This is your compare tray

Apps you want to compare will be listed here. Launch a head to head comparison at any time.

All categories

CAKE Guest Manager

Restaurant management system for businesses of all sizes

see alternatives

CAKE Guest Manager Reviews

Reviews summary

Pros

Loved the features and easy to learn features. And we definitely love having one more avenue to connect with our guests and manage the experience before they ever sit down.

Daniel C.

I love The online reservations and the ease of table assignments when reservations are made. Customer service has always been super helpful also and they reprogrammed my app for me to fit my needs.

Sue Ann L.

The reliablitiy of the service has been great. The support service has been quick and very helpful when we did have issues.

Troy B.

Cons

Customer support, onboarding errors, representative responses are the worst out of any vendor I have personally ever experienced.

Cody B.

No integration with our in house System to marry servers with tables and cheques with inventory and kvs.

Rob D.

Plus the seating hours cut off before the closing times by 15 minutes and can't change the setting.

Patrick L.

Overall rating

4.8

5

4

3

2

1

17

1

0

1

0

95%
positive reviews
94%
would recommend this app

Filter reviews by


Overall rating


Company size


Industry


Time used


19 reviews

recommended

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

It's been great!

Reviewed 3 years ago

Tracking guests information and the frequency of which they dine with us.

Pros

Easy to use. Very reliable. It hasn't crashed in a year and a half. It keeps track of guests information to run advertising campaigns.

Cons

I wish it would work on android systems. It would also be nice if the pos system would update the guest management system ie. When the server prints the check it shows on guest management system or when the check is paid it updates.

Vendor response

Hi Robert - thanks so much for your review! We love to hear that you have been using the new Guest Email Offers to run advertising campaigns! I will pass on your feedback about Android to the Product Team to see what they can do. The good news is, your CAKE POS does update your Guest Manager system! Please visit CAKE University to learn how to setup this integration: https://university.cake.net/Guest_Manager/Control_Center/POS_GM_Integration. Also, support is available 24/7 if you need more assistance. for more info. Also, support is available 24/7 if you need more assistance at 855.696.CAKE.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Guest manager makes utilizing your tables simple and easy.

Reviewed 3 years ago

Having online reservations is a huge plus in my establishment. We have long waits on the weekend and this allows my customers to put their name on the lists with ease and without having to make a phone call and tying up our lines.

Pros

I love The online reservations and the ease of table assignments when reservations are made. Customer service has always been super helpful also and they reprogrammed my app for me to fit my needs.

Cons

That you have to manually clear out tables after someone checks out. When tables check out, I would Like for the table on the floor map to clear. It did, but after the latest update it does not.

Vendor response

Thank you, Sue Ann, for your review! We love hearing that online reservations and table assignments have been a breeze for you. As for clearing tables manually, the table status will update to `check paid¿, but tables won¿t clear automatically in case the guest decides to stay at the table after paying their check. I do understand where you're coming from, so hopefully that explains a bit why we made the decision to handle clearing table that way with POS + GM customers. If you have any questions at all, please contact us any time!

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

Deployment = Nightmare

Reviewed 2 months ago

Platform itself is decent and operable besides requiring Apple products for usage. Customer support, onboarding errors, representative responses are the worst out of any vendor I have personally ever experienced.

Pros

Ease of use, inexpensive. This form would like me to list more pros however there are none.

Cons

Apple Store only, no web portal floorplan management, customer support, average call handling time 45 minutes to weeks.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

We love Guest manager!

Reviewed 3 years ago
Pros

It is very easy to use, it allows us to keep our reservations organized, it allows us to communicate with our customers better too. I like that we can use it to notify guest when their tables are ready and that they can also go online to make reservations or call aheads and we have full control over that if need be.

Cons

I wish we had more flexibility in setting up future floor plans. It would be nice to be able to set up Saturday's sections up on Friday to help better manage. Also the ability to look up past data, reservations, guest counts etc.

Vendor response

Hi Tonia - Thanks for your glowing review, we love you too! Also good news, you should be able to setup sections in advance today! They are pre-set and you can make them ahead of time using the floormap builder. If you have any questions at all, please don't hesitate to contact Support or your Customer Success rep.

Overall Rating
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Get it all together!

Reviewed a year ago

It's hard to imagine going back to paper and pen! This will really speed up the seating process so much that you'll never look back. It's incredibly handy, and easy to use.

Pros

This program is very easy to use! It will really save you time, and allow you to seat more tables. It is much easier to organize guests; for reservations, wait lists, and walk ins. The text notifications help to speed up the seating process!

Cons

I have no big complaints. Some guests were a little uncomfortable giving their real phone number since we put it in the system, so it would be handy to be able to blur them out so the hostess doesn't actually have access to it, only the system itself.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Vince Bruno Rovino

Reviewed 2 years ago

I am very happy with the CAKE System overall with only 1 minor complaint about splitting the payments with multiple cards and cash.

Pros

Very easy and simple software to use. All aspects flow really well from entering order to payment.

Cons

Splitting items with multiple cards and cash payments could be a little easier.

Vendor response

Thanks, Vince, for your review! We are so happy to hear that you have found the CAKE POS System easy to use and working well for your restaurant. Also thank you for the feedback about splitting items, we just recently did an update for this feature but will relay this to our Product team so they can consider a better solution for this specific case. Thanks so much for being a loyal customer!

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Guest Manager has added the best options for our customers to dine with us.

Reviewed 3 years ago

We retain more customers by giving them the flexibility to leave the premises while they wait. It allows regular customers to make reservations during the busy tourist season so they can still dine with us.

Pros

It provides all the functions we need to operate efficiently. The flexibility of the program is quite nice.

Cons

We would like to be able to view historical data from prior days through the app. It would also be nice to correct mistaken entries to provide more accurate numbers. Being able to look up customer data from the app would also be nice. This would be aside from when a reservation is made.

Vendor response

Thanks so much for your kind review! We're happy to hear that you are loving Guest Manager. Also your feedback is definitely appreciated, we are working now to include some of these features and will pass on this information to our Product Team.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

Easy to use and features are great

Reviewed 3 years ago
Pros

How easy it is to use and train staff. The reliablitiy of the service has been great. The support service has been quick and very helpful when we did have issues.

Cons

At furst the software was unreliable with texting messages. But over time the service has improved. Only a couple more features we would like to add personally to the system to make it more easier for use.

Vendor response

Hi Troy, thanks so much! We're happy to hear that things have been running smoothly for you. We are always trying to improve and add new features, so we'd love to hear what else you'd like to see!

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Perfect

Reviewed 3 years ago
Pros

Fast ...easy ... Perfect Love that I could send my guests info about directions, parking, etc... I would recommend to every bussiness that seats guests

Cons

Disconnects some times There is really no negativity with cake guest management at all ..sorry we love it so much.

Vendor response

Hi Christine - thanks so much for your kind review! We love to hear that you are using Guest Manager to make it easier to communicate with your customers. Please let us know if you have any more issues with disconnecting, our support staff may be able to offer advice to make sure you have everything properly setup.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Cake Guest Manager has helped us tremendously in managing our waiting lists. Our guests love it.

Reviewed 3 years ago

Efficient waiting list management. Customer satisfaction.

Pros

Ease of use. Data capture. High tech. Makes managing the waiting list much more efficient. Customers love it.

Cons

Need it on an app so it can be used with a phone. I don't really have enough "cons" to reach 100 characters.

Vendor response

Thanks Paul, we love hearing that it's helping you in your business and that guests love it too! I'll pass on your request about having app access on your phone to our product team.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Super easy to use. Overall very nice.

Reviewed 3 years ago
Pros

Ease of use, all data is stored on a cloud, 24hr customer support, guest manager integration, apple pay/samsung pay integration, detailed reporting

Cons

Some reporting options could be improved but overall pretty decent, close cash receipt is annoying to work with/read, cant hand credit card back to guest once starting a tab.

Vendor response

Happy to hear you are enjoying the Guest Manager integration with our Point of Sale! I know we have made some recent improvements to our close cash receipt for the POS, but I'll be sure to pass on your feedback to our product team.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Awesome fit for our Restaurant

Reviewed 3 years ago

Great ease of use, can customize it the way we needed to, and has been very dependable so far!

Pros

That there was no learning curve to be able to use it. Anyone can pick t up and start using it immediately.

Cons

Not really a lot of “cons”. It doesn’t have a lot of in-depth reporting features, but that isn’t what we were looking for anyway.

Vendor response

Thank you, Jacy, for your kind review! We love to hear that you found Guest Manager easy to use and were up and running from day one. We appreciate your feedback and appreciate you as a customer!

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

Excellent from the outset

Reviewed 4 years ago
Pros

Customized floor plan and excellent support for development and ongoing isssues. Desk top interface and app support

Cons

No integration with our in house System to marry servers with tables and cheques with inventory and kvs

Vendor response

Thanks for the review, Rob! We are always working on adding new improvements and integrations, so thanks for your feedback.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Easy to use & intuitive

Reviewed 2 years ago
Pros

We liked this seating app. It was a breeze, very straightforward, customizable, and did what it set out to do. Nothing too complicated to seat guests and put on a waitlist. We loved it.

Cons

Nothing really, it was super easy to use!

Vendor response

Hi Elizabeth, thanks for leaving a review! Glad to hear that you like CAKE Guest Manager for your seating/waitlist app.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

easy to use

Reviewed 3 years ago

Restaurant is easier to turn. Less walk aways

Pros

you are able to text guests back, you can also re-add them to the wait if they miss the text. Everything is saved.

Cons

it doesn't always figure out the wait time accurately. It seems to get confused with large parties and parties of 1.

Vendor response

Thanks for your review, Robin! We're glad to hear you find Guest Manager so easy to use. We are always working to improve our predictive wait time, your feedback is much appreciated and will be passed on to the Product Team.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Review CAKE Guest Manager

Reviewed 3 years ago

This has been a great purchase for our company.

Pros

The data it gives you and the ability to change the dates on times of the data you're wanting.

Cons

The time cards. I wish you could select the weeks you want and it total the amount at the bottom for you.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

CAKE Wait List and Reservations

Reviewed a year ago

Easy and cost effective solution for customer wait list and reservations.

Pros

Simple and easy wait list and reservation system to use and to train.

Cons

Would like more marketing support, awareness or promote "The List" app to let customers know they can be added to the wait list before they arrive to the restaurant rather than wait to be added when they arrive at the restaurant. The dashboard setting for special holiday events with different operating hours change the operating hours for all days which is a bug that still needs to be fixed. Plus the seating hours cut off before the closing times by 15 minutes and can't change the setting.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

We have had a terrific experience so far.

Reviewed 3 years ago

It helps us seat our guests in an easier and more modern way, and eliminates the need to waste paper to hold a wait list. It also helps to eliminate user error from the process.

Pros

Ease of use, ability to remove and re add guests to the list. Mostly it's been great to be able to text guests for their tables instead of having to rely on pagers.

Cons

It can take guests quite a while to respond to their texts for seating, leaving tables sitting open for a bit angering other guests that are waiting. Obviously, this is not a Cake issue, but a guest issue.

Vendor response

Wow Tiffany, so nice to hear about your positive experience with CAKE Guest Manager! Pagers are best left in the past, and we're glad you agree!

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

Piece of CAKE

Reviewed a year ago

Loved the features and easy to learn features. And we definitely love having one more avenue to connect with our guests and manage the experience before they ever sit down.

Pros

I did the demo/free trial and I can definitely see the benefits. I love capturing the customer data for contacts, birthdays etc. It will definitely make your reservations and seating more efficient, allowing you to seat more guests and make more money.

Cons

We were shopping POS systems and examined Guest Manager as an add-on. We don't have a big need for wait-list management typically and so we couldn't justify the added cost.