Adobe Captivate Prime Reviews

Adobe Captivate Prime Reviews

Adobe Captivate Prime

LMS for self-paced, instructor-led and blended learning

4.0/5 (11 reviews)
48,529     130

Dave Scheuerman

It's a powerful software and would probably be 5 stars if I only had time to learn it better!

17/02/2017

Over the years, I've learned how to use Adobe Captivate using the 'self-taught' method. So I know there's even more to it than I'm utilizing, but it's still pretty simple to pick-up and start using after a bit of normal trial-and-error. But very powerful...pretty user friendly...and pretty intuitive. It was originally designed for tracking and recording on-screen directions/tutorials, but I've used it primarily as a enhanced PowerPoint presentation with voiceovers, navigation, etc. Solid software and one that can really enhance your online training content!

Pros

pretty intuitive to use and user friendly, especially in a situation such as mine where it was self-taught

Cons

sometimes hard to find (remember!) what is where in terms of features and click buttons

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 2+ years

Frequency of use: Monthly

Likelihood to recommend

8/10

Recommendations to others considering Adobe Captivate Prime

try your best to dedicate some time to truly learn the software instead of when crunched for time to develop/publish a new piece of online training content (or whatever your end product is)

Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Ches Allen

Useful but incredibly buggy

01/02/2017

Captivate worked fairly well for my purposes but was incredibly buggy. Crashed repeatedly, spent several hours and wasted many work days trying to figure it out with customer support.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Angie Neske

Great eLearning Creation Tool

30/01/2017

It was time to move to a new software for our online development courses. Previously we were using those native to our provider. We wanted something with more options, more updated tools and something easy to use. Classes need to be updated - it's a fact of life. The updating has to be easy or no one will ever do it. That's where we were before switching to Captivate. Now everything else easier to navigate, easier to publish.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend

8/10
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
tanya schecter

Awesome interactions and videos for e-learning

25/01/2017

Captivate is a great tool for creating interactive activities for e-learning and self-study material as well as capturing screen activities in a video format. Easy to use and great value for the cost.

Pros

Various options for e-learning.

Cons

Harder learning curve.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 6-12 months

Frequency of use: Monthly

Likelihood to recommend

8/10
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Bruce Cleland

So Far So Good.

05/01/2017

We're in the process of shoring up our training tools and we settled on Captivate to help us with some of the re-building. It's got some great features and very helpful quick start tools. We've developed our first module and have had no major concerns. So far so good.

Pros

Quick start features. Asset library. Testing function. Responsive design

Cons

No issues. Cost effective.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features

Time used: Less than 6 months

Frequency of use: Weekly

Likelihood to recommend

8/10
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Paula L

A little cumbersome

05/01/2017

Captivate is useful and intricate but can sometimes be frustrating. The quality of the finished product is great, but nothing marvelous - other programs can do the same job, much simpler such as Storyline.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend

2/10
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Aimee Getty

I found it very difficult to install

03/01/2017

Purchased a captivate subscription but found it very difficult to re-install once I switched computers. I spent 30-45 minutes on Adobe's website combing through links, installed Creative Cloud (was not the answer) until I finally searched a backdoor link.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: Less than 6 months

Frequency of use: Monthly

Likelihood to recommend

7/10
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Daniel Dobrzensky

Good for Pros. Not great for small companies looking for simple solutions

08/12/2016

Captivate is definitely a robust tool, and it would be ideal for mid-size - enterprise companies. If you're a small startup, or have humble training needs or experience, I would look elsewhere.

Pros

Robust features

Cons

Difficult to use if you don't have experience

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend

6/10

Recommendations to others considering Adobe Captivate Prime

Be sure you also search LMS accounts. You won't be able to use this without it. At least not very easily.

Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Marie McIntyre

Easy to use, quality results

06/12/2016

Adobe Captivate is a must for those looking to produce Software Simulations for the purpose of training. Note: Captivate is not currently compatible with high resolutions screens and therefore results may vary after download. Our company recently released an ROI software system and Captivate has been crucial in training our staff on how to use this tool.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Matt Toresco

Top notch, but not easy!

24/10/2016

Best program to utilize to create your e-learning content. Great features and add ons and themes. However, the program is not easy to use!

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Cheryl  Wearsch

Good Authoring Tool but has bugs

04/10/2016

Captivate 9 has contained some really nice features. Some work properly but others do not. This can be frustrating if you create a course surrounding a certain functionality, only to realize the bugs have not been quite worked out. With that said - the partner plug-ins with E-learning Bros is fantastic and a welcome addition.

Pros

Familiar platform.

Cons

Quiz feature will not work properly if course is narrated and has content located after quiz. Quix features should be upgraded.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 6-12 months

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

7/10

Recommendations to others considering Adobe Captivate Prime

If you are familiar with Captivate from previous versions, then you know what to expect. New to the program people should perform their research.

Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more