This is your compare tray

Apps you want to compare will be listed here. Launch a head to head comparison at any time.

Curve Dental Features

Features Summary

Functionality

4.1

/5

199

Total features

74

6 categories

Curve Dental features

2D Drawing
3D Imaging
Access Controls/Permissions
Activity Dashboard
Activity Tracking
Alerts / Escalation
Alerts/Notifications
Appointment Management

Common features of Dental software

API
Access Controls/Permissions
Activity Dashboard
Activity Tracking
Alerts / Escalation
Alerts/Notifications
Appointment Management
Automated Scheduling

Price starts from

ic-pricetag

No pricing info

Pricing options
Free plan
Subscription
Free trial

Screenshots

Contenders comparison

Functionality

4.1

/5

199

Price starts from

ic-pricetag

No pricing info

visit website

Total Features

74

Unique features

  • Projections

  • Financial Analysis

  • Imaging and X-rays

  • Periodontal Charting

Functionality

3.9

/5

1.1K

Price starts from

ic-pricetag

No pricing info

learn more

Total Features

64

Features in Common

28

Unique features

  • Invoice History

  • ONC-ATCB Certified

  • Remittance Advice

  • Order Entry

Functionality

4.3

/5

364

Price starts from

65

/user

Per month

visit website

Total Features

118

Features in Common

34

Unique features

  • Pricing Data

  • Remittance Advice

  • Physician Management

  • Online Refills

Common Curve Dental comparisons

Curve Dental logo
Denticon logo
Curve DentalvsDenticon
Curve Dental logo
Dentrix Ascend logo
Curve DentalvsDentrix Ascend
Curve Dental logo
CareStack logo
Curve DentalvsCareStack
Curve Dental logo
iDentalSoft logo
Curve DentalvsiDentalSoft
Curve Dental logo
DentiMax logo
Curve DentalvsDentiMax

Reviewers who mentioned features said:

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Excellent Cloud Based Software

Reviewed 4 years ago

We love it and recommend it highly

Pros

This is the best software we have used for multiple doctors in multiple locations. It is also cloud based so we don't have to worry about a server going down or losing any information.

Cons

There is no electronic signature availability for the patient file

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

Best option for Cloud practice management

Reviewed a year ago

Really good experience with the software. Price is higher than it should be but it is more convenient in the cloud. If it could connect with Dental Intel, I would put it in all my offices.

Pros

Easy to use. Familiar feel. No need for a server for PMS and x-rays.

Cons

No option for CBCT backup. Can't be used together with Dental Intel. Default reports sometimes convoluted although you can make custom reports.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend6/10

Share this review:

Dentist Review

Reviewed a month ago

I enjoy Curve Gro. Additionally, customer service has been great and I enjoy the Curve Community option for problem solving.

Pros

I enjoy that imaging is on the same software.

Cons

It is not very clinically centered when it comes to moving from treatment plans to notes, etc. I also HATE how you cannot right click on an appointment after it has been closed. It takes me 4-5 clicks to get to the area where I need to type my note. It would be super beneficial to be able to right click on a closed appointment and immediately get to the notes. It's also a pain to not see notes automatically; each patient is automatically under a certain type of note so if you want to see them all, you need to change what is viewed with each new patient.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

Cloud Based Dental Software

Reviewed a year ago

The system is very intuitive and easy to learn. I appreciate that it was a fairly seamless transition from our prior system.

Pros

Working out of two offices, it is imperative that we have a cloud based system that allows us to access the same patient information in both places.

Cons

Many of the things I originally did not like about the software have been amended. Curve is good with customer service and open to suggestion so we have been able to customize certain things to facilitate our daily use.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Easy Transition

Reviewed a year ago

Overall - this is a GREAT system. Easy to transition and train. You can literally have any report in the world you want and customize patient communication. From a data perspective, fabulous. From a security perspective, fabulous - ditch the daily backups and ransomware scares. If someone steals a computer - they get nothing. If the office burns to the ground - you can call patients from any computer anywhere and reschedule them at a temporary office. Patient data is safe.

Pros

What I like best about Curve is the smooth transition to the cloud from an in-house server. I am especially fond of the Curve Capture which pulls twain devices in with ease. The system is so easy to use that it requires very little training for new employees. The support team is always ready to help and never makes the employees feel like they are dumb for asking a question. They also answer quickly, so you don't have to wait hours or days for a call-back.

Cons

I would like to see some improvements in the document cabinet. It doesn't feel as organized as I would like and often, when pulling from other software, the naming convention is not what you would want. We spent some time on clean up and it wasn't too terrible.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend5/10

Share this review:

Good for small businesses

Reviewed a month ago
Pros

For the most part the GUI is easy to work with . Drag and drop works well.

Cons

There should be a document preview added under files. Also, adding payments at same time as posting billing would be nice.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Easiest Conversion EVER!

Reviewed a year ago

I think one of the biggest obstacles that I personally have experienced is the ability to have doctors in multiple locations. This creates the need to have each doctor have multiple profiles which makes creating reports much more convoluted and affects insurance billing. Colorado Medicaid has to have the doctor signature match the credentialing so if you have "Eng" after a doctors name to signal...

Pros

As manager of a very large, 3 location pediatric dental practice that were all on different software/databases I cannot say enough about the smooth conversion process that we experienced when merging our databases and moving all locations to Curve Hero! The software is unbelievably user friendly which turns training new team members on the software an extremely easy process allowing for the focus...

Cons

My biggest concern with using Curve at this time is that there isn't much consideration to practices with regards to updates that come down that may affect the day to day functions of the practice. Recently a couple updates were pushed through in the middle of the morning hours which created havoc. If the update goes as plans, it's a pretty easy fix, however one did not go through as planned and...

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Three dental offices

Reviewed 3 years ago

Excellent. Curve is the best of the cloud. And the cloud is way better than any VPN type system and far superior to use and maintain and manipulate and backup than any internal network would be. As simple as a high speed internet connection, an unmanaged gigabyte switch and internet connections. Wireless works too, I just like the speed of most of the workstations in the operatories wired in. Less load on a wireless router in a big office. Curve took us through conversion from Dentrix, training of the staff and the practice manager and has been there through our inexperienced moments. The doctors didn't even train and they picked it right up. The software improves over time for the better and it was great to begin with.Curve Hero has been a great decision. I couldn't be happier.

Pros

Intuitive. Written with the end user in mind. The trusty "Sidekick" feature (get it? Hero...) on the right of the screen let's you quickly work through a patient. Once I was used to seeing between two offices from any location I was frustrated the third wasn't online yet. I could never go back. The combination of cloud management, lack of internal Network IT needs (an internet connection, Google Chrome, and Adobe Reader and Flash and you're there) and the user friendliness and cuteness of the software and I'm hooked. No bridge between most digital x-ray formats. We're using Scan-X and looking to upgrade to Plan Mecas CBCT ProMax Classic at all three locations.

Cons

There is a lag during the prescription writing portion of the "program." You have to wait a bit before it starts to respond. After that... Zoom. Also, if you need a new image taken you need to refresh charting and then go back to images. Sometimes, it doesn't like to let me modify images gamma, light, dark, inspect/zoom in. None of these are huge difficulties. I would not change companies.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Preventing the 50K Mistake

Reviewed 5 years ago

Each computer in the office is independent and isolated. They're "off the shelf" units and were purchased from Dell at extraordinarily reasonable amounts. No server, no contracted computer geek, no surprises. Most importantly, no added monthly maintenance fees. The support from Curve has been fabulous. What's the worst that can happen? Well, the system has gone down.....wow....we kept doing dentistry....

Pros

Ease of integration and ease of use

Cons

Inability to access the actual product from my mobile devices. I want to be able to interact with the entire product from my mobile devices(iPad, iPhone)

Vendor response

A thousand thank-you's for your kind review, Dr. Lurie! We've noted your suggestions. Many of our customers see a savings in IT and HW costs, as you have. Best wishes!

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

Depends on specialty of the office.

Reviewed 8 years ago
Pros

It's so user-friendly and you can adjust settings so easy as well.

Cons

I think it's too easy to schedule appointments on top of each other. The billing is not easy to read, because it separates it by transaction, and then the transaction is no longer visable after it's paid. There is no way to select a procedure not to be billed to insurance in a billing transaction. You cannot transfer credits between family members in the same account. The tabs in the charting can be...

Vendor response

We appreciate Raquel's comments. She brings to light a number of topics we'd like to address. - Scheduling Appointments. The flexibility of our scheduler does allow you to schedule on top of other appointments. Long-time customers have not found this to be a negative; however, we understand Raquel's concern and are taking steps to modify this functionality--quite soon, actually. - Invoice Accounting...

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Modern, intuitive, functional, always available anywhere

Reviewed a year ago

It's our day to day dental office operations software and we use it for everything. It sends letters and reminder emails and texts and it schedules Patients. It records everything related to treatment, x-rays, pictures, notes, charting, perio charting and is our way taking care of our Patients and our office. It replaced old Dentrix and Demandforce for us

Pros

It looks like a software that was designed today, as opposed to most dental software that looks like Windows 95! It is clean, easy to use, functional and it actually makes sense. Very helpful in day to day dental office operations, simple interface with everything you need right in front of you. Always available everywhere you can open a Chrome browser.

Cons

You have to change your mind set if you are used with other clunky software, this one is really easy to use. It's hard to believe things are so easy to do at the beginning. Recently they updated the user roles and permissions and they are confusing now. Also the transition from Dentrix was smooth, got the x-rays and pictures but it didn't transfer the files, we had to copy those manually as Patients had appointments. It's a one time thing but it's worth it

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

Confident in Curve!!

Reviewed 6 years ago

Switching to Curve Hero from my old server based practice management software has proven to be one of the best decisions I could make. I was faced with ever increasing server issues and daily troubleshooting was causing me to feel more like an IT person learning on the job than a dentist on some days. Even hiring multiple IT gurus was a not a good use of my time or resources. Now that I have been...

Pros

No pros were added to this review

Cons

No cons were added to this review

Vendor response

Thank you for your confidence, Dr. Plaster! We think we have a great thing going and it is a boost to see that our customers couldn't agree more. Hope to see you at the next Orange Summit. Best wishes!

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Great Cloud-based Dental Software

Reviewed 5 years ago

We purchased five standing offices. Each had a different dental software. We needed a product that would enable us to view all five schedules remotely, and Curve has been terrific. It has changed how we look at schedules and increased our efficiency and flexibility. All employees can check their upcoming day from the comfort of their own homes. Training on the software is very good, and customer support is very responsive. Curve is always evolving, and the staff welcomes any and all suggestions. Most features are very useful, and, once one knows how to maneuver, they make sense and are easy to use. We plan to continue using Curve, and I have already recommended it to other dental offices.

Pros

I love being able to access all five office schedules at any time from any place where I have my laptop.

Cons

Most issues I have had have been MY user issues! I would LOVE to see a "daily diary" with chores like auto/property carriers use to remind adjusters of tasks. When I want to reschedule a cancellation or missed appt, I can't mark it appropriately AND put it in the queue as a quick reminder to call the patient. I know I can run a report, but I'd love to be able to use the queue as a daily diary as well.

Vendor response

Amy! Wow, your comments are much appreciated. I've copied your suggestions into a message to our development team--they are great! As you noted, when it comes to multiple locations Curve Dental can make your job much easier. With all the data at your fingertips in real time, that's gotta be helpful for a team member in your position. Good Neighbor Dental is an awesome organization. Best wishes!

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Smooth and easy transition from Old School Practice Management Software.

Reviewed 4 years ago

Cost, Efficiency, usability.

Pros

This is a complete solution to meet all Practice Management needs which is great but as this software is a cloud solution it is just like your Facebook account, Instagram, email etc, it is alway available right there where you need it and it works as it should but in a modern, more efficient way. It's quite intuitive and it is always trying to help you to achieve your goal. We've yet to encounter...

Cons

The Kiosk facility where Patients can can fill out their forms directly into Curve is good but you can see they are still building it out.

Vendor response

Thanks for the 5-star review! The benefits of a cloud-based management system, as you point out, far exceed the idea of keeping a server in your practice. Many thanks for your kind review and best wishes!

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

Overall Satisfied

Reviewed 6 years ago

First Customer Support is OUTSTANDING. You can call or submit a ticket. Tickets are responded too quickly-normally 5-10 minutes and many times I have receive a phone call from the customer service tech to answer my concerns. When I have called in myself I have never waited more that 5 minutes on hold. The conversion process worked well for our office. We had a clear understanding on the front...

Pros

No pros were added to this review

Cons

No cons were added to this review

Vendor response

Thank you, Donna! We feel the same way about our customer service. Your sentiment about imaging and administrator roles are high on our list and features that we discuss often. Best wishes!

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

Can access schedule from laptop and mobile phone!

Reviewed 5 years ago

Can use anywhere you have internet access, reasonably priced.

Pros

Curve can be viewed online so you can see patient information right at home (where you need to see it during emergency patient calls) or to make sure you can see schedule changes as they occur. This program is easy to use and reasonably priced.

Cons

There are no folders under "files and letters" so after awhile the number of files can get large and then difficult to locate, which is annoying. Also the financials do not allow monthly production numbers for a year at a glance. You have to do each month separately which is time consuming and frustrating. Also Curve goes down from time to time and then you are SOL because there is no backup....

Vendor response

Many thanks, Shannon, for your positive review. We are working on files and letters and you'll love the end result! The Playbook, which will be available this summer, may provide you with the production numbers you're looking for. We're also set to release offline capabilities; in the event service is disrupted for whatever reason, you'll still have access to a limited data set for patients you'll see that day. You'll love that, too! Many thanks and best wishes to you and yours!

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

We are very happy with our first year on Curve!

Reviewed 5 years ago

It saves me so much time during my work day compared to other computer programs I have used in the past!

Pros

It is so easy to learn and to use! When new employees are hired, it is so easy to show them how to use the system. I use community to find answers to any questions I have and usually can figure out how to do anything! I love how easy it is to customize reports to get the information that I need. We like that the claims go out at various times during the day...it seems like the turn around time for payments is alot faster. We love the ability to customize the sidekick to be able to see what is really important to us at a glance and to have these changes show up right away....instead of having to wait for weeks while a computer guru makes the suggested changes!! It is wonderful.

Cons

I wish that the account credits would show up in our total accounts receivable amount for 60-90, 120 day totals.

Vendor response

Wow, a 5-star review! Thank you, Marilyn, for your feedback. The Sidekick is definitely our secret sauce--it sure does make you more productive by helping you access information faster. We've made note of your wish and will be evaluating. Thanks again!

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

Curve is perfect for our office

Reviewed 11 years ago

We highly recommend Curve to all dental offices. Our situation made the choice easy because we started from scratch and thus didn't have any data conversion. Even though Curve may not have quite as many features as Dentrix yet, I believe that it will be there very quickly because of how quickly the company is changing and updating the program. For me, Cloud practice management systems are the future of dentistry, and I believe that Curve is the best in the Cloud. We would do it again in a heartbeat! Curve provides all that we need in a Practice Management Software.

Pros

Ability to use the software anywhere there's internet Very easy to learn Nice graphics Ability to email newsletters/mass emails to all patients Unending reports (can customize reports for what you want) Each user can customize their view of the schedule Doctor can limit what parts of the system each staff can change Patient education videos are excellent Ability to upload images (xrays, pictures,...

Cons

Can't use on an iPad (because of Flash) When uploading Xrays to the charts, it takes time and the xrays are in a horizontal line (not mounted). We don't use this feature. We've had trouble with the insurance estimation part--not accurate. The software doesn't allow us to add in codes for different procedures (we have to use what CDT codes are in)...unless we add it as inventory Some of the screen views are slow to load A few times we've clicked out of a chart and lost all of the charted treatment

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend2/10

Share this review:

Curve is behind the curve ball

Reviewed 3 years ago
Pros

The ease of which one can email a receipt to a patient. Ease of scheduling. The playbook dashboards

Cons

1.User are unable to make a correction in billing all at once. Right now with each correction it closes and then the user has to open it to correct the next line. 2.Route slip are unavailable. Would be nice even if just online with no printing. 3. The ability to print one visit of a treatment plan does not exist. The user needs to move the treatment to another plan if they wish to just print it alone...

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Training Process Needs Your Review

Reviewed 3 years ago

We definitely had to make a change in our practice and this was huge! Now that we are a couple of months in I am happy to say it is all behind us! There are changes that we would like to see and we have sent in many tickets. Hopefully we will see them come to fruition.

Pros

From my stand point which is mostly office oriented, I do like the software now that I am more familiar with it. I love being able to see both our locations on one screen and to be able to work at both locations from my office. Reporting is different but I like it. I love being able to navigate all over from the appoinment screen.

Cons

I did not like how our training was run. It was very confusing and not hands on. The trainer jumped all over instead of sticking to one thing before it was learned. Our clinic has had the most difficulty. We dont like how the charting is set up to show work that needs to be done vs what has already been done. Colors are faint and runs into another.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Curve Hero is the best, flexible software a practice can have!

Reviewed 5 years ago

It's easy to use. I can log in from anywhere if needed. The team continues to improve and update the software features which keeps us on the cutting edge of dentistry.

Pros

The flexibility it offers to the providers! Having it be web based, allows providers the ease of logging in anytime and anywhere, no longer being stuck at the office to finish work.

Cons

It would be nice to have the capability to write a note on the patient statement. There's space to have it. ( Example: your monthly payment is $ )

Vendor response

A 5-star review from you, Tracey, is well earned and much appreciated! As you point out, data accessibility is a huge advantage over older dental software. Being able to work when and where you wish adds to job satisfaction since Curve Dental molds itself around your lifestyle and work style. Thank you for the comment about notes on a patient statement; we're aware of that one and it is certainly on our list of improvements. Hope all is well with you and your practice and hope to see you at the next Orange Summit!

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Overall positive anxious for more updates related to billing / word process / portal enhancements

Reviewed 5 years ago

Cost savings no server to upkeep

Pros

Ease of charting and upload and organization of templates for images. Accounting breakdown of invoices. Patient portal and ability to send new patient paperwork is fantastic and saves so much time at appointment.

Cons

Insurance profile is too limiting as well as the word processing options in Curve. The capability to send statements needs to be reworked, need direct access to account from A/R reports with capability to send letters add account notes etc. tracking of statements and account out reach needs to be all in one area.

Vendor response

Thank you, Jill, for your kind review! We think our online forms are pretty awesome, too. We took careful note of your comments on billing as we are looking toward a face lift of sorts in that area. We may reach out to you in the future for clarification. Best wishes to you and your entire team at Stonecastle Dentistry!

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Curve

Reviewed a year ago

I has been a huge learning experience switching from Eaglesoft to Curve. The clinical team experiences the most frustration. I love it for the front office and scheduling ease.

Pros

We love that we can schedule real time at both locations. Also the our leadership can access the software from home.

Cons

Curve still has not come up with a way to easily calculate accurate walkout statements for our patients who have PPOs. I also do not like the ticket system. We don't use it, when we have an issue we just call.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Easy to navigate

Reviewed a year ago

Great software, will continue to use for all existing and new practices and will recommend to colleagues as well.

Pros

User friendly software with high functionality

Cons

Insurance and billing applicability to Canadian users

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend1/10

Share this review:

Not pleased.

Reviewed 6 years ago

I have been using this software since 2012. It has been a struggle. The reports are very sub-par. I have two offices and spend a lot of money with these guys but that does not get me any sort of special treatment. Just to give you an idea of how bad the reports are...there is no report to indicate the number of new patients per month. The closest you can get is new patients "created" but this would include no-shows. I asked for a special custom report to be made for my uses with NP's, referral sources, production from referral .....DENIED. They said more or less "maybe they would get to that at some point in the future....thanks for the suggestion". If I could easily switch I would do it, but it is not I won't even get started on how often their servers go down.

Pros

It's prettier than most software.

Cons

-Reports are a joke (and reports are the life-blood of a good practice management software) -Servers go down a lot -If you lose your internet you are also out of luck -Customer service is slow and not helpful -They nickel and dime you for add on's. Bridge to xray software...$$; E-prescribe....$$$, store x-rays....$$$$$

Vendor response

Hi, Dr. Mapes! We¿re sorry we failed to meet your expectations. But that means we¿re going to try harder. For example, our reports can be customized to show nearly any data. That you did not find what you wanted means we need to look at the interface and training. Specific to a NP report showing referral sources and production from referrals: We can do that, but obviously we can make it easier to get...