This is your compare tray

Apps you want to compare will be listed here. Launch a head to head comparison at any time.

CenterPoint Payroll

Better tools for those outgrowing basic payroll systems

see alternatives

CenterPoint Payroll Reviews

Reviews summary

Pros

I have been on it for about 1 1/2 years. Most of my questions I can get from the online help menu and the few times I have had to call for assistance they are just awesome.

Sue B.

They offer exceptional training and the customer support is superb. Thank you Red Wing for making our transition easy and enjoyable.

Jada M.

I have found CenterPoint Payroll a very good solution for easily producing payrolls and tracking the information we want to see in our business.

Frieda P.

Cons

I need the program to calculate a garnish with a limit of 65% of NET pay... it seems no matter what I do it calculates 65 % of GROSS pay.

Margareta C.

We are paid weekly which I know maybe odd now days, but that was not an option, so I had to make adjustments to each salaried person every time there is 53 pay periods in a year.

Wilma D.

Give us a report writer or let us use a reporting tool such as crystal reports. The second half of my criticism is that Redwing does not offer a HR module that ties in with the payroll module.

John F.

Overall rating

4.4

5

4

3

2

1

10

2

2

1

0

80%
positive reviews
100%
would recommend this app

Filter reviews by


Overall rating


Company size


Industry


Time used


15 reviews

recommended

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Center Point Payroll for Small Businesses

Reviewed 4 years ago

If you are accustomed to using in house payroll and are looking for a good software. I highly recommend Center Point Payroll. The Aatrix solution for tax filing is terrific.

Pros

Ability to do direct deposit for checks, and the Aatrix tax form preparation feature.

Cons

Still waiting for a time and attendance partner solution.

Vendor response

Thank you so much Robyn for the wonderful review! We appreciate having you as a customer! I will check into the status of the partner solution you mentioned and get back to you. Stephanie, Red Wing Software

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Great system

Reviewed 5 years ago

It is very easy to use and understand, and i absolutely LOVE the support personnel! Very easy to work with, and if they dont know the answer to my problem, they keep digging until they can fix me and my issues......

Pros

Support personnel!!!!

Cons

None really

Vendor response

Carla, thank you so much for the wonderful review of CenterPoint Payroll! I am glad to hear that you love the support team, and that support is able to help you get any issues solved. Thanks for taking the time to write this review. We are grateful to have you as a customer! Stephanie Elsen, Red Wing Software

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

Good basic product, but has the potential to be so much more!

Reviewed 4 years ago

While Centerpoint Payroll does our payroll well, it is seriously lacking in the reporting capabilities. Most of the reports are designed to be printed to paper and are not conducive to exporting into excel in a meaningful way. When exporting to excel reports need to be in a row and column format. By this I mean that a single row will be for a single record where the report will have many columns...

Pros

No pros were added to this review

Cons

No cons were added to this review

Vendor response

John, Thank you for your review of CenterPoint Payroll. I talked to support and they suggested an option to export raw data to .csv. Also, our new online time clock may solve the HR functions you mentioned. For anything it does not solve, we can enter them in as suggestions for improvement. Please contact support; they are aware of our correspondence and want to help. Thank you. Stephanie, Red Wing Software

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Pleasantly Suprised

Reviewed 5 years ago

In 2013 we switched our accounting system to a "shop system" which did not come with a payroll package. The "shop" system was a nightmare but they recommended CenterPoint payroll and I have been very pleased with the ease of use and the support I received getting it set up. I like it very much.

Pros

Ease of use. When I have had to call support they have always been able to answer my questions and are very pleasant.

Cons

I have not figured out how to eliminate inactive employees from the employee list when running a new payroll but I have not taken the time to call support to see if there is a way because I only have three.

Vendor response

Wow, Jane, thank you so much for taking the time to write this glowing review! It is great to hear that you are loving CenterPoint Payroll. Whenever you are ready, just give our support team a call and we will help you figure out the inactive employees. Thanks again! Stephanie Elsen, Red Wing Software

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend6/10

Share this review:

As a whole ....

Reviewed 5 years ago

it's a comprehensive flexible program that lets you personalize it many ways. However, personally I have an issue I have not been able to resolve (even after contact with the support group...) . I need the program to calculate a garnish with a limit of 65% of NET pay... it seems no matter what I do it calculates 65 % of GROSS pay. (Frustrating!)

Pros

Comprehensive.

Cons

No cons were added to this review

Vendor response

Margareta, Thank you for your review of CenterPoint Payroll. I am sorry to hear about the issue you are having with the wage garnishment calculations. I have checked into this issue with the support team, and here is their response: You can setup a garnishment to calculate as a percentage of net pay by using the type="garnishment" on the deduction setup. On the employee's setup in the rate, you...

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Small payroll user

Reviewed 3 years ago

I have found CenterPoint Payroll a very good solution for easily producing payrolls and tracking the information we want to see in our business.

Pros

CenterPoint Payroll allows me to pay my employees, keep track of specific information about fields worked in, equipment used, department tracking, etc. It stays current with tax changes and allows deductions and has a variety of reports to mine information for tax reporting and payments and business analysis.

Cons

Unless I've missed it, I can't change the order the checks print in.

Vendor response

Thank you so much for your review, Frieda! We appreciate your response. I checked with our support staff, and you can definitely change the order the checks print in. If you call support, they will show you how. Thanks for being a Red Wing Software customer! Stephanie Elsen, Red Wing Software

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

One Change I would like to see on CenterPoint Payroll

Reviewed 3 years ago

Very happy with the program.

Pros

Ease of use, once the setup procedures are finished.

Cons

When you are creating a new payroll where you choose the dates - I really think "THIS FRIDAY" should be a choice as almost all of my, and I assume most user's, need that as the pay date. That way every payroll it will come up to that instead of having to change the date every single time.

Vendor response

Thanks so much for your review, Robin! I am glad to hear about the ease of use you've experienced. I have taken your suggestion and entered it as a suggestion within our support database. We appreciate your response! Thanks for being a Red Wing Software customer. Stephanie Elsen, Red Wing Software

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Center Point Payroll Customer Review

Reviewed 3 years ago

Easy for me to say it is easy now. I know I struggled a bit at the start but Redwing support was great and now that I have the hang of it it is a breeze. By far the best part of Center Point Payroll is the redwing support system.

Pros

The expert support I can get at any time I run into a snag.

Cons

Cannot hold my WC codes to the earnings codes so have to enter that each time

Vendor response

Wow, Roxanne, thank you so much for the wonderful review. We really appreciate your comments about the support team! Stephanie Elsen Red Wing Software

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Glad I have it

Reviewed 3 years ago
Pros

I am not an accountant but a small business owner who does most of the office work myself. Having the support staff with Red Wing has been great. They are always willing to help me with a question or concern.

Cons

I haven't had any problems with the program.

Vendor response

Kim, thank you so much for your review of CenterPoint Payroll! We appreciate your input and we appreciate having you as a customer! Stephanie Elsen, Red Wing Software

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

Works fine for payroll but anybody can do that

Reviewed 8 years ago

Fair to poor. Because of the above comments. Otherwise it would be great.

Pros

It computes payroll just fine

Cons

Reporting is just terrible. Reports do not lend themselves to export to Excel. Yes there is an export feature but it is useless if the report data is not one record in a row with all the data elements in columns. There should be a report builder or provide a data dictionary so that I can use Crystal Reports. This type of functionality has been around forever. The lack of reporting makes me want...

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Excellent Payroll Product!

Reviewed 3 years ago
Pros

The program is extremely intuitive. I've trained a couple of people to use it throughout the years, and it has been very easy to do. I just love everything about it!

Cons

There is not one quality about this program that I dislike.

Vendor response

WOW, Carrie! Thank you so much for your wonderful review of CenterPoint Payroll! We really appreciate that! Thanks for being a Red Wing Software customer!! Stephanie Elsen, Red Wing Software

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

Solve your Payroll Problems

Reviewed 4 years ago

We have used Red Wing software since 2000 and have been very satisfied. At the end of 2011 we upgraded from Red Wing Payroll system to Center Point Payroll. We had tremendous support from Red Wing Technical Support for the transition. We had an update where our Pay Run would not run and our Pay Date was the next day. Red Wing support stayed with us until after hours to get the Pay Run up and running. We are in Agriculture so we track a lot of items that normal payroll systems can't track. Red Wing support helped us expand with their software that are largest payroll last year of 750 employee's processed quickly.

Pros

No pros were added to this review

Cons

No cons were added to this review

Vendor response

Stephen, Thank you so very much for your glowing review of CenterPoint Payroll! Glad to hear the support team was able to help, and that your payroll runs smoothly. We appreciate having you as a customer! Stephanie, Red Wing Software

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

Wonderful

Reviewed 7 years ago

Our company has only used Centerpoint Payroll for over a year now. It is wonderful! So quick and simple to use. Our prior payroll service had discontinued its services leaving us to find another program to use. I am so glad we decided to go with Redwing's Centerpoint. They offer exceptional training and the customer support is superb. Thank you Red Wing for making our transition easy and enjoyable.

Pros

No pros were added to this review

Cons

No cons were added to this review

Vendor response

Thank you so much Jada for your wonderful review of Red Wing Software and CenterPoint Payroll! We strive to provide excellent payroll software, support and training, and seeing your comments is very rewarding. We are grateful to have you as a customer! Stephanie, Red Wing Software

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

Great product!

Reviewed 4 years ago

The transition to CenterPoint Payroll went so well and the software has endless capabilities. I have been on it for about 1 1/2 years. Most of my questions I can get from the online help menu and the few times I have had to call for assistance they are just awesome!

Pros

No pros were added to this review

Cons

No cons were added to this review

Vendor response

Sue, Thank you so very much for the wonderful review of CenterPoint Payroll! We appreciate having you as a customer! Stephanie, Red Wing Software

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

No Point Payroll

Reviewed 4 years ago

We purchased Centerpoint only for the emailed pay vouchers. This the only good feature, otherwise, I would have stayed with the RedWing version. It's hard to find reports and difficult to create one based upon your needs. We are paid weekly which I know maybe odd now days, but that was not an option, so I had to make adjustments to each salaried person every time there is 53 pay periods in a year. If it wasn't for technical support, I would not have made it through. I can not in good conscience recommend this product.

Pros

No pros were added to this review

Cons

No cons were added to this review

Vendor response

Wilma, Thank you for writing this review of CenterPoint Payroll. Sorry to hear about this issue - I've talked to support and they said you can indeed set up your employees to be paid weekly. Please call support and they will assist you in getting that set up correctly. Thank you Stephanie, Red Wing Software