This is your compare tray

Apps you want to compare will be listed here. Launch a head to head comparison at any time.

Soda PDF Pricing, Features, Reviews and Alternatives

Soda PDF product overview

Price starts from

$

84

/yryear
Per Feature

What is Soda PDF?

Soda PDF Online allows users to create PDFs from any popular file format, and to convert PDF to Word, Excel, PPT, image, HTML, and more. It also lets you merge multiple PDFs into a single, manageable document, or to split a document into several, smaller-sized files. This online service also gives you the convenient options of storing both your original and converted files in the cloud, and sharing your documents with others via email. Like all Soda PDF products, these online tools have been developed to be as simple as possible while still providing quick and accurate results.

Typical customers

Freelancers
Small businesses
Mid size businesses
Large enterprises

Platforms supported

Web
Android
iPhone/iPad

Support options

Knowledge Base
Chat
Email/Help Desk
Phone Support

Training options

Documentation
Webinars
Live Online
Videos

Soda PDF pricing information

Value for money

3.1

/5

98

Price starts from

$

84

/yryear
Per Feature

Pricing options

Free plan
Subscription
Free trial
Pricing range

Soda PDF features

Functionality

3.5

/5

98
Total Features27 4 categories

Most valued features by users

Access Controls/Permissions
Document Storage
File Recovery
Electronic Signature
Rotate Pages
Watermarking
Convert to PDF
Commenting/Notes

Soda PDF users reviews

Overall rating

3.4

/5

98

Positive reviews

55%

Write a review
Rating breakdown
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend6.62/10
Rating distribution

5

4

3

2

1

33

21

18

8

18

Pros
It is very nice software, especially for the money, and suited my needs for this perfectly.

CC

Carole C.

Trial version for starting and test the software is very good. Functionality is great for the job.

FR

FR R.

The ease of use and daily interaction with same is good and allows the company to do what it needs to do with regards to portable document management.

DK

Dave K.

Cons
You would think after over 2 years of customers complaining regarding the poor customer service experience, they would have fixed it by now.

DW

Donna W.

Logged a complaint because its not working and nobody even got back to me.

JV

Jan V.

Product disconnects regularly and requires you to re log in. This is EXTREMELY annoying and interrupts your working day.

PO

Peter O.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Amazing set of PDF tools that includes OCR

Reviewed 2 years ago

After scanning all the physical documentation that I had in my office, I managed to transfer it to digital format through the OCR tool that has Soda PDF, which allowed me to have a better management of my documents, since previously I had to review a large amount of files in search of some document. Also, I can edit PDF files according to what I need and sign them digitally.

Pros

I like the fact that you have an OCR tool to recognize the text in the images, so you can then edit that text in PDF. You can convert PDF files to Word, Excel, RTF and other formats. Another advantage of using Soda is that I receive email updates about its new features, which include instructions for use and video tutorials. Also, I can create a custom toolbar, where I include the tools I use most.

Cons

At times, when trying to print files in batches, the software stops responding and I have to open the documents again.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend5/10

Share this review:

Quality features - Fair Pricing - Watch for VERSION selection while using the software

Reviewed 5 months ago

When creating documents for publication there are processors first, then the PDF export (which needs to be changed depending on the Printer's specification). Then, after the proof is seen and edited, there are changes to make. I am grateful we have this software to easily delete pages that need to be updated, and then merge in the page that is corrected. The time saving, and reducing the possibility of additional issues (no need to export the whole document again). My only suggestion is a clearer path to customer data, integration for updates to plans, and clearer communication when software updates or renewals are due.

Pros

It was difficult to find software that has merging and conversion features. When I first tried Soda PDF I had a limited edition free forever plan. Highly helpful to find out if it was going to work for what I needed. Once I learned how easy it was, I purchased the standard software plan. Merging, Converting, Deleting pages (that have been updated and new ones added). I've created two books and two decks of cards for publishing for clients using this tool ''after'' the documents were ready to export to PDF.

Cons

An improvement I would like to see is the update between plans. For example, I purchased the standard plan after using the free forever plan. When I updated I ended up with both versions (and need to keep both), but, sometimes I'm in the middle of working on something and I get an error saying "Your plan does not include this feature, Update now ..." and the automation tries to sell me a plan I already...

Vendor response

Hello Deborah, Thank you for sharing that you like how our program performs and find it cost-effective. We also appreciate your feedback regarding our upgrade system, we have forwarded it to the corresponding department. You can check your license details by clicking on your name in the right upper corner. Then choose Manage Products. If you need any assistance with your license, please contact our support at info@sodapdf.com and we will surely help you.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend2/10

Share this review:

Customer support

Reviewed 4 days ago

A bad experience with support. They promised a partial refund and an upgrade to Soda Business Pro+OCR. They sent a link to download this version and it was only a 7-day trial, not the full version. I have tried to contact them but no response to my issue. They have my money but I don't have the program.

Pros

I have enjoyed using the program (Soda 10). The ability to sign is great.

Cons

The program is fine. The customer support is bad. They do not follow through with their promises.

Vendor response

Hello Gary, Thank you for bringing to our attention your experience with our services. We will surely investigate this case. We want to assure you that we are ready to help you to activate your license and check the status of the partial refund. Please contact our chat support at this link https://support.sodapdf.com/hc/en-us/ , click on the red button Support and we will do our best to help you.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

Appalling customer service

Reviewed 2 months ago

When I tried to cancel my renewal I was still charged for one of the ‘add ons’ . Apparently I didn’t cancel it when I cancelled the rest. I immediately contacted Soda and after a week or so they politely replied with ‘tough luck’ I believe that their system is set up to do exact exactly this on renewals.

Pros

Very little - it did the job it was meant to but not with the ease of competitors

Cons

It was very clunky to use and at times frustrating.

Vendor response

Hello Lisa, Thank you for reaching out to us and bringing to our attention your experience with our program and our support. We have forwarded your feedback to the corresponding department and we will make sure to investigate your case. We encourage you to contact our live chat in order to resolve the issue with the charge that you did not expect. They will do their best to help you. To contact our chat please go to https://support.sodapdf.com/hc/en-us and click on the red button Support.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

Terribly slow, not easy to set up, regularly asks you to upgrade

Reviewed 3 months ago

Wish you had stuck to the original version without the new release.

Pros

It was initially good because it was easy to use, had all the PDF functionality and quick. Then after 12 months it became terribly slow after version releases. And difficult to set up after I upgraded.

Cons

So horribly slow and painful. I had urgent documents to edit and this was frustrating and stressful. I switched to Adobe PDF Editor and can't believe how much faster it is.

Vendor response

Hello, Thank you for sharing your experience with our software. Thank you for providing your feedback on our newest version. We will certainly look into your case and investigate why the new version was slow. We also want to let you know that our support team is always ready to help you. Please do not hesitate to contact us at https://support.sodapdf.com/hc/ should you have any questions.

Soda PDF FAQs and common questions

Soda PDF has the following pricing plans:
Starting from: $84.00/year
Pricing model: Free, Subscription
Free Trial: Available


Soda PDF has the following typical customers:
Freelancers, Large Enterprises, Mid Size Business, Non Profit, Public Administrations, Small Business


Soda PDF supports the following languages:
Spanish, Portuguese, German, Italian, English, Russian, Japanese, French


Soda PDF supports the following devices:
Android


No, Soda PDF does not have an API available.


Soda PDF integrates with the following applications:
Dropbox Business, Microsoft OneDrive, Google Drive, Box, Evernote


Soda PDF offers the following support options:
Knowledge Base, Chat, Email/Help Desk, Phone Support

Common Soda PDF comparisons

Soda PDF logoABBYY FineReader PDF logo
Soda PDFvsABBYY FineReader PDF
Soda PDF logoPDFelement logo
Soda PDFvsPDFelement
Soda PDF logopdfFiller logo
Soda PDFvspdfFiller
Soda PDF logoSmallpdf logo
Soda PDFvsSmallpdf
Soda PDF logoAble2Extract Professional logo
Soda PDFvsAble2Extract Professional
Soda PDF logoDocFly logo
Soda PDFvsDocFly

Related categories