Checkfront Pricing, Features, Reviews & Comparison of Alternatives

Checkfront Reviews

Checkfront

Smarter online bookings for tours, activities & rentals

4.56/5 (41 reviews)
1,188

Centralize Booking Management
Bring your inventory online. Manage availability, seasonal rates, packages and specials in one place. Manage accommodation, tours, rentals and professional service bookings.
Seamless Integration
Keep customers on your website:Checkfront can be integrated into Wordpress, Joomla!, Drupal, Facebook, stand-alone websites and extended with our Open API.
Instant Payment Processing
Take the guesswork out of reservations. Secure, commission free bookings with a full or partial payments.
Powerful Analytics
Enterprise-class web analytics that give you rich insights into your booking traffic and marketing effectiveness.
Fully Managed Cloud Environment
There is no software to maintain, no volume licensing, no hosting fees or long-term contracts.
Industry Leading Security
Each account is SSL secured, includes a virtual private database, automated backups, and is hosted in a redundant powered, state of the art facility.
Support That Cares
Our integrated ticketing system and priority phone support gives you help whenever and where ever you need it.
www.checkfront.com

Checkfront Overview

Pricing

Starting from: $49.00/month
Pricing model: Subscription
Free Trial: Available (No Credit Card required)
Read more

Devices

Web
Android
iOS

Business size

S
Small
M
Medium
L
Large
Compare App
Checkfront screenshot: DesktopCheckfront screenshot: Booking Invoice with QR CodeCheckfront screenshot: iPhone, Android Booking App

Checkfront Reviews (41)

Latest reviews

 Used for two years and was not impressed.

I switched to Little Hotelier and couldn't be happier.

Read the full review
Reviewed 10th of August by Nikki Wilson

 

 This company based in Canada [one of my favorite places] needs to up its performance. 
Vendor responded

none .we actually lost 3 months records after they deleted all information when we cancelled subscription after finding the support offered was hopeless.Highly Proffesional Conduct !!!!

Read the full review
Reviewed 12th of June by Rob Sedon

Read all reviews

Checkfront Pricing

Starting from: $49.00/month

Pricing model: Subscription

Free Trial: Available (No Credit Card required)

Commission free bookings. Pricing starts at $49.00 (USD) per month. Additional currencies supported. 15% discount for annual plans.

View Pricing Plans

Key Features of Checkfront

  • Inventory Management
  • Instant Payment Processing
  • Seamless Integration
  • Powerful Analytics
  • Fully Managed Cloud Environment
  • Industry Leading Security
  • Hassle Free Support - Email, Chat, Phone
  • Mobile Booking Apps
  • Accept Bookings on Facebook
  • Automated Notifications
  • Customer Accounts
  • Partner Accounts & Commissions
  • Multi-language Booking Pages

Checkfront Screenshots (3)

Checkfront screenshot: DesktopCheckfront screenshot: Booking Invoice with QR CodeCheckfront screenshot: iPhone, Android Booking App

Specifications

Intended Users
Freelancers, Large Enterprises, Mid Size Business, Non Profits, Public Administrations, Small Business
Devices Supported
Android, iPhone-iPad, iPhone, iPad, Mac, Windows, Web-based, Mobile Web App
Supported Countries
Asia, Australia, Brazil, Canada, China, Europe, Germany, India, Japan, Latin America, Mexico, Middle-East and Africa, United Kingdom, United States
Supported Languages
Arabic, Chinese (Simplified), Danish, Dutch, English, Finnish, French, German, Irish, Italian, Japanese, Norwegian, Polish, Portuguese, Russian, Spanish, Swedish, Thai, Turkish
Support Options
FAQs, Forum, Knowledge Base, Online Support, Phone Support, Video Tutorials

Alternatives to Checkfront

Benefits

Centralize reservations and administration.
Accept bookings on your website.
Automate invoicing and payments.
Better track and engage your customers.
Track partners and commissions.
Manage your business anywhere.

Who is Checkfront For?

  • Experience level: Beginner to advanced
  • Industry: Tours and activities, rentals, and accommodation
  • Business size: Small businesses to large enterprises
  • Departments/roles: Business owners, booking managers, staff, and customers
  • Budget/point: Starts at $49 per month
  • Example customers: WildPlay Element Parks, Jaguar Land Rover, Wildcoast Adventures, and Ol Pejeta Conservancy
Read the full GetApp Analysis

Videos

Security and privacy

Encryption

Yes
Encryption of sensitive data at rest
Yes
HTTPS for all pages

Access control

Yes
Multi-factor authentication options

Data policy

Yes
Data backup in multiple locations/GEO regions
This will ask you to sign in with LinkedIn
Nikki  Wilson

Used for two years and was not impressed.

10/08/2017

I switched to Little Hotelier and couldn't be happier.

Pros

The calendar system is easy to use and inserting reservation was easy. The calendar was easy to see what was going on.

Cons

Customer Service is the WORST ever and HUGELY EXPENSIVE. Ridiculous. I wanted to make a minor change and was given which would be easy for them and they quoted me an HUGE amount and timeframe over two weeks. CRAZY - STUPID

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 2+ years

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

3/10
Source: Software Advice
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Rob Sedon

This company based in Canada [one of my favorite places] needs to up its performance.

12/06/2017

none .we actually lost 3 months records after they deleted all information when we cancelled subscription after finding the support offered was hopeless.Highly Proffesional Conduct !!!!

Pros

Nothing especially they way we were treated after being told the original cost had increased to more than is actually quoted if you need to use the product.There are much more professional organisations with much better backup around.

Cons

Backup is only via computers and when they do not know how to fix they end connection.The absolute worst was when we decided it was not performing in our 40 unit Motel and canceled.What did they do !!! deleted all our Motel booking records for the past 3 Months the time we had been using Checkfront??? No Contact just delete everything, make our clients lives a bummer.Very professional or very bitchy ??Grow a professional attitude boys, not everyone suits your system but don't spit the Dummy when a customer finds they want to go elsewhere. it is called the Hospitality Industry, Try some.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: Less than 6 months

Frequency of use: Other

Likelihood to recommend

0/10
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No

Response from Checkfront


Hi Rob,

I am so sorry to hear that we failed to make a good impression. We do offer various warnings about our data retention policy, including two warnings within the form you have to fill out to delete your account, but I am certainly going to re-examine our process to see if there is a way we can be more clear about how important it is to download a backup if you are going to delete your account.

Currently, we store data for 30 days after account deletion. Although you left us back in October, I have been able to restore your account from our archives so that you can login and access your old data. You can download a specific type of data, or click ¿Export Backup¿ within your system settings to download all of your data.

If you have any trouble accessing your data, please don¿t hesitate to reach out to our Support department, or you can reach me personally at angelah@checkfront.com.

I hope this helps to improve your experience with us.

Warm regards,
Angela H.

Read more
Haley Benson

Checkfront review

16/05/2017

Price is very good

Pros

its very simple and it is perfect for truck rentals and the website looks very nice and it good that it is a cloud-based software

Cons

Hard to add pictures and customize the prices for all our truck rentals with the different packages we have and because we offer a free truck it will not give me the option on the website.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 1-2 years

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

4/10
Source: Software Advice
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Michael Earley

Great Booking System that Integrates well with Website

28/01/2017

Use this across 4 websites and 3 seperate businesses. Was able to create a bespoke solution for our complex booking system covering max bookings per time slot, multiple product types, taxation, ticketing, special events and more. Have been using product for over 1 year, and it is far superior to other similar booking/waiver type products on market. Complete solution for bookings, payments, waivers, deposits and more. Great customer service, who have been available whenever we have needed it and have gone above and beyond the call of duty.

Pros

Customisation, Functionality.

Cons

Steep learning curve, but with support we've been able to create the right solution.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 1-2 years

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

8/10

Recommendations to others considering Checkfront

Take the time to learn the product from the reps.

Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Jeff Bush

Central to our organization

20/01/2017

I just wanted to convey a HUGE THANK YOU! We did a data export from Checkfront for one of our routine procedures and noticed that the "End Time" data has been added to the "End Date" field for all Booking Index exports, as we requested in the Help system, and even on the screen displays. THANK YOU SO MUCH for doing this... it will be a huge boon for us in managing the resource usage for hourly bookings. Checkfront is absolutely central to our studio management here (https://www.urbanglass.org/studio). Now its very more valuable.

Pros

It's infinitely adaptable, and when faced with limitations, you bring them up with the support staff, and they will see to having the program modified.

Cons

Only that its real-life software, so perfection is still a ways off.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 2+ years

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

10/10

Recommendations to others considering Checkfront

If you need scheduling software, use it!

Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Nicole.  Dee

Customer Support has Dropped.Off so much-extremely disappointed/frustrated

03/12/2016

Originally Checkfront was excellent with customer support and now it's response time is 3 DAYS to get a response. There are much better biking systems available that are more user friendly and cutting edge with features. They don't answer phone calls anymore and all trouble shooting needs to be done solely thru email back & forth-give me a break there's only so much that can be don via email. They told me that I should upgrade mu plan to a higher monthly price for the phone support & "better" customer support. Had typically hibernated the account in the winter & kept account open & have been paying year round. Extremely disenchanted with the service. TOTALLY UNACCEPTABLE TO BLOW CUSTOMERS OFF--how UNPROFESSIONAL!!

Rating breakdown

Ease of use
Features
Customer support
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No

Response from Checkfront


Hi Nicole,

We are so sorry to hear that you are frustrated with our Support department. We do offer different levels of support at each pricing tier, but we also do our very best to not enforce these limits while our support volumes are low, and it is not affecting our ability to serve other customers.

The last thing we want is for you to feel disappointed and frustrated. We always strive to create the best possible support experience and regret we have failed you in this. Our Support Manager Chris will reach out to you to see what we can do to improve your experience!

Read more
Joachim L. F. De Munck

Now THAT is service !!!

07/11/2016

We are a small belgian family entertainment center based in Brussels in the heart of Europe, CHECKFRONT changed our lives ! We have now dozens of bookings each day automated, planned as such and in multiple language (we have three languages over here) The reason I give them a 5 star ranking is that their service is just unseen !!! Try it out, their support team is outstanding and they really listen to idea's and input of their customers. I think Checkfront will be the leading booking software worldwide with this approach. Their service is amazing, you can mail them, chat them, even if you raise a question no one has raised before their customers advocate comes back to you after some time and they find a work-around !!!!! Put your money in this product, you will not regret it ! I wrote this review on my own initiative after I have been blown away by their outstanding service over the last months. Checkfront team knows what they are doing and they are really really good at it !!!!

Pros

Great service and the software does everything it promises !

Cons

Nothing, because all new future requests are dealt with and they keep improving the software.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 6-12 months

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

10/10

Recommendations to others considering Checkfront

Yes, we tried a lot of others, do not hesitate, they give a free trial, use it ! We did and we were baffled by the unbelievable 24/24 support, in an online industry where support can be a painful issue, these people at Checkfront have taken it to the next level. I am not affiliated with them, I am just a very very happy customer that wanted to get the word out there!

Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Danielle S

Outstanding Product

12/10/2016

Checkfront is the only solution I have found that can handle bookings per hour at different rates. I tested so many systems prior to Checkfront & it really is superb. The customer service support is outstanding. I use the system to book Babysitting staff, knowing what it can do, using it for consultants etc would be a breeze. Fully customisable!!

Pros

Fully customisable

Cons

N/a

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 6-12 months

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

10/10
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Scott Ballhorn

Good value for the cost of the program.

25/09/2016

Businesses that are looking for a simple solution to their reservation system that is easy to install on their website while keeping more money in your pocket should try this program. The initial set up was difficult for us as we demand a lot from the software we use but with the help customer service we had things working and have been in constant communication about features we would like in future updates of the product.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 6-12 months

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

8/10
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Chris Lubba

Verified Reviewer

Works Great, Great Support

22/09/2016

We have used Checkfront since our inception in 2012. We have grown and so have they. They have done a great job making things better and their price is fair. Any issues we have had support has assisted in a timely manner. Reporting is great and notifications to customers is easy to set up.

Pros

Great reporting, easy to use, well priced.

Cons

My only slight issue I have with them, is I would love to attend a 2-3 day Checkfront "University". I get the feeling we can do more with Checkfront and are only using 75% of it. Of course, they have a great and very efficient configuration call that helps and this probably is the more efficient route to go anyway.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 2+ years

Frequency of use: Daily

Recommendations to others considering Checkfront

Do it!

Source: GetApp
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more

GetApp Analysis

Checkfront is an online booking solution for businesses in the tours and activities, accommodation, and rentals space. A tool with a customizable, easy-to-use interface, it allows businesses to accept bookings 24/7 via their website, Facebook page, or third-party booking services such as Expedia and TripAdvisor.

Checkfront is equipped with a variety of tools and features that cover self-service bookings, payment processing, automated billing and invoices, point-of-sale functions, vouchers and gift certificates, account management, form builders, staff management, user access permissions, reporting and analytics, third-party calendar sync, ROI tracking, integration with other cloud services, and local language and currency support.

For on-the-go business management, Checkfront has native apps for Android and iOS devices. Customer support is available 24/7 via email, phone, and chat.

What is Checkfront?

Checkfront is a booking management application that keeps all customer bookings in one place, regardless of the channels used to book them. It serves businesses of varying sizes, operates in 74 countries, and supports local languages and a total of 28 currencies.

The app comes with a real-time, customizable dashboard. It lets you drag and drop widgets from one screen position to another, add new ones, or completely delete them. The app allows you to set your business hours, rates and availability, showcase your offerings, and define your booking rules. The data you collect from your clients can be customized according to the needs of your business.

Bookings are represented in Checkfront as customer invoices, with the invoice status coinciding with the actual booking stage: pending, reserved, paid, waiting, cancelled, or void. Automated email notifications can be set up for booking confirmations, cancellations, invoices, payment reminders, and payment receipts. Its customer service support is highly regarded, and ready-made integrations with third-party apps extend the app’s functionality.

Main Features

Self-Service Bookings

With Checkfront, customers need not call or email you during business hours to book a tour, rental, activity, or accommodation. 24/7 self-service booking portals are accessible to customers via your website, Facebook, or the Checkfront hosted booking page. To embed Checkfront to your website, choose from the pre-built website integrations available: WordPress, Joomla, Drupal, or Droplet.

Configure the booking page as necessary, including the system language you want used, and when done, click on the Generate Code button. Copy the code and paste it to your website. Checkfront also allows booking referrals from third parties such as Expedia, Booking.com, TripAdvisor, and even concierges.

Inventory management

To allow customers to book your services, tours, or rental properties, you first have to set up your inventory. The Inventory menu in your Checkfront dashboard is where you list down your items, which are the goods or services you offer and can be booked per day, night, or hourly. Base and group pricing can be specified, including discounts and packages. Checkfront can also handle deposits and taxes, as well as additional options such as adult versus child pricing.

For seasonal or special offers, item events can be created to adjust the availability or price of certain inventory items based on dates. For example, you can offer winter specials at 25% less from December to March.

Payment Processing

Checkfront supports a total of 32 payment gateways. Among these are PayPal, Stripe, Intuit, Authorize.net, Braintree, Sage Pay, 2Checkout, QuickBooks Merchant, and Beanstream. Once set up, customers can pay you online when they book a service or activity, either in full or partially.

To set up payments, from the Manage menu, select E-Commerce. Choose your payment gateway, supply the required information, and click on the Activate button. With the help of a credit card reader, Checkfront can also function as a point-of-sale system that allows you to process credit card payments from anywhere.

Reporting and Analytics

For insights into the traffic performance of your booking portals and the effectiveness of your marketing initiatives, Checkfront comes prebuilt with standard reports that you can use right out of the box. These reports include activity log, cash-out report, items report, discounts and promotions report, sales report, transactions report, allocation and occupancy report, staff report, monthly booking volume, revenue report, total bookings by category, commissions by partners, and traffic and bookings report.

Customized sales summaries can likewise be generated. Data can be exported as Excel, CSV, XML, and PDF files. The reports can be accessed from the dashboard’s Reports menu.

Accounts Management

Checkfront gives customers the ability to create their own accounts so they can log in, update their contact information, and manage their bookings. This feature isn’t on by default. To offer it to your customers, from the dashboard, click on the Manage menu and select Accounts. Click on the Customer Accounts tab, then the Customer Account Settings button on the left side of the screen. Click on the Enabled radio button next to Customer Logins.

If you want all new customers to go through an email verification process, enable the Required radio button. Customer accounts are created either by the customers themselves or on their behalf by your employees.

Staff accounts can be created as well. From the Manage menu, click on Accounts, then Staff Accounts. The New Staff button is located on the left panel. Fill in the required information such as the staff’s login ID, first name, last name, email address, and password. By default, staff accounts are granted administrator or full access rights. Change this by selecting only the tasks the staff is authorized to perform.

Integrations

Checkfront integrates with a number of third-party apps including Google Analytics and Facebook Advertising for marketing; WordPress and Joomla for content management; Xero and QuickBooks Online for accounting; Zoho CRM and Salesforce for CRM; and PayPal and Braintree for payments.

An open developer API is also available for custom integrations.

Pricing

Checkfront offers four subscription plans: Soho, Pro, Plus, and Enterprise.

Soho costs $49 per month and supports three staff accounts and up to 1,200 bookings per year. At $99 per month, Pro can accommodate a total of 10 staff accounts and 3,000 bookings per year, and offers priority support. Plus, their most popular package, costs $199 per month and can be used by up to 25 staff members, handles a total of 6,000 bookings per year, and provides toll-free support.

Enterprise, priced at $499 per month, supports an unlimited number of staff accounts, provides a dedicated account manager, and can handle more than 12,000 bookings per year.

Discounts of up to 15% can be availed for annual plans. For custom plans, contact the Checkfront sales team.

A 21-day free trial is also available, no credit card required.

Bottom Line

  • Multi-featured online booking app that allows your business to accept bookings 24/7
  • Automates billing and invoicing
  • Accepts online payments
  • Syncs with third-party calendars
  • Mobile apps for iOS and Android devices

Frequently used together