App comparison

Add up to 4 apps below to see how they compare. You can also use the "Compare" buttons while browsing.

EmailOctopus Logo

EmailOctopus

Write a review

Easy-to-use, affordable email marketing tool.

(11)

GetApp offers objective, independent research and verified user reviews. We may earn a referral fee when you visit a vendor through our links. Learn more

EmailOctopus Pricing, Features, Reviews and Alternatives

EmailOctopus FAQs

Q. What type of pricing plans does EmailOctopus offer?

EmailOctopus has the following pricing plans:
Pricing model: Free, Subscription

These products have better value for money


Q. Who are the typical users of EmailOctopus?

EmailOctopus has the following typical customers:
Freelancers, Large Enterprises, Mid Size Business, Non Profit, Small Business


Q. What languages does EmailOctopus support?

EmailOctopus supports the following languages:
English


Q. Does EmailOctopus offer an API?

Yes, EmailOctopus has an API available for use.


Q. What other apps does EmailOctopus integrate with?

EmailOctopus integrates with the following applications:
Wufoo, Make, WooCommerce, Campaign Monitor by Marigold, Zapier, Poptin, WordPress, Gravity Forms, GrowSurf, Salesforce Sales Cloud, SendPulse, Dorik, Ticket Tailor, Eventbrite, OptinMonster, Mailchimp, Carrd, Payhip, Shopify


Q. What level of support does EmailOctopus offer?

EmailOctopus offers the following support options:
Knowledge Base, Email/Help Desk, Chat

EmailOctopus product overview

What is EmailOctopus?

EmailOctopus is a low-cost email marketing platform that provides businesses, creators and marketers with the essential features they need to grow their mailing list and engage their audience. Users can build beautiful HTML-rich campaigns or simple plain text emails with the easy-to-use email editor. The email marketing tool also enables time-based autoresponders and drip campaigns for welcoming new subscribers, and segmentation for delivering tailored messages to specific groups of subscribers.

Key benefits of using EmailOctopus

  • EmailOctopus offers powerful automation, which organizations can use to create time-based onboarding and drip sequences to automate campaigns.

  • Send highly targeted messages to your audience with segmentation based on custom fields and campaign activity.

  • Create landing pages to host your sign-up form and add attractive inline and pop-up forms to your website to turn more visitors into subscribers.

  • EmailOctopus provides clear analytics on campaign performance, allowing users to track every open, click, bounce and unsubscribe in order to optimize marketing efforts.

  • Send campaigns using EmailOctopus's library of pre-designed, customisable templates, which help users to create responsive emails that look beautiful across all devices.

  • Via Zapier, EmailOctopus can connect to over 2,000 platforms and services including Salesforce, Shopify, Eventbrite, and SurveyMonkey.
  • Typical customers

    Freelancers
    Small businesses
    Mid size businesses
    Large enterprises

    Platforms supported

    Web
    Android
    iPhone/iPad

    Support options

    Knowledge Base
    Email/Help Desk
    Chat

    Training options

    Documentation
    Videos

    Not sure about EmailOctopus? Compare it with a popular alternative

    Starting from

    ic-pricetag

    No pricing info

    Free plan
    Free trial
    Pricing range

    Starting from

    99

    Per month

    Flat Rate

    Free plan
    Free trial
    Pricing range
    Ease of use
    Value for money
    Customer support
    Ease of use
    Value for money
    Customer support
    Why am I seeing this?

    EmailOctopus pricing information

    Value for money

    4.8

    /5

    412

    Starting from

    ic-pricetag

    No pricing info

    Pricing options

    Free plan
    Subscription
    Free trial
    Pricing range

    Value for money contenders

    EmailOctopus features

    Functionality

    4.5

    /5

    412

    Total features

    53

    3 categories

    Most valued features by users

    Reporting/Analytics
    Activity Dashboard
    Third-Party Integrations
    API
    Campaign Management
    Reporting & Statistics
    Data Import/Export
    Customizable Branding

    EmailOctopus users reviews

    Overall Rating

    4.8

    /5

    412

    Positive reviews

    96

    %

    Rating breakdown
    • Value for money
    • Ease of use
    • Features
    • Customer support
    • Likelihood to recommend9.35/10
    Rating distribution

    5

    4

    3

    2

    1

    331

    65

    12

    0

    4

    Pros
    Not as expensive! it's easy to use and works great. Never had a problem with it and always have had good success with it.
    Excellent service and feels wonderful to support a smaller alternative service doing as great a job as long established players.
    Ease of use, effectiveness, sends emails efficiently and quickly. The ability to choose from templates or create your own is a great feature.
    Cons
    However, they always get back to me quickly. Also, I'm desperate for list segmentation and have been asking for that feature for a while now.
    The embeddable form are quite ugly, they look at least ten years old.
    Most of the emails end up in spam. So the response rate is very low.

    Overall rating contenders

    AB
    AvatarImg

    Alex B.

    CEO

    Management Consulting, 1-10 employees

    Review source

    Overall Rating

    Best Price performance

    Reviewed a year ago

    Transcript

    Alex B.: Hi, my name is Alex. I used to have a consulting company, but since I'm now retired, I do work...

    AvatarImg
    AvatarImg

    David L.

    CEO

    Pharmaceuticals, 1-10 employees

    Review source

    Overall Rating

    Great email marketing tool for low budgets

    Reviewed a year ago

    Transcript

    David L.: Hi, I'm David. I am a podcast host and newsletter founder. I work for Echo Fox Media. We're...

    AvatarImg
    AvatarImg

    Brian S.

    Writing and Editing, self-employed

    Used monthly for 2+ years

    Review source

    Overall Rating
    • Value for money
    • Ease of use
    • Features
    • Customer support
    • Likelihood to recommend10/10

    Share this review:

    KISS for email marketing

    Reviewed 4 years ago

    I use it to send a weekly email to my former ukulele students (300+). I also send out 'tech tips' to authors on a semi-regular basis.

    Pros

    What I love most about email octopus is the simplicity of it. The interface is minimal by design which doesn't derail me when I just need to get an email out to my lists.

    Cons

    I would love it if they supported markdown.

    KR
    AvatarImg

    Kyle R.

    Health, Wellness and Fitness, 1-10 employees

    Used daily for 6-12 months

    Review source

    Overall Rating
    • Value for money
    • Ease of use
    • Features
    • Customer support
    • Likelihood to recommend10/10

    Share this review:

    The most cost effective email solution with no hidden bolt on extras

    Reviewed 8 months ago

    Ace. Pull your CSV files through already and close your mind-numbing, overcharging, 2-audience-limited mail company and make the switch. If you don't like it you're probably a bot.

    Pros

    straight out of the box, the customer service is top-notch, real people, detailed responses not generic bs, and such an easy user interface you don't have to hunt for hidden features. fast, effective, reporting is top-notch. it takes care of everything without the expense of Mailchimp... actually, it makes Mailchimp look prehistoric in comparison.

    Cons

    Really nothing has popped up that's been an issue, no extra charges, nothing.

    RS
    AvatarImg

    Rachel S.

    Nonprofit Organization Management, 1-10 employees

    Used monthly for less than 6 months

    Review source

    Overall Rating
    • Value for money
    • Ease of use
    • Features
    • Customer support
    • Likelihood to recommend1/10

    Share this review:

    Not Impressed due to lack of deliverabilaty and one poor customer service rep

    Reviewed 3 months ago

    Yuck. I am bummed, but the customer service was lacking, regardless of a free account or not. As a small, volunteer-run nonprofit, we are frugal, and apparently not paying equates to a not good experience.

    Pros

    The initial customer service was just fine, but when inquiring about bounce-back rate, the individual responding was simply "icky".

    Cons

    We experienced an extremely high deliver-ability issue, when we had zero with the previous platform. When inquiring about the drastic swing between the two platforms, I was met with extreme disrespect by the customer service agent, [sensitive content hidden], who proved that he is simply not a good person. While I had positive experiences with other reps, he proved to not be one of them. Any organization would be curious about why there was such a large swing in numbers, in post-actively reading reviews, lack of deliver-ability was a constant.

    Vendor response

    Hi there, Thank you for taking the time to feedback. At the time we reviewed the bounce rates and we confirmed, via email, that these were hard bounces as a result of importing "Cleaned" contacts from your previous provider, Mailchimp. Cleaned contacts are contacts who have previously hard bounced or marked your emails as spam. As a result, you had a high hard bounce rate (but otherwise strong open rates). I appreciate poor results are frustrating and we are happy to help where we can. However in some instances we need to limit the support we can offer, particularly on our free plans, where our repeated recommendations and guidance aren't followed. Wish you the best with your new platform.

    SC
    AvatarImg

    Si C.

    Publishing, self-employed

    Used weekly for 2+ years

    Review source

    Overall Rating
    • Value for money
    • Ease of use
    • Features
    • Customer support
    • Likelihood to recommend10/10

    Share this review:

    I migrated from MailerLite to EmailOctopus … and I'm not going back

    Reviewed 4 months ago

    When I first signed up to EmailOctopus, it was pretty light on features and eventually I moved to MailerLite. EO has always been better than ML when it comes to customer service and price, but at the time, EO lacked a lot of features. A year later, I looked again, and found EO had made enormous strides to closing that gap.

    Pros

    Customer service and price (extra characters to get to the minimum)

    Cons

    EO is catching up to its competitors on features, but it's not there yet

    DH
    AvatarImg

    Darko H.

    Nonprofit Organization Management, 1-10 employees

    Used weekly for 2+ years

    Review source

    Overall Rating
    • Value for money
    • Ease of use
    • Features
    • Customer support
    • Likelihood to recommend10/10

    Share this review:

    Features, Pricing, Pros & Cons

    Reviewed 9 months ago

    EmailOctopus offers a clean interface, competitive pricing, and speedy support. It's preferred over competitors and has gained popularity among users since 2016. Despite some feature limitations, it delivers on user-friendliness, making it a valuable choice for email campaign and marketing.

    Pros

    EmailOctopus is appreciated for its user-friendliness, quality templates, drag-and-drop editor, and strong customer service. Its value is highlighted, along with positive feedback from Capterra and G2 reviews.

    Cons

    While praised for its ease and value, some users desire improvements in email list segmentation and additional template options.

    Common EmailOctopus comparisons

    EmailOctopus logo
    Mailchimp logo
    EmailOctopusvsMailchimp
    EmailOctopus logo
    Brevo logo
    EmailOctopusvsBrevo
    EmailOctopus logo
    MailerLite logo
    EmailOctopusvsMailerLite
    EmailOctopus logo
    ActiveCampaign logo
    EmailOctopusvsActiveCampaign
    EmailOctopus logo
    GetResponse logo
    EmailOctopusvsGetResponse
    EmailOctopus logo
    SendGrid logo
    EmailOctopusvsSendGrid

    Related categories