Dropbox Reviews

Dropbox Reviews

Dropbox

File syncing, storage and sharing platform.

4.45/5 (3,095 reviews)
1,326,766     4,602,328

Christina Mascaro

Verified Reviewer

Great for those who travel and use multiple computers

16/01/2017

I travel frequently and used to do it by a portable hard drive. Portable hard drives go bad so fast, I was spending a hundred bucks every three years. This is amazing because you can use it offline as well. It's easy to use (in my opinion) and I think it has the best interface. I use 3 different computers, and it has a fail safe JUST in case you delete a file or perhaps saved wrong and have to go back to an earlier version.

Pros

Up to date, fairly safe (but I don't keep bank statements on here), and has sharing links so when I upload a mega file and need to send to someone, I can bypass uploading and send a download link to a customer. I know it's accessible almost anywhere, and I can use it offline.

Cons

The only downside...is syncing. Sometimes there is a discrepancy between 2 computers, and instead of using the 'box' I have to go online and use the online portal rather than the installed portal on my computer.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 2+ years

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

9/10

Recommendations to others considering Dropbox

I've used others: and this by far is the best for the price. I still am forced to use other online storage and sharing software because it's what others use, but I think this is more organized than competitors.

Source: GetApp
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Anonymous
Senior Design Consultant (Furniture company, 11-50 employees)
Verified Reviewer

Furniture store

11/01/2017

Dropbox makes our retail life easier. We share all documents internally and selected documents externally. The storage is large so we upload tons of inventory images.

Pros

We are notified when a document is modified. We can share documents and images with our clients.

Cons

I haven't run into an issue yet.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 2+ years

Frequency of use: Weekly

Likelihood to recommend

8/10

Recommendations to others considering Dropbox

You should try it!

Source: GetApp
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Gaurav Singhal

Verified Reviewer

Very good

09/01/2017

Very good, I am using it from last 3 years. I never had any problem with Dropbox. I am running a business and use it for business purpose also. I am very satisfied.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 1-2 years

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

10/10

Recommendations to others considering Dropbox

Yes

Source: GetApp
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Suong NGUYEN

Verified Reviewer

Easy for daily use as storage and file sharing

06/01/2017

I'd like recommend Dropbox for any project management because it's totally useful for file daily tracking and file sharing with a member. I have been using Dropbox for all my personal and professional projects and it's the most convenient way for file storage.

Pros

Real-time synchronization, great referral program so you will have 30 GB if you invite your friends to use Dropbox.

Cons

If two people are editing one file, it creates the new copy. Should it have a notification for this?

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 2+ years

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

8/10
Source: GetApp
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Nathan Howard

Verified Reviewer

Great product

28/12/2016

This product helps you with the ease of work every time you use it. I would highly recommend this product to friends and family who are in the need of it.

Pros

Works well for people in the sales industry that make lots of calls

Cons

Hard to use on the mobile app and could use improvement.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: Less than 6 months

Frequency of use: Monthly

Likelihood to recommend

6/10
Source: GetApp
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Harunur Roshid

Verified Reviewer

excellent service

25/12/2016

The best way of sending files and I used this service few of the times. Within a short time, I transfer files from one country to another country. Best APP

Pros

Highly recommended !!!!!!!!!!!

Cons

Best Service and Faster service

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 6-12 months

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

10/10

Recommendations to others considering Dropbox

Awesome service and good to use

Source: GetApp
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Wilbert Williams, MBA

Verified Reviewer

Functionality

24/12/2016

I use this software for organizing a large amount of curated articles, publications and presentations and the ease of sharing the data with prospective clients.

Pros

Storage, organizing, and file sharing are the features that stand out to me.

Cons

Improvement should be made on accessibility across multiple platforms.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 2+ years

Frequency of use: Monthly

Likelihood to recommend

7/10

Recommendations to others considering Dropbox

I would highly recommend Dropbox to others.

Source: GetApp
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Kristina "Shoots" Mitchell

Verified Reviewer

Awesome

21/12/2016

I have used Dropbox for both personal and professional use. It is a fantastic way to keep organized and to have everything I need in one location by just logging in.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 2+ years

Frequency of use: Weekly

Source: GetApp
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Kathy Coffey

Verified Reviewer

Dropbox Review

21/12/2016

I have found Dropbox a great tool to use with contract workers and other on any collaborative venture. It is a great way for sharing marketing tools with others we partner with and create a joined access to files.

Pros

The ease of incorporation into my PC for easy download to e-mails and files is a great way to seamlessly incorporate files into my communications and daily use. I can access files from multiple partners with ease.

Cons

There are so many ways to save my files and it is honestly overwhelming. Some use Dropbox, OneDrive, Google Drive and it seems as if there are 60 more choices. It make our technology sharing confusing and mired for where people keep files and how they choose to share them. While I realize this is no fault of Dropbox and simply the world of competition, your efforts to rise above and become THE resource could be a great boon to all. Clearly communicate what separates you from the pack.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features

Time used: 1-2 years

Frequency of use: Weekly

Likelihood to recommend

8/10
Source: GetApp
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Anonymous
IT Infrastructure Engineer (Financial Services company, 51-200 employees)
Verified Reviewer

Great Personal Locker....NEVER USE AS A PART OF INTEGRATION/DEV OPs

20/12/2016

Great service for a great price. They give you a tremendous amount of storage for a nominal price. However, even their business plan is not secure enough to be used in enterprise development environments. I inherited a legacy Dev Ops platform that relied upon Dropbox to propagate certain files. It is highly insecure....during a security audit the first question asked was basically confirmation that we do not use Dropbox for confidential of business critical items....

Pros

-Great for personal usage -Provides a lot of space -Integrates with a lot of other services -The Dropbox API is both powerful and easy to use

Cons

-WAY TOO INSECURE -Corporate culture seems to have changed over the years to more profit driven/marketing heavy as compared to the company 5-7 years ago

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 2+ years

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

5/10

Recommendations to others considering Dropbox

-Great for files that you do not mind a 14 year old from Romanian accessing in 5 minutes

Source: GetApp
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Ben Baumgart

Verified Reviewer

Great App

17/12/2016

Love this app. Use it regularly to back up all of my files and access them whenever and wherever I need them. I've been using the app for years and don't plan on stopping anytime soon.

Pros

Can access my files anywhere anytime.

Cons

Sometimes I get confused with syncing.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 2+ years

Frequency of use: Weekly

Likelihood to recommend

10/10

Recommendations to others considering Dropbox

I would highly recommend Dropbox!

Source: GetApp
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Steve Wolf

Verified Reviewer

Drop Box is Great until you try to merge it with a Business account

16/12/2016

I have been using drop box for years. Recently when I started with a new company, they had a shared business dropbox they wanted me to add to my computer. When I went through the process it asked if I wanted to keep my own DB or merge it. It didn't say much else, but it was confusing. I had 20+GB on my personal free account which was lost when I merged. I liked drop box a lot up until this point. UI is confusing on merging and should be addressed.

Pros

Easy to use. Sync is pretty seamless. Better then Google Drive still.

Cons

UI on merging with a business account is horrible. Don't know if I can get my account back.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Features
Customer support

Time used: 2+ years

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

5/10

Recommendations to others considering Dropbox

It's great, just be careful if you merge to your companies DB

Source: GetApp
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Anonymous
IT Admin (Information Technology and Services company, 51-200 employees)
Verified Reviewer

Great for personal, not so much for enterprise...

16/12/2016

Dropbox is not ready for prime time as enterprise goes... We migrated two accounts together with me as the top level admin. After the merge, I was unable to see all of the data within the combined dropboxes unless they were specifically shared with me. This was a huge problem considering the number of folders and files. And it did no help that during the transition, support refunded a number of licenses by accident. We are moving away from dropbox here in the next month or two.

Pros

Great for personal use.

Cons

Simply not ready for enterprise.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 2+ years

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

2/10

Recommendations to others considering Dropbox

Look into other solutions for enterprise level file sharing.

Source: GetApp
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Erk Phillips

Verified Reviewer

Love it

14/12/2016

What an easy way to make my files and photos accessible from multiple locations and on multiple apps. Dropbox is an amazing program. We even use it to store music for our choir.

Pros

Easy to upload files.

Cons

Not enough free space

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 6-12 months

Frequency of use: Daily

Source: GetApp
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Anonymous
(Retail company, myself only employees)
Verified Reviewer

Excellent, Free storage tool

13/12/2016

Dropbox is an overall excellent tool that syncs up with the majority of other software programs and business apps many small business owners utilize on a daily basis.

Pros

Easy to set up and navigate.

Cons

limited space - but this is hardly a con and your space can be upgraded for a reasonable cost difficult to distinguish between the features, benefits and differences between a normal account and the business account/plan offerings.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 2+ years

Frequency of use: Monthly

Likelihood to recommend

8/10

Recommendations to others considering Dropbox

Great free tool - highly recommended to anyone and everyone. Syncs seamlessly with all devices I utilize!

Source: GetApp
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Briana Ford

Verified Reviewer

Never Without My Files

12/12/2016

Dropbox is my go-to cloud solution for all of my files. Photos, documents, graphic files, you name it. I save almost all of my files on Dropbox because I then have access to it on my iPhone, iPad, and work computer if necessary.

Pros

Dropbox always stays in sync. And the mobile app is very easy to use.

Cons

Since I save all of my files on Dropbox and it's connected to my computer, my computer still counts it as storage space.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 2+ years

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

10/10

Recommendations to others considering Dropbox

If you need a cloud solution for your files to be available wherever you go, this is the app for you.

Source: GetApp
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Tina Ruggiero

Verified Reviewer

ONLY TRUST DROPBOX

12/12/2016

i have been using Dropbox to store all my personal and business files for over 5 years +. It is the ONLY online software that efficiently works in the background and saves all my important files. I can't commend on the Customer Service since Dropbox is so user friendly and efficient I have never had to call C/S!

Pros

That it backs up my files without me having to think about it

Cons

I do not have any cons to report

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 2+ years

Frequency of use: Daily

Recommendations to others considering Dropbox

YES!!!

Source: GetApp
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Laura Patterson

Verified Reviewer

Always Easy to Use

12/12/2016

My family and I use DropBox to share photos of important family events and fun times. It's awesome to have access to all of these great memories, at any time!

Pros

Easy to access, upload and share

Cons

Charges for extra memory so, have to choose what you really want to keep

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 1-2 years

Frequency of use: Monthly

Recommendations to others considering Dropbox

Pick and choose carefully what you save to conserve memory space

Source: GetApp
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Billy Thomas

Verified Reviewer

Great For Collaboration

12/12/2016

We used Dropbox to share documents. It reduced the need for on-site meetings and allowed for better communication and productivity in the meetings we did have. Also great for posting assignments for students who missed class. Painless downloading of PDF files. Seamless integration to Microsoft Word. Great app.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features

Time used: 1-2 years

Frequency of use: Weekly

Likelihood to recommend

5/10
Source: GetApp
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Anonymous
(Accounting company, 11-50 employees)
Verified Reviewer

Best Application

09/12/2016

Best Application and cloud storage service on which I can rely for storing and sharing my filed and other documents among my clients and friends, the best feature is restore previous version of files

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: Less than 6 months

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

10/10
Source: GetApp
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Anonymous
Product Manager & Front-end Developer (Retail company, 1-10 employees)
Verified Reviewer

Dropbox need something new

09/12/2016

I've been using Dropbox for a number of years though is now facing stiff competition from other products - namely in my case G Suite. Google Drive is better value in my opinion. Hope Dropbox can improve their offering soon.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 2+ years

Likelihood to recommend

4/10
Source: GetApp
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Nicola Sciascia

Verified Reviewer

Excellent

08/12/2016

Dropbox is an excellent service to storage and share data. Its capabilities are innumerable, you can read pdf and well read and edit Word or Excel files. You can also create shared folders and participate with others in the creation of such material to create projects.

Pros

simple to use, multi-channel, it works well everywhere

Cons

not many, it's a sin is not completely free! :)

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

9/10

Recommendations to others considering Dropbox

It's mandatory, dropbox is the best storage service!

Source: GetApp
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Anonymous
Managing Partner (Staffing and Recruiting company, 11-50 employees)
Verified Reviewer

Great System

08/12/2016

Multiple devices and can access everything wherever I need to. I use this over other options based on the ease of use and accessibility. Also a great price point.

Pros

Ease of use and accessibility.

Cons

None that I can think of.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 2+ years

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

10/10

Recommendations to others considering Dropbox

Give it a try and you'll love it.

Source: GetApp
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
A.K.M.Safat Shahin

Verified Reviewer

user friendly

07/12/2016

very good support and user-friendly interface, lots of storage and folder wise management help a lot. the security issue is very good as well. but it would be better if was a better-looking interface.

Pros

folder wise management

Cons

low amount of storage for free

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: Less than 6 months

Frequency of use: Daily

Recommendations to others considering Dropbox

highly recommended to others

Source: GetApp
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Janelle Montgomery

Verified Reviewer

Great App For Large Files

05/12/2016

I use drop box when I need to send or receive a file that is too large to send over email, which is my main form of communication at work. Email is easy and know by everyone, but sometimes the files are so huge and Dropbox has been the solution.

Pros

You can send large files that are too big to send via email. You can send any file by drop box, but I mainly just use it for those larger files.

Cons

Most people I come in contact with are used to email when sending attachments, so sending a normal sized file by drop box doesn't make sense. If there was some benefit to sending every size of file, I might use it more. This could just be my lack of knowledge, though.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 1-2 years

Frequency of use: Monthly

Likelihood to recommend

8/10

Recommendations to others considering Dropbox

I really like using dropbox. If you find a document, picture, artwork, etc. that is too big to send via email, don't worry because Dropbox is your solution.

Source: GetApp
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more