App comparison

Add up to 4 apps below to see how they compare. You can also use the "Compare" buttons while browsing.

Salesforce Platform Logo

Salesforce Platform

Develop enterprise & customer-facing apps

see alternatives

Salesforce Platform Reviews

User ratings

Overall rating

4.3

/5

206
87%
positive reviews
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7.93/10

See full reviews by rating

Pros and cons

Pros

Cons

I love it's customizability, the app exchange, and the Salesforce Community. The app exchange is great for free (or sometimes paid) solutions to add to your Salesforce instance and its capabilities.
It is very user friendly, offers great customization, and is great when it comes to keeping all tasks organized and on track.
The clear sections and adaptability of the platform is really amazing. Its hopeful that its shortcomings will be taken care of in the near-future releases.
Just after logging in, the wait time is considerably higher than Classic's and is very annoying to sit around while it loads with the latest update's mascot watching your frustration.
The product is so embedded in all that we do and are and with a lack of comparable products to move to, we feel like we are trapped and forced into paying the new prices every year.
Additional features can be pricey, customer service is terrible, they'll charge you for everything additional.

Salesforce Platform users...

HubSpot CRM-logocaret
listing-logo

HubSpot CRM

Dynamics 365-logocaret
listing-logo

Dynamics 365

Moxie Concierge Email Management-logocaret
avatar
listing-logo

Moxie Concierge Email Management

How would you rate Salesforce Platform?
AvatarImg
AvatarImg
AvatarImg
AvatarImg
AvatarImg
Filter reviews by

Overall rating


Company size


Industry


Time used


206 reviews

Recommended

Overall Rating

Much Improved from Classic

Reviewed 3 months ago

Transcript

Mary: My name is Mary. I'm a community engagement manager, and I give Salesforce Platform a four out...

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Flexible development platform on the cloud

Reviewed 4 years ago

The Product is very powerful. It provides flexibility to build almost any kind of applications. Business users can build useful apps without taking help from developers. Extensive set of resources are available to build expertise on the platform. Also customers/partners are always available to answer to queries.

Pros

Force.com platform (Lightning) is very powerful development platform on the browser. It can be used to build applications for any industry. The pricing is on per user per month basis. Many tools like Validation rules, Workflows, process builder are available for business users. These tools allow business users to build apps on the platform with fairly complex logic. For additional functionality, developers are needed. Developers can build more advanced features using Apex, Visualforce and Lightning Communities. Trailhead and developer account are free resources available to build expertise on the product. Excellent community of customers/partners is available to support queries.

Cons

Like any complex software there is a steep learning curve. Hiring developers in the US on the platform can be expensive. The license pricing may also be expensive for small businesses.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

SFDC - Easy Way to Keep Your Book of Business Organized

Reviewed 16 days ago
Pros

I have been a SFDC user for quite sometime. I really enjoyed the transition to lightning it's a much better UI and overall experience it keeps my deals organized and reporting is a plus as well.

Cons

sometimes if you don't know how to run certain reports it can be a learning curve but not too bad

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend6/10

Share this review:

Very Expensive Customizable Software

Reviewed 2 months ago
Pros

No coding needed for quick and easy business modifications. Highly customizable and multi use.

Cons

Licenses are considerably expensive. Extremely expensive if you’re hiring an admin, developer, or development company to manage the software.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

A big Toolbox that can reach your goals

Reviewed 3 months ago

I will say that my first contact was a little bit complicated, you need to really take your time to understand how to use it and to understand what you can do with it, with time you will see the power of the platform and that it can be usefull for a lot of people in your company.

Pros

I really like the App Exchange of Salesforce, there is a lot of applications that can help to go faster to deploy your Salesforce.

Cons

It's a toolbox so there is a lot of things that's you need to develop by yourself or with the help of a partner

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

SalesForce is a solid CRM solution

Reviewed 21 days ago

Overall we were satisfied with the software's robust list of features.

Pros

We liked the ease of use and ability to track all customer data including lead generation, calls, management and financials.

Cons

The licensing became an obstacle as we continued to grow.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend5/10

Share this review:

Feature Rich with Clunky, Dated Interface

Reviewed 6 years ago

I've been using SalesForce for 5+ years now and while feature full, it's confusing to navigate with far more clicks than necessary. The interface has not changed at all in all the years I've been using it which makes me feel like they really just don't care to make the system better.

Pros

You can add your own custom fields and organize them how you want.

Cons

Difficult to find the proper path from lead to opportunity to account. Contacts can be saved on accounts, but aren't automatically applied to opportunities forcing me several clicks to simply add a new person first to the account and then back to the opportunity to see the contact. Changes to your payment plan to reduce accounts are very difficult forcing you to request changes 3 months in advance for them to take effect. However, they have no problem increasing the plan same-day when we need to add new accounts.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend6/10

Share this review:

Salesforce

Reviewed a month ago
Pros

Everything needed for phone porting information is in one place for our customers which we need on a daily basis when doing phone installs

Cons

Sometimes the information can be overwhelming the way it is formatted making it a little hard to quickly find the information needed

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Makes my job so much easier

Reviewed a month ago

It's been great! It makes my workflow so much cleaner.

Pros

I use every aspect of Salesforce but I love the custom reporting.

Cons

I've had to get help from someone more experienced to help me with the custom reporting.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend5/10

Share this review:

Workflow Management is Key

Reviewed 24 days ago
Pros

The workflow management is all I use this for and it is helpful to keep track of stages

Cons

The tasks can get lost in the busyness of the platform.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Awesome software for clients and prospects

Reviewed 2 months ago

Positive experience so far

Pros

The ability to create and run custom reports that are sent to you at a regular cadence

Cons

The deployment process has been a bit difficult because of migrating files over from our previous application

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

Great Product, Questionable Updates and Prioritization of Features

Reviewed 5 years ago

Ohana. Get used to it.

Pros

"Accidental Admin" is a concept that Salesforce uses to emphasize how anyone can pick up and learn to configure Salesforce as an admin. The configuration style (clicks, not code) leads to a low skill floor needed to start using Salesforce. Advanced users, developers, etc. have the flexibility to customize the system to a high degree as well.

Cons

The neglect. Salesforce regularly neglects key pieces of core CRM functionality, some for more than 10 years, while either ignoring the cries for help by its userbase, or promising to fix it - only to let 10 years go by with no update. Just browse around on the success.salesforce.com Idea Exchange and you'll see what I mean. I get that Salesforce puts emphasis on the fact that the system is highly...

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Salesforce Review by a Sys Admin and Developer

Reviewed 5 years ago

I enjoy working on the platform because you can really make it do what you want it to do with the right plug-in apps or with a decent developer on staff who can add customizations with the back-end functionality to go along with them. Salesforce is continually evolving, and new releases come out three times per year with new and improved features. Salesforce can be used for nearly any business model or business workflow. Just remember that when all is said and done, it is not a cheap solution for getting rid of that old, relational database legacy CRM system. You will ultimately end up paying for more than just licensing fees for your Salesforce users.

Pros

The best thing about the force.com platform is that it's flexible. It comes with a set of standard objects such as Accounts, Contacts, Cases, Contracts, Orders, and many others. It is very easy to add new objects that can be tailored for your business use case. Originally designed mainly as a Sales tool, Salesforce now has a Service Cloud, Marketing Cloud, Analytics, and other modules that can be added on easily to provide a full enterprise infrastructure. Adding automation to user tasks via workflow rules and process builder can be done without coding. Adding triggers via Apex Code is also fairly easy for developers, since Apex is an easy language to learn.

Cons

Out of the box, Salesforce is not a very efficient tool. To prevent users from having to manually enter every piece of data to sync up objects, customization of some sort is really required. Some types of data syncing or data entry can be done with declarative tools such as workflow rules or process builder. Other things that require more complicated logic do require trigger code written by someone...

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Very comfortable and flexible platform

Reviewed 3 months ago

its great, it provides a perfect solution to our business needs, it solves the problems we had with previous systems and it allows our business to grow as we plan it

Pros

the endless possibilities it has, the business flexibility, the reporting abilities, the option to create different views with different fields for different types of users

Cons

it is not a self catered platform, it very complex to manage it and you should hire a Salesforce admin for it, unlike our previous system where it was very simple

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Everything in one place

Reviewed 3 years ago

Before lightning, we had 2 software, one for chat and email, another one where we create the cases and logs, now everything is in one place.

Pros

Email, chat and logs platform in one place, you can chat with your customer, sent emails and reply, attach files in the logs (cases), this software have embedded the ScreenMeet software and works great, you can have remote connection.

Cons

In the start some bugs and errors, they were fixed couple months after. Chat: no timer added yet, you don't know how long is the current chat. If you have 2 chats, they are open in 2 tabs, if one customer close the chat, you don't know it until open the tab, should be great if there is an alarm or sound.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Salesforce keeps your Account and Sales teams up-to-speed, organized, and ready to report on success

Reviewed a year ago

Overall I think Salesforece is a great platform. It is the #1 CRM in the world for a reason. I love it's customizability, the app exchange, and the Salesforce Community. The app exchange is great for free (or sometimes paid) solutions to add to your Salesforce instance and its capabilities. The Salesfore community is great because you can pretty much find an answer to any question you may have.

Pros

Salesforce is a blank slate. But that's a good thing! It can be completely customizable to your unique business requirements. Aside from customization, Salesforce out-of-the-box has great standard fields and functionality to manage and track leads, contacts, opportunities and accounts.

Cons

Salesforce is almost too smart. There is so much you can do with it, and if not implemented correctly, you may run into some hiccups. For example, my company grew and continued to grow but we did not scale our Salesforce platform to meet our ever-changing needs. This left us with some issues that are now being smoothed out.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Salesforce for every business

Reviewed 7 days ago

Salesforce is organized and streamlined, and I have been able to teach myself how to do lots of things within the platform with ease. I love having one unified source of truth amongst everyone at my company.

Pros

Salesforce takes the lead for CRMS. It can do everything from lead and contact management to deal tracking to streamline processes. It has so many options for storing data and it allows for so much customization. I wouldn't recommend any other CRM, even you are starting small, because this is the best CRM to grow with. It can adapt to any need and most softwares can integrate with it. It will cost you far more to cut corners with a CRM in the long wrong, so you might as well use the best.

Cons

Salesforce is a beast, and some people find it hard to learn. I don't think that, but I understand that given all the capabilities, it's important to know how to use Salesforce and to have established practices for your team.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend6/10

Share this review:

Good But Could Be Better

Reviewed 4 years ago

This program is extremely helpful for storing information, keeping track of clients, and using these tools to assist another co-worker if you are not familiar with a client's needs. It is also a great central access point with remote/field reps that may not have access to specific reports, files, data, etc.

Pros

The search feature is good, it pulls everything associated with what you are looking for.

Cons

Sometimes there are serious delays. The program will need to reset and what ever you just did does not save. The email link does not carry over the information from the email. It will log the email with the title but will not transfer the body of the email into Lightening. Not sure if this is specific to my job's version or not. Certain aspects of the program convert back to the original Salesforce Classic look

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Excellent Platform, Robust, but Complex

Reviewed 5 years ago

There's a saying that "nobody ever got fired for picking Salesforce" for a reason. It's an excellent, safe choice.

Pros

Salesforce is the most robust CRM in the market, a point that isn't debatable in my view. For an enterprise organization with complex needs, Salesforce is hard to beat. The sheer number of native integrations is a huge advantage over any other solution. The reporting you get with Salesforce is remarkable.

Cons

It's so robust, it can be overwhelming for those without Salesforce expertise, or a dedicated CRM manager in-house. The permissions are flat out hard. This is more of a con for a small business than a mid-sized to enterprise business with more internal resources. Expect to pay huge hourly rates for a consultant if you don't hire in-house.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

A Work in Progress with a Great Future

Reviewed 3 years ago

Overall it has been very good and allowed our company to solve complex, repetitive problems without having to enter a separate Visualforce page with an entire development lifecycle behind it. The component-based architecture helps my development time by reducing the overhead required for any remotely complex requirement from users.

Pros

The component-based development, instead of Classic's page-based ideals, are a breath of fresh air and a sign that Salesforce is looking forward to the future. Having the ease of creating a component and being able to reuse it everywhere in your environment is a great feeling. The components all follow the same style (if done correctly) and don't affect the loading speeds of each individual page, it just works.

Cons

The Lightning experience is definitely not complete, which is understandable as it is a work in progress, but the worst of all is the *initial* loading time. Just after logging in, the wait time is considerably higher than Classic's and is very annoying to sit around while it loads with the latest update's mascot watching your frustration.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Lightning Experience is the gift that keeps on giving

Reviewed 4 years ago

Salesforce Lightning Experience is replacing Microsoft CRM for our organization and in the short time we have had it has already given us a much better user experience with improved data and data flow.

Pros

We previously used Microsoft CRM and recently implemented Salesforce Lightning Experience. The features and support community we have found within Salesforce have been incredible and continually impressive. CRM was able to get us through the early stages of our business, but Salesforce Lightning Experience will make the difference across each of our growing teams as we continue in the growth phase of our organization. I love that any question I have about Salesforce has likely already been asked and answered by either a Salesforce expert, or a member of the Salesforce user community.

Cons

With the vastness of customizable features within the application, it can be a confusing transition to Salesforce. There is a large amount of information and training materials that are made available online, but that isn't always enough.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Can’t do my job without it!

Reviewed a year ago

It’s a great experience to use Salesforce. It allows our teams to better understand the customer health so leadership can see if accounts are at risk and need more attention or a reassessment on goals and initiatives.

Pros

I love how much you can do with salesforce. It’s our main hub for account notes, account health, support cases, renewal opportunities and more. I love how easy it is to navigate! I use it daily to update my meeting notes so I have everything in one place. It also makes it easier to transition accounts along to other members in the Customer Success and Sales departments.

Cons

It can be a lot to learn because there is so much that goes into the platform, but long term it’s worth it.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Salesforce is the right tool for most organizations that are sales and marketing driven

Reviewed 4 years ago

Salesforce is a great platform for those who have time and resources to make it work.

Pros

Customization and a broad feature set make Salesforce a real asset for our business. We have been able to integrate many other essential products, write custom code, build workflows, customize fields and objects and do pretty much everything that we have wanted to do.

Cons

The main con of Salesforce is that, for a company with "sales" in the name, they do very little to help you with actual sales practices out of the box. They don't have great sales funnel, marketing or other templates. Of course, all of this is definitely possible, but it requires previous experience and iteration upon iteration to get it right.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Excellent system for a wide range of functions, but pricey

Reviewed 4 years ago

Ability to handle the sales process, marketing, and support of complex products. We also created a knowledge base which allows agents access to the most up to date details on the products.

Pros

Ability to generate custom objects, processes, and communication across a wide range of departments makes SalesForce the ideal tool for any size company. The plus is the cloud location allowing customers and employees access around the globe.

Cons

The pricing and add on fees for certain functionality can quickly explode the budget set by your company for this solution. Be sure to think about all functions you might need and negotiate with your SalesForce contact to obtain the best pricing possible. Bundling can be powerful!

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Outstanding cloud-based platform for Custom application development and prepackaged CRM functionality for all types of business needs

Reviewed 4 years ago
Pros

No hardware purchase cost and no hardware maintenance cost, big plus Very easy to use and learn for business user and developers Pre-packaged components and widgets speedup the development effort and timelines. Minimal coding for application development Effective cloud platform for small and large enterprise End to end life-cycle management from website(site.com) to data management Very good documentation for user and developers. Awesome effort from Salesforce team by conducting webinar on new features and components

Cons

Nothing to complain as Salesforce improved lot with the new releases, however search results are still clumsy.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Make your own trasformer

Reviewed a year ago

If you can add anything you need, you will have the greatest transformer of all times!

Pros

the thing that i like the most is that you can edit almost ANYTHING! You can adjust the plataform for your particular needs. You can track your customer the entire jorney and create different status. It's a great sales plataform (duh! salesforce)

Cons

If you don't know a thing about code or interface or anything related with technology, it's going to be very hard for you at the moment of customize your Salesforce. You will need the help of Salesforce to create all the things you will nedd for your business. If you don't customize, you will not be able to make the most of it. It is not very helpful with marketing, so... you will have to make a pulgin with another plataform (for example mailchimp)