Huddle Reviews

Huddle Reviews

Huddle

Secure Enterprise Content Collaboration | Collaborate Intelligently

3.75/5 (8 reviews)
3,256     17,516

Anonymous
A verified reviewer
Verified Reviewer

Some major drawbacks....

20/02/2017

I am SWOTing Huddle as we are trialing the software for enterprise use. Some major flaws that are hard to ignore with a couple I consider "critical points of failure".

Pros

- lovely clean interface, very intuitive - able to set individual nested folder access permissions - able to add some custom fields to the tasks - tasks automatically appear in the calendar giving a easy visual of upcoming priorities - this is of course reliant on task entry including a due date. - version history restore is really neat and easy to navigate

Cons

1. No reporting capacity 2. can't upload folders desktop app creates multiple duplicates of folders & files brought down to edit, but doesn't delete them, this poses a significant 'bloat' potential on user's hard drives. 3. The desktop app nests the sync'd folders very deep and (on the Mac) are hidden files causing further problems for less tech savvy users. 4. Can upload zip files through web browser, but cannot uncompress, need to use the desktop app, then rezip to upload. So at project start-up does not seem to be a way to upload multiple documents apart from one by one. 5. Adding custom fields to the tasks to assist with filtering, but only allows you to filter on one field, e.g. by project. would be much better to filter (e.g.) by project and priority - this would allow to filter by "Particular project tasks that are High Priority". 6. No GANTT chart, no timeline, no time tracking, no dependancies, hard to make quality decisions about upcoming projects based on past projects.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features

Time used: Less than 6 months

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

2/10
Source: GetApp
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Alex Fernandez

Money best spent elsewhere

25/01/2017

My company used Huddle as our cloud-based storage for about a year before moving on to bigger and better options. Huddle is slow to open files, has terrible usability, and lacks basic features that are found elsewhere on the market. If you are looking for cloud storage for your company, do yourself a favor and keep looking.

Rating breakdown

Ease of use
Features

Likelihood to recommend

1/10
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Laura Knight

If you are a small company, this is not the way to go

09/12/2016

The general program upgrades are completed without respect to needs of their smaller customers and to customize your instance is not at all possible. We had about 40+ users at one time, but the poor customer service and slow response time from the Midwest USA (Huddle does not replicate servers for geographic location and their servers are in the UK or Europe). We will be transitioning the last users off the service by the end of Q1 2017. At one instance with their appointed customer service I was copied in on an email string where they were bad-mouthing my company-- this was the last straw for us.

Pros

The ability to save templates of projects is a nice feature.

Cons

Slow for our geographical location, no ability to customize notifications, extremely poor customer service, poor training, upgrades do not take into account features that were relied on heavily.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 2+ years

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

0/10
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
James M

How we use Huddle

20/02/2013

I actually first used Huddle when they had there free package, but have recently moved to a company where we use Huddle to share marketing collateral through the approvals process which comprises of different colleagues from different teams in different locations. This used to get confusing in email but Huddle allows us to organize the process much easier. The different document versions and ability to lock and unlock files to prevent duplication has been key. The only missing part is the in app editing of files. In reality that is more of a nice to have rather than key functionality. I think it would be harsh to give a 4 star rating because it don't have that. Much recomended

Source: GetApp
1 of 1 people found this review helpful
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Rishi Chowdhury

Effective, Simple to use, feature rich

13/06/2012

Would highly recommend, more so for large businesses, may be a bit over the top for smaller companies, but if you have more than 50 people using it then it will save you so much time and effort. Cost wise it's better for medium and large businesses, once you have a few more employees. But if your used to the ease of consumer tools then this is for you as it combines the consumer application but makes it suitable for business in terms of features & security. 5 stars :-)

Pros

Workspaces - are great, they allow us to separate internal teams, clients & partners into separate areas where we can work on documents. Whiteboards - really good for sharing ideas, improving them, leaving key info which people can easily update and annotate. Intuitive UI - It looks so great and is so simple to use, I always associated this type of business software with ugly complicated workflow but this is designed like a consumer app. Support - The support team are fantastic, they took the time to train my team on the product, which wasn't hard to be honest as it's very simple, but it did help as sometimes when you first get started on a product you don't know where to look, it was also good as they gave lots of ideas on how to use it that I never thought of!

Cons

I think it's more aimed to larger businesses of maybe 50 people or more, it seems a bit much for a 10 person team. The search function isn't always that accurate and leaves a bit to be desired, but support did say this is being worked on, they seem to have a new update every week, it's hard to keep up!

Rating breakdown

Ease of use
Customer support
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
VMS CEO

On functionality and usability

27/01/2012

Huddle is a great on-line service to manage files and folders related to project management. The space is organized very logically and you get access to an intuitive and simple to use interface, that makes managing files and folders a breeze. I can see that new features will be added soon to make the operations much more easy and interactive.

Pros

Simple structure based on project folder with sub-folders and permissions related to the files located in this sub-folders. Version control is most important feature especially if you are using the Huddle space to manage product development.

Cons

Services are not clearly explained and there is a lot of talk to Huddle staff to get this sorted out and get a clear understanding what they can offer. Some features are not redly available, but alternative backup tools are available other places

Source: GetApp
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Tom Jones

Highly recommended if you are looking for a simple online working environment

25/07/2011

Huddle really make it easy for the employees of small to medium sized companies to share documents and conduct work projects in a multi-user, central online environment. There are no downloads involved, so can be used from any Internet-connected computer. I like the idea of the dashboard page - a snapshot of things that are time-sensitive

Pros

Easy to set up, collaborative working environment

Cons

The free package only allows for one workspace with 100 MB of storage. In addition, it does not keep track of document versions. If you are looking for these more advanced features, then you will have to pay for one of the packages offered.

Source: GetApp
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Mai Yomjinda

Got up in about 3 mins

13/01/2010

I started using huddle a couple of months ago to manage a team of bloggers. The team is spread out accross 3 time zones and huddle.net was the easiest way for us to work together, share ideas and documents.

Pros

Easy to implement, cost effective, no need to email the group, white board for brainstorming

Cons

The free account is ad supported

Source: GetApp
1 of 1 people found this review helpful
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more