App comparison

Add up to 4 apps below to see how they compare. You can also use the "Compare" buttons while browsing.

MindMeister  Logo
MindMeister

Cloud-based mind mapping tool for organizations of all sizes

visit website

(8)

MindMeister Reviews

Overall rating

4.7

/5

268

Rating criteria

  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9.06/10

Reviews by rating

Pros and cons

The integration in various software such as Notion is an added point that makes it a much better program. The interface is good, and all creative processes are fast, which greatly helps productivity.
I found this software so easy to use and you can create the most incredible mindmaps. I love all the wonderful additions where you can incorporate costings, web links and notes.
This was so easy to learn to use, and the help and opening tutorial were super straightforward.
The problem is that nothing layouts out the connections the way we know them. I am creating the framework for our database for the future.
I had a problem to see them, I miss the ability to enlarge them or readjust them according to my needs.
So far I have not stumbled over things that bother me ... the only thing might be the need of an internet connection.
Filter reviews by

Overall rating


Company size


Industry


Time used


268 reviews

Recommended

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Fraser N.

Owner

Marketing and Advertising, 1-10 employees

Review source

Overall Rating

Still the gold standard of mind map software

Reviewed 3 years ago

Transcript

Fraser N.: Hi, I'm Fraser. I'm founder of a marketing consultancy, and I'd give MindMeister five out...

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Luciano Z.

Information Technology and Services, self-employed

Used weekly for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

A (beautiful) Swiss army knife of mind maps

Reviewed a year ago

Also working in teams and collaborating with other people, this tool turns out to be really great and very efficient for mind map management. My wish would be to be able to buy it instead of having it as a subscription.

Pros

MindMeister makes the process of mind mapping enjoyable, fun and creative, allowing you to reason and design processes in a very pleasant and functional environment. Responsive and well-designed interface

Cons

Its shortcomings are very few. What I regret the most is the impossibility to buy it as a lifetime service, without depending on subscriptions that make the expense excessive compared to the real use.

DG
AvatarImg

Denis G.

Civil Engineering, 51-200 employees

Used monthly for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

I used to be a loyal customer since 2017. I stopped using the tool, and they don't provide a refund

Reviewed 3 months ago

Overall, I'm very disappointed with them.Don't spend a cent on them.Go for Miro.It provides much better functionality, it's free, and it's cuctomer oriented.

Pros

I used to like creating Breakdown Structures

Cons

Consider Miro. It provides better functionality, and it's free.1) Customer Service is horrible.I used to be a loyal customer. A year ago, I decided to support a team, and pay for a yearly membership. I haven't used the product, since I found Miro.On [sensitive content hidden] my credit card got charged for the annual subscription.I haven't gotten any heads-up emails or anything.On [sensitive content...

BG
AvatarImg

Brian G.

Marketing and Advertising, 11-50 employees

Used other for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

There are better free options

Reviewed 2 years ago

We stopped using MeisterTask and MindMeister a while ago. We now use Jira. I wish we were able to cancel the service :(

Pros

It is a mind mapping program. It worked alright.

Cons

We used it a few times and then it became unneeded. It is hard to cancel the service so I suggest staying in the free version.

Vendor response

Hi Brian, We're sorry to hear you were disappointed with MindMeister. We're always looking to improve our apps and learn from our users' experiences, both positive and negative. We'd love to hear about specific areas where you faced issues, or any features which you feel could be improved. Be sure to reach out to us at support@mindmeister.com Thanks, The Meister Team

ES
AvatarImg

Espen S.

Telecommunications, 1-10 employees

Used weekly for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Easy to use mind mapping tool with great features

Reviewed 6 months ago

Mind mapping is by far the fastest an easiest way to collaborate with ideas and planning. It gives a great visual picture of your ideas to make sure everyone sees the same picture. Mindmeister does a great job in supporting that.

Pros

It's a no nonsense mind mapping tool wich is very easy to use. Loads of different templates, templates and images to help visualise your plan.

Cons

I'm on a free plan, but it would be nice to have "guest" users add ideas to your map without having to sign up. As a frequent user that is sometimes a delay for the team.

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Ron Elius S.

Marketing and Advertising, 11-50 employees

Used weekly for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Great tool for new Ideas road mapping

Reviewed 4 years ago

Outstanding.

Pros

Collaboration is an essential part of our Organization and to make sure our Ideas is properly well mapped, Mindmeister is there to help us. Gone are the ugly drawings on the whiteboard that draws unfocused and divided attention of people, now is the time where beautiful and easy mind mapping tool that draws inspiration and sparks collaborative work towards accomplishing the Organization’s goal. Design is always on-point and it communicates clearly what needs to be done strategically.

Cons

Of course, not all tool is perfect, it has all its own cons but as far as I can tell from my experience, I’m a satisfied user of this tool.

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Matthias B.

Education Management, 1-10 employees

Used daily for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

Beautiful but severe issues

Reviewed 4 years ago

I had to leave this software behind with my whole company after putting many hours in implementation because of 2 major bugs that were not even recognized or understood by the support team. One was a severe issue with privacy changes which is a disaster for sensitive content, the other a problem with their handling of free accounts when people just want to browse your public mindmaps. Very sad, since it is otherwise beautiful and has promising features - but for pro users who need stuff to really work it can be a huge waste of time. Disappointing the total lack of comprehension by the support staff.

Pros

Beautiful Design amazing search linking to points in different maps possible (the only one I know who can do that)

Cons

Huge banner to sign up on (paid) public maps that occupies too much space Sorting and organizing maps quite confusing severe issue with privacy changes which is a disaster for sensitive content handling of free accounts when people just want to browse your public mindmaps impossible to set privacy for several maps (or a folder) at once

SB
AvatarImg

Sally B.

Writing and Editing, 1-10 employees

Used weekly for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Map your Mind with MindMeister the BEST mapping interface on the web

Reviewed 9 months ago

I've used this software for everything from planning camping trips, foreign travel, writing projects and business management. It works for just about everything!!!

Pros

I like the cost (I stay basice) and the interface is intuitive. I like being able to drag items to different parts of the map and to interconnect maps!!!

Cons

The free version limits the maps I can make, but paying will solve this.

SW
AvatarImg

Sidsel W.

Higher Education, 501-1,000 employees

Used weekly for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Great tool for ideas and overview

Reviewed 7 months ago

Overview, structure and ideas

Pros

I can get an overview of a huge material and this is great!!

Cons

I find it difficult to use and not very intuitively regarding ways of moving branches around etc.

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Edgar R.

Museums and Institutions, 201-500 employees

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

A professional mind mapping option cheap and online

Reviewed 2 years ago

I actually did like it. After login a quick tutorial gets you mind mapping after a few clicks and other five tutorials get you using the whole interface on the fly.

Pros

Mindmeister has been around for quite a while, and as well as other mind mapping software its main goal has been making things simpler and simpler. Professionals from any field have two things in mind: shortage of time and exporting options. Mindmeister's evolution has gone online with in browser mind mapping app and also computer installed versions as well as mobile apps. It's new price packages are quite reasonable but you can start making up to three mind maps for free on its basic free version.

Cons

Exporting options are only available through paid accouts, have that in mind in case you are considering testing it out first.

CT
AvatarImg

Cibele T.

Cosmetics, 201-500 employees

Used monthly for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

information organizer

Reviewed 5 months ago

To supply simple and individual projects it helps a lot, but if you need to include more people in the project or more enhanced functions, you will have to pay.

Pros

Platform that facilitates task planning, project planning. helps organize information. It also helps with academic studies. You can share in a group and also edit in a group. It has many free features

Cons

many other useful features are paid. The value is not absurd.

AM
AvatarImg

Amir M.

Research, 1-10 employees

Used weekly for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Your Next Step Towards Efiiciency

Reviewed 2 years ago

good :)

Pros

ease of use, minimal preparation, online collaboration

Cons

Available themes, Tree like structure of mind map and not being able to create graphs of ideas, not using the dimensions efficiently. (x axis may mean depth, y axis may mean breadth)

Vendor response

Hi there Amir, thanks so much for reaching out! I've forwarded your suggestion about embedding graphs/tables/spreadsheets into mind maps to our product team. It's a great idea! For now, you might find it helpful to attach a spreadsheet to a node, or to create an image of a graph/chart and insert it into your mind map. If you have any questions, be sure to reach out to us on Twitter at @MindMeister or to send us an email at support@mindmeister.com. Thanks again and happy mapping! -Andrew

CM
AvatarImg

Calum M.

Marketing and Advertising, 1-10 employees

Used other for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

Unreasonable company to deal with.

Reviewed 2 years ago

I do not recommend MindMeister. We paid for and tested the software and it did not meet our needs. When I was invoiced another 12-months, I requested a refund advising that I had forgot to cancel they refused. As a small business we are now out of pocket for something we aren't going to use. Even if I decide to revisit software like this in future, they will not be on the list.

Pros

We tested the software and found it wasn't for us, we had paid for a year however but it sat there and did nothing as we did not use it.

Cons

Nothing to report on. We just found better software.

Vendor response

Hi Calum, Thank you for your review! We're sorry to hear you had a bad experience with MindMeister. Please let us know if we can still help with a refund. Kind regards, Your MeisterTeam

DR
AvatarImg

Dimitri R.

Computer Software, self-employed

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Turn ideas into action! Connect mind maps with task management

Reviewed 4 years ago

It leaves only one question open: How can anybody work efficiently without these two fantastic applications??

Pros

Think about it: For the first time ever, Mindmapping and Task Management are perfectly connected with each other! And both applications are uniting simplicity and efficiency in such a great way that you really want to work with them every day. No matter, whether you do brainstorming in a meeting, or need to sort your thoughts for to launch a new product, starting a new marketing campaign, ordering...

Cons

Nothing. MindMeister in combination with MeisterTask is the only right tools you will ever need for an efficient task and project management.

EM
AvatarImg

Ellen M.

E-Learning, 201-500 employees

Used weekly for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Great Educational Tool

Reviewed 3 years ago

I often colloborate with university colleagues to write grants. We have used the program to model teaching and learning frameworks and to delegate project tasks. It is easy to use and the export features allow us to incorporate graphics into proposals.

Pros

What I love most about Mindmeister is the ability to collaborate with others on maps. I use it with colleagues to model, plan, and brainstorm. I also use it with my college students, who are pre-service teachers. When I assign a collaborative brainstorming activity, I can view the timeline to see when students contributed to the map. (This feature also allows you to revert to an earlier version of the map.) There are a multitude of educational uses of Mindmeister -- lesson planning, summarizing ideas, examining cause and effect, analyzing literature, detailing the steps in a process, and vocabulary study -- to name a few! Mindmeister has become an essential tool for teaching and learning.

Cons

My students sometimes have problems retireving maps - especially if they have started a map and only worked on it for a few minutes.

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

César C.

Computer Hardware, 1-10 employees

Used weekly for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

The best tool to manage ideas and diagrams

Reviewed a year ago

In my opinion, it is one of the essential tools in every student's library, and I emphasize students because it is the public that I think can get the most out of it. It is a tool that saves time due to its simplicity and speed. An excellent program.

Pros

It is a program that honors what it says, it is possibly the best concept map generator, it is a simple program to use, and the map creation tools as well as the export and collaborative work tools are incredible. The integration in various software such as Notion is an added point that makes it a much better program. The interface is good, and all creative processes are fast, which greatly helps productivity. It's great software for anyone who really cares about productivity.

Cons

During the time that I was testing it, I could not find any serious fault, it is a program that fulfills its objective in a great way.

Vendor response

Thanks so much for your review, Cesar! :D So happy to hear that you consider MindMeister an essential tool for your students. Be sure to follow us on Twitter at @mindmeister to stay up to date on new features! Best, The Meister Team

JS
AvatarImg

Janet S.

E-Learning, self-employed

Used weekly for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Helps me be creative

Reviewed 3 years ago

I design my own courses, and I use Mindmeister to help me outline and think through my course organization. At first I was not sure that it was worth the money. Because it was almost time for renewal, I decided to begin a new project and outline it by hand. WIthin a day I realized that Mindmeister was definitely something that helped a lot. Not only can I move ideas around very easily, but I can also see my projects differently simply due to the ability to color similar ideas with the same color, and connect them to each other. Being able to move a chain of ideas without having to erase and start over was huge too. I realized that Mindmeister had been making a huge difference.

Pros

I like the visual aspect of creating an organized plan.

Cons

I would liked to have an actual list of different short tutorials.

KS
AvatarImg

Kimber S.

Writing and Editing, self-employed

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Intuitive, pleasing to use, and has all organizational features you could ever need.

Reviewed 3 years ago
Pros

What I like the most about mindmeister is the ability to organize and customize how I organize on a very pleasing to look at platform. Everything is very seamless, easy to use, and even fun to use.

Cons

I wish I could get rid of the advertising on my screen to upgrade to premium, I wish mindmeister was more user friendly for free users who aren't apart of a big company or anything, and I wish they had a desktop app.

JB
AvatarImg

Jorden B.

Health, Wellness and Fitness, self-employed

Used weekly for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Probably The Best Online Mind Mapping Software For The Price

Reviewed 4 years ago

I have used MindMeister for both person and business. I was able to layout various course or programs for clients. I used to layout business processes. There are so many things you could use this for. I have over 100 different mindmaps! It's also great for just braindumping ideas or brainstoming with other people using the collaborate feature.

Pros

Mindmeister is very easy and intuitive to use. You have the ability to use various types of mapping layout including free form. I love that I can create presentaions and even export my mind maps into various forms

Cons

I don't really have anything negative to say. Using the desktop is much easier than the mobile version but it still works well.

SH
AvatarImg

Sven H.

Translation and Localization, self-employed

Used weekly for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Easiest Mindmap-Tool I've come across

Reviewed 4 years ago

There might be features I'm not aware of it that I am not using. That just doesn't matter to me because I wanted an intuitive, easy to use Mindmap-Tool and that is exactly what Mindmeister delivers. If you need a mindmap to organize a new project, this might just be for you.

Pros

Cross-platform functionality. I like it on Windows but was surprised to realize that it's even more intuitive on Android. The referral program for free users is standard to great. But the affiliate program for Business users is one of the best and fairest programs I've come across to date.

Cons

I think 3 free mindmaps is cutting it a little close. 5 would probably get more people to give it a try.

SB
AvatarImg

Stefan B.

Banking, self-employed

Used weekly for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend1/10

Share this review:

Mindmaps lost

Reviewed a year ago

Since the last update, the software is functioning less well. The menu is overlapping a part of your mind map, so you cannot see what you are writing.

Pros

Easy to use. You can create maps for mindmaps.

Cons

Mindmaps are not saved. Sometimes some of your mind maps are suddenly lost. This is the second time it has happend, now with dramatic consequences for me. Yesterday I've worked all night on a mindmap which is lost.

Vendor response

Hi Stefan, thanks very much for reaching out. I'm sorry to hear you experienced this issue. We take cases of lost data very seriously, and are fully aware of our responsibility to businesses all around the world as a reliable and secure tool for knowledge capture. Please reach out to support@mindmeister.com with your account details - our support and engineering teams will do all they can to get to the bottom of this issue and access your lost data. Looking forward to hearing from you soon, Andrew @ Meister Support

AR
AvatarImg

Verified reviewer

Online Media, 1-10 employees

Used monthly for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend6/10

Share this review:

Outstanding product but bad support

Reviewed 2 years ago
Pros

Great to quickly get an overview of complex projects. This tool is the best out there.

Cons

Support is a big problem. I had to fix a subscription issue but I am waiting for a response now for more than 6 days. I would really opt for a chat button like all major companies have. IF this is not fixed soon I will start using an alternative. Support is important to me.

JM
AvatarImg

Julie M.

Health, Wellness and Fitness, 10,001+ employees

Used other for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Career user

Reviewed 3 years ago
Pros

I have been in my field for over 22+ years and used this tool for various uses throughout. I appreciate the ease of use of the interface and the continual improvements that I've seen over the years.

Cons

It's not a con as much as an additional feature request. I would love to be able to create a master mind map out of a group of my maps so that I can see the larger ecosystem within your tool. I currently just export all my maps and use another program to visualize my world.

AR
AvatarImg

Verified reviewer

Civic & Social Organization, self-employed

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Excellent, but....

Reviewed 3 years ago

I love to use it, it changed the way I organize my life and it made me 10 times more efficient.

Pros

The software and its mobile it are great. Features are good and works smoothly. But... the price is outrageous. It's impossible to keep paying the entire life for a program like this. You guys should offer one time buy plan, that would unlimited use of it. I would totally buy it even if its a little expensive, because its the best of its kind. But I cannot afford to pay for it every year of my life time. No way.

Cons

Need to have a one time buy plan. No way to keep paying every year for this kind of product.

MH
AvatarImg

Michael H.

Information Services, 51-200 employees

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

A perfect tool for supporting task tracking and ongoing discussions in complex projects.

Reviewed 3 years ago

I am using MindMeister to keep track on complex projects and to use it during status meeting for review of the current status and to capture all the brainstorming thats going on during those sessions. I find it very usefull to get a grip on all issues involved. I am using it activley in most of my discussions because it provides a graphicall depiction of the thought process that helps everybody involved to "get the big picture" while capturing and following up on the details as well.

Pros

MindMeister is easy to use and offers all the functionality needed to get your ideas organized. It perfectly supports tracking of tasks and help covering additional ideas coming up along the way during your daily project life.

Cons

Until now I found most of the features I desired. I will update you once I found something missing.

JD
AvatarImg

Jester D.

Information Technology and Services, 10,001+ employees

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Easyt o use

Reviewed 3 years ago

I have been able to fully see the process of certain installations from every team involved, not simply my own. This grants not only myself, but all the other teams involved, a much greater view for an overall perspective that other sites may not have.

Pros

Very easy to get started, easy to select selections for various types of connections, symbols, shapes, lines, etc. I truly enjoy the ability to simply tab and add another step, then modify it further with the provided tools. Upgrading to Personal was a great choice as I am able to export this map to an image or PDF, making it even easier to share the work.

Cons

I have not found mu8ch in the way of Cons at this time, but will come back and modify my review should one pop up.