This is your compare tray

Apps you want to compare will be listed here. Launch a head to head comparison at any time.

xTuple Logo

xTuple

Inventory Management Solutions for Growing Manufacturers

see alternatives

xTuple Reviews

Reviews summary

Overall rating

4.2

116

5

4

3

2

1

47

51

14

3

1

84%
positive reviews
96%
would recommend this app
How would you rate xTuple?
AvatarImg
AvatarImg
AvatarImg
AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Pros

I like the ease of use it provides and the ability to customise. There is excellent support and forums with help available.

LZ

Lee Z.

It was nice to be able to start with the free version and see just what this amazing piece of software could do.

JD

Janine D.

In short, I'd highly recommend Xtuple for any business as a high quality system with a team that seems dedicated to ongoing improvement.

RH

Rick H.

Cons

I am disappointed that they implemented user licenses for the PostBooks version, restricting it to 4 users (if I recall correctly, the original releases did not have this stipulation).

JL

Jonathan L.

When we migrate to a newer version,sometime we discover a lot of basic broken features or weird behavior. We test it with our version and the yellow truck to be sure is not from our side.

FB

Fodil B.

It has been a problem from the beginning. We have used it for 7 years mainly due to the cost of replacement.

KB

Kenneth B.

Filter reviews by

Overall rating


Company size


Industry


Time used


116 reviews

Recommended

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

Great overall for the money

Reviewed 4 years ago
Pros

- Visually appealing, - Easy to find what your looking for - The quick buttons with icons make access to what you need frequently easier

Cons

- Ease to change report appearances (took a long time for us to get it to not overlap itself) - Wish you could change the TE and invoice at the same time without having to delete the invoice and edit the TE to re-create the invoice - When you enter a PO on a TE it would be nice if it carried through the whole TE rather than entering again (if you don't enter it on every entry it doesn't convert over to the invoice) - When creating Statements its a bit wonky, you can select a particular date but the date you print it appears on the statement rather than the date you selected.

Vendor response

Thank you for your review. What version of free PostBooks¿ are you on? You¿ll find that upgrading will address your concerns listed. Please chat with xTuple¿s professional team, they can help you set the system up just as you want https://xtuple.com/contact-professional-services. And be sure to get the latest update for your software and renew your free license key: https://xtuple.com/products/postbooks/license-key-registration

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

I've used xTuple for about nine years and it has been a great system for my company.

Reviewed 4 years ago
Pros

The aspect of this software I like most is the ability to customize it to suit our business needs.

Cons

Updating the software can sometimes create issues. I understand software development is an iterative process that needs debugging but there are times when something that has never been broken (or has been fixed previously) breaks after the update.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Consultant's View of xTuple

Reviewed 4 years ago

A client approached me to help them setup a playbox with their data. After we helped them do simple setup activities, GL Accounts, Parts, BOMs/BOOs, customers, suppliers, etc. we used real data to simulate a week in the life. By the end of the week, the client was confident that xTuple would assist them in doing their daily work with little interruption to their real business of making products.

Pros

Intuitiveness for me and the customers I worked to implement

Cons

The online help could be improved a bit

Vendor response

Thank you for your review and so glad to hear you're engaged in ERP support with a valuable xTuple customer. We're always working diligently to improve support options. Have you thought of becoming an ERP consultant with xTuple's program? When it comes to small business, the ERP emperors have no clothes¿ Watch for us to change the game and launch a new category of solutions (and VAR program) in September 2019!

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Nice for small business

Reviewed 4 years ago

Easy use

Pros

Very good option for small business easy use once get used to

Cons

A few features are not available that I would like to use

Vendor response

Hilary - Thank you for your review. What version of free PostBooks¿ are you on? Can you chat with xTuple¿s process guy? He'd be curious to know how you're using the system, especially to determine what features you're missing! Message us: https://xtuple.com/contact-marketing

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Solid, affordable ERP for distribution and manufacturing businesses

Reviewed 5 years ago

Up to date information and analysis

Pros

Overall architecture. World class database which is free. Database and application supported on Windows, Mac, and Linux. Easy remote access. Customization capabilities.

Cons

No issue for me but perhaps support for other inventory valuation methods.

Vendor response

Thank you for your review. We appreciate your longtime use and investment in xTuple.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

It is functional an open source accounting program expandable and it serve its purpose

Reviewed 4 years ago

As with all software, it needs to fit you applicational needs and there is a great deal of flexibility built into xTuple

Pros

You can ensure it's functionality for free and expand it with the open source framework or purchase pre built modules for many business aspects of accountability.

Cons

I would have to check the response time of the e-commerce module again. What it I don't have 100 characters of cons do I have to make some up.

Vendor response

Thank you for your review. Glad you find the free and open source version of PostBooks¿ easy to use for your growing business (hence the name ¿post¿ quickbooks). Hope you¿ll recommend us to your business friends. Let us know when you need help with an upgrade: https://xtuple.com/contact-us Post your ¿How do I¿¿ questions in the Community Forums for help: https://forums.xtuple.com

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

An application dragged through different paradigms.

Reviewed 4 years ago
Pros

It is open-source and therefore can be tweaked, modified and customized to fit the business, from minor revisions to reports to entirely new tables, screens, etc. It is truly cross-platform with the same codebase compiled for Windows, Linux and MacOS. We've used it to run a mid-size manufacturing business for the last 8 years, though it has required hundreds of hours of customization during that time.

Cons

xTuple has gone through a few different development / application paradigms and it shows. Some parts of the application are entirely client-driven with SQL statements constructed in the client C++/Qt code. Others are *mostly* driven by PostgreSQL stored procedures, others are controlled by Javascript stored and revisioned in the database, creating and controlling screens via a customized javascript...

Vendor response

Thanks Nathan. Watch for xTuple to shake up a 40+ year old industry with a new option in September 2019!

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

I've worked with ERP software for more than 20 years. Xtuple is my current platform of choice.

Reviewed 5 years ago
Pros

I like the open source platform and the ability to extend and customize as needed. The ability to customze allows us to integrate with other systems as requested by our customers.

Cons

The user interface can be a bit complex on some screens. With the amount of data presented that is a common complaint.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

My overall experience with Xtuple was difficult at first as it requires quite a bit of training

Reviewed 4 years ago
Pros

Data integrity management Depth of the Inventory Management and Costing Tools Standard JE ease of use Trial Balance ease of use

Cons

Not very intuitive. Accounting functions are not designed well, especially the reconciliation tool. Sales functions do not have a robust customer service tool.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

xTuple is an effective and efficient software.

Reviewed 5 years ago
Pros

xTuple is very flexible. It can be used by any industry. Adaptable and highly customizable without sacrificing industry best practices.

Cons

Nothing signifcant that the help desk won't be able to solve. As usually we discover it's user errors.

Vendor response

Thank you for your review and your longtime use and investment in xTuple

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

Great integration. Responsive support fills whatever gaps you may find.

Reviewed 5 years ago
Pros

The integration of functions we used to have several different software packages to perform. Almost infinitely customizable. The e-commerce integration is cutting-edge for this level of software. xTuple is genuinely interested in customer feedback to improve the product.

Cons

The base software has some gaps that need addressed. Installation /upgrade packages require a pretty high-level of computer skill to install.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

I use Postbooks which is the public xTuple version. I like the software. It is highly capable.

Reviewed 4 years ago
Pros

The software is highly capable with inventory, manufacturing, client development and tracking, and, of course, accounting. I like that it runs against PostgreSQL data base which is extremely robust and capable data base.

Cons

I do not like that the Linux version only runs on rather older Ubuntu platforms and does not stay up to date with the latest Postgres data base versions. I have suggested on the community forums that the Linux version of Postbooks/xTuble be developed as a Flatpak development project so it would run on on Linux platforms that support Flatpak which, I think, includes most.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

Extraordinary software from a extraordinary company.

Reviewed 5 years ago
Pros

The best part about xTuple software is xTuple the company. xTuple's approach to licensing and development is refreshing. There are very few ERP solutions where one can easily connect with the head of development and the company president.

Cons

No cons were added to this review

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

Good accounting software - blows quickbooks out of the water

Reviewed 4 years ago

Pretty good - esp with handling purchases and assets and when you have to do your own accounting since almost all the accountants in my area are incompetent (and im not even an accountant)

Pros

Its much more thorough and such. Downside is that you do need knowledge/skills in understanding out to set up your database (not made for dummies like quick books). Other than that, i personally prefer dekstop based apps vs web based ones (primarily due to speed for executing the platform on a desktop vs chrome/firefix/microsoft edge, etc)

Cons

Setting up thag data base is a PITA...should deff work on making it more dummy friendly

Vendor response

Thanks! We keep asking the same question you are ¿ why are smaller companies continuing to select an option that history has proven is a disaster for them? The answer is simple, there hasn¿t BEEN another option ¿ IN-BETWEEN ¿ once companies outgrow QuickBooks. We¿re going to fix that ¿ watch for an announcement on a brand new IT choice for small companies like yours who do big things in this world!

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

xTuple Review

Reviewed 5 years ago

Experience with xTuple is positively enhanced because of the high level of customer service with the staff/team members.

Pros

It's very detailed, and the team members can customize our package to suit our business needs.

Cons

Nothing..as long as the team members of xTuple are there to help, then all is well.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Extremely customizable

Reviewed 5 years ago
Pros

It's completely customizable and the automated reports we have designed provide transparency for all facets of our operation.

Cons

Updates can be released with critical bugs that can't be fixed right away so we have to develop work arounds.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

Very straightforward

Reviewed 4 years ago
Pros

That it's easy to use, fast, rigid data input, user permissions, etc. Production & work orders are fluid & exact.

Cons

Reporting is not very flexible, hard to track financials & manipulate the data to reflect what is needed

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

It's been a very positive one. I have no reservations using xTuple to manage my business.

Reviewed 5 years ago
Pros

xTuple's project billing is huge. I use projects quite a bit and I love the integration of projects into the ERP.

Cons

Not much to dislike but the ability to update tables from CSV Import rather from temp tables would be appreciated.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

xTuple is all you need in a Manufacturing Industry!

Reviewed 4 years ago
Pros

I am using the software for like two years. I like the concept of customization depending on the employees' ease of use for better output. Very accommodating team and always open for customization as I said. Spreadsheets content can upload to the software also. A high quality software and highly recommended to the companies who wants to integrate their systems.

Cons

No cons were added to this review

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

Lots of Feature, needs accessibility and navigation upgrade

Reviewed 4 years ago

Able to view date of transactions, quantity, and availability .

Pros

Lots of feature and options to group items by date, item code, transactions, etc.

Cons

Some of the features are not able to be accessed and viewed.

Vendor response

Thank you, Va, for your review of xTuple. Could you chat with xTuple¿s process guy? He'd be curious to know how you're using the system, and what missing features you see. Message us: https://xtuple.com/contact-marketing

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Very strong ERP for the price

Reviewed 5 years ago
Pros

Lots of features. Dedicated team supporting and developing the software. Very open and approachable.

Cons

Sometimes complicated to setup and understand how to use certain features. Would benefit from a user experience QC.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend5/10

Share this review:

Struggle

Reviewed 4 years ago

Fully functional ERP

Pros

Full featured. Has all required elements of an ERP system. Modularity allows control of what users can and cannot access.

Cons

Not well documented. Not necessarily intuitive to use. The training recommended is basic to the point of being almost useless. Only covers the simplest of scenarios.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

easy to use, missing a few things for erp software and proper controls

Reviewed 4 years ago

I like that it is so easy to track production. But we supplement this software to get a lot of additional information.

Pros

I like that the software is easy to use. It Covers the bases and generally keeps track of production well. So it covers a need we have.

Cons

There is no rev control and no ecn functionality. Other software that I have used in other companies has those things automatically built in. This software leaves part rev control out completely so it cannot be controlled. In other software an ECN would be required to change a part ID or any information on the part. I'd say, at a minimum not having revision control at a part level is a large mistake.

Vendor response

Thank you for your review and investment in xTuple Manufacturing. Your ERP is a powerful tool with many options for controlling your business. Reach out to your ERP consultant for help with your questions. (He¿s a great one!)

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend6/10

Share this review:

xTuple Honest Review

Reviewed 3 years ago

System of record all in 1 software. In-house programmers plus xTuple independent consultants assist with customization. Their staff not really knowledgeable on customization assistance. More for the billable hours than quality product.

Pros

Open Source makes customizing easy for our programmers. Excellent price structure

Cons

The CORE functionality difficult to customize

Vendor response

Thank you, Jacqueline, for your honest review and your investment in xTuple for Distribution. ERP is the heart and lungs of your organization. As you pointed out, xTuple's open platform helps make the system flexible for you. It's a powerful tool with many options for controlling your business. Your success with xTuple relies on expert ERP consultants to help with your customization needs. (You've engaged a great consultant, too!) Let us know how we can help with any frustrations or difficulties you may experience. Our mission is for customers to be happy, thriving businesses.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

xTuple

Reviewed 4 years ago
Pros

Overall ease of use and the rich feature set.

Cons

Initial setup was a hassle but you’re good once you figure it out.

Vendor response

Thanks for your very nice review. Are you using the most recent release of PostBooks®? Let's ensure you have an updated license key: https://xtuple.com/products/postbooks/license-key-registration