Magic Minutes Reviews

Magic Minutes

Meeting solution for businesses of all sizes

4.8/5 (49 reviews)

Ian Lowe

Magic Minutes brings an overriding structure to all levels of meetings within a business.

Used weekly for 2+ years
Reviewed 2018-01-23
Review Source: Capterra

Pros
Ease of set up and extremely undemanding in terms of meeting preparation. All participants can load up their points of discussion in one area to help a meeting flow smoothly and maximise time available. Historical data from previous meetings can be found and utilised quickly. Magic Minutes can be applied to all levels of meetings whether a 1 to 1 appraisal or full board meeting, keeping discussion focused and distributing actions to participants as the meeting progresses. Once the meeting closes everyone knows what they need to do, without the onus still being on the meeting organiser. The software gives an overriding framework to all meetings, helping structure, efficiency, and vitally output from them.

Cons
Loading text data within the software can sometimes jar with the internal set up and can take a little time to format correctly. Only really an initial issue, as once you've used a couple of times you learn to pre-format to suit. Very little else not to like.

Response from Magic Minutes


Thanks Ian - and I am pleased that you see it being useful in all sorts of different meetings.

You're right the formatting is worth getting used to. You'l notice the new version which is out now is much easier with this.

We are continuously working to add new features to Magic Minutes so hopefully we'll get those scores up to 5 stars on all categories soon!

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Minimize review


Magic Minutes

Meeting solution for businesses of all sizes

Joanne Hammersley

Making Meetings Efficient

Used weekly for less than 6 months
Reviewed 2019-03-29
Review Source: Capterra

Directors advised me to look at this software with a view to improving the efficiency & effectiveness of our meetings. As an SME, time is important; as is relevant and accurate information. Impressed with the basic product, and have been providing feedback to the developers to improve some functionality & interface elements. They have been incredibly helpful, and advised different ways of handling meeting scenarios. Definitely impressed with the product so far, and have now purchased the Premium subscription to access more features. Started to roll this out to other managers, and it may become our default Meeting software across the company.

Pros
Simple and easy to use from the start. Dashboard shows current / historic Meetings & Actions. Using the timings for each agenda item can help structure your meeting and plan future timings. Flexible to change date/time, attendees, agenda items etc. Quick to create Actions and follow-on meetings. Automatic rolling forward of open Actions to the next meeting. Icon-driven menus to add/insert agenda items, restructuring the numbering for you. Users can add comments to their actions, as well as marking them as complete. Information is brought forward to the next meeting, speeding up the process. Minutes & Actions are emailed to attendees. Premium version also allows Action reminders & automated sending of Agenda in advance. Minutes are intended to be created live, but can be created retrospectively in the event of IT/WIFI issues. Meeting open & closed times can be entered manually (if not live). Developers take your feedback seriously, and improve the product in its functionality and user-interface.

Cons
Can't (yet) access your attendee contacts to make changes to names / email addresses - but the developers are looking at this.

Response from Magic Minutes


Brilliant feedback Joanne, thanks. I'm glad it is slowly becoming the standard in the firm - having all your meetings and actions in one place makes it much easier to see where the overloads are and then offer help.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 10/10

Minimize review


Magic Minutes

Meeting solution for businesses of all sizes

Rhea Alton

A system that solved a huge administration problem for us as busy managing directors

Used weekly for 1-2 years
Reviewed 2018-01-23
Review Source: Capterra

Pros
With Magic Minutes we can pull together all advance information for meetings in one place - with just a request email to each individual person supplying the necessary information. It stops dozens of emails being sent - and lost - and records the essential information all in one place. The system allows for a meeting to be fully recorded as it happens and actions can be created not only for people within the meetings but for others in the company - and these are then emailed automatically as soon as the meeting is closed. We can then chase these actions and ensure they are acted upon with reminder emails from within the Magic Minutes system. The time the system saves us is more than we could ever have envisaged, and it ensures that our staff are on top of everything we ask them to do. It also means that minutes are automatically recorded, meaning we do not have to transcribe minutes and never miss anything that has been said or discussed.

Cons
We would like to be able to incorporate the software into our other systems so that our information was automatically stored in existing files.

Response from Magic Minutes


Rhea - great that you are getting so much benefit from it. The good news is that we have an API in the development pipeline, so the idea of linking to other systems is on the way!

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Minimize review


Magic Minutes

Meeting solution for businesses of all sizes

Brian Jones

Making meetings accountable

Used daily for 2+ years
Reviewed 2019-04-29
Review Source: Capterra

Magic Minutes has dramitcally changed the way I run meetings and has made immense improvement to the output from meetings. Meetings are easy to structure, run and get genuine results.

Pros
I like the most the ease with which actionable and accountable minutes from meetings are produced and then can be picked up again in a follow on meeting.

Cons
The dashboard isnt that intuitive however a recent refresh has greatly improved this and I no longer have this issue.

Response from Magic Minutes


Thanks Brian - great to hear it has made such an impact on your meetings. I hope your colleagues see the benefits and start using it for their meetings too!

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 10/10

Minimize review


Magic Minutes

Meeting solution for businesses of all sizes

Mark Davies

Magic Minutes Review

Used weekly for 2+ years
Reviewed 2019-03-22
Review Source: Capterra

Magic minutes is a great business tool to help keep the team on task

Pros
The action reminders that are sent out each week are great. They help you keep on top of tasks and also remind you to upload any reports that are due. The link in the reminder that takes you straight to the log in page is great.

Cons
It doesn’t remember my username like the earlier versions did. I think this was a good feature and speaking to other team members they also get caught out with the correct log in.

Response from Magic Minutes


Thank you for your comments Mark and I am glad you are finding the software useful. The reminder emails are one of the main features that prompted us to write it in the first place.

You are right about the log in as we have beefed up the security compared to earlier versions (we use AuthO now) and this means logging in more often. Regular users though have less problem as it remembers you if you log in every day or two.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 10/10

Minimize review


Magic Minutes

Meeting solution for businesses of all sizes

Bob Powles

Magic Minutes has streamlined our meetings, its fast accurate and easy to use.

Used weekly for 6-12 months
Reviewed 2018-01-26
Review Source: Capterra

Pros
Magic Minutes has revolutionized the way we meet. We used it for all meetings from long Board of Directors meetings right down to short service meetings. As we are based in two countries it is not always possible to physically get together but with magic minutes we can take part from where ever we are using the share meeting feature. Within the Magic Minutes environment we are able to to assign tasks to each attendee during the meeting and these tasks are carried over to the next meeting. It is simple to apply and action and comments to the tasks ready for the next meeting. The minutes of the meeting are done "live" as the meeting progresses and once the meeting is over the minutes are in every bodies in box with just a few clicks of the mouse.

Cons
If you are not used to taking accurate or detailed minutes of your meetings then you may find Magic Minutes a bit tough to get used to, after all the content is down to you.

Response from Magic Minutes


Cheers Bob - Thanks for the great review. It goes to show the wide range of meeting types that Magic Minutes can be useful for. Just need to get everyone in to the mindset to take meeting notes more often!

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 10/10

Minimize review


Magic Minutes

Meeting solution for businesses of all sizes

Michael Wood

Magic Minutes Survey

Used daily for 2+ years
Reviewed 2019-03-29
Review Source: Capterra

Creates discipline in actions and reporting

Pros
Very easy to use and access. It is a welcome improvent

Cons
I have no dislikes other than the facility to upload file types other than PDF

Response from Magic Minutes


Thank Michael. PDF uploads the most stable for now as people always forget to set the print area properly on their spreadsheets! We learned that one the hard way.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 10/10

Minimize review


Magic Minutes

Meeting solution for businesses of all sizes

John Grainger

A fantastic business tool.

Used weekly for 1-2 years
Reviewed 2018-01-23
Review Source: Capterra

Pros
Easy to navigate and powerful enough to cope with all our data. Allows all meeting attendees to have up to date minutes immediately.

Cons
No major items that I have found yet, if you are sharing the data in a meeting using a monitor instead of viewing on your personal device, it is advisable to have a large monitor or flat screen tv, this way you can split the screen to show all relevant data. Not a negative just an observation.

Response from Magic Minutes


The sharing feature has just recently improved John - you can now share screens from within the app so you don't necessarily need a projector or a separate screen sharing service. The app sends out an email link to a web page which shows you the minutes as they are being typed. Each attendee can then follow progress on their own device, leaving the main screen for the presentation material.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Minimize review


Magic Minutes

Meeting solution for businesses of all sizes

David Needham

Managed and Focussed Meetings

Used weekly for 2+ years
Reviewed 2019-03-26
Review Source: Capterra

Recording discussions, capturing decisions and noting actions provides a powerful tool for promoting effective communication within our organisation.

Pros
The software has made our Group approach to meetings much more systematic and productive. Dissemination of information, recording of discussions and allocation of actions are all neatly contained in one shell.

Cons
The software is so intuitive we have a tendency to overuse.

Response from Magic Minutes


Thanks for your review David and glad you are getting good use out of Magic Minutes. We've just pushed a new version live with better calendar integration - I hope you find it useful.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 10/10

Minimize review


Magic Minutes

Meeting solution for businesses of all sizes

Sarah Coyle

Magic Minutes is a fantastic product for running meetings

Used monthly for 2+ years
Reviewed 2018-01-23
Review Source: Capterra

Excellent software for taking minutes & ensuring actions are distributed to the responsible person.

Pros
The software allows you to capture the salient points in meetings. It also allows you to create actions which are then distributed to the person responsible for the action, both within the software itself as well as via the user's email application.

Cons
At present there are no proforma settings available aside from meetings to allow users to use the software for other purposes. However, I understand that the developers are working on this.

Response from Magic Minutes


Sarah, thanks for your review. This version doesn¿t have template agendas as such, but you can create a meeting as a follow on of a previous meeting. For repeat meetings this is ideal as it brings the agenda, attendees and even the actions from he previous meeting.

We note though that you need a template to start fresh meetings with new people, but against a standard agenda. We¿ve added this to our development road map, so stay tuned!

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 10/10

Minimize review


Magic Minutes

Meeting solution for businesses of all sizes

Neil Thomas

Great tool - easy to use - ensures traceability and accurate recording of discussions / meetings

Used weekly for 6-12 months
Reviewed 2018-01-23
Review Source: Capterra

Pros
Actions can be apportioned live during the meeting. Fully interactive so able to close out actions offline, rather than running through all actions and updating in the meeting. E-mail notification of new actions - helps remind me! I can import my newly created reports and read reports from others in preparation for the next meeting- this allows discussions around actions rather than listening to parrot-fashion presentations.

Cons
Signing -in initially was a slight issue but nothing that couldn't be resolved easily and quickly, otherwise no cons to speak about.

Response from Magic Minutes


Neil - we love the point you make about not having to listen to someone reading out their reports. Such a waste of time when we can all read them in our own time before the meeting. This has the added benefit that we have all considered the points made and are better prepared for a constructive debate.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Minimize review


Magic Minutes

Meeting solution for businesses of all sizes

Clive Beardmore

This software makes our meetings more focussed and productive. Admin is reduced and effectiveness i

Used weekly for 1-2 years
Reviewed 2018-01-22
Review Source: Capterra

Easy to use. Intuitive and quick.

Pros
The automatic distribution of actions to the participants and the way the sofware helps these actions to be chased up.

Cons
There is a fair amount of admin in getting meeting participants onto the system, however, many regular meetings do, by their nature, involve largely the same group of people so this amount of work is an initial burden, not a long term liability.

Response from Magic Minutes


Thanks Clive, and glad you're liking the features.

Sign ups for individuals is straight forward, but there is an extra step when users join a company account so that we can give central control on who joins and leaves the group. We will look at streamlining the process further though to make it easier. Good feedback. Thanks,

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 9/10

Minimize review


Magic Minutes

Meeting solution for businesses of all sizes

Archi Stewart

Saves me time and helps make the meetings I attend and chair effective.

Used daily for 1-2 years
Reviewed 2018-01-23
Review Source: Capterra

Pros
Minute taking, action assignment and chasing, call for papers and upload of reports all equal professional effective meetings that gets stuff done.

Response from Magic Minutes


Thanks Archi. You're right, it's not just more efficient, it is more professional looking too. Glad you are finding it useful.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Minimize review


Magic Minutes

Meeting solution for businesses of all sizes

Adam Beardmore

I wouldn't take minutes any other way now

Used weekly for 1-2 years
Reviewed 2018-01-22
Review Source: Capterra

It saved me a great deal of time managing regularly occurring meetings and keeping on top of actions.

Pros
Minutes and actions are available and distributed immediately after a meeting, which saves lots of time for the meeting chair. From a participant perspective, I like having email reminders of actions outstanding

Cons
The UI could be improved, sometimes it's unclear what to click next. I have been told though that this is in the works.

Response from Magic Minutes


Thanks for the review Adam, and you are right the much improve interface is available now, with even more improvements coming very soon as we continue to develop the system based on user feedback. Thanks for using Magic Minutes.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 9/10

Minimize review


Magic Minutes

Meeting solution for businesses of all sizes

Gavin Rummery

Greatly improved our weekly production meetings

Used weekly for 6-12 months
Reviewed 2019-04-04
Review Source: Capterra

It has made our meetings more efficient and effective because we are no longer reliant on someone's hand written notes and unresolved action points that get forgotten about.

Pros
It helps provide structure to our meetings to keep them on track and means notes are taken and distributed automatically to all attendees. The best aspect is assigning and tracking action points as you go along which are mailed out and can then be progress checked during next meeting.

Cons
The original dashboard was a bit awkward to navigate, but the developers have been responsive to feedback and have since replaced this with a much more intuitive replacement.

Response from Magic Minutes


Thanks Gavin. Glad it is making your meetings more affective. And I agree ¿ the new dashboard is much easier to use than the original one! Thanks for the feedback.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 9/10

Minimize review


Magic Minutes

Meeting solution for businesses of all sizes

David Bennett

Management user for teams of sales people and business partners

Used weekly for less than 6 months
Reviewed 2018-01-23
Review Source: Capterra

Effective, efficient and easy to use

Pros
Professional, easy to use tool that enforces a professional discipline to recording meetings. The dynamic nature of the application provides a real-time minute taker that accurately records the meeting and instantly distributes the content in a concise and informative way. The allocation of action points is clearly stated and all contributors are in know doubt about their tasks and timescales. The recording of the minutes is simple and can be instantly amended by attendees challenging the details during the meeting. It saves time and effort and the instantaneous distribution sets timely expectations of the team and individual actions. A useful application that i wish i had had available years ago!

Cons
As i advocate the use of this app i have automatically become the administrator but i expect this to change with adoption.

Response from Magic Minutes


Glad you like it David. The admin role is limited to adding and removing new users for Enterprise Accounts, so hopefully this will settle down. I suspect you may remain the 'Go To' person if you are the keenest user though! Thanks.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 10/10

Minimize review


Magic Minutes

Meeting solution for businesses of all sizes

Russell Clark

Magic Minutes Review

Used monthly for 2+ years
Reviewed 2019-04-01
Review Source: Capterra

It helps to direct and target elements of discussion, perfect for follow-up meetings and notes for implimentation of actions from meetings.

Pros
It's ease of meeting structure allows our board meeting manager to control and direct the meetings effectively. It allows time for each element and sends out notes to staff regarding actions required which can be implemented and submitted to the next board meeting notes and agenda to save time at the next meeting.

Cons
At this stage I don't have any negative thoughts about the software but I am not fully integrated into the software and use of the software.

Response from Magic Minutes


Russell - thanks for the review. Sounds like you've seen the benefit in other meetings you have attended. Time now to give it a go yourself in some of your own meetings?!

Rating breakdown

Ease of use
Features

Likelihood to recommend: 8/10

Minimize review


Magic Minutes

Meeting solution for businesses of all sizes

Aled Ellis

Magic Minutes does a lot more than simply take minutes. It's now an essential tool for our business.

Used weekly for 1-2 years
Reviewed 2018-01-23
Review Source: Capterra

Pros
Minutes and actions distributed immediately. Automatic action reminders hold people accountable and ensure progress is being made. Ability to publish 'Board Pack' prior to meetings is a big advantage to my business.

Cons
The UI could be improved but I've already seen big improvements since I started using the software. I expect it will continue to improve.

Response from Magic Minutes


Aled - you wait 'till you see the next release due in a couple of weeks' time. The UI is being worked on and you will start to see clearer navigation and a bit of animation here and there. Just the beginning.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Minimize review


Magic Minutes

Meeting solution for businesses of all sizes

Tony Butcher

Great solution to minute taking and distribution

Used weekly for 2+ years
Reviewed 2018-02-04
Review Source: Capterra

Pros
Straightforward and intuitive to use allowing minutes to be taken real-time and distributed immediately with a useful reminder of outstanding action points before the next meeting with great support if assistance if ever needed

Response from Magic Minutes


Thanks Tony. We're proud of the levels of support we can give - by email and over the phone when we can.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Minimize review


Magic Minutes

Meeting solution for businesses of all sizes

Chris McCormack

Great tool for our project meetings with clients

Used weekly for 6-12 months
Reviewed 2018-02-13
Review Source: Capterra

quick start and easy to use

Pros
Easy to use, quick start for those on the fly coffee break meetings! actions in one place and clear

Cons
No app yet so connectivity is a must (which isn't that much of a problem in this day and age)!

Response from Magic Minutes


Chris - thanks for your review of our meeting management software and you are right in that it is better if you are online throughout the meeting. However as long as you are online to start it you can keep taking minutes without an internet connection (if you are not 'live sharing' the minutes). You also have an option to save the meeting at any time in case you are worried about losing anything.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 10/10

Minimize review


Magic Minutes

Meeting solution for businesses of all sizes

Shelley Robinson

Great product

Used weekly for 6-12 months
Reviewed 2019-08-13
Review Source: Capterra

I would struggle to manage without it now. It took a bit of getting used to, but it's worth persevering. The company is continually developing it to make it more intuitive and the customer service is first class.

Pros
I run a lot of meetings in my job and this software means that it cuts down my admin time considerably and means I am being more efficient with my time.

Cons
The actions are only attributable to one person, so if you want 2 people to do the same task, you have to assign it separately

Response from Magic Minutes


Great feedback Shelley - thanks. I'm glad it has made such a difference to your job!

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 10/10

Minimize review


Magic Minutes

Meeting solution for businesses of all sizes

Matt Bell

Magic Minutes has helped to improve the productivity of our meetings

Used weekly for 6-12 months
Reviewed 2018-02-07
Review Source: Capterra

They seem to have a great team who are very open to answering questions and supporting us with any issues.

Pros
Magic Minutes has helped to improve the productivity of our meetings by ensuring that we follow a strict schedule with all board meetings. The ability to be able to instantly send out the minutes to attendees at the end of each meeting allows us to save time!

Response from Magic Minutes


Thanks Matt. The instant sending of minutes and actions is such a simple idea and yet so effective. It is at the core of our meeting management software and great to see you using it.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 10/10

Minimize review


Magic Minutes

Meeting solution for businesses of all sizes

Corrin Logsdail

Great Product - Fantastic Support

Used occasionally for free trial
Reviewed 2018-11-06
Review Source: Capterra

I was looking for something to make creating agendas and taking minutes that bit easier and Magic Minutes is certainly that. Once I had a walk through of the software, I was able to create my meetings with confidence and ease. I love that I can copy agendas across to new meetings and that I can create recurring meetings if the participants have decided that it's needed.

Pros
Intuitive software that knows what I am likely to need next.

Cons
There was a lot to take in and it definitely required some assistance from the support team.

Response from Magic Minutes


Thanks for your positive review Corrin, and really pleased to see how well you have benefited from magic minutes. We¿ve had some great suggestions on improvements to the user interface and we are working on them at the moment. Stay tuned for an update in the next week or so.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 9/10

Minimize review


Magic Minutes

Meeting solution for businesses of all sizes

Philip Ward

Great tool for taking minutes and recording actions

Used weekly for 1-2 years
Reviewed 2019-04-09
Review Source: Capterra

Pros
brings discipline and makes meetings more effective. ensures actions are tracked. easy to use.

Cons
would like the option to be able to use off-line

Response from Magic Minutes


Thanks Philip. We have a few people asking about off line use so that¿s definitely moving up the priority list on our product development pipeline.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 10/10

Minimize review


Magic Minutes

Meeting solution for businesses of all sizes

Roz Pedersen

Magic Minutes

Used weekly for 6-12 months
Reviewed 2019-08-12
Review Source: Capterra

Time saved in administration.

Pros
Ease of use, makes meetings and subsequent actions straightforward to keep track of. The weekly reminders of outstading actions are useful.

Cons
When uploading reports, it is hit and miss whether they appear in the right order, despite dragging and naming them alphabetically.

Response from Magic Minutes


Thanks Roz. Just so you know, the report ordering problem has been fixed and you can now drag and drop them to whichever order you want!

Rating breakdown

Ease of use
Features

Likelihood to recommend: 9/10

Minimize review


Magic Minutes

Meeting solution for businesses of all sizes