App comparison

Add up to 4 apps below to see how they compare. You can also use the "Compare" buttons while browsing.

BigBlueButton Logo

Open source web conferencing system for online learning

(23)

GetApp offers objective, independent research and verified user reviews. We may earn a referral fee when you visit a vendor through our links. Learn more

BigBlueButton Reviews

Overall rating

4.2

/5

64

Rating criteria

  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7.98/10

Reviews by rating

Suggested alternatives

freeconferencecall-com
webinargeek

Pros and cons

I love that BigBlueButton offers a strong, safe platform for all the users. I love the quick, clear concise connections and content available.
However this product has amazing features specially for virtual classrooms. For me this is very much better than Flagship products.
They came from a flash player into HTML5 with excellent sound, video and great presentational features (provided you have a stable internet connection).
The recordings changed the orientation of my slide images making all the notes I took on them useless and confusing.
It's just sad that most people don't know about it or are afraid to use it.
Not much customizable with out having issues with the setup. Recording of comnferences sometimes fails randomly.
Filter reviews by

Overall rating


Company size


Industry


Time used


64 reviews

Recommended

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Rubangakene I.

Computer Games, 1-10 employees

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Perfect tool for video Conferencing and Online Discussions

Reviewed 2 years ago

Throughout my experiences using BigBlueButton i noticed the software works best with computers of RAM starting from 4GB anything below tends to slow down the video real time signal and it freeze

Pros

The best thing I like about BigBlueButton is its integration with the Learning Management Systems. This saves a lot of time and effort since all the necessary tools are available to aid learning sessions. Another thing is also it's customization for example choosing own colors and designs for the online classroom, enabling or disabling features based on your demands

Cons

I think have no issue with BigBlueButton and still hoping to discover more interesting features

AvatarImg

Verified reviewer

Information Technology and Services, 51-200 employees

Used weekly for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Bigbluebutton, Is it worth?

Reviewed 2 years ago

I have integrated Bigbluebutton for many reputed IT companies in our country and in overall it was very good customer satisfaction than other most expensive products.Hence this is open source and can be customized per companies like their own platform.Also, it was really easy to use and they had only a good experience with this.

Pros

With compare of the other products,such as zoom,google meet; Bigbluebutton is free and open source software with same as payable product features. Also with compare of the other open source products like jitsi, Bigbluebutton has most reliable and feature base product for me.

Cons

As of this product has limitations of the users per meeting in a sessions. As compare with the zoom, this has limitations per session with more than 250+ users. Currently this limitation improved with using mediasoup , but it need more improvement of this limitations per session with lots of users with video and audio on per session. Also it's better to have the remote desktop feature for this product.

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Islam K.

Education Management, 51-200 employees

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

good software ... but!

Reviewed 4 years ago

overall bbb is good software to manage video conference if develop process continue as it is maybe in 3 years we will have golden product

Pros

bbb is very easy to set , implement and lunch and has very simple view help anyone to manage it , beside it is large community and devloping proccess

Cons

i think the position of developing cycle is wrong i mean bbb need more develop for customer and end user who is not technical i mean for all our teacher how hard it was to manage and customize and that is first; second bbb has weak error view system for example sometimes internet connection is too bad for sharing and bbb loading for ever it will be greate to show error msg "hi your connection is bad" that so simple but i think end user ( no technical user ) is not calculated here.

MF
AvatarImg

Marc F.

Research, 51-200 employees

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Like black coffee: Plain and it always works!

Reviewed 2 years ago

Overall, BigBlueButton is spotless and covers the standard use cases for online meeting and online teaching. I would choose BigBlueButton over any alternative product because of its simplicity in use and service delivery.

Pros

BigBlueButton has become a daily companion for me. It is nothing more and nothing less than a simple service for online communication, without attracting attention with desktop applications or data integrity concerns. In the field of academic work, where it is also important that meetings between researchers can be realized worldwide and quickly, BigBlueButton is simple and highly functional. BigBlueButton...

Cons

It is often noticeable that BigBlueButton has problems with audio connection. Especially if the browsers used are not Chrome, Firefox or the InternetExplorer it can be that BigBlueButton does not allow a connection to headphones. Often this can cause delays in meetings.

BS
AvatarImg

Brian S.

Libraries, 11-50 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Very solid choice

Reviewed 2 years ago

We are a nonprofit, and these folks make life easier. They are great to work with and very responsive. Not a common experience with previous vendors we've used.

Pros

We've been very happy with this product. The Moodle integration is critical for us, and it is solid. It will soon be packaged with Moodle itself, which should only serve to make it even better in the future. The interface is simple enough for anyone to familiarize with it and it checks off the majority of our boxes.

Cons

I think slide navigation could be better. And currently, hyperlinks don't work on slides. These are things that used to be features on their old client versions before rewriting to remove Flash. So I'm hopeful they'll return at some point.

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Faiyaz T.

Design, 1-10 employees

Used weekly for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

A free Conferencing system with a lot of features!

Reviewed 3 years ago

It was very easy to install. I had a great conference everytime I used Bigbluebutton. Just when I had clients using mac. I needed to consider another software having multiple os supporting feature.

Pros

I love how stable the video and audio quality is! And a lot of features and functionality it provides like hand raising, file sharing, whiteboard, polls, presentation tools, presentation streaming, screensharing, recording and more. And all of these are so stable and smooth working. I am really very satisfied with Bigbluebutton.

Cons

There are some cons but they're so less comparing to the pros. It's only available in Linux and Windows. Mobile and mac users can't use it. Community support lacks a bit.

MA
AvatarImg

Madragule A.

Computer Software, 51-200 employees

Used daily for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

A thought on BigBlueButton

Reviewed 2 years ago

I have personally enjoyed using BigBlueButton, the experience has been okay, except for the fact that when the system seems to be overwhelmed with traffic, it immediately crashes down, I would I definitely recommend

Pros

One of the BigBlueButton’s pros is it’s pricing compared to other options out there I believe it wins the pricing battle

Cons

The only con with BigBlueButton is that whenever there’s a high traffic onto the system it tends crash down and also the fact that there’s no remote control feature but, as long as all other features are concerned it is great

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Jhon Jaiver S.

E-Learning, 1-10 employees

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

The best software for remote study

Reviewed 2 years ago

it gave me a very good experience in implementing platforms on my own servers and organizing meetings in a few steps, the role system is very well thought out it is a great platform

Pros

A complete integration to be able to carry out online classes with an excellent quality of video and sound, a software in constant development that allows integrations with other online education platforms

Cons

The installation must be done by a person who knows what he is doing, or you can also purchase this service from third parties and thus save all these installation steps.

EL
AvatarImg

Eduardo L.

Primary/Secondary Education, 51-200 employees

Used weekly for less than 6 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

My review of Big Blue Button

Reviewed 4 years ago

It has been quite positive. I have used it regularly during lockdown when it was impossible to teach face to face at school.

Pros

The ease with which I can handle a Synchronous Virtual Classroom meeting: Uploading Files, Sharing my screen and all the other functionalities enable me to carry out this aspect of Distance Teaching without problems.

Cons

Unless I am mistaken, I cannot upload more than one file. If I upload toe, the first one gets erased.

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Damla T.

Education Management, 5,001-10,000 employees

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend3/10

Share this review:

Needs improvement

Reviewed 2 years ago

It was problematic. It was nice to use a clean and minimal interface but the icons made it difficult to understand which button is for what use and most problematic part was that you cannot undo simplest tasks (i.e. undo something you wrote on whiteboard). PPT upload for presentation takes too long and you lose presentation screen completely, which causes you to lose control of the class and chat during that time.

Pros

Minimalist and clean looking interface.

Cons

not memorable, error correction is almost impossible, icons do not explain themselves and there are different areas on the presentation screen where functions are scattered, hard to find some of them. Some commands are easily confused with each other.

AI
AvatarImg

Ana Isabel L.

Higher Education, 51-200 employees

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

Carencias del software para la enseñanza de idiomas online

Reviewed 4 years ago

Al trabajar en un Centro de Idiomas universitario, debido al confinamiento,los profesores tuvimos que buscar a toda prisa diferentes plataformas para seguir con la docencia online. Big BlueButton no fue una opción al principio, tal vez pq no fuera la más publicitada ni la de más fácil acceso y rendimiento en la enseñanza de idiomas online. Al implantar una nueva versión de moodle en el Centro de Idiomas donde trabajo, se eligió BBB por su fiabilidad y la seguridad que ofrecía, y por ser una plataforma gratuita.

Pros

Según parece, es un método fiable para implementarlo dentro de la plataforma moodle con la que trabajamos, sin comprometer la información contenida dentro de la empresa para la que trabajo. Es gratuita y permite implementarlo dentro de la plataforma moodle con la que estamos trabajando.

Cons

A pesar de tener las mismas características q otras plataformas de videoconferencia para clases online (audio y vídeo, chat grupal, compartición de pantalla...) hay varios aspectos mejorables para facilitar la enseñanza de idiomas por videoconferencia: - Reducido espacio de pantalla disponible para ver a los alumnos , ya q las notas compartidas y el listado de los alumnos presentes (a la derecha...

Showing original review in Spanish. See translation

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Martina M.

Computer Software, 11-50 employees

Used weekly for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Ottimo software per FAD sincrona

Reviewed a year ago

Abbiamo integrato BBB nel nostro Moodle per la gestione della FAD sincrona: ci permette di tracciare la formazione in modo puntuale e integrare i dati con quelli della FAD asincrona su Moodle in modo semplice e completo.

Pros

Tra le piattaforme per la didattica a distanza sincrona, è una delle più complete. Ha tantissime funzionalità per il coinvolgimento degli allievi, permette di gestire la formazione in diversi modi. La condivisione di slide e video integrati senza condivisione dello schermo è un aspetto chiave. La presenza di tantissime lingue per l'interfaccia rende la piattaforma molto inclusiva. Si integra facilmente con Moodle permettendo il tracciamento della formazione. La nuova Learning Analytics Dashboard dell'ultima versione è utilissima per avere un riassunto delle azioni durante la lezione online.

Cons

Non è facilissimo da installare e configurare, richiede necessariamente l'intervento di un professionista.

Showing original review in Italian. See translation

AvatarImg

Verified reviewer

Education Management, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend5/10

Share this review:

Simple Webconferencing software, but lacking in big name features

Reviewed 4 years ago

Overall works well, but would prefer other competitors such as Zoom or Google Meets.

Pros

This software is integrated with Canvas LMS by Instructure, making it easy for schools already using the Canvas LMS to adopt. It has a robust security system to prevent "zoombombing" as only registered people in each course can access the conference they have been invited to with a unique user token. Certain features such as breakout rooms, shared whiteboard and embedded video player would rival other video conferencing software such as Google Meets, and it most definitely has most if not all classroom needs for most schools around the world. The Learning curve is low, and it runs smoothly most of the time. Private chat works very well, and is intuitive to use.

Cons

The design is a bit outdated, and looks a slightly boring. "Hot" features right now such as virtual backgrounds and full screen tile view is not up to par with competitors, and there are small annoyances such as keyboard shortcuts not working on MACs and the need to do an "echo test" every time I enter a new conference which takes several seconds off my precious time. Additionally, the ability to record...

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Akumu E.

Computer Software, self-employed

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

A Light Weight Online Discussion Software for LMS

Reviewed 2 years ago

I have a problem of being limited to one discussion room but when I kicked off with BigBlueButton, I realized I can host as many discussion rooms as possible at the same time.

Pros

I really like this software because of the connection it has with learning management systems and the level of feature flexibilities it offers in terms of customization for example using domain name to host discussions.

Cons

I find the video recordings somehow larger in size.

AvatarImg

Verified reviewer

E-Learning, 1-10 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Videoconferencias para clases y reuniones

Reviewed a year ago

Es un software muy confiable en la planificación de conferencias para enselanza clase virtuales y reuniones de negocio y formación.

Pros

Su integración con mutiples plataformas que funciona de manera independiente en servidor propio de desarrollo.

Cons

Los servidores para su funcionalidad debe considerarse de manera exclusiva ya que requiere muchas características para optimo funcionamiento.

Showing original review in Spanish. See translation

AvatarImg

Verified reviewer

Information Technology and Services, 501-1,000 employees

Used daily for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Free Virtual classroom and Video conferencing

Reviewed 3 years ago

We have integrated BBB with state school LMS of our region. When only the presenter sharing his video this is running very smoothly. Need more resources to open everyone's video. However this product has amazing features specially for virtual classrooms. For me this is very much better than Flagship products.

Pros

+Installation is easy +Clarity of video and audio is very high +Presentations can be uploaded and can present online instead of sharing presenter's screen. +Customizable +Can be integrated with major LMS like Moodle, Jenzabar etc

Cons

+ Resource hungry when multiple users using camera/video + Not all OS/platforms are supported. + Lack of community support.

MG
AvatarImg

Maja G.

Education Management, self-employed

Used weekly for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Very satisfied with BigBlueButton

Reviewed 3 years ago

I'm going to recommend everyone I know BigBlueButton because it was really easy to use and I had only a good experience with it.

Pros

I really liked the simple way of registration, options in the virtual classroom, breakout rooms that is not that common to have in other software (they were really useful). Whiteboard is the option that is often used in other software but this one didn't have any interruptions and everything during the class was in real-time.

Cons

Customer support was really hard to get, but I think this is due to the situation in the world that everyone is going on online courses.

LW
AvatarImg

Leander W.

Government Relations, 201-500 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Super Software

Reviewed a year ago
Pros

Der komplette Server ist kostenfrei, und dennoch ist der Funktionsumfann sehr groß. Auch die Problematik mit geblockten Ports ist durch einen Serverdienst gelöst.

Cons

Die Administration lässt sehr zu wünschen übrig. Nach Versionsupgrades sind angepasste Templates nicht mehr verwendbar.

Showing original review in German. See translation

HZ
AvatarImg

Heather Z.

Education Management, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used daily for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend5/10

Share this review:

Big blue button is not the best

Reviewed 4 years ago

I would say My overall experience with big blue button this poor. like I mentioned, we have to use it daily because there is no other option with my son's distance learning but I would choose another product in a heartbeat if it were an option..

Pros

I don't really have any pros to say about bigbluebutton. We use it because we don't have another option with my son's distance learning. I would definitely prefer zoom or another video conferencing app.

Cons

We use bigbluebutton because we don't have another option with my son's distance learning. I would definitely prefer zoom or another video conferencing app. Bigbluebutton proves to be inconsistent with whether it's going to work. It is very glitchy with both the audio and video. Makes distance learning extremely hard.

SR
AvatarImg

Sri R.

Education Management, 501-1,000 employees

Used other for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

A user Friendly Platform for Live Classes

Reviewed 3 years ago
Pros

BigBlueButton is easy to use platform. From setting up the schedules, screen sharing, and creating break-out sessions, we can do these in a simple and straightforward way. As an instructor, we are also given many authorities in managing students accesses during live classes. BBB also provides many facilities to maintain or strengthen student's engagement such as polling, multi-user whiteboarding, live chatting, and emojis.

Cons

BigBlueButton is integrated with my university's LMS. Actually, I like BBB as it is simple to use and it offers us many useful features for live classes. However, as more and more lecturers in my university are using this platform, the system is often down impacting the BBB's performance. Also sometimes my camera was locked incidentally: I could see my videos alive from my side, but my students couldn't. In such cases, we have to find other alternatives for live teachings.

AvatarImg

Alper Ö.

Financial Services, 10,001+ employees

Used weekly for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend6/10

Share this review:

Great meeting app

Reviewed a year ago
Pros

As a result of my and my teacher's experience , BigBlueButton is the most useful online meeting application. It provides a lot of easiness to users.

Cons

There are some features could be useful in my opinion, like file sharing by chat etc.

AvatarImg

Verified reviewer

Hospitality, 501-1,000 employees

Used weekly for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

Great for Online Tutoring

Reviewed 3 years ago
Pros

I started using this product when my volunteer tutoring went from in-person to online. It's very interactive so that both the student and tutor can be typing information. You can also upload worksheets to fill in or write on. It also includes other common features like video, shared screen and a whiteboard.

Cons

Some of the features are a bit clunky. You can type on the screen but you need to create a text box first. Depending on how much text you have and the size of the box, you may not be able to see all of the text. It also makes it hard to continue to add text after you close the box. There's also been technical difficulties where one user can't see what they are typing. There's no flashy things like emoji reactions or noise canceling features.

AG
AvatarImg

Amit G.

Education Management, 11-50 employees

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Reliable meeting and online teaching tool

Reviewed 4 years ago

My overall experience was with bigbluebutton is good only faced issue in greenlight. I would like to have its Android version also. Currently we can use in browser(mozilla or chrome)

Pros

Bigbluebutton is powerful and robust server application which have all sort of features required for online teaching, meeting and collaboration. The step by step guide is yet easy to deploy this application. The presenter, viewer part, integration of audio bridge, screen sharing, file presentation, polls etc are nice features.

Cons

Overall customization of different parts is not so easy and there is very limited resources available for helping in this. Something like greenlight installation is not easy and support on web is almost nowhere about this. The application required higher bandwidth for video audio/ video and screen sharing streams which makes it hefty on resources side. Audio does sometime hiccups usually when multiple people taking at once.

SO
AvatarImg

Sergio O.

International Trade and Development, 1-10 employees

Used monthly for less than 6 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

All schools and universities should be using it!

Reviewed 4 years ago
Pros

This is the prove that open source software can be better than paid software. It's the one tool for education. You have shared board, real-time survey and more.

Cons

The servers are a bit expensive if you want to run it 24/7. The shared board could have option to just let one student write on it. Also, the teacher should have the option to mute the alumni.

CS
AvatarImg

Carolyn S.

E-Learning, 201-500 employees

Used weekly for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

Big Blue Button

Reviewed 2 years ago

My overall experience has been very positive. The integration into Canvas was smooth and the tools are familiar, thus not requiring extensive training or extra cost.

Pros

This software is easier to integrate into our LMS for online learners. The analytics and feedback tools are easy to use and provide valuable information for course improvement. The technology also feels familiar. The open-source feature makes it available to anyone.

Cons

There are no drawbacks to that I can report. Big Blue Button is cost-effective and easy to use---even for individuals new to online learning.