker

Docuware

Used daily for 2+ years
Reviewed 2019-07-24
Review Source: Capterra

i have used it for 4 years a couple different ways, it is easy to use, if you always type in caps its easier to find the information later, its overall a great product to hold valuable information.

Pros
It is easy to use, you can export charts easily, you can make the categories how you want them to be, like permit number, address, you can set up as you need it.

Cons
sometimes its not easy to search if someone entered the information in lowercase or uppercase it may not show, the only thing that frustrates me is the searching of a document.

Response from DocuWare


Thank you so much for your review. We're so glad you value DocuWare's ease of use. We have a team that is dedicated to making sure that our solution is user-friendly. DocuWare search is not case sensitive. So whether the text is upper case, lower case or a mixture of both should not affect the search results. You can also use logical operators like AND and OR to enhance search capabilities. Please reach out to your DocuWare Partner for assistance or contact us at customer.feedback@docuware.com.

Rating breakdown

Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 7/10

Minimize review


DocuWare

Cloud-based & on-premise document management

Neisha Pander

Keeping Track with DocuWare

Used weekly for 2+ years
Reviewed 2018-12-22
Review Source: Capterra

Pros
I really liked how this software helps to keep track of all documents, paper and electronic. All files can be uploaded and organized to find for later use. All files can be tagged with different information to pull up at a time when you might not know what you are looking for yet. Various locks or administrative controls can be implemented on a user by user basis for security reasons.

Cons
I think this software could use a face-lift, and maybe have a more user friendly dashboard and easier on the eyes. I spent did spend a lot of time searching the system and with it could be easier to use..

Response from DocuWare


Thank you so much for taking the time to review DocuWare. We're so glad that your experience with our software has been positive and that your organization is benefiting from our solution¿s ability to improve the ease of search and retrieval of documents and the roles-based security. If you would like input on fine-tuning your search capabilities, please reach out to your DocuWare Partner or contact us at any time at customer.feedback@docuware.com.

We have a team that is responsible for improving the user experience. They focus on continuous improvement of our user interface. If you would like to get involved by becoming a part of our Product Tester Program, you can register here: https://start.docuware.com/docuware-product-tester-program.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features

Likelihood to recommend: 6/10

Minimize review


DocuWare

Cloud-based & on-premise document management

RAY HOYT

Investing in DocuWare was a good decision. It provides affordable value to our organization.

Used daily for 2+ years
Reviewed 2017-06-19
Review Source: Capterra

Efficiency, cross-department training and use, ability to archive documents we're required to maintain and reduce storage, ability to limit access to specific documents.

Pros
One of the big reasons our DocuWare roll out was such a success was because our IT vendor worked with us to develop a training and implementation `ramp-up approach that allowed us to continually roll out the solution to our departments. DocuWare has saved us weeks of time, in terms of finding needed information. We like that DocuWare is very customizable in how we are able to store documents. We also like that it provides a shared vault that everyone can pull from, ensuring consistency in document use.

Cons
We feel DocuWare. although we like the product, is not particularly intuitive. Users need a good training to get full use from the program.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 10/10

Minimize review


DocuWare

Cloud-based & on-premise document management

Andre C. St. Pierre

DocuWare has leapfrogged the competition

Used daily for 2+ years
Reviewed 2018-08-15
Review Source: Capterra

We have use DocuWare for our order processing and accounts payable for nearly 10 years. Over that time, DocuWare has evolved to keep pace with our business and has exceeded our expectations.

Pros
DocuWare has become the most feature-rich, combined document management and intelligent data capture solution available today. Affordably priced and fully customization. The preconfigured Kinetic solutions for invoice processing and employee management allow users to get up and running in a matter of days.

Cons
The cloud based offering needs to provide concurrent user licenses.

Response from DocuWare


Thank you so much for taking the time to review DocuWare. We appreciate hearing from a long-time customer. We designed our cloud licensing model to meet a broad range of customer needs. We will take your feedback into consideration. You can reach out to us with further suggestions at customer.feedback@docuware.com.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 10/10

Minimize review


DocuWare

Cloud-based & on-premise document management

Rebecca Mogollón

From a big failure to a success story!

Used daily for 1-2 years
Reviewed 2019-01-08
Review Source: Capterra

We had a major setback with the vendor who initially set up the product with our company, to where we had to halt our progress and rollback to our old platform (FORTIS). But we implemented it again and it was a success.

Pros
1. The interface is easy on the eyes, intuitive, and user-friendly 2. Effective drag and drop functionality 3. Users can perform multiple tasks in multiple documents without leaving the main console

Cons
1. Lack of appropriate training for users and administrators 2. Lack of documentation and information on the web to troubleshoot problems on your own 3. The company does not seem invested in its clients' education of how to use the product

Response from DocuWare


Thank you so much for taking the time to review DocuWare. We're glad your company is benefiting from DocuWare's user-friendly interface and flexibility. We appreciate the feedback on DocuWare training and documentation and are sorry to hear that we haven't fully met your needs. If you we can be of further help or you have suggestions for improvement, please reach out to us at customer.feedback@docuware.com.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 8/10

Minimize review


DocuWare

Cloud-based & on-premise document management

Chris Levey

Local support is excellent. They go above and beyond. DocuWare is very end-user friendly.

Used daily for 2+ years
Reviewed 2017-05-16
Review Source: Capterra

Document management is a breeze.

Pros
End-users typically have no trouble using the software and pick it up intuitively. Adding documents to the repository and retrieving them after is a breeze.

Cons
As an administrator, I find the management interface to be convoluted and difficult. So convoluted, in fact, that if you don't work with the interface on a very frequent basis you will find yourself struggling to perform most configuration changes. Knowing where to change something -- even which interface to use to change something -- is difficult. Why is there an administration area that is not web-based, and then workflow management is web-based, etc.? All management functions should be in a common interface, with a common look and feel. That's simply not the case here.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 8/10

Minimize review


DocuWare

Cloud-based & on-premise document management

Karya Wehinger

Docuware

Used daily for 2+ years
Reviewed 2018-09-27
Review Source: Capterra

I like having the access to all of our orders at my fingertips. I wish more coworkers used this, instead of picking up the phone or emailing me for information. They can find it all in this online filing cabinet called Docuware.

Pros
We use Docuware as our online filing cabinet. Anything you need to know about an order, you can find in Docuware (as long as it is scanned in and updated accordingly).

Cons
Sometimes items are not uploaded in a timely fashion and/or not linked to the packet.

Response from DocuWare


Thank you so much for taking the time to write the review. Experiencing slow upload speeds is not typical. We want to better understand your issues so that we can offer the appropriate assistance. Please reach out to us at customer.feedback@docuware.com. We would appreciate the opportunity to work with you to improve your experience with our solution.

Rating breakdown

Ease of use
Features

Likelihood to recommend: 9/10

Minimize review


DocuWare

Cloud-based & on-premise document management

Jennifer Gwyn

DocuWare converted our paper A/P process into a smooth online workflow.

Used daily for 1-2 years
Reviewed 2017-05-24
Review Source: Capterra

Our growth is very healthy, so this allowed us to automate and electronically store our documents without adding more space for file cabinets and hold off on hiring additional employees for a period of time.

Pros
The DocuWare consultant tailored the product to our specific needs. We incorporated many validations and lookups across to the target ERP system (SAGE). The Intellix learning OCR feature was impressive and lived up to the sales pitch, recognizing differences in our vendor base that were surprising (example - some vendor provided dates in mm/dd/yyyy and others presented in dd/mm/yyyy - but DocuWare learned the difference and converted as needed).

Cons
We did not build enough tracking/audit fields at the onset, upon hindsight. Doing it again, I would have a tracking field on who owns the document - so as to always be able to export a file of all open WIP documents and know to whom that they belong.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 10/10

Minimize review


DocuWare

Cloud-based & on-premise document management

Sue Butzer

Easy to use!

Used daily for 2+ years
Reviewed 2019-06-12
Review Source: Capterra

I love the functionality of the system. Our office uses it all day long.

Pros
It's very easy to use and has a lot of cool functions that the older version did not have.

Cons
Trying to print it a bit of a hassle, which is confusing because it didn't used to be that way. I'm not sure why happened or why.

Response from DocuWare


Thank you so much for taking the time to review DocuWare. We're happy to hear that you appreciate how user-friendly and intuitive the software is. Ease of use is very important to us, and we're continually developing enhancements to our user interface. Printing problems often stem from issues related to your IT infrastructure. Your DocuWare Partner will be able to help you troubleshoot printing issues. You can also contact us directly at customer.feedback@docuware.com

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 10/10

Minimize review


DocuWare

Cloud-based & on-premise document management

Van Winton

Documented Docuware Success Story

Used daily for 2+ years
Reviewed 2017-01-11
Review Source: Capterra

As a Docuware client for over 15 years I have seen this product evolve. We have utilized this program to scan, index and search real estate title documents. From our first use we knew this product was going to revolutionize our title company and it has done this without any loss of productivity and, in fact, has saved manpower and storage dollars. From the moment we created our first "cabinet" with one entry till now where we house over 40 million images that are accessed by personnel from all our locations, we experience exceptional response time and absolutely no "down time". I highly recommend this product to anyone in the title industry.

Pros
Functionality, ease of use, and very small learning curve.

Cons
I have no adverse thoughts.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 10/10

Minimize review


DocuWare

Cloud-based & on-premise document management

Ian Nicol

Talbot Marketing

Used daily for 2+ years
Reviewed 2017-01-11
Review Source: Capterra

'Overall, the number of documents we print has been reduced by 90% as electronic processes have been put in place. More significant than our cost or environmental savings is our ability to ensure orders are being processed in a timely manner and accounts payable invoices are being processed efficiently. Our Return on Investment was achieved in less than one year, but we saw immediate improvement in our customer service with our new ability to quickly place orders and address issues that may arise. DocuWare gave us real-time transparent processes and seamless information flow between departments. We are very happy with DocuWare and couldn't live without it.'

Pros
Ease of Use & improvements to our Processes

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 10/10

Minimize review


DocuWare

Cloud-based & on-premise document management

Nicole Bottai

Happy about selection

Used daily for 1-2 years
Reviewed 2019-08-28
Review Source: Capterra

The overall capability of the software is amazing; it makes you really take a step back and reevaluate your own process and goals.

Pros
How you can incorporate this product on any area in your business. I also like how it bridges with various software applications.

Cons
I can’t select a series of documents and index them/store in separate trays simultaneously.

Response from DocuWare


Thank you for your review. We appreciate hearing from our customers. We're glad that your organization is benefiting from DocuWare's flexibility and integration capabilities. Depending on what you are trying to accomplish, your DocuWare administrator or your partner can configure the solution to store documents in separate trays. The documents must have an index field that identifies their document type. Then a process runs in the background to send the files to the designated tray.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features

Likelihood to recommend: 10/10

Minimize review


DocuWare

Cloud-based & on-premise document management

Leana Henderkott

support & implementation teams are very responsive! Love this system...great for internal control!

Used daily for 1-2 years
Reviewed 2017-05-16
Review Source: Capterra

Pros
Once this system is set up to follow the approval / processing flow, the system is seamless. Nobody can forge a supervisor's approval. There are never any lost invoices as they all are scanned into Docuware and follow the pre-established process. We are more easily able to trace transactions do the source documents. Our auditors love it!

Cons
You have to call support to have a new user set up or cancel the rights of a user. Also, if a user closes the software by clicking the "X" in the upper right hand corner vs. officially logging off, it locks up the license and blocks the ability for another person to log in.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Minimize review


DocuWare

Cloud-based & on-premise document management

Anonymous

Good Software

Used daily for 2+ years
Reviewed 2018-11-29
Review Source: Capterra

Docuware is a very easy software to scan and access reports. It's a place to store documents

Pros
- good software to store company's documents - easy access in searching specific documents

Cons
- at this moment of time their is nothing bad to say about this software

Response from DocuWare


Thank you so much for taking the time to review DocuWare. We appreciate hearing from our customers. We're so glad that your experience has been very positive. If we can be of help in the future, please contact us any time at customer.feedback@docuware.com.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 10/10

Minimize review


DocuWare

Cloud-based & on-premise document management

John Oldham

I took over the Docuware administration for my company. The learning curve was steep, but worth it!

Used daily for 2+ years
Reviewed 2017-05-16
Review Source: Capterra

Organization, shedding of old paper records (which made it easy to relocate).

Pros
It allowed my company to get rid of @ 80% of it's paper records! It collated the old files into a common user interface (per department) that allows anyone to use it and find stuff quickly and easily!

Cons
The one thing I think is missing (and this has been recorded) is that the "fat" client has been removed from the software. As an administrator, I made frequent use of the fat client.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 10/10

Minimize review


DocuWare

Cloud-based & on-premise document management

Mahmoud Abou sabaa

Document Management and workflows

Used weekly for 1-2 years
Reviewed 2019-02-05
Review Source: Capterra

Pros
It's ability to built workflows for the document (approvals, verifications, reminders....) these workflows can be visually seen on the document (stamps, annotation, comments...) . This is very customizable for each business based o their requirements. Also the ability of Docuware to integrate with DB's is amazing and to pull and push data based on your configuration

Cons
I wish their configuration is centralized in one area. And I see they are in this process now

Response from DocuWare


Thank you so much for your review. It's great to hear that DocuWare Workflow is performing so well in your organization and that you're benefiting from DocuWare's powerful integration capabilities. As you've noticed, we are in the process of centralizing our administrator configuration functionality. The project will be completed soon. If we can be of further assistance, please reach out to us at customer.feedback@docuware.com.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 10/10

Minimize review


DocuWare

Cloud-based & on-premise document management

Ryan Larsen

We researched document managing programs, Docuware is by far the best program available! WE LOVE IT!

Used daily for less than 6 months
Reviewed 2017-10-19
Review Source: Capterra

Pros
Simplicity, Thorough, and Value these are some words that come to mind about the Docuware program. We are in the process of "managing" 17 years worth of document. Through Docuware we are able to "spider web link" our Bill of Ladings to our Packing Slip to our PO's to our Invoices (AP) to our Customer Invoices (AR) to the SDS sheets to the Certification of Standards documents our customers require. This program has reduced hours of research in paper files to minutes in the program search fields. That's not even the best part! Exceptional Service! We had one minor issue when we first implemented the program within one small area, we contacted our local representation (Les Olson Company) they in return setup a conference call with Docuware with in 48 hours a resolution to the issue AND fixed. I have not had an issue since. My company and I are extremely pleased with Docuware and what it accomplishes.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Minimize review


DocuWare

Cloud-based & on-premise document management

Kurt Payne

Great Document Archival!

Used daily for 2+ years
Reviewed 2017-05-24
Review Source: Capterra

Document Archive.

Pros
Web based software. Works with almost any device. Complies with our strict security standards. The software is very flexible and easy to use.

Cons
Cost, It costs money and isn't free. But you get what you pay for. Seriously the software is an awesome buy.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 10/10

Minimize review


DocuWare

Cloud-based & on-premise document management

Jeffrey Krol

Great Integration into Outlook

Used weekly for 2+ years
Reviewed 2019-07-18
Review Source: Capterra

Pros
I liked having the ability to link documents directly from DocuWare.

Cons
I wish there was a google style search option

Response from DocuWare


We appreciate your taking the time to review DocuWare. We're glad that the solution's Outlook integration capabilities work well for you. You can enhance DocuWare's search capabilities by using Full-Text search. You can also use a wildcard by adding an asterisk on either side or on both sides of your search expression. Additionally, wrap multiple search terms in quotes and separate them with AND or OR to use multiple values against a field or fields in a search dialog. Please reach out to your DocuWare Sales Director for further assistance or contact us at customer.feedback@docuware.com.

Rating breakdown

Ease of use
Features

Likelihood to recommend: 8/10

Minimize review


DocuWare

Cloud-based & on-premise document management

Oscar Perez

Good software, easy to setup and use

Used daily for 6-12 months
Reviewed 2018-03-21
Review Source: Capterra

Pros
The capability of host documents in the cloud is one of the best things in this software and the user profile administration process too.

Cons
Some bugs in the task assigning process is the defect i identified in this software, i have some troubles with this function.

Response from DocuWare


Thank you so much for taking the time to review DocuWare. We appreciate hearing from our customers. If you need help in fine-tuning your business processes please reach out to your DocuWare Partner who can assist you with effective assignment of workflow tasks.

You can also contact us at any time with suggestions at customer.feedback@docuware.com.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 10/10

Minimize review


DocuWare

Cloud-based & on-premise document management

Wendy Countryman

No complaints. Great product!

Used daily for 2+ years
Reviewed 2017-05-17
Review Source: Capterra

We were able to confidently go paperless.

Pros
That it connects to my email account, as well as, other software for ease of use. If confused about setup they processes are easy to figure out.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 10/10

Minimize review


DocuWare

Cloud-based & on-premise document management