Absorb LMS Reviews

Absorb LMS Reviews

Absorb LMS

A Flexible and Powerful Corporate Learning Platform

4.41/5 (124 reviews)
343     1,031

Christine Chow

simple to use, but QA poor and support prioritized by popularity votes on their customer forum site

25/03/2017

had it for 3 years. our requirements were basic - no hr integration, no e-commerce, short term users, few courses. yet when we were faced with their sudden requirement for us to move/"upgrade" to their new system that contained functional and design continuity problems from the system version we were using, we were told that our problems would not be fixed due to the fact that not enough other customers had "voted" for the same issues to be fixed. that was a dealbreaker. :(

Pros

easy startup, easy to use (provided everything is working properly)

Cons

Software is AS-IS product. Difficulty getting help with system problems - first tool for them is interpersonal pleasantry, and email with article links to something that may or may not be addressing the reported problem. If there is not an easy out-of-the box solution (addressed by the link they send you by email), it will take many interactions and possibly a video screener of your problem before your issue is investigated. Individual learner issues are typically not investigated.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 2+ years

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

3/10
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Ryan Soucy

Help Desk Excellence

02/03/2017

As always the help desk staff at absorb are great at answering and mitigating questions that I have. Keep up the good work.

Pros

Both the front end and back end are easy to use and navigate.

Cons

How a person can only be attached to one department with one email address.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 2+ years

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

10/10
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Gio Joens

Great for Small Organizations

07/01/2017

I've used a variety of learning management systems (LMS) over the years including Blackboard, Moodle, scormLMS, Canvas, Success-Factors, custom LMSs, and Absorb LMS. All of these had their place. Some were geared toward academics and schools (Blackboard, Moodle, and Canvas). Others were for huge enterprises (Success-Factors). While others were great to test your E-Learning modules on-line (scormLMS). So what do you do if you have a small organization with under a hundred employees and not enough server space or talent on hand to customize an open-sourced program like Moodle. If that's the case, you turn to the cloud. Software-as-a-service (SAAS) has now become a way of doing business for individuals and small organizations. You can save money and time on resources while reaping the benefits of frequent or constant updates to the software. Absorb LMS is a purely cloud-based application. It's a SAAS that lets you customize the front pages of your LMS, the landing or welcome page perse while giving you a hybridized version of LMS Administrator controls. You see the secret behind every LMS is that somebody, either you as the administrator or someone else working behind the scenes with the SAAS has to upload your content (E-Learning modules, Job-Aids, Videos, Presentations, etc.). So with Absorb, you get a fairly well-featured LMS, but with the benefit of having someone else go through the pains of uploading your content. After having to do the full admin tasks behind the scenes of an LMS, I can say that having someone else do it is quite an appreciable service. Overall, Absorb is a good LMS for small and large organizations that want to save money on resources and overhead. Your trainers can also function as the LMS "admins". My only complaint about Absorb is that it has decent reporting tools. After years of working as an LMS admin, it seems that reports are an after thought with most LMS developers. Yet, sooner or later someone up your chain of command will want to know the value of the LMS and that's where good reporting tools come in handy. I can gladly say that the folks at Absorb listened to customer requests for better reporting and they delivered.

Pros

1. Ease of use - it's in the cloud. 2. Simplified admin functions 3. Decent reporting tools. 4. Customized landing page.

Cons

1. Responses from Absorb can be slow. 2. Customer service isn't the best. 3. Can suffer from service outages.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 2+ years

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

7/10

Recommendations to others considering Absorb LMS

If you can't afford the cost of installing an LMS at your business or having someone customize an open-sourced LMS package then Absorb might fit the bill for you. Do some comparison shopping. Look at Adobe's LMS and see which the best for you.

Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
J L Pope

One of the better ones

04/11/2016

All-in-all, I have enjoyed using Absorb. It has a pretty robust feature set and a very easy to use interface. When we run into bugs, Absorb sometimes takes quite a long time to resolve the issues. They will not give you an ETA for fixes either. It has some issues with playing video on iOS10 devices. I like how it handles most content and I really like how it modularizes courses.

Pros

Ease of use. Everything is easy to find and the options make sense.

Cons

When bugs are introduced, they don't always get fixed very quickly.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 1-2 years

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

7/10

Recommendations to others considering Absorb LMS

Don't expect this software to do everything you ever needed an LMS to do, but it does the basics and it does those basics pretty well.

Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Sarah Marr

Highly flexible LMS - gives a professional feel to our team's learning journeys.

12/10/2016

From the beginning we in PREM have enjoyed our experience with Absorb - the Absorb team and the product are excellent in equal measure. Last year we were exploring various LMS options. It was confusing, but the Absorb team gave us spent a lot of time helping us understand how the system could work for us. I really appreciated this as, relatively speaking, we would not be a very big client for them. Since our sign up we have experienced a highly professional, organised and responsive customer support service. We have recently launched the first of our on-line learning programmes, hosted on Abosrb. We are very proud of the professional look and feel our learners experience when they access the platform. It sets a good tone for the learning to come. The reporting features are very helpful and entirely flexible. It is not until you start using the system that you begin to understand just how easy it is to get the exact report that you want. We're delighted with Absorb!

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Charlie Drain

Absorb - great product, great partners

08/08/2016

The Absorb team was always professional. Through the vendor selection process, implementation, to post-implementation support, I've found the Absorb team to be helpful, knowledgeable, and straightforward. The software is robust and functional. We got everything we were looking for. I would definitely recommend this product. It effectively delivers content and courses, it's totally brand-able, and it's easy to use from the user and admin's perspectives.

Pros

Clean interface. It's navigable and easy-to-use.

Cons

We had a little hiccup with uploading hundreds of users who were all in different departments. It required us to upload a spreadsheet per department (about 12) instead of uploading one spreadsheet and having the system parse the groups. I think this is a fairly rare circumstance though (either you are a small group and it doesn't matter or you are a big group and you have an API). Added an extra 2 hours of work - not a big deal. Otherwise the user-upload interface is very effective.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: Less than 6 months

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

9/10

Recommendations to others considering Absorb LMS

Absorb has a knowledgebase that you can pore over as you start your implementation. I haven't found many companies that have that, and it really sets you up for a smooth implementation.

Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Meg Seyler

just what the doctor ordered!

03/06/2016

While not the most technically savvy individual, I have found the Absorb LMS to be relatively easy to use. The team is supportive and helpful, prompt when contacted. I will say one of my struggles is to interpret the support manual to the situation I face-- not always clear what my next step will be. But when the support team is contacted, we usually find a course of action quickly.

Rating breakdown

Ease of use
Customer support
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Jonathan Wilson

Great Software Easy to use

03/06/2016

Easy to use for learners and admins. Was easy to implement way ahead of other LMS vendors.

Rating breakdown

Ease of use
Customer support
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Sean White

Absorb rocks!

19/05/2016

We looked at dozens of LMSs before finally selecting Absorb and have been totally satisfied ever since. The implementation was easy and even wrapped up ahead of schedule. The customer service and support has been excellent in terms of both quality and response time. We have had not one technical or any other issues and I can't say enough good things about Blatant Media and Absorb.

Rating breakdown

Ease of use
Customer support
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Antonio Baltazar

User friendly program

17/05/2016

Pros: very easy to set up a course. I like that i am able to use Scrom package to give me all the interactive option for my lessons. I have the option to enroll and control the content for each user. Cons: List of option are to many. Need to navigate through all the menus and get familiar where all the options are at.

Rating breakdown

Ease of use
Customer support
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Chris Rimmer

Absorb LMS

17/05/2016

Absrob LMS is a great tool that is easy to use, has a great variety of course options and is right at the forefront of development in LMS technology

Rating breakdown

Ease of use
Customer support
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Debra Brown

Feel as if I have been abandoned. since I am a solopreneur that's important. Not happy with Absorb.

16/05/2016

Discussion function is hard to work around. Doesn't feel user friendly. Lots of money for a challenging product. Will probably go with another group aftwr my contract is over.

Rating breakdown

Ease of use
Customer support
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Chris Odell

Best LMS on the market for mid-size organization, great price!

16/05/2016

After searching for over 6 months, our organization (research institute at a University) happily landed on Absorb. We use it for about 300 internal employees, and around 100-200 external clients. It is fantastic. The learner interface is intuitive and smooth: we recently held a workshop with 80 participants from 38 different countries (many languages, a range of backgrounds in technology), and everyone easily navigated through the system to the content. For company use, the data Absorb gathers feeds directly into our professional development and performance review cycles. Also, we integrated the sign-on with our internal ADFS server, so the users' credentials pull from pre-existing systems. Support is super responsive and thorough; every ticket I've submitted they've addressed right away and resolved most. The downsides of the product: not many. The 'tiles' on the home page are extremely useful, and I wish it were easier to make custom tiles on our own, but anything custom has to be made by Absorb support (example: link to an external site; changing the look/logo on a tile). Reports from assessments or exams take a little getting used to, as well as a few quirks around course structures or limitations. But none of the drawbacks are insurmountable. Overall: I'm a huge fan of Absorb, and would highly recommend it for anyone in the 200-1000 employee range.

Rating breakdown

Ease of use
Customer support
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Heather Lofquist

Easy to use, but robust and adaptable!

16/05/2016

As an instructional designer who will also be responsible for managing the LMS, I love that Absorb is user-friendly (for me and our learners) and that it is easy to tailor messages to different audiences within our membership.

Rating breakdown

Ease of use
Customer support
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Anonymous
Administrative Coordinator (Hospital & Health Care company, 10001+ employees)
Verified Reviewer

LMS

31/03/2016

I ejoy using our LMS. It is veratile and allows one stop shopping instead of having multiple sites to go to. I do wish it were easier to search. It is very difficult to find lessons that need to be aqssigned (or it may just be I do not use it that often).

Pros

1. Everything in one place. 2. Can assign multiple people and track progress. 3. Can us programs that have already been written or can write your own specific to your area.

Cons

1..The search function could be simplified. I find it very difficutl to find courses to assign.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Customer support

Time used: 1-2 years

Source: GetApp
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Jason Eden, MBA

Verified Reviewer

Great LMS, Great Value

29/03/2016

I worked for a fast-growing startup that needed a full-featured LMS, hosted, and didn't cost an arm-and-a-leg. Absorb LMS fit that bill and then some. I was super-impressed with the ease of use of their interface and the intuitive nature of their setup and processes. It also helped that they had tight integration with Adobe Connect, which was our preferred platform for web conferences. I strongly recommend them to anyone looking to implement a new LMS, or to replace an old, clunky, hard-to-use one. (And there are a lot of those out there...)

Pros

Intuitive, slick interfaces on both the front and back end. Easy to use and administer. User experience was fantastic. Highly responsive team addressing any concerns or issues.

Cons

Any cons that we ran into were dealt with in short order, and we were a relatively small client! Great customer support made this a dream process.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Customer support

Time used: 1-2 years

Source: GetApp
1 of 1 people found this review helpful
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Anonymous
Consultant/Trainer (Hospital & Health Care company, 10001+ employees)
Verified Reviewer

Absorb 4 has been great, but really looking forward to Absorb 5

22/03/2016

My company has been using Absorb 4 since 2012, and we've been mostly happy with the functionality and ease of use. The learner interface is very intuitive. Only downside for our institution was the inability to "hide" completed courses from the My Courses list. That has been fixed in Absorb 5, which is very good news. Administrators find the Admin interface fairly easy to use, but again we're excited about seeing the changes that come with Absorb 5.

Pros

Mobile friendly, good search capabilities, customizable with branding

Cons

Most of the cons for us were because we had an installed instance instead of cloud hosted. Updates were hard to process and therefore we were always multiple versions behind. These issues should be resolved with being hosted, since updates are pushed out automatically.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Customer support

Time used: 1-2 years

Source: GetApp
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Christi Wiethoff

Sleek, branded, intuitive interface

01/02/2016

Absorb has the best branding capabilities we've seen from any LMS, and our training portal fits seamlessly into our company culture and suite of tools. The customer service throughout implementation has been stellar (I think our PM works 24 hrs a day). It's been a huge success thus far - thanks Absorb!

Rating breakdown

Ease of use
Customer support
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Sheri O'Brien

I have had nothing but positive experience with Absorb.

01/02/2016

We chose this system because of the ease of use and also because I have full control of the system. When I do need assistance your support team is excellent. I would recommend your system to others over any other.

Rating breakdown

Ease of use
Customer support
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Danny Burns

Great LMS!

01/02/2016

We searched for several months to find an LMS that would meet the needs of our organization. Absorb delivers in a variety of areas. The user-interace is beautiful for both the learner and the admin. It's simple, intuitive and very powerful. It's feature-rich and gave us a lot of flexibility in how we would implement it for our organizational nuances. Speaking of implementation, it went very well and the team at Absorb was personal and responsive. Easy-to-use software makes implementation really smooth. Overall we're encouraged by our choice. This is going to change the way we deliver training for our entire organization! Lastly, our only wish would be to have the ability to have unlimited learners on the system and only pay for the number of active learners each month.

Rating breakdown

Ease of use
Customer support
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Yung Lu

Absorb has best admin UX

28/10/2015

We selected the Absorb LMS ahead of Cornerstone onDemand, Lightspeed VT, Skillsoft/SumTotal, ExpertusOne, Growth Engineering, Process Peak, and Moodle based on ease of use for the user interface, as well as having, in my opinion, the best admin interface. Things that took me hours to do in the sandbox of other vendors took minutes with Absorb. Ed Hanson was our salesman and was super friendly and available to answer any questions and concerns. Ultimately, it was very attractive financially and more robust then the slimmed down versions of some of the other LMS vendors. The only issue I've had was with an employee feed into the LMS was more troublesome than expected, but we did not purchase the feed that would have taken care of this issue. While there are other LMS vendors that focus more on gamification and social engagement, the Absorb is easy to use for the learner, which should make training more effortless. The admin is the easiest to navigate of the LMS vendors I've been exposed to, and has exactly what I would expect to help us create a world class LMS for our employees.

Rating breakdown

Ease of use
Customer support
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Louise Newall

Transition to a new LMS

28/10/2015

We were making the transition from an existing LMS to a new one, and after going to market, chose Absorb as our new partner. From day 1, it has been great working with their team. They delivered an excellent product with a learner interface branded to fit our organization perfectly. We needed to decide whether or not to migrate our existing user data, and Absorb's team provided lots of information on the pros and cons to both migrating and starting fresh. We launched our site on October 1st to a pilot group, and are in the process of launching it system-wide to over 840 location and 19,000 learners across Canada. So far, everything is going smoothly, and any time a question arises, their team is there to answer quickly. The site is easy to use and to administer, and I am fully confident that we made the right choice.

Rating breakdown

Ease of use
Customer support
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Lisa Ann

Overall 5 Star

10/09/2015

Everything is just perfect and excellent of their service. And they are always ready for customer supporting. Love their service

Rating breakdown

Ease of use
Customer support
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Ravena Ramphal

An LMS Worth Buying

20/08/2015

We have just migrated to Absorb LMS and it has been nothing but positive. This robust LMS not only meets our needs, but exceeds the needs of our organization. With Absorb, LMS administration is quick and easy. When we need support, Absorb customer service is quick to respond with a suitable solution.

Rating breakdown

Ease of use
Customer support
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Cindy Plunkett

Excellent right out of the box!

20/08/2015

We are currently in the middle of a multi-phase implementation of Absorb 5 to replace our legacy LMS of 13 years. The system itself out of the box will more than meet our needs, not only now, but also 5-10 years into the future for sure! No implementation is without its hiccups and ours was no exception. There were issues along the way, but this is where Absorb's customer service excelled. They were extremely responsive and timely with both corrections and fixes for issues. They were also very supportive in responding to operational queries. We have had excellent feedback from out users to-date on how very user-friendly they find this system. We look forward to the rest of the role out and our continued positive relationship with the Absorb team!

Rating breakdown

Ease of use
Customer support
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more

Customer testimonials for Absorb LMS

The following testimonials have been provided by Absorb.

My experience with the Absorb LMS over the past two years has been fantastic. I’ve worked with a variety of Learning Management System over the past fifteen years, and I have to say that the Absorb LMS is hands down the best I’ve ever worked with. The support I receive from the implementation team at Absorb is “World Class”. They truly are the best in the business in my opinion.

Steve Price, CTO, HALO Corporate Universities