Checkfront Reviews

Checkfront Reviews

Checkfront

Smarter online bookings for tours, activities & rentals

4.74/5 (39 reviews)
11,229     1,150

Michael Earley

Great Booking System that Integrates well with Website

28/01/2017

Use this across 4 websites and 3 seperate businesses. Was able to create a bespoke solution for our complex booking system covering max bookings per time slot, multiple product types, taxation, ticketing, special events and more. Have been using product for over 1 year, and it is far superior to other similar booking/waiver type products on market. Complete solution for bookings, payments, waivers, deposits and more. Great customer service, who have been available whenever we have needed it and have gone above and beyond the call of duty.

Pros

Customisation, Functionality.

Cons

Steep learning curve, but with support we've been able to create the right solution.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 1-2 years

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

8/10

Recommendations to others considering Checkfront

Take the time to learn the product from the reps.

Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Jeff Bush

Central to our organization

20/01/2017

I just wanted to convey a HUGE THANK YOU! We did a data export from Checkfront for one of our routine procedures and noticed that the "End Time" data has been added to the "End Date" field for all Booking Index exports, as we requested in the Help system, and even on the screen displays. THANK YOU SO MUCH for doing this... it will be a huge boon for us in managing the resource usage for hourly bookings. Checkfront is absolutely central to our studio management here (https://www.urbanglass.org/studio). Now its very more valuable.

Pros

It's infinitely adaptable, and when faced with limitations, you bring them up with the support staff, and they will see to having the program modified.

Cons

Only that its real-life software, so perfection is still a ways off.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 2+ years

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

10/10

Recommendations to others considering Checkfront

If you need scheduling software, use it!

Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Nicole.  Dee

Customer Support has Dropped.Off so much-extremely disappointed/frustrated

03/12/2016

Originally Checkfront was excellent with customer support and now it's response time is 3 DAYS to get a response. There are much better biking systems available that are more user friendly and cutting edge with features. They don't answer phone calls anymore and all trouble shooting needs to be done solely thru email back & forth-give me a break there's only so much that can be don via email. They told me that I should upgrade mu plan to a higher monthly price for the phone support & "better" customer support. Had typically hibernated the account in the winter & kept account open & have been paying year round. Extremely disenchanted with the service. TOTALLY UNACCEPTABLE TO BLOW CUSTOMERS OFF--how UNPROFESSIONAL!!

Rating breakdown

Ease of use
Features
Customer support
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Joachim L. F. De Munck

Now THAT is service !!!

07/11/2016

We are a small belgian family entertainment center based in Brussels in the heart of Europe, CHECKFRONT changed our lives ! We have now dozens of bookings each day automated, planned as such and in multiple language (we have three languages over here) The reason I give them a 5 star ranking is that their service is just unseen !!! Try it out, their support team is outstanding and they really listen to idea's and input of their customers. I think Checkfront will be the leading booking software worldwide with this approach. Their service is amazing, you can mail them, chat them, even if you raise a question no one has raised before their customers advocate comes back to you after some time and they find a work-around !!!!! Put your money in this product, you will not regret it ! I wrote this review on my own initiative after I have been blown away by their outstanding service over the last months. Checkfront team knows what they are doing and they are really really good at it !!!!

Pros

Great service and the software does everything it promises !

Cons

Nothing, because all new future requests are dealt with and they keep improving the software.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 6-12 months

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

10/10

Recommendations to others considering Checkfront

Yes, we tried a lot of others, do not hesitate, they give a free trial, use it ! We did and we were baffled by the unbelievable 24/24 support, in an online industry where support can be a painful issue, these people at Checkfront have taken it to the next level. I am not affiliated with them, I am just a very very happy customer that wanted to get the word out there!

Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Danielle S

Outstanding Product

12/10/2016

Checkfront is the only solution I have found that can handle bookings per hour at different rates. I tested so many systems prior to Checkfront & it really is superb. The customer service support is outstanding. I use the system to book Babysitting staff, knowing what it can do, using it for consultants etc would be a breeze. Fully customisable!!

Pros

Fully customisable

Cons

N/a

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 6-12 months

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

10/10
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Scott Ballhorn

Good value for the cost of the program.

25/09/2016

Businesses that are looking for a simple solution to their reservation system that is easy to install on their website while keeping more money in your pocket should try this program. The initial set up was difficult for us as we demand a lot from the software we use but with the help customer service we had things working and have been in constant communication about features we would like in future updates of the product.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 6-12 months

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

8/10
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Chris Lubba

Verified Reviewer

Works Great, Great Support

22/09/2016

We have used Checkfront since our inception in 2012. We have grown and so have they. They have done a great job making things better and their price is fair. Any issues we have had support has assisted in a timely manner. Reporting is great and notifications to customers is easy to set up.

Pros

Great reporting, easy to use, well priced.

Cons

My only slight issue I have with them, is I would love to attend a 2-3 day Checkfront "University". I get the feeling we can do more with Checkfront and are only using 75% of it. Of course, they have a great and very efficient configuration call that helps and this probably is the more efficient route to go anyway.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 2+ years

Frequency of use: Daily

Recommendations to others considering Checkfront

Do it!

Source: GetApp
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Scott MacLennan

Verified Reviewer

Awesome, simply awesome

15/09/2016

I book over a hundred volunteers each year and it's a one-person show here. I don't know how I did it before CheckFront, I really don't. So many steps are now automated for me and it's a breeze to keep track of bookings. I use notifications a lot to send volunteer handbooks, orientation videos and other important documents that I used to have to track and send manually. What a relief to be done with that and to be using notifications instead.

Pros

I am able to integrate nearly my entire workflow in one place from reservation to payment, notifications and more. For me, it just works.

Cons

Can't think of anything off hand. If it could take my volunteer application as well, that would have 100% of my work in one package.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 2+ years

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

10/10

Recommendations to others considering Checkfront

I book volunteers, if that's your business, get this.

Source: GetApp
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Scott  MacLennan

Awesome program Awesome support

15/09/2016

I book over a hundred volunteers each year and it's a one-person show here. I don't know how I did it before CheckFront, I really don't. So many steps are now automated for me and it's a breeze to keep track of bookings. I use notifications a lot to send volunteer handbooks, orientation videos and other important documents that I used to have to track and send manually. What a relief to be done with that and to be using notifications instead.

Pros

It just works. I get exactly what I need and it saves me hours of time.

Cons

I have zero complaints

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 2+ years

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

10/10

Recommendations to others considering Checkfront

I work with others in this industry and suggest to them all the time, get on CheckFront and your life will be tons easier.

Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Rasmus Johnsen

Solid and efficient booking system, excellent support.

15/09/2016

I only have positive things to say about Checkfront. It can all be boiled down to: It works. If you are looking for an online booking system, Checkfront is what you need.

Pros

Like any other service you need to spend some time getting to know the system. Once you do you'll understand how easy it is to use. If however, you run into trouble Checkfront has the most fantastic support ¿ probably the best online support I've ever experienced. Before I tried Checkfront, I considered Squarespace the place with the best online support. Not anymore: Checkfront beats them all.

Cons

From my experience - none.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: Less than 6 months

Frequency of use: Weekly

Likelihood to recommend

10/10
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Elizabeth Clow

I'm so glad I chose this!

31/07/2016

I have no experience or training in building websites but I did my whole website myself by watching videos and using tutorials. I also used Checkfront for adding a booking and payment system for my business.

Pros

It was easy to install. There were a lot of tutorials. The customer support is fantastic. I got my booking function to look exactly as I wanted it to look on my website. It saves me a crazy amount of time from trying to deal with customers manually or by email.

Cons

It seems complicated at first but if you follow along with the tutorials and just kind of play around with it is amazing! It is not something that is going to take three or four hours if you have a lot of items to add or if you are looking to do things like classes or weird things that the program was specifically designed for. But the end result is worth the time you spend.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: Less than 6 months

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

10/10

Recommendations to others considering Checkfront

I didn't set it all up before my free trial expired and I probably should have. In the end I ended up just getting a subscription and setting it all up. Once it wasn't free anymore it really gives the incentive to actually get it going! I'm super glad I chose this program.

Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Pietra Khazaeli

Complicated systems for Dummies :)

31/07/2016

I own and operate Stellar Micro Creations, in Rome, Italy. I have absolutely no experience with systems and programming. The check front booking system was incredibly over my head because it was very complicated but in the end it is good that it was so complicated because now I know that it can accommodate every complicated need of booking for my products.. I learn more and more options as I go along. The thing that has made this all possible for me to do is the fantastic support team at Checkfront. Once I got into the groove of communicating with Checkfront I have made hastened the development of my learning curve and am WAY more relaxed and not worried because I know that there is a support team that can help me. Anyway, I have so much more to say. There is also support in the Blogs. I had changed my approach to how I would start my business by reading one of the blog posts about referral business instead of using the costly Adwords which were not really working with my small companies start up budget. I consider the support team and the system as a partner of my business.

Pros

I like that this software can accommodate any complicated idea that I want to achieve when it comes to booking my tours.. and also I have just discovered the power of the Partners accounts. It has broadened my idea of how I can sell and increased my success potential. I do not have a lot of experience in this field but the featured of check front has given me a platform of growing my business and gives me a vision of what I can accomplish..

Cons

I haven't really discovered anything so far that I like least because I am in such a learning curve.. I am in the mode of discovering all the new things that I can do so far.. I might have a comment on this in a year or so. Oh yes!! It would be fantastically helpful if Checkfront would send a notification to my cell phone from the app or something that I have got a booking.. I have to log into check front all the time to see if I have a booking..

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 6-12 months

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

10/10
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Anonymous
A verified reviewer
Verified Reviewer

Handles the customers life cycle from bookings to payments

24/06/2016

I have a small Hotel that needs efficient customer handling, this system gives you the flexibility to set up your customer communication and what shall happen during the time from a booking until the customers checkout both on SMS and Email... This is really flexible and can messages can be triggered easily based on your need. This gives you next to nothing of work before the customer arrives and good customer information and experience. The second is the easy way to implement 3 party payment gateways like Stripe and the automatic generated invoice sendt to the customer one email with "pay now" button in the invoice connected to the payment gateway.. It is easy to integrate the add ons and if you have any questions they have premium support. One more thing, they have "ready to go" booking pages..

Pros

Easy interface, admin from the APP on the mobile, flexible customer communication and easy integration with add ons..

Cons

Nothing at the moment

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Customer support

Time used: 1-2 years

Source: GetApp
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Erik Trondsen

Fantastic tool

24/06/2016

This system gives you the flexibility to set up your customer communication and what shall happen during the time from a booking until the customers checkout both on SMS and Email... This is really flexible and can messages can be triggered easily based on your need. This gives you less before the customer arrives and good customer information. The second is the easy way to implement 3 party payment gateways like Stripe and the automatic generated invoice sendt to the customer one email with "pay now" button in the invoice connected to the payment gateway.. It is easy to integrate the add ons and if you have any questions they have premium support. One more thing, they have "ready to go" booking pages..

Pros

Easy interface, admin from the APP on the mobile, flexible customer communication and easy integration with add ons..

Cons

Nothing at the moment

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 1-2 years

Likelihood to recommend

10/10
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Nick Prouse

Makes life simple

15/06/2016

Great customer care, always on hand with advise and experience. They are really friendly and understand how important each clients experience is through my website using their service. Any questions through there live chat are always answered quickly and ensuring the advise works and that I am happy every time. Great team !

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: Less than 6 months

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

9/10
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Matthew Cutherson

Lacks key features and functions for tour operators

12/06/2016

This software was trialled, however it was not designed with a tour operator in mind. There are some clear shortfalls. It appears that they are disconnected with the industry's requirements.

Pros

The software has around 60% of what you would expect from tour operator ecommerce

Cons

There are some very clear shortfalls. Attention is not being paid to their potential customers.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 2+ years

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

1/10

Recommendations to others considering Checkfront

There is an opportunity for other programmers to create complete software which is useful for tour operators. Checkfront is lacking and seem disinterested in getting on track.

Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Christina Stow

FANTASTIC TECH SUPPORT!!

04/06/2016

The tech support is really excellent here, all the time. Room for improvement in the software: plea make it possible to print, normally, item events. Very odd that only page 1 prints. Tried it a few times. Also, odd, and a nuisance: if an item has a rule and also a price, one must create TWO DIFFERENT item events for it! So strange. Also, one is not told this int he online helf and videos either. Your software could be made more efficient . Thanks.

Rating breakdown

Ease of use
Customer support
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Steve Weeks

Truly responsive support outweighs any weaknesses in this system.

01/06/2016

It's been quite a journey to set up our bookings to use Checkfront. I've integrated it into our pre-existing Xero.com accounting system, and into Outlook, and also into a series of mini-apps built on Podio.com. We've succeeded and now we're live, after a few months work. There is a lot to learn about the various structures available in Checkfront, and one should not expect to grasp all the alternatives quickly, but only after some trial and error. However, the Checkfront support team have been great, making it all possible. They are fast to respond, they engage if you want a dispute (!) and they feed back constructive ideas to the developers which results in changes to the documentation and the code. They even duplicated my system and made "how-to" movies using the copy of my own system as an illustration. Stunning, actually. The finished result makes us look professional, and will avoid errors in all the tasks which have now been automated, so we're delighted, especially as the prices are entirely reasonable. Thank you, everyone at Checkfront, especially the support team!

Rating breakdown

Ease of use
Customer support
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
William Naylor

Verified Reviewer

So far it has been faultless

24/05/2016

Using check front for our reservation system for a bike rental shop. It is intuitive to use, and fairly easy to setup. Really like the way it integrates into our wordpress site. No complaints or issues from guests as yet either!

Pros

Looks great on my website Easy to use

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Customer support

Time used: Less than 6 months

Source: GetApp
1 of 1 people found this review helpful
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Lynn Wilbur

Verified Reviewer

Checkfront Review

30/04/2016

Checkfront's reservation system came recommended to solve numerous problems that we were experiencing with our existing reservation system. They offered a 21 day free trial, which sold us during the set up. It's support and training was straight forward and easy to follow. We have a seventy site campground that now practically manages itself because of this new booking engine. We can't imagine operating without it, and regret that we did not find this software sooner! Our campers can now select their sites, which we believe has increased their confidence in booking on-line and thereby increasing the number of bookings we are receiving. Thank you Checkfront team!

Pros

Customizing the lay out is easy and the entire system is user friendly!

Cons

It is difficult to believe that this system is "that easy" to use until you start!

Time used: Less than 6 months

Source: GetApp
1 of 1 people found this review helpful
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Steven Kounis

Not what i expected

12/03/2016

Have just turned to the Soho Account after 2 times of using a free account. I had contacted one of their customers and they had clearly stated that the only issue with checkfront is handling multi day tours....i thought that it wouldn't be such a problem, but trying to configure a nine day tour (i have been on it for more than 10 days, with reasonably good support from the staff), have ended up that i have to just name the tour 9 day, 9 days will not be allocated in the calendar, and the worst is that inventory cannot be handled and i have to do it myself....Quoting their words on one of their replies (after upgrading to Soho account) "How the customer solves his inventory issue is by managing it himself, as well as having the name specify the amount of days, i.e. 8 days." Very disappointing of them not to tell me that before i went for the Soho account, but they only waited until i payed the Soho account to admit it themselves. Now that i am finally up and running with the tours.....which really look great.....i have a continuous problem having 4, 5, or even 6 different staff member answering my questions...and the answers are not at all consistent and somehow they do not tend to realise the issue and all i have to do eventually is solve the issue my self.... It takes me at least so many days before i get a head on answer.... Everything is generally OK but the support is very poor.....

Rating breakdown

Ease of use
Customer support
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Bud  Watson

Checkfront is The Best

29/02/2016

Since we switched to Checkfront in August of 2015 we have booked over 3000 orders with great results. The reports and product information are easily exported and adjustable to our requirements The customer service is excellent and quickly responsive and to top it off, the pricing is reasonable. We have recommended Checkfront to Company in our are that does and extensive array of tours and they are also very pleased with their results. One of the Best Decisions we have made was switching to Checkfront

Rating breakdown

Ease of use
Customer support
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Steven Kounis

Verified Reviewer

Not what i expected

05/02/2016

Have just turned to the Soho Account after 2 times of using a free account. I had contacted one of their customers and they had clearly stated that the only issue with checkfront is handling multi day tours....i thought that it wouldn't be such a problem, but trying to configure a nine day tour (i have been on it for more than 10 days, with reasonably good support from the staff), have ended up that i have to just name the tour 9 day, 9 days will not be allocated in the calendar, and the worst is that inventory cannot be handled and i have to do it myself....Quoting their words on one of their replies (after upgrading to Soho account) "How the customer solves his inventory issue is by managing it himself, as well as having the name specify the amount of days, i.e. 8 days." Very disappointing of them not to tell me that before i went for the Soho account, but they only waited until i payed the Soho account to admit it themselves.

Pros

Very intuitive with wordpress Very customizable Good Map intergation Pics crop

Cons

Not good in handling multi day tours

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Customer support

Time used: Less than 6 months

Source: GetApp
0 of 2 people found this review helpful
Helpful?   Yes   No

Response from Checkfront Inc


Sorry for the frustration. We do have many multi-day tour companies that use Checkfront, but the setup can vary depending on your requirements. If it's not a fit, we do offer a money back guarantee for 30 days, plus a 21 day free trial. If you are past that, but still aren't able to get with you need from Checkfront, please contact support and we can issue a full refund. Of course if you just need some extra help, support can also help you with configuration, and determine if we're a good fit for your setup.

Read more
Brad Grulke

Exceptional customer service

18/01/2016

This is the message I sent to Checkfront recently: Just wanted to say thanks for your support over the last month or so. I have been a designer forever but have been learning some basic development skills this last year. The support I received from the Checkfront team was absolutely the best technical support I have EVER received. Always prompt, accurate, helpful and detailed. Please share my sincere appreciation with your colleagues.

Rating breakdown

Ease of use
Customer support
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Anonymous
(Hospitality company, 1-10 employees)
Verified Reviewer

Didn't Quite Meet My Needs

21/12/2015

I used Checkfront for one month during the free trial period available. The system is not very intuitive and seems a little disorganized. It wasn't robust enough to meet the needs of by business so I couldn't move forward with it. If you don't have complicated offerings or a high volume of offerings then it should work fine.

Pros

1 month free trial Tech support easy to contact

Cons

Not intuitive and not robust enough.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Customer support

Time used: Less than 6 months

Source: GetApp
0 of 3 people found this review helpful
Helpful?   Yes   No

Response from Checkfront Inc


Thanks for the feedback Colby. There have been some improvements specifically in how items are configured in the system to make it easier to setup, specifically for new users of the system. It appears you are still without a booking system, so if you'd like to give it another try we'd be happy to give you a few months for free to see if it's a fit.

Read more