Adaptive Insights Reviews

Adaptive Insights Reviews

Adaptive Insights

The market leader in cloud-based budgeting, forecasting, and reporting.

4.6/5 (72 reviews)
883     3,527

Panagiota Mahendru

Adaptive (Non-Profit)

17/03/2017

We are implementing Adaptive planning and forecasting in order to automate the process of quarterly forecast and connecting a complicated expense driven model along with Grant Management. Although it is complicated to set up, the end result is value for money.

Pros

AUTOMATIONS AND DASHBOARD

Cons

COMPLICATED TO SET UP

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 6-12 months

Frequency of use: Weekly

Likelihood to recommend

10/10

Recommendations to others considering Adaptive Insights

You have to dedicate an experienced analyst in order to be successful.

Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Andy Golden

Insights for your Business

11/03/2017

Dashboard & excel-like sheets help the planning process across your business and still allows for drilling into data to go deeper. Being able to configure the UI is good but not great. But does help you to build flexible models that your business units can digest.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: Less than 6 months

Frequency of use: Weekly

Likelihood to recommend

9/10
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
georgeta precup

flow and transparency for FP&A

24/02/2017

I've been using Adaptive since 2011, and I am fully satisfied with the Adaptive suit. Every year they are improving and developing the suit of services and product. I might be biased but the ease of use of the platform is really what's important for me. The flow and transparency of the data is equally important. I don't think I could be as good as I am when it comes to FP&A and reporting if it wasn't for using Adaptive.

Pros

everything- ease of use

Cons

none

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 2+ years

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

9/10

Recommendations to others considering Adaptive Insights

n/a

Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Christina  Martinez

Easy to use!

06/01/2017

Adaptive planning is a sure product software, user-friendly and makes life simple! Definitely would recommend.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Jose Velez

If you are not using Adaptive Planning, you should be.

30/11/2016

We are in the process of completing our rollout and implementation of Adaptive Planning within the organization and the feedback has been great. Not only has the FP&A team been able to streamline their work, they have been empowered to offer more in terms of custom requests and shorter lead times.

Pros

The ease of use and ability to work from any device.

Cons

The reports need work and better support for custom formulas.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 6-12 months

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

10/10

Recommendations to others considering Adaptive Insights

Just dig in and you will see the benefits!

Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Kevin Lurie

Adaptive Insights is a powerful tool to manage your business that remains easy to use

22/11/2016

We evaluated many of the SaaS software options available before settling on Adaptive Insights (Host Analystics, Anaplan, Tidemark, etc). None of them matched the value, ease of use, and results of Adaptive. If you are looking to move away from spreadsheets and have one source for your financial data and reporting data, I highly suggest looking into Adaptive Planning. It has all the features you would expect in your financial tool and they are constantly upgrading and adding addiitonal features. Customer support has been excellent and they actually seem to care about their customers. Highly recommended!

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Jonathan Lau

Powerful software, makes life easier, business insights more accessible

07/11/2016

I have previous experience using Hyperion, Peoplesoft, and Microsoft Excel to create and maintain financial models. As flexible as regular spreadsheets are, it was always hard to get everybody on the same page, referencing the same numbers, using the same version. I have been using Adaptive Planning for about 1.5 years now, with about 1 year as a systems administrator for the product. FP&A has truly become simplified. This tool has saved hours upon hours every month, as well improved accuracy and timeliness of reports. This allows us to function better as a business unit, and make more proactive models and decisions. My one gripe with Adaptive is their customer support. I have had a hard time getting several issues resolved in a timely manner. Nonetheless, I would highly recommend Adaptive to anybody stuck in "spreadsheet land"--there really is a better way.

Pros

One source for all models and reported numbers. Interconnected data makes it easy to see the full effect of any changes, large or small.

Cons

Customer support needs to work on responsiveness.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 1-2 years

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

10/10
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Sean Niccolucci

Proactivity over Reactivity

01/11/2016

Our initial implementation was rough. Our 3rd party consultant tried to fit our unique companies into their cookie-cutter implementation package and it didn't work out. Since rebuilding on our own, we have a model that works well for our family of companies and we are able to continually improve in conjunction with frequent Adaptive Suite upgrades and continued learning.

Pros

Ease of use, customer service.

Cons

Web reporting

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 1-2 years

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

8/10

Recommendations to others considering Adaptive Insights

A good implementation will save you an incredible amount of time, money and headaches. Once off-the-ground, Adaptive Suite can enhance all of your business processes and decision making.

Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Carrie Capstick

Improved Reporting

26/10/2016

Our Budgeting and Forecast process has significantly improved and can be identified through the additional value added to each of our departments through customized, timely, accurate and flexible reporting. Additionally our Financial Analysts (system end users) have increased their capacity to provide more in-depth timely analysis to the organization and their support department especially with the drill down capabilities and customizing reports.

Pros

The System is easy to use, developer friendly and customizable

Cons

Reporting functionality within the system could be enhanced. We currently use templates created in excel to house formating or additional formulas that are not available in Adaptive but are requried for our reporting.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 2+ years

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

8/10
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Steven  Fong

Adaptive Planning eval

25/10/2016

We use Adaptive Planning as our primary Budgeting and Forecasting system. Many of the functions are intuitive, but requires some time to get comfortable with the many functions that are available. I would not recommend the native reports, as they are difficult to generate quickly and easily without formal training. But their Office Connect add on tool is a nice enhancement to have to generate more custom reporting and also provides some degree of automation once the linked cells are set up properly.

Pros

The software behaves like a specialized version of Excel, however is limited in other areas that requires data to be exported into Excel to analyze more extensively.

Cons

The native reporting is not that easy to use, would prefer better canned reporting functionality.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 1-2 years

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

8/10

Recommendations to others considering Adaptive Insights

The software requires some consulting to setup and training to get the administrators familiar with all the functions.

Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Elizabeth Kretzer

Adaptive Insights Planning Review

12/10/2016

We started using AI about a year ago to get away from excel modeling and planning. AI has allowed us to created a driver-based model, implement rolling forecasts, and involve content owners from all departments in the planning process! This tool is awesome! Easy to use, easy to maintain, and the customer support is unparalled!

Pros

User friendly, cheap, good customer support

Cons

Somewhat limited functionality in areas, but they are constantly releasing new updates with added functionality and other improvements

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 1-2 years

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

10/10

Recommendations to others considering Adaptive Insights

If you are on the fence, go for Adaptive Insights! It us more user-friendly than other systems and can transform the way your organization works!

Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Amy Glass

Very Flexible

04/10/2016

We love the many options and flexibility that we have with Adaptive. Everyone that we have worked with has been awesome!

Pros

Flexibility

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 2+ years

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

10/10
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Anonymous
Financial Analyst (Apparel & Fashion company, 10001+ employees)
Verified Reviewer

Best financial tool on the market in my opinion

02/10/2016

I use Adaptive as a replacement for excel in some aspects of my job. I mainly use it as month end communication to send out financial status reports pertaining to actuals vs budget vs forecast. Adaptive Discovery is one tool I utilize to aid in visualizing data in multiple ways through the use of graphs, gauges, pie charts, tables, and many more.

Pros

Allows so many different ways to breakdown data. Great customer support. The respond quickly and are very knowledgeable. Easy to manage users with different access levels. Adaptive is always working to enhance or update features. The platform develops continuously, which is great for the large user base. Hosts free webinars every so often. Can be accessed from anywhere as long as you have internet access.

Cons

The learning curve is steep, it takes a lot of time to really get comfortable with the platform. Not a lot of video tutorials. The terminology can be confusing sometimes. Adaptive is open to technical/programming suggestions but often take time to be enacted. You sometimes have to wait for the next release to get the issue resolved.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 2+ years

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

9/10

Recommendations to others considering Adaptive Insights

It is the future of finance the Adaptive platform is great for reporting, budgeting, and visualizing financial data. It can handle a bulk collection of data and continue to function well, unlike excel.

Source: GetApp
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
William Stephens

Our Early Stages of Implementation

27/09/2016

Once we implemented the first module we were able to begin adding dimensionality and attributes that made our reporting and fiscal planning a lot easier. It takes time to create the hierarchies but in the end, this ability is not only the first step, but it's an important one. If you are going into the implementation with a solid plan of how you want to view your organization, then you can have a nice return on the initial phase of investment using the product. In addition to the above, being able to drive budgeting and forecasting through user created sheets / models inside Adaptive. This product has allowed us to save time during close, and also during budget season, leaving us more time to understand the business and support the company with a perspective that wasn't previously possible with the team using excel for all reporting and planning.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Brad MacDonald

Verified Reviewer

Outstanding Planning and Reporting Platform

27/09/2016

We plan at a very granular level, and Adaptive's formulas and overall approach to modeling has made this tool a pleasure to work with. Like any new tool, it took our team a little bit of time (~3 months) of getting used to it, but this is simply a tool we can't live without now. In addition to the feature set, the customer support is outstanding. Very responsive to questions and highly knowledgeable on a variety of topics.

Pros

Feature set is very strong. Customer support is among the best in the industry. Highly responsive to detailed technical questions.

Cons

Like any new platform, it took our team a few months after go-live to really utilize the power of the tool, but now it simply a resource that we can't live without.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 1-2 years

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

10/10

Recommendations to others considering Adaptive Insights

For implementation purposes, take 1-2 months of additional testing before you go live. We didn't have any problems, but during the course of the roll out it became clear that we would have benefited from additional time.

Source: GetApp
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Anonymous
Sr. Financial Analyst (Printing company, 201-500 employees)
Verified Reviewer

Great product!

19/09/2016

It has simplified our work quite a bit. We are no longer dependent on our previous excel-based reporting tools. Creating and modifying reports have become a very process.

Pros

Ease of implementation and use.

Cons

Still developing some modules, need time to improve

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 6-12 months

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

9/10

Recommendations to others considering Adaptive Insights

Get it! It'll make your life much easier.

Source: GetApp
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Ben Balch

Verified Reviewer

Great Product

15/09/2016

We are going into our third budget cycle using Adaptive and it has made our process much more efficient. Prior to using Adaptive we played budget ping pong, bouncing spreadsheets back and forth and then once we landed on a final version the Finance team consolidated the numbers. Adaptive is great because you can see the impact of a change to the consolidated budget in real time. This is a great software for the Finance team as well as the budget / business managers.

Pros

There are many great features including: audit trails, notes, role permissions and security, the ability to quickly create versions, great technical support, and it’s cloud based.

Cons

There is a report builder in Adaptive and it’s easy to use. However, I do feel like they have focused on making improvements in other areas and the reporting hasn’t made as much progress. I do think this is one area that could use some improvements.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 2+ years

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

10/10

Recommendations to others considering Adaptive Insights

Take advantage of the 30 day free trial.

Source: GetApp
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Ben Gibson

Verified Reviewer

Great software to project us into the next level of strategic finance.

13/09/2016

Overall, Adaptive Insights has been a great software to work with. AI has increased the FP&A departments productivity during month end close and review by multiple days.

Pros

- The software is a cloud based, so you will have access anywhere you have the internet. - No more “this worksheet is locked by another user” message. - Imports and Exports to/from excel seamlessly…for those of you that like to work out of excel. - Dashboard capabilities for more real time department metrics and visibility to spend. - Rolling forecasting capabilities that allow us as a company to focus more on the future and less on the past. - Instant Company budget/forecast results. - Audit trails…never have to worry who, what, or when someone changed a number you budgeted or forecasted. All changes will be tracked. - Company-wide visibility to Personnel and Capex planning that drives the cost of benefits, IT equipment, and supplies.

Cons

- Software enhancements are only every 4 to 5 months. - Levels (Organization Departments) can be restricting to planning across multiple departments - Noting variances in a report can be tricky at times.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 6-12 months

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

10/10

Recommendations to others considering Adaptive Insights

Have an implementation plan and review it offend.

Source: GetApp
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Claire Parriott

Amazing planning software for non-profits!

02/09/2016

Implementing Adaptive Insights has made me feel like a kid on Christmas morning. Every new feature or discovered capability is a wonderful gift giving me my time and sanity back. I am the only FP&A for a mid-size company. We had outgrown Excel but had a hard time finding a planning software that could handle the allocations fundamental to non-profit accounting. We found Adaptive Insights and haven't looked back. The sales team is amazing, They are not only no pressure, but extremely helpful. We wanted to make sure our entire management team would be on board with new software. AI sales came out and did a personal demonstration for us and answered all of their questions. They also introduced us to great implementation consultants to help us set the instance up.We just finished our first year of planning in Adaptive and it was easy and user-friendly. I love Adaptive and will use it throughout my career.

Pros

The user-friendly interface, customization, regular updates and wealth of support and information. Reporting is also easy to use and very powerful. One of our main challenges is accurately planning and reporting our allocations. AI makes it easy.

Cons

There is nothing I dislike about this software but there are a few things to be aware of. Unless you have 2 people exclusively working full time to set up the instance it will take you much longer than you think. Allow yourself a few months to set it up and know that a full, complete roll-out will probably take a full budget cycle.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 6-12 months

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

10/10

Recommendations to others considering Adaptive Insights

Buy the complete suite - you will not regret it.

Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Billy Mak

Great product

30/08/2016

Its been a difficult implementation. We have been implementing for more than a year, but still no final production.

Pros

has a lot of features; great planning tool. Vision is awesome

Cons

Not user friendly; takes a lot of training to be good at it.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 1-2 years

Frequency of use: Weekly

Likelihood to recommend

5/10
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Doris Calderón

Improve your Finance deparment with Adaptive Planning

30/08/2016

Since now, you can change the way your doing the things in de finance department. With Adaptive Planning you can move forward from Excel and achieve the next step: the analysis. Stop wasting time in operative tasks like validate links and formulas. Do "wath if" scenarios in minutes and take advantage over your competitors. Do monthly forecast and adjust your strategy when your business need. Take the control of your data and your finance process.

Pros

Easy to use and update. Dont need TI support.

Cons

Poor graphic capabilities

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 1-2 years

Frequency of use: Monthly

Likelihood to recommend

10/10
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Sam Patterson

Adaptive Planning Review

03/08/2016

Overall we have been pleased with Adaptive Planning. We originally transitioned to Adaptive from excel based reporting due to increasing data allocation requirements. After several months of implementation we were able to start populating our weekly financial reports entirely from data exported from Adaptive. The end result has been a significant decrease in reporting time, even though we now splice our data by more dimensions than we have looked at in the past. This would not have been possible in excel, and we now have more time to analyze our information instead of being stuck in the reporting cycle.

Pros

The best part of the software for me is the ability to quickly create reports based on any selected dimensions, levels, and timeframes. This is something that historically would have taken us a significant amount of time and is now done in minutes.

Cons

My least favorite parts about the software are the difficulty in navigating the data sheets and the inability to lock formulas and values in historical versions while updating formulas going forward. I would love to see greater functionality to search in data sheets by specific columns.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 1-2 years

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

8/10
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Chris Snelling

Flexible and Comprehensive Planning and Reporting

01/08/2016

I've been using Adaptive Planning for 4 years and at 2 employers. The software has not only improved the accuracy and accountability of our budgeting, forecasting and reporting, but has saved thousands of hours of time.

Pros

The software is flexible. It can be developed and managed internally or you can work with external experts if needed. I like that the cloud software is continuously improving and developing to meet the needs of its customers. There are new releases every six months that improve its functionality based on customer needs and requests. And more importantly, all updates are done on the cloud so that there is no need for the IT department to get involved.

Cons

There aren't many things specific to the software that I don't like. I would say that the most difficult part about using this software is managing the requests from management so that it doesn't compromise the value of the software.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 2+ years

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

10/10

Recommendations to others considering Adaptive Insights

It may seem expensive to some managers but when you compare it to the cost of non-cloud solutions, it is a great deal. Also, it can be seamlessly integrated into NetSuite and some other accounting products.

Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Alex Salazar

Adaptive Planning the best FP&A platform

19/07/2016

We implemented 20 customers using Cognos, Oracle and SAP. Adaptive was a huge discovery for us. Is an amazing solution. The best for all parties is that Adaptive is really administered for Finance people despite other software.

Pros

Ease of use. Thought from Finance to Finance people

Cons

It´s not available for on premise environments.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 2+ years

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

10/10

Recommendations to others considering Adaptive Insights

All finance people shoud try Adaptive and get rid of Excel for FP&A.

Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Mike Frost

Best Planning Tool Period

13/07/2016

We chose Adaptive over competitors because it's in the cloud, it's customizable, and the price was right. It has improved every aspect of the FP&A function within our company. Our budgeting cycles are shorter, our data is more reliable, and analysis and reporting are more real time.

Pros

Easy user adoption. Customizable. Reporting is sophisticated but not complicated.

Cons

N/A

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 2+ years

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

10/10
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more