This is your compare tray

Apps you want to compare will be listed here. Launch a head to head comparison at any time.

osTicket Reviews

Reviews summary

Pros

It has all the best features, is easy to set up, deploy, and maintain and is fully customizable. I needed a help desk platform that could be hosted on-site and osTicket has fit the bill perfectly.

Shawn B.

In terms of simplicity, OSTicket is really user-friendly and easy to use platform that perfectly realises its own purposes of being reliable ticketing system.

Giorgi G.

I like that is free, the installation is easy and the software is user friendly. OsTicket is a customizable ticket system that offers some nice features like email notifications.

Anonymous Reviewer

Cons

The main disadvantage of the system might be its lack of statistical measurements. It was the main aspect I was lacking while using the OsTicket.

Giorgi G.

Difficult to install, you need a webmaster to do so, very proficient on Apache and php.

Alejandro H.

For out of the box ticketing system, this software has no real downsides. Some have said its hard to install but I did not have any issues getting it up and running.

Tyler A.

Overall rating

4.3

5

4

3

2

1

18

21

5

0

0

89%
positive reviews
100%
would recommend this app

Filter reviews by


Overall rating


Company size


Industry


Time used


44 reviews

recommended

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Great Help Desk Ticket System

Reviewed 4 years ago
Pros

oS Ticket has been a great IT Help Desk system for our company. Users can easily send in a help request via email, and oS ticket automatically creates a ticket and alerts our help desk. The system allows for tickets to be assigned to different technicians, change hands, and keeps a detailed note/tracking of everything associated with the ticket. There are a lot of great reports as well, including # of tickets closed, average response time, etc.

Cons

No cons were added to this review

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Miglior sistema di ticketing gratuito sul mercato

Reviewed 3 months ago

Abbiamo impostato il software per la gestione dei nostri clienti e lo utilizziamo ormai da diversi anni senza nessun problema.

Pros

Offre tutte le funzionalità necessarie per gestire i ticket degli utenti o dei clienti configurando team o gruppi di lavoro. Possibilità di creare campi custom e di personalizzare i template del form di inserimento dati.

Cons

Ho trovato qualche difficoltà nella configurazione iniziale degli utenti e dei team di lavoro, presenta però una grande community online.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

Probably Best Free Customer Support Platform ever.

Reviewed 5 years ago

OSTicket is so far my beloved customer support system when it comes to free platforms and easy of use functionality. I have spent over 1 year of managing and using OsTicket with 18 different agents and 4 separate departments. Thus, I will share my review of the system below in few words. (Please note this is about the self-hosted package of OsTicket, not Cloud-based.) The main advantage of the...

Pros

No pros were added to this review

Cons

No cons were added to this review

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Rock solid, no problems or outages related to the software for over 9 years!

Reviewed 3 years ago

This software gives our employees a place to report problems to multiple departments and receive timely answers to their technical issues. It allows us to measure metrics for performance, and see trends in issues. Importantly it also allows us to have a historical reference of all problems, outages, etc.

Pros

osTicket is the best open source ticking system out there. Did I mention that it's free? It's fairly easy to customize and is very intuitive! It has an active support forum and community supporting it. There are third party developers that have created (free and paid) plugins and modifications to help others customize their system to their environment and companies needs. Need paid support or hosting? Need custom installation services? Have a feature that isn't available that you need? Enhancesoft, the parent company that owns and pays developers to work on the project, offer all of that.

Cons

There are a couple of features that I think are important that this type of product has, and they [the developers] have been really slow to implement them. Responsive Themes being the biggest of these. While you can modify it to make your own themes this type of feature is needed. note: Devs have promised this with the forth coming 2.0 release.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Free and easy to setup support ticket system to deliver a great user support experience.

Reviewed 4 years ago
Pros

Being free to use and easy to implement and setup, osTicket is suitable for non-profit and small business. osTicket offers large set of features and options that enables to customize and deliver great user support experience for example you can create custom departments, customize support system pages and modify ticket fields like adding additional ticket fields. osTicket is a very customizable support ticket system that offers many options to help customize all aspects of user support experience like the ability to customize departments, emails sent to user, pages and alerts. osTicket offers an easy to setup knowledge base of frequently asked questions to help minimize support requests.

Cons

osTicket lacks some important options and features like the option to automatically close tickets after a certain period of time, an option to disable Overdue behavior and the lack of custom themes of both user and agent interfaces.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

Perfect software for my ecommerce website support portal

Reviewed 3 years ago
Pros

When my ecommerce business started to take off and we were placing 400 orders a day, we needed something better than just an email inbox to manage customer service. With osTicket, I can manage my several customer service managers and inboxes to ensure we are utilizing our time in the best way possible, and serving our customers needs effectively. osTicket was the perfect addition to our toolbelt, and after trying alternatives, this was still the front runner.

Cons

The setup is a bit involved. There are a lot of out of the box settings that need modified in various places in the interface. It does take time to get used to the interface, but once you get the hang of it, the software is set and forget style. Works well for me anyway.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

osTicket - Issue Tracking Made Easier

Reviewed 4 months ago
Pros

It's the best open source ticketing system. Claiming and reassigning tickets is very easy, as well as email notification is sent out, once a ticket is overdue. User is able to export tickets quickly using the filtering option of, Assignee, ticket status, and date. From the exported report one is able to see when a ticket was raised and closed. This helps to track on the SLA's

Cons

OSticket, does not show how long a ticket took to be escalated to the next level, i.e from level 1 to level 2. It lacks the option to automatically close an overdue ticket after a particular time. There should be an option to reassign a ticket to the next person, if its overdue

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

Support tickets, email notifications, mobile app, all relatively easy to use

Reviewed 3 years ago

Support ticket software, for free. But not the best feature set around.

Pros

Ticket tracking and email notification Tasks can be added to tickets for additional steps before a ticket can be closed. User management is fairly easy, and users can be organized by teams and departments Files can be attached to the ticket. A Paid Mobile app allows for simple ticket management.

Cons

Notifications and team/department access seems haphazard and a bit of an afterthought. It could be much better organized. Mobile app is very limited and very pricey for what little it actually accomplishes.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Great tool forticketing

Reviewed 3 years ago
Pros

Solution that is free, lightweight, reliable, open source, and easy to setup and use. Has most of the features of the paid solutions. Easy to tie to company websites for customers to open tickets.

Cons

You need to know how to set it up and host it your self.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Best open source Ticket system EVER!

Reviewed 3 years ago

love it Free and Great helpdesk software !

Pros

I love this software. We use to use Zendesk but at a user, it wasn't worth it. osTicket save us a ton of time with the FAQ feature that allows our end users to look up and answer without submitting a ticket. We have about 500 FAQ's entered into the system. The ticket system has great integration with gmail allowing tickets to be emailed of submitted via a form. The software is open source so if you are tech savvy you can just install it for free. We run in AWS for / month and have 5 IT Techs on the system. Regular updates are released so we won't be left with an outdated product

Cons

No major cons. I wish they would modernize the UI. The UI is about 10 years behind as of 5/2018. Also the API is not full featured on certain actions can be done in the API :( IF you don't want to integrate into existing software this will not matter for you.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Backbone Ticketing For Tech

Reviewed 2 years ago

Overall OSTicket lets our tech and maintenance teams address issues in a timely fashion. It is pretty simple to use and therefore easier than some systems for our less technical staff.

Pros

The software allows our staff to create trouble tickets for both tech and maintenance. The incorporation into out email system (Gmail) easily lets staff create these tickets through simple emails. More advanced users can log into the portal and track all of their open tickets.

Cons

Our previous software was harder to setup but had a few more features. It would be nice to have a heftier reporting feature or trend management built in. Inclusion of asset tracking would be a plus too.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

osTicket

Reviewed 2 years ago

Overall osTicket has significantly helped me streamline our IT support in a mid-sized company.

Pros

osTicket is an open-source help desk ticketing system. It has all the best features, is easy to set up, deploy, and maintain and is fully customizable. I needed a help desk platform that could be hosted on-site and osTicket has fit the bill perfectly.

Cons

I really don't have any cons for this software. It's open-source and the developers monitor their support forums well so issues can be resolved in a timely manner.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

Free and Easy!

Reviewed 3 years ago
Pros

This software is easy to deploy, just git clone from https://github.com/osTicket/osTicket Feature packed and ready for SMB deployment on your own servers. Community support is active and easy. Also available as an install package on Synology NAS

Cons

For out of the box ticketing system, this software has no real downsides. Some have said its hard to install but I did not have any issues getting it up and running. The fact that you can install this as a package direct from Synology package store makes it even easier.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

It suited our needs at the time

Reviewed 2 years ago

Like a I said in the title it fitted our needs at the time, but as we improved our system we found that we had outgrown the software.

Pros

It's easy of use is second to none. Everything is very intuitive and you can't fault it for that. It does the job it sets out to do, provide a space to view any issues that come into your service desk

Cons

The system just lacks a polished finish. From a visual perspective it looks out of date and it's lacking feature which people nower days probably want like reporting.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

osTicket

Reviewed 3 years ago

So far great experience.

Pros

Great simple application for support ticket. I am using this app for the past 8 years or more. For someone looking for a basic ticketing system, this is the one. Since the app is opensource, no need to pay for it. lately they have paid hosted versions. I am running mine in my own server. For me this works perfectly as a ticketing platform. You can create web tickets or email tickets.

Cons

Reporting can be better. Since its a free app, it's not fair to complain.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

It gets the job done without the clutter

Reviewed 3 years ago
Pros

The installation is really easy being a PHP application. It lacks some features present in other support management applications, but it has the minimum necesary to get the job done without complications. It has a very ease to use API to make osTicket work with external systems like call center and CRM.

Cons

The search functionality needs some work. It's difficult to search for specific customers or even ticket ID, but overall, is OK.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Great software

Reviewed 3 years ago

We implemented this software to better track the problems encountered by our clients and to better assist them.

Pros

Open sourced, customizable, very easy to use and multi-user. You get reports so you can keep track of your statistics. Its easy to setup and install and you can host it on your own servers.

Cons

Search function is terrible. Feels a bit unfinished but they are always doing upsates and improving.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Flexible and very user friendly software

Reviewed 3 years ago

It's a good and free platform!

Pros

Being free to use and easy to implementation gives us a huge savings in our organization. osTicket offers large sets of free plugins and options that enables to customize the osTicket dashboard based on your organization. For example, you can customize the user support like email sents, knowledge based or FAQ in front of the report ticket dashboard.

Cons

Initial installation can be difficult if you have never do this before. There are many services to be setup just to get it work.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

We use multiple instances of this software from IT tickets to Purchase orders

Reviewed 3 years ago

It is versatile. We use it for multiple things like IT support, Customer complaints, and contractor purchases.

Pros

Once it is setup, it runs itself with almost no tweaking. It has all of the same features as paid helpdesk suites.

Cons

Initial configuration can be difficult if you have never done it before. There are so many things to setup just to get it working.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

osticket open source and easy to implement

Reviewed 3 years ago
Pros

its a open source PHP easy edit to program don't need any PHP professional development skill reporting system is excellent we can customize as per ours requirement

Cons

sms integration should be there and email response excellent need more option for alert ticket reporting and user base very comfortable

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Os ticket keeping our tickets sorted easily

Reviewed 3 years ago
Pros

I love their free platform and allowing self hosting. Its kept our tickets neat and clean and we get them out fast. It has a user interface that is pretty easy to navigate and my customers love it

Cons

Can be a bit tricky to install but once its up its easy to do.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Awesome Ticketing System Once Set Up

Reviewed 3 years ago
Pros

I love that this can be used for various types of jobs, and that you can use it for multiple job types at once. For instance I use osTicket as my IT helpdesk to assign tickets and track the progress of the issue resolution with a written record. But not only that, we have a separate service department for cleaning equipment that can use it as well. All running from the same install.

Cons

Learning curve and initial set up. It is a long process to get through all the settings and features available. Once you do you won't regret it though.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Helpdesk made easier

Reviewed 3 years ago
Pros

Nice and easy to review tickets sent in. Can configure multiple emails to receive them.

Cons

Found some limitations with file types and sizes

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Open source flexible ticket and asset management system

Reviewed 2 years ago

The software worked well when used in support for services that required SLAs. With that, it was easy to analyze how efficient our support was.

Pros

Has open source version in case you have an internal development team and would like to increase functionality Simple to use hence has manageable learning curve

Cons

The initial setup and configuration to match an organization requirements takes quite sometime. But once setup everything's fine.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Amazing free software

Reviewed 3 years ago
Pros

+ Free + Supports many email addresses + Ticket filters come as a bonus to allow automatic assigning to staff

Cons

- Appears to be quite clunky in regards to making changes - Staff backend is quite outdated and doesn't perform above standards - Some minor bugs here and there